40 Reviews for The Makeup Artists

4.9
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Makeup (3)
Airbrush Makeup (3)
Hair (2)
Blowouts (2)
Updos/Styling (2)
40 The Makeup Artists Reviews
Sort by:

1.5

Totally unimpressed. These guys don’t know what they are doing, and use cheap quality products to boot. My hair lasted less than 10 min. By the time I had walked to the car, It was already starting to fall out. I have thick hair and can literally use a single pen to keep it up in a bun, so if Erin couldn’t get my hair to stay put, I’d hate to think what would happen to someone w straight or fine hair.
Now for the makeup. It took a lot of coaching, but it finally came passable. It’s almost like she has a template for how to apply makeup, regardless of what quirks a persons face may have. The makeup looked good (which is more than I can say for my hair), but the first person I kissed and boom they had lipstick all over them. With such low quality products, I do not have much confidence they will withstand a night of dancing. What’s more, I feel like lesson #1 in bridal makeup is make sure the bride doesn’t get lipstick on the groom.
Ladtly, and I found this to be incredibly poor judgement and distasteful, they tried to charge gratuity on a trial. They added a 20% gratuity for the -trial- on the printed invoice. They then had the audacity to point that out to me -three times- and mentioned that it was optional. C’mon ladies, you should have the eyes on the prize. If i sign a contract w you, you gain a bunch more businesss. That’s just plain greedy.

Profile Picture Becs, 6/9/18, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
Services Used: Airbrush Makeup, Blowouts, Updos/Styling, Hair, Makeup
5.0

Marlo (make up) and Meghan (hair) were an excellent choice. My bridal party, mothers and myself really appreciated how professional, flexible and accommodating Marlo and Meghan were during the whole process. They both pay attention to details and they make sure not only to listen to what you are looking for but also ensuring that you are happy with the results. I would highly recommend the Make up Artists for your wedding day. The results were exactly as requested and we all looked just perfect! Thank you Marlo and Meghan for all your excellent work! We could not have been more happy!

Profile Picture User7463299, 1+ year ago, 4 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

I can't say enough good things about my experience with Andrea and Jen. These girls were not only so good at what they do, they made my wedding day a BLAST! I planned from out of state, and they were so accommodating with the necessary work-arounds that caused, including doing a trial with one of my bffs, and then another trial to actually test my wedding day look. I didn't have a large bridal party, but asked a number of my favorite girls to spend the morning getting ready with me. Jen and Andrea didn't blink at the crowd of 30 mimosa-sipping, chatty ladies that joined us. They made both of my 'maids' and our two moms feel beautiful. I truly felt like I was hanging out with two friends, not some vendor I found on the internet (which is how, luckily, I stumbled across them). I'm sad my weddings over, because it means I don't have an excuse to hang out with these ladies again! I can't thank them enough for such an amazing experience--from over communicating throughout the booking process, to a handy "month-out checklist" they provided. I did experience some irritation--I have super sensitive eye area--from one of the products they used at the trial (which is why a trial is a MUST), and they made sure it was noted and not part of my actual wedding-day regime. Their attention to detail and positive attitudes are just an added bonus to the great work they do.

Profile Picture Laura, 6/5/16, 3 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Meghan and Marlo are awesome!

I am definitely not a big make up person, and after feeling "not like myself" after having make up done for my engagement pictures by the Nordstrom's counter, I was looking for someone who could make me look gorgeous, but also natural for my wedding day. Marlo was able to do just that, and introduced me to the wonders of airbrushing and fake eyelashes.

Meghan too was great with hair. I have a really hard time curling my hair myself, but wanted a curled up-do for my wedding. She made it happen and it stayed perfectly in place all night despite all the dancing.

Meghan and Marlo not only made myself and my bridal party look amazing, but they, and everyone that I interfaced with at The Makeup Artists, were very responsive and professional, and an overall pleasure to work with. I planned my wedding in MA from my residence in CA, and was really appreciative of their willingness to be flexible throughout the planning process. I highly recommend them!

