Skip to main content
Weddings

The Legacy Golf Club Reviews

The Legacy Golf Club

The Legacy Golf Club

Ottawa Lake, MI
4.8 out of 5 rating, 35 Reviews
View more information

35 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 95% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 35
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

51 User photos

  • A
    Allison G. Married on 09/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Naturally gorgeous outdoor venue

    Monica and the Legacy was amazing to work with. We booked in August 2020 and got married in Sept 2021. Monica was always transparent and very good with communicating the latest restrictions and options. Fortunately we were able to have a normal wedding and also used the outdoor tent for our reception which had tons of space. The chapel is gorgeous by itself and bridal room is a great place to get ready. The food was fantastic and the pricing is very fair. Highly recommend this for anyone who wants a laid back outdoor venue!
  • Monica
    Monica C. Married on 08/15/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent Venue and Absolutely Beautiful!

    Monica was wonderful and accommodating. The scenery was breathtaking and the person that directed us to the most beautiful spots for pictures was very nice.

    The Legacy Golf Club's reply:

    Thank you so much Monica! We were honored to be your ceremony choice. We wish you two a lifetime of happiness!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • K
    Kelly G. Married on 11/02/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Venue

    The Legacy was wonderful to work with. The food was great, with lots of options. They staff was friendly and professional. The space fit our needs, and looked wonderful. Having a bridal suite to get ready in was ideal and worked perfectly for the bridesmaids and I. While it rained, we were able to get out on the golf course to take some pictures outside with the leaves changing colors. When we came back the next day to get our items, everything was nicely boxed up in the bridal suite waiting for us. They set everything up and cleaned it up for us. This venue included food, linens, DJ, and bar.

    The Legacy Golf Club's reply:

    Thank you for the review Kelly! You, Rich, your bridal party and family were so wonderful to work with! We were so honored to be a part of your big day!
  • C
    Corey B. Married on 09/14/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Legacy

    We had our wedding there in September and couldn’t have asked for a better venue. The people there are great and we love Monica!

    The Legacy Golf Club's reply:

    Thank you so much Corey! We really enjoyed being your venue of choice for your wedding! We wish you two a lifetime of blessings and happiness!!
  • A
    Alyssa B. Married on 01/12/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Legacy made our dream come true!

    Our wedding was everything I asked for and more! Everything was perfect down to the last detail. I would probably choose a different DJ or atleast make certain he did things the exact way I wanted them beforehand. He kind of did his own thing and I felt like the way he wanted to do things was more important to him than how we actually wanted things, but also I don't think many people noticed. I think it was more so just me and family that knew the way we wanted it, and noticed when it was off. Monica is absolutely amazing! Anything and everything you want she will make sure it happens. She also is honest and makes sure to play out everything that you have ideas for so you know how it will go and you can see the positives and negatives with every situation. She is so good at her job and truly cares about the bride and grooms happiness! The wait staff was also all very professional and great at what they do!

    The Legacy Golf Club's reply:

    Thank you so much for the kind words Alyssa! I am so sorry to hear about the frustration with the DJ. We will address that with him. But we absolutely loved working with you and your family to plan your big day! It was so much fun for me and my staff as well as you and your guests!! We hope you guys come back to visit us here over the golf season!
  • H
    Hannah Married on 06/30/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The staff was so accommodating!! They did everything to make sure that the wedding went smoothly. Outdoor ceremony was gorgeous and the food was very good. Couldn't have asked for a better experience.
  • Angela
    Angela Married on 02/23/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A vendor who takes care of it all

    (Been having problems uploading this review with photos!)

    The Legacy were excellent from start to finish because of their wonderful planner Monica. We were having an off season wedding in February for just 11 guests and we had tried many places who out prices us with ridiculous minimum spend quotations. The Legacy were flexible being off season and put together just the right package as we were able to not only have them handle the catering but they also took care of the chair covers, linens and table decor. We hired a beautiful backdrop to marry in front of and after also struggling for an affordable cake the Legacy also took care of that too. The day ran smoothly and looked beautiful and my worry about us filling the space was unjustified as it looked perfect for our intimate vows with our families from the UK and US. The attention to detail they really take pride in and the venue really is stunning. In Summer I imagine even more so.

    The Legacy Golf Club's reply:

    Thank you so much for the kind words Angela! It was a absolute pleasure meeting you and Tyrone and look forward to seeing you both again soon!!
  • K
    Kaitlin Married on 09/09/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We got married here on 9-9-17 and we wouldn't have changed a thing. Dawn was a HUGE help throughout the process and had great suggestions along the way. I had quite a few signs & decorations (some of which ended up being more difficult to put up than we thought) and the employees at the Legacy did all the set up (perfectly) for us so we could relax on our big day. Believe me...that is a HUGE relief the day of! Dawn even took pictures and showed me how the reception decorations were coming along. They kept the whole day moving along on time and made it so we had nothing to worry about. Seriously can't say enough about these guys! Just super, super organized & accommodating!
  • C
    Cindy Married on 08/26/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Dawn was always quick to respond, had a friendly warm smile, and a lot of experience. Her advice and input AMAZING! On our wedding day everything and I mean everything went perfectly, Dawn managed the day, honesty neither my husband nor I had to do anything. Without a doubt I would recommend her.

