Skip to main content
Weddings

The Lighting & Sound Company Reviews

The Lighting & Sound Company

The Lighting & Sound Company

Richmond, VA
5.0 out of 5 rating, 22 Reviews
View more information

22 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 22
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

6 User photos

  • Elizabeth
    Elizabeth G. Married on 12/19/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Added Ambiance

    I booked the Lighting and Sound Co to provide uplighting in the ballroom of my October wedding at Dover Hall. They threw in bistro lighting free of charge and gave us a discount on the stage we added the week of the wedding! Their attention to detail with lighting and design added a lot to the ambiance of our wedding!

    The Lighting & Sound Company's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words! It was a pleasure to help you with your wedding. We wish you the best in the future!
  • Meghan
    Meghan O. Married on 09/07/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    drape away

    The Team at TL&SC exceeded my expectations which is VERY hard to do as I am a major perfectionist. They draped the entirety of Dover Hall with the most exquisite fabric, they provided soft strung bistro lighting and then they uplight the drapes in a soft orange to create the desert glow that I desired. Honestly it was the most magical transformation. Their draping and lighting expertise made every other detail of my wedding perfect, EVEN my makeup! It created the mood, softened the room, draped and lit everything in fantasy and magic. I never actually saw them do any work, haha. It was up and perfect by the time that I arrived. Dylan was easy to work with, patient and super kind with my a million questions. They were one of the best decisions I made in my whole wedding. Super super recommend this company and drape your wedding dreams away :)
  • Nilufer
    Nilufer Married on 08/10/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Not into cookie-cutter decor? Hire them.

    I planned my own wedding by myself, while living in different city than the wedding venue and working a full-time job. (Avoid doing this, by the way.) So, when I encountered a vendor highly responsive to emails and/or willing to work with my schedule for calls or onsite visits, they generally got a boast during the interview and hiring process. Nearly every event lighting company in the Richmond area were pretty unaccommodating. They always insist that you coming into their showroom during their business hours, no video conference calls, and basically talked to me like me I could not possible understand the difference between various lighting options. (Please. I can goggle and read.) They keep telling me that what I wanted wasn't possible then either trying sell me expensive, un-romantic uplighting (was not going for a tired nightclub look) or change the proposed layout ans scheme to one they had done before in that venue. They acted like I was asking for some massive engineering feat to be performed because the venue's ceiling wasn't over 10 ft, but I know from the restaurants and bars frequent you don't need cathedral ceilings to a create beautiful, romantic lighting schemes. Finally, I found Dylan and The Lighting and Sound Company. Dylan was open to new ideas and not afraid of a challenge. He tested a proposed scheme out at their warehouse ahead time and then gave me a reasonable quote. Day-of, his crew created two white-corded mini-string light canopies for the dance floor that fit perfectly into the venue space. The result was magical and down right exciting for all the guests.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • W
    Whitney Married on 10/20/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome Lights!