Profile Picture Jillian, 5/28/16, 2 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
Services Used: Blowouts, Updos/Styling, Airbrush Makeup, Hair, Makeup
5.0

I am very happy that I ended up booking with the Makeup Artists. One of my friends was able to do everyone's hair, but we still needed a makeup artists and ended up booking with Ashley. I can't say enough about Ashley's talent and professionalism.. from the first e-mail I sent she was incredibly responsive, flexible and understood exactly what I was looking for. Ashley came to my house for a trial, and knew exactly what I was looking for. On my wedding day, she was so fun and bubbly and fit right in with the girls.. everyone loved her. My wedding day was also HOT.. 95-100 degrees and my makeup stayed flawless the entire day. I just got my professional photos back from the photographer and the makeup looks flawless in the pictures as well. Prices were also very fair. Highly recommended!

Profile Picture Leila, 5/28/16, 4 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
Services Used: Makeup
5.0

I had a lot of trouble finding a hair and makeup vendor for my wedding, and went along with my venue's preferred vendor as they had been great with everything else so far. I'm so glad it led me to The Makeup Artists - they were AMAZING!

I did my hair trial with Jessie and makeup trial with Ashley and both were so easy going and made you feel comfortable right away. Marlo and Jen helped out the day-of, and they felt like part of my wedding party group and made it all that much more fun. They were able to take all of our photos and make everyone look beautifully how they wanted. They were professional and efficient - I was worried we weren't going to get everything done in time, and we ended up finishing early! They were so patient and made sure everyone was satisfied before moving on to the next.

I worked with Andrea on scheduling and pre-planning, and she was so awesome to work with! Always very responsive and answered all my questions. I'm sure I'll see them again as all my bridesmaids loved them :)

Profile Picture Emily, 4/16/16, 6 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Andrea and Marlo did hair and makeup for my Matron of Honor and I for my recent wedding. They are absolutely amazing. They listened to our wants, offered suggestions/tips and made my wedding day relaxed as can be.

People commented on my hair and makeup ALL day. They came to my home, were on time, and put us at ease. Their humor, professionalism and overall personalities are wonderful. I can't express enough how beautiful they made us feel and look. I'd reccommend them to anyone needing a hair and/or makeup artist.

Profile Picture Jen, 4/9/16, 6 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Where do I start! Andrea is amazing, I have been working with her for years so when it came time to choose a make up artist for my wedding I did not hesitate to book with Andrea. My make up was simply spectacular and received so many compliments. The make up stayed on all night through dancing and everything and never had to touch up once, except for my lip gloss. All my bridesmaid looked amazing and my mother was flawless. Andrea is definitely my go to make up artist! Trust me you will not be disappointed.

Profile Picture Michelle, 3/5/16, 4 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
Services Used: Airbrush Makeup
5.0

Andrea is like Cinderella's fairy godmother. She waves her makeup brush and it is pure magic. During my trial, I told Andrea I was allergic to one ingredient. She literally researched all of her products to make sure that I would not be exposed to the ingredient. That was a big deal for me and something I feel that anyone else may have over looked. For my wedding day, my makeup was flawless. My skin was glowing, my eyemakeup, and lip color could not have been more perfect. Nothing, not even my lip color or lip gloss, needed to be re-touched. Andrea took my natural look to supernatural. I felt like I looked like myself, just better. From the moment we spoke on the phone to book the appointment, I felt like Andrea was a friend who wanted to make our wedding day perfect. I can't say enough wonderful things about her. She also made my Maid of Honor look like a princess. Without hesitation, I would recommend Andrea for any event or special occasion.

Profile Picture jennifer, 3/4/16, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

This is the second time I've worked with Andrea, the first time being a bridesmaid, and you can't go wrong with her! Both times I worked with her she recruited Meg for hair and I've never had such an amazing experience. They are both super communicative, helpful and make you feel like one of the girls when you are with them. Each time I've had something done by one of them I get so many compliments! These ladies will be my go to absolutely :-)

Profile Picture Kacey, 9/19/15, 4 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
4.7

Andrea (makeup) and Meg (hair) were AMAZING. First off, I could hang out with them both all day - they know how to put brides, moms, bridesmaids, etc. at ease and having fun! I'm very particular about hair/makeup --- but after a basic explanation and a few sample pictures at my trial, they both nailed it on the first try. On the day of the wedding, I asked for a few tweaks - they were totally flexible and accommodating. At the VERY last minute, I asked Meg to trim my hair extensions...after they were in my hair...and already curled. Like the pro she is, she took care of it instantly. Andrea is a total expert in her field as well and will make you feel like a supermodel. They both gave my bridal party awesome beauty tips, too!