    The Legacy Golf Club's reply:

    Thank you so much Cindy! You and Jim are so sweet!
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 06/24/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Legacy made wedding planning super easy with the many packages they offer along with the help of Dawn. From the moment we decided to have our wedding at The Legacy, it was very easy to work with Dawn and she would answer any questions I might have. The golf course is beautiful and a great back drop for pictures and a great place for an outdoor ceremony. Our guests really enjoyed the ceremony and reception being in the same place and thought the location and food were all great. There were many people at The Legacy on the day of my wedding who were there to help with every aspect to make sure it went perfectly. Everything went as smoothly as possible and I couldn't imagine my wedding day going any better than it did thanks to all the staff.
  • User2918114 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Dawn is great at responding to your questions, and getting things organized :)

    The Legacy Golf Club's reply:

    Thank you so much!!
  • A
    Ashlee Married on 10/08/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I cannot say enough good things about The Legacy!! The outdoor chapel was beautiful, the dining room was perfectly decorated, and Dawn and her team were amazing! We were able to book a package which included our ceremony, reception, food, drinks, linen rentals, cake, and DJ. They really made planning our wedding so easy!

    I loved everything about having our wedding at the Legacy! The food was wonderful and we still get lots of complements on it. It was also really great that they handled all of the set up and clean up. I had made my own centerpieces and other decorations and they made sure that everything was set up perfectly. Then after the wedding they took down all of the decorations and boxed them up, so I could pick them up the next day.

    I especially loved working with Dawn. She was so helpful and timely in her responses to all of the crazy questions that I came up with and she watched over our entire day, making sure that everything ran smoothly. She truly went above and beyond to make sure that we had the perfect day!
  • M
    Melissa Married on 09/03/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Dawn was AMAZING! She went above and beyond her duties. I didn't have to worry about one thing the entire day. I highly recommend her and The Legacy for your wedding day, I cannot say enough good things about this place!
  • K
    Katy Married on 07/09/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Everyone was very professional and very nice. I loved how everything was set up and cleaned up for us, it made the night that much more perfect. Dawn was very helpful and was reachable at a moments notice. Everything was perfect.
  • A
    Alicia Married on 10/24/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Dawn was absolutely amazing, so helpful, kind and generous
  • A
    Aafje Married on 09/06/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I loved this venue and I would not have done one thing to change it. It's beautiful inside and out and the staff are wonderful and go above and beyond for you and they make you feel special.
  • A
    Alexis Married on 06/20/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Absolutely amazing... I could not have asked for more from them. Staff, decorations , everything was perfect. No to mention the food was great. Thank you legacy. ..
  • B
    Brittany Married on 06/06/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Dawn and her team went above and beyond to make sure my day was extra special. The entire staff was very helpful and I still here about how great my wedding was from my guests!
  • L
    Lynn Married on 04/25/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Dawn and her team at The Legacy made our wedding better than we thought it could have been. All our guests highly praised the food, service and facility. We heard many times ( and still hear) this was the best wedding food they every had.

    We would recommend to anyone The Legacy for their next event.
  • User1863372 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Beautiful outdoor wedding on a golf course. Staff is very attentive and made the whole experience easy for me. Indoor wedding area very beautiful and unique with high ceilings and wooden beams. Also, the food was amazing! Can't say enough good things about my experience at The Legacy!
  • D
    Devan Married on 10/01/2016
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Legacy was not only an amazing value but a beautiful location and incredible experience. Dawn was a huge help, I never even considered a 'wedding planner' before choosing this location but she was a godsend! The staff was courteous and helpful, they were open to all of our ideas (we set up our reception differently than most) and the food was delicious. I give them my highest recommendation.
  • K
    Kathleen Married on 09/26/2015
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had my Wedding and Reception at The Legacy Golf Club. It is a beautiful setting for a wedding! We were married outside in the chapel right on the golf course. It turned out to be a beautiful Fall day! They let us use the golf cart to bring me up to the aisle, which was really neat! After the wedding, we were able to use golf cart and they had a "guide" that knew exactly where to take some really neat pictures around the golf course. The pictures turned out great! We were able to "decorate" with our own unique decorations for the reception. They are really flexible with that. We were able to set up as much of the decorations as we were able to the night before the wedding. They have a really nice "bridal" room, so the bride and bridesmaids can relax and get ready. The appetizers and food were all amazing! We had about 70 people. In our price, it included ceremony venue, open bar, food, appetizers, DJ, and cake, which was really convenient. Our cake was from "Cakes N Shakes" in Blissfield, MI. I don't believe they use that vendor for the cake anymore, but it was a terrific wedding cake! The service staff were friendly, and made the night amazing! The reception area is "rustic" and really nice. I would highly recommend The Legacy to anyone wanting to have a wedding and reception there. It was Perfect!!!
  • L
    Libby Married on 05/16/2014
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Legacy was a great venue for my wedding. They were easy to work with and flexible to better accommodate the look and feel I wanted for my wedding. We had a bit of an issue with the placement of my tent because they were in the process of building a Chapel during the time I had my wedding but Bill helped me find a great location to put up the tent and even personally helped set up chairs. They have very friendly service and staff. I chose a bar package which made it all very stress free to be paid upfront rather than having an additional bill after the wedding. I accidentally left some items behind and the staff had picked it all up and set it aside for me to get once I got back from my Honeymoon. I highly recommend the Legacy for your wedding or event!
  • K
    Kristin Married on 07/20/2019
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful!

    Our overall experience with the Legacy far exceeded our expectations. The venue itself is beautiful and they were great to work with. We had a vision for italian themed food and decor. Monica and the chef went above and beyond to help us create the best food options possible and the chef created Italian food that was better than local italian restaurants! We really appreciated their effort in this and the food, I was told by many, was the best wedding food they ever had. And the cake was also the best wedding cake we ever had! They worked so perfectly with everything we wanted it to look like! We also had some hiccups with the weather but Monica and the gang at the Legacy helped us achieve a beautiful indoor wedding despite the unfortunate circumstances. I would highly recommend the Legacy to any bride!

    The Legacy Golf Club's reply:

    Hi Kristin,
    Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We were honored to be the venue of choice for your daughters wedding! We wish you all the best and hope to see you back during golf season!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message