    Dylan and the Lighting and Sound were wonderful to work with! The executed our vision and gave us multiple great options within our budget. We highly recommend them!!
  • A
    Ashley Married on 08/03/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Dylan and the rest of the team at The Lighting & Sound Company were so awesome! The really added an extra element that putting my wedding and reception over the top. When developing our custom gobo, I gave Dylan inspiration from our invitations and he nailed the design. The attendant remained on site through the ceremony and amped up the lighting during the reception. They exceeded expectations and I will definitely recommend them to others.
  • M
    Maryclaire Married on 07/21/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Lighting and Sound Company made everything in our venue POP. Jonathan and his colleagues worked with us to design the layout of our ballroom. They were very flexible in changing our order, even about a month out from our wedding date! The light color tool on their website helped us to visualize the color schemes for different parts of the night, switching from eating to dancing. They were reasonably priced and delivered when it mattered most!
  • Z
    Zoe Married on 06/16/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Lighting and Sound Company was excellent to work with! Our whole wedding looked beautiful and all of the audio sounded amazing, from the band to speeches!
  • P
    Parker Married on 05/05/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    These guys are absolute professionals at what they do. They took plain white tents and made them absolutely beautiful. We had so many comments on the lighting and decor that they provided. They were super flexible also when our plans changed due to rain. They truly made our wedding special. I cannot recommend them enough. They are worth every penny! (and they had the best prices in town too!) They were able to provide way more for a fraction of what another company wanted to charge. Look no further you will not regret hiring them for your wedding.
  • M
    Marianne Married on 04/28/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Dylan and his team were incredible to work with! We had shopped around a few other companies and by far they were the best choice! Dylan was extremely accommodating to our many request. Not only was he patient but he listened to exactly what our vision was and executed it flawlessly. We were planning our wedding from out of state, causing many email exchanges back and forth. Dylan was prompt with his responses and quick on his actions. The light for our event was absolutely breathtaking and a complete game changer for the atmosphere for our wedding. Our favorite part was the custom GOBO Light that was projected onto the wall. Dylan personally customized it for us and perfectly tied the room together. We cannot thank The Lighting & Sound Company enough for being an integral part of our big day! They were a pleasure to work with and we would highly recommend them!
  • D
    Delaney Married on 12/31/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Lighting and Sound Company provided several crucial aspects to our wedding. Our NYE wedding featured a spectacular, sparkling, gold, lighted backdrop, dance floor lighting like I had never seen before and uplighting to set the mood in the rest of the venue. From day one, Dylan exuded confidence in his ability to make our vision came to life; which is exactly what happened. Throughout the planning process, especially day of, LSC team members reinforced our decision to work with them by meeting every need and going above and beyond to ensure that our wedding day was perfect. During the wedding and in the days since, guests have expressed compliments to us about the Lighting and Sound Company and the incredible work that they did to make our wedding what it was. Thank you LSC!!!
  • N
    Nash Married on 02/20/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    After meeting with other lighting companies I found The Lighting and Sound Company while doing a online search. I worked with Dylan and the experience with him couldn't have been any better. I told him exactly what we wanted and needed and he gave me a quote right over the phone. They were quick to respond with any of my questions promptly. When we finally walked in to see the whole set up at the reception we were blow away. We gave him a very specific color we wanted and he hit it perfectly. Theyre definitely complete professionals in every aspect of they're work. I without a doubt would use them again and definitely would recommend them!

    The Lighting & Sound Company's reply:

    Nash,
    Congratulations to you and Uni!
    It was such a pleasure working with you! You were thorough and descriptive with your vision for the lighting, which helped us so much in our execution. Your planners were great to work with and super responsive.
    Thank you, and again, congratulations!

  • User2460758 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Lighting and Sound Co.....!!!!!!! Absolutely amazing to work with!!! We told Dylan our vision and he was instantly passionate about implementing it! He even fought with the venue without us and although he didn't win that battle, lol, he created new ways to make our day (esp. The ceremony) and my entrance all that My husband wanted it to be! Words cannot thank you and the team enough, Dylan! We truly appreciate you! Now, book them for your next event!!! You won't be disappointed!!

    The Lighting & Sound Company's reply:

    Thank you for the review Dana!
    It was such a pleasure working with you an Patrick on your wedding, it turned out so well.
    Have a wonderful marriage!
  • J
    Jenna Married on 10/10/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Impressed but what they did with our wedding. The company is highly reliable, installed everything as promised and the backyard looked truly amazing after their magic work. Many people complimented us about the lighting. They are highly responsive and always kind to give us answers even though we asked silly and repeated questions. Call them, you will not regret it!

    The Lighting & Sound Company's reply:

    Jenna,
    It always fun for us to do a backyard wedding. We love the opportunity to transform an ordinary space into something beautiful! Congratulations on your marriage!
  • L
    Latrice Married on 09/05/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The lighting and sound company did an amazing job with making my venue lighting perfect....I can't complain about one thing....whenever I had a question I received an answer right away....thanks again

    The Lighting & Sound Company's reply:

    It was such a pleasure to provide the lighting for your wedding, Latrice! Thank you so much and congratulations!
  • B
    Brielle Married on 08/08/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This company was referred to me by a friend who used them for her wedding. They did a great job for her and were easy to work with, so hiring them was the only vendor choice that I didn't spend any time debating.