Profile Picture User4536272, 2+ years ago, 5 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

I am writing this as the mother of the bride. Andrea was a total professional. We asked her to make us "look like ourselves but better". That is exactly what she did. The make-up enhanced everyone's features but was not heavy or difficult to wear. The eye lashes were amazing. She was very confident and calm and that is what you want getting ready for a wedding. The bride looked exquisite and Andrea really captured the look she was going for. I would highly recommend working with Andrea. She was helpful with other aspects of wedding - including getting in the dress and shoes. She was really lovely to work with.

Profile Picture Rhonda, 6/5/15, 2 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Andrea at The Makeup Artists was by far my favorite "vendor" that we had involved in the wedding. First of all, is she good at complimenting her brides - if I wasn't already glowing from her beautiful makeup job, I was beaming from all her praise. She came to my house for her trial in a snowstorm - that's dedication and over the next couple of months was very open to the tweaks I wanted to make on my look. I was so so so pleased with the final look and how she captured the same aesthetic for my mom and bridesmaids. Everyone looked absolutely stunning!! Outside of makeup, Andrea was so knowledgeable about our venue (Willowdale) assisting other vendors with questions and she even helped me get into my dress! I highly recommend Andrea for your wedding!!

Profile Picture Ariel, 6/5/15, 5 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

From my initial contact with Andrea, to my trial, questions in between and finally, my wedding day... The Makeup Artists were spectacular!! Andrea was incredibly helpful, kind and talented and made me feel super comfortable about makeup for the wedding. Jessie was awesome - whatever hairstyles we threw at her, she was able to emulate to perfection! I have never felt so comfortable and had so much fun around two women I had just met. I would recommend them to anyone and everyone in need. THANK YOU!!

Profile Picture User3992636, 2+ years ago, 6 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

I worked with Ashley for my wedding makeup and she was amazing! She is extremely talented and professional, and she has such a fun personality and made me and my bridal party feel so comfortable on the big day. She was great at listening to what each of us wanted and created unique looks for each individual - everyone looked amazing!
Ashley - I cannot thank you enough for helping to make my wedding day so special. It was so great to work with you! You are amazing!

Profile Picture Jenny, 9/20/14, 3 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Jessie Stockbridge took care of me like no beautician has ever done it before.

I don't even need to write a long paragraph, I will only say that I had lost so much weight and sleep during the last weeks of wedding planning and she made it look like nothing had ever marked my face or hair.

I failed multiple times at holding my tears but the make up she used did not flake nor melt.

She is simply AMAZING.

Check out her work and so forth (including more testimonials) by clicking on this link:

http://www.themakeupartists.com/jessie-bio.html

--------------------------------

Jessie Stockbridge has enjoyed a multi-faceted career which began in 2004 when she attended the renowned Paul Mitchell The School in Rhode Island, graduating as a licensed cosmetologist. In 2005 she attended the prestigious Ultimate University in Austin Texas and was certified as a Fashion/Runway Makeup Artist.

In 2006 Jessie was recognized by American Salon Magazine for her flawless work with hair extensions. Color correction and natural-looking updo's that reflect the tastes of today's brides are two of Jessie's specialties.

In addition to hair styling she is a freelance makeup artist with a unique flair for colors and is skilled in contouring and corrective makeup. She worked with the Dennis Quaid – Lights, Camera, Fashion Fundraiser in Austin Texas, and was the makeup artist for the Roca Wear clothing catalog in 2007.

In June 2010 Jessie was the key Hair Stylist for episode 1 of the NBC reality show Losing It with Jillian Michaels. Jessie was also chosen to be on the makeup team for The Emerging Trends Fall 2010 Fashion Show during Boston's Fashion week that featured 13 designers and 40 models.

Profile Picture Léa, 8/9/14, 6 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Andrea is a true artist and I can't say enough about her skill, creativity, and flexibility. She is hands down the best make-up artist I've ever had the pleasure of working with, and my wedding day make-up was something you'd see in a magazine. And I am not the only one to think that...EVERYONE at my wedding was telling me I looked like a movie star! She also did my daughter's make-up and that came out amazing and adorable for my little girl, and yet, my daughter felt and looked like a beautiful young lady. One of my bridesmaid's used Andrea as well, and her make-up was a compliment of my own, just pared down a bit. The whole feel of my wedding was '50s-'60s glamour, so red lipstick, winged liner, dark long lashes were a must, and it all looked fantastic together that we all had the same look, and yet, no one looked clownish or overly done. It was if Andrea took the most glamorous looks from the past and combined with her modern skill, transformed us into Old Hollywood goddesses. And the make-up lasted ALL DAY...in July...with humidity around 80%. Did I mention she came out to my house to do the trial and only charged $50??? She is just such an amazing artist, and a wonderful person. Will recommend her to everyone I know and will certainly book her services for my one year anniversary boudoir shoot. Andrea is THE BEST, I was blessed to have her as a part of my day.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Heather , 7/3/14, 7 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
4.9

After searching around for a make-up artist, I found The Makeup Artists after being referred by my hair stylist. I couldn't have been happier! Ashley and Jennifer were fabulous and make me comfortable and relaxed- and even gave me a comforting hug when my emotions set in during makeup! They were reasonably priced as well which was a plus. All of my bridesmaids couldn't believe how beautiful we all looked! My MOH (my little sister) said she was going to wear her makeup for the ceremony and pictures then take it off because she hated makeup. She now wants Ashely to give her lessons!!
Fantastic duo! Thank you ladies!

Profile Picture Sarah, 6/21/14, 10 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Andrea and Meghan are beauty geniuses. They did my hair and makeup for my wedding, along with hair and makeup for my bridal party. Andrea and Meghan are so friendly, flexible and make you feel comfortable. We chatted like we were old friends. I knew how I wanted my makeup all along but kept changing my mind on how I wanted my hair styled. I showed the picture of what I decided on to Meghan the morning of. She took a quick look and it and recreated it even better than the original. I was extremely pleased with my final look and wish I could look that put together everyday. My mom, mother-in-law, and aunt loved them and were happy with their looks.

Profile Picture Kristina, 5/24/14, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Andrea and Brenna from The Makeup Artists made my wedding day simply magical. Before I even mention the incredible job they did with hair and makeup, I have to rave about their presence and professionalism. Andrea was a delight to work with, always communicative and responsive during the preparation period. And the day of, Andrea and Brenna thought of EVERYTHING. They brought every piece of equipment they needed, they set the perfect time line for me and all my bridesmaids, and they were such a happy, calming, and positive presence. We simply had a ball.

As for the actual product... I feel like I received more compliments on my hair than on my dress! I have a massive head of curls, and Brenna turned it into the perfect, romantic beachy look I was going for. It was the spitting image of the picture I showed her, and it stayed perfect all night long. The makeup that Andrea did was flawless. It was natural, and beautiful, and I only did one touch up all night on my lips.

I could not be more satisfied and happy with my choice to go with The Makeup Artists. I whole heartedly recommend them for EVERY wedding and EVERY major event. FIVE STARS!!

Profile Picture Emily, 4/12/14, 7 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

I have enjoyed every step of the planning process with the makeup/hair team throughout the year of planning for my wedding. The team was very accomadating to my requests for information, and put personal time and thought into my special day. I feel that they went above and beyond what I expected. We had a good time laughing together, keeping cool the day of the event. They made my special needs sister feel special and beautiful, and they took the time to build trust and calm with her, to make her experience comfortable and special too, I have never seen her shine like that in her adulthood, so thank you again for creating a special family memory for us. The girls were professional in providing advice and skin care and had advanced knowledge in sensitive skin and proper color toning, as well as prep work for the day of the wedding. They were organized which really was a great help during what could have been a hectic morning. They were also very accomodating with their time, we only scheduled two makeup, and had time for 5. When we showed them a picture of our hair up dos, they created the exact same thing in our pictures, and had great ideas on how to place accessories. Also, their prices were in line with the average rates, and even better because they came to our hotel for our sessions.