    My venue was pretty plain, so getting the right lighting to seriously change the feel of the place was crucial. The Lighting and Sound Company had countless options that went with the style I was hoping to achieve. It really made all of the difference. My fiance wasn't initially sold on our venue, but when he saw how great it looked all lit up and beautifully decorated, he was floored. This company helped to translate my vision and made our venue look just perfect.

    Like my friend who referred me said, they were super professional and easy to work with. I'm glad I chose this company.
  • W
    Walter Married on 08/07/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I hired these guys for my wedding and they turned it out, I have never seen such ingenuity and creativity come to life ever! Throughout the entire process I worked with Jonathan and not only was he friendly, but he proved to be responsive, incredible knowledgeable about his craft, and attentive to my vision. He is truly a master of his trade. Customer driven would be an understatement...he kept me informed and abreast of all of the details and I couldn't be happier with his service. My wife actually cried when she saw the results. Kudos to a team of fantastically wonderful lighting artists that put together a display to be remembered.

    The Lighting & Sound Company's reply:

    It was great meeting you and your wife, Walter. It's always so wonderful working with a couple that truly understands the power and importance of using lighting on their special day. Congratulations on your marriage!
  • M
    Marco Married on 07/11/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    From the equipment, Lighting and Sound, to their time response and customer service, this company is the best way to go.

    Thanks for making my wedding a moment to remember. You guys rock!!

    The Lighting & Sound Company's reply:

    MARCO! What an absolute treat it was to provide lighting for your wedding. What a beautiful reception and ceremony. Your hospitality was appreciated by all our crew! Thanks so much, send Mark our regards as well.
  • R
    Ryan Married on 06/06/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I worked with Dylan but I know all the guys in the company, and they are all knowledgeable and friendly. I didn't give him much direction because I wasn't sure what I wanted, but he turned my wedding from a backyard get-together to an amazing, put together event. He was able to bring a DJ so I didn't have to go through another company, which made the whole process quick and easy. We had a blast and would definitely use this company again.

    The Lighting & Sound Company's reply:

    Ryan!
    You and Jordan were a pleasure to work with. We love both of you and wish you the best in your lives together. We're so glad we were able to assist in making your wedding a little bit more special. Congratulations!
  • User2128214 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had such a great experience with The Lighting & Sound Company! My wedding was absolutely perfect, and I have them to thank for much of it! The lighting was just gorgeous, which was really important at a night wedding. The sound was also excellent, and everything sounded really professional, and the equipment all looked good too. I will for sure be recommending them to my friends that are getting married soon!
  • C
    Christina Married on 04/26/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    These guys did an excellent job! My wedding was beautiful thanks to them; I didn't realize how big of a difference the lighting made, but the effect was beautiful. They also made sound a lot better. Music is very important to my husband and I, so naturally we had someone come and play for our wedding, and it was so much better after they got done working their magic! Prices were great and definitely worth it since they made my wedding so much classier. Definitely recommended.

    The Lighting & Sound Company's reply:

    Our number one goal is a satisfied customer! We love what we do, and we love when our clients love what we do even more. Thank you for your business, Christina! Congratulations from all of us at The Lighting & Sound Co.
  • M
    Melissa Married on 02/01/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I have to admit I can be a little hard to work for because I'm a bit of a perfectionist. The lighting for my wedding was an important component of my wedding because not only would it set the ambiance but would affect the quality of the photography. After researching several companies I finally selected The Lighting & Sound Company based primarily off how professional they came off; they really took time to explain everything to me. I'm very happy with my choice. The dance floor lighting set the mood perfectly. I loved the cake lighting too, it almost seemed like it was glowing. They exceeded all my expectations so I highly recommend this company.
  • User2285312 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This company was excellent and really transformed my special day. From the first phone call, these guys were friendly and very responsive. Dylan, who was the assisting agent, asked me a few questions to get to know my style, and then gave me a great quote. My wedding couldn't have gone smoother. The lighting was absolutely gorgeous and the sound was perfect. Some people may not realize that the feel of the room has a lot to do with the lighting and sound. I'm glad I trusted these guys to make my day perfect. They are honest and professional and really care about making their customers happy. I would recommend this company to all.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message