All around, I have to thank the team for being so supportive of our elegant haunted mansion theme, and really going with the flow of the day. Stay cool ladies, you have the ability to make every woman feel amazing, keep doing what you guys are doing!

Profile Picture Laurel, 3/8/14, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

I found Andrea through an extensive internet search. My makeup routine typically consists of chapstick and face lotion. In other words, I am clueless when it comes to hair and makeup and was eager to find someone that I trusted, and felt comfortable with for my wedding. At my trial, I immediately felt comfortable with Andrea. She is a wealth of knowledge, incredibly personable, professional, and very interesting to chat with on all sorts of topics. I'll never forget the look on my fiancé's face when he saw me for the first time at the trial, prior to our engagement photos.

On the wedding day, we were blessed to have both Meghan and Andrea. Andrea for makeup (and my mom's hair) and Meghan for everyone else's hair. They are both amazing. They split their time between the hotel and the venue to get all of my ladies set up. went above and beyond with everyone. I found out after the wedding that Andrea had helped people with services that they had not ordered (hair or makeup) and she stayed later to touch me up after I'd gotten wet standing outside in the gorgeous snow for pictures.

RUN to Andrea and Meghan. You will not be disappointed!

Profile Picture User3262131, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Andrea is a makeup genius. She is nice and personable and makes you feel so comfortable. She really listens and is willing to accommodate you and your personal style/ comfort level. She took her time to get to know me and my mother and best friend during our trial makeup run and was genuine in wanting us to all feel beautiful and comfortable. She's professional and helpful and really pays attention to your skin type and offers her professional advice to help you look your best, including skin care tips (which I now follow and see great results). She recommended specific makeup products to us depending on our eye shapes, skin type, etc. I was nervous about a break-out I had the week before my wedding and Andrea was a great resource on how to handle it and sure enough, all was cleared up in the end. On the big day she made everyone feel their prettiest and my mother and mother-in-law both were smiling ear to ear in awe of how they looked. I can honestly say, as the bride, I've never felt more beautiful in my life.
Megan is a hair wizard, a true artist. She is able to look at a photo for a brief second and re-create it even better. She is professional, punctual and responsive. It's amazing what she can do in just 30 minutes. All of my bridesmaids said they've never had anyone do their hair so well before. She can tackle ANY hair type and even extensions. I honestly have never been more happy with my hair in my life. I felt like a celebrity.

Profile Picture Angela, 8/16/13, 4 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

I used Andrea Ducharme as my makeup artist after a friend had recommended her. She was WONDERFUL. She knew exactly what she was doing and after my trial, took my suggestions and changes for the wedding day. She did such an amazing job, everyone looked beautiful. In fact, the girls looked so good that 3 of my bridesmaids who weren't planning on having their makeup done changed their mind and had Andrea do their makeup! She worked well with my mom who has a lot of allergies and my mom looked and felt great. I got so many compliments on how natural and beautiful my makeup was - exactly what I wanted. aside from her talent as a makeup artist, she was fun to be with while we were getting ready and just a sweetheart. I highly recommend her to anyone!!

Profile Picture Becca, 7/21/13, 9 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
4.9

I met Andrea and Jessie at my friend's wedding and when it came time to hire a makeup and hair artist for my own wedding, I reached out to Andrea. Not only does she do beautiful professional makeup, is very fairly priced, but her personality is just amazing! The highlight for me was just having her around on my wedding day, which was a bit stressful and overwhelming. She is such a sweetheart and made me feel so at ease and really took care of me in a way! At one point my mother had left to get dressed and time was ticking so Andrea actually helped me get into my dress, get shoes on, etc. Such a life saver! She is just an incredible person who is clearly passionate about what she does and gets what brides go through :) Jessie was awesome! We changed up my hair style on the day off from what she had done at my hair/makeup trial. We were short on time, but she got my hair perfect! I had clip on extensions put in and I am so happy I did. I got so many compliments on my hair. Jessie is a sweetheart too and if you hire this duo, you will not be disappointed!

Profile Picture Michelle, 6/30/13, 7 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health