The Landing Restaurant & Bar Reviews

23 | Newport, RI
See photos, pricing and details

23 Reviews for The Landing Restaurant & Bar

Recommended by 98%

23
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

19 User photos

The Landing Restaurant & Bar 1
The Landing Restaurant & Bar 2
The Landing Restaurant & Bar 3
The Landing Restaurant & Bar 4
The Landing Restaurant & Bar 5
The Landing Restaurant & Bar 6
The Landing Restaurant & Bar 7
+ 13
Sort by:
  • M

    Martha Hussain · Married on 06/04/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A perfect spot for a Welcome Reception!

    Fabulous location, superb food - The Landing was a great choice for our Welcome Reception of 150 out of town guests the night before our son's wedding! It showcases the beautiful Newport Harbor with the Pell bridge in the distance - fully illuminated when the sun sets! Breathtaking! And the food was wonderful - appetizers and a buffet dinner for 150. The staff was outstanding and very professional in planning the event. Amanda R. represented The Landing and was incredibly knowledgeable and helpful with all details, large and small, for our Welcome Reception. She also recommended other vendors who were excellent and added to the success of the evening (baker, day of host, etc). I would recommend this restaurant for those thinking of a scenic location in the heart of Newport with wonderful offerings!

    Sent on 04/18/2019
    The Landing Restaurant & Bar 8
    The Landing Restaurant & Bar 9
    The Landing Restaurant & Bar 10
    The Landing Restaurant & Bar 11
  • J

    Julie · Married on 10/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so lucky to find the Landing!

    Thank you... thank you... THANK YOU to the Landing and it's staff. From start to finish the Landing was the perfect venue for our wedding with 106 guests - from every perspective (space/food/service/etc.) the Landing exceeded my (already high) expectations!

    Amanda and Briana who coordinate events are a dream team! Amanda is simply amazing at what she does - so patient, prompt and responsive and never missed a beat with months of me peppering with tedious questions. The night of, Briana orchestrated everything seamlessly. The Landing is insanely lucky to have them both!

    The Landing made our wedding day nothing short of perfect. We (and our guests) had a phenomenal time. The weather forced us inside (originally planned for the deck) - we held the ceremony downstairs - it was the perfect, intimate space - everyone could hear well and most even had a seat.

    Being admittedly a control freak, I struggled initially with not being able to help be a part of the set up feeling like my decor requests were too specific for someone else to pull off. But the night of - the space looked amazing - Briana & her team nailed it!

    Speaking of the team - all staff were on point! The food was delicious (a ton of guests came up to me to compliment the food) and the service (servers and bar) impeccable.

    There is zero I would change, we had such a great time and I'm so so so glad we held our wedding at the Landing!

    Sent on 11/01/2018
    The Landing Restaurant & Bar 12
    The Landing Restaurant & Bar 13
    The Landing Restaurant & Bar 14
    The Landing Restaurant & Bar 15
    The Landing Restaurant & Bar 16
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Landing was an amazing spot for our Rehearsal Dinner! Amanda was so helpful and went above and beyond to make our dream for the night come true! I can't imagine a better place to have kicked off our wedding weekend!

    Sent on 07/24/2017
  • D

    Diane · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hosted our Rehearsal Gathering and Meet and Greet (155 guests) at The Landing in September, 2018.
    Amanda Roderick’s professionalism, attentiveness, grace, and humor combined to make the perfect experience.
    The venue is beautiful with magnificent sunsets. Our menu was superb and the service was outstanding. Our evening was perfect with incredibly positive feedback from our guests.

    Sent on 10/10/2018
  • J

    Jeff · Married on 06/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose to host our welcome reception here at The Landing, and the food and service was excellent. The views are incredible and the staff was helpful in accommodating the setup of decor. Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone looking to do an event here in the future.

    Sent on 07/28/2018
  • K

    Kaitlyn · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our October wedding was capped off with an amazing celebration at The Landing. The space was perfect for what we wanted for our reception. The space is intimate enough where you feel close to your guests but spacious enough to dance and mingle. If our guests weren’t on the dance floor they were out enjoying the deck. The food was excellent! Amanda was extremely patient through the planning process and kept the night running well throughout the whole event. Highly recommend! Thank you!

    Sent on 01/25/2018
  • R

    Randi · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently had our wedding at the Landing and could not have been more pleased! Amanda, the events planner, was great to work with from start to finish - she was very responsive to all of my emails and questions throughout the planning process, rehearsal and wedding day. We had 80 guests in the upstairs Waterfront Room with our ceremony on the dock at 6 PM. The sunset was AMAZING and made for great photos. The food was great, we received a lot of compliments, and there is a wide variety of food to choose from. The Waterfront Room is perfect with full height windows/doors that open to allow for an outdoor wedding feel and great views of the water. The set-up team set up all of my decor just as I wanted and handled everything with care, the space looked amazing! I would highly recommend the Landing for your wedding or event - beautiful space, sunset, excellent food/drinks and perfect location in Bowen's Wharf all for an extremely reasonable price. Thank you so much for helping to make our wedding day perfect! -Randi & Tom.

    Sent on 09/12/2017
  • M

    Marianne · Married on 07/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful spot for Rehearsal Dinner/Welcome Party. Even though it rained it was spectacular views! Amanda coordinated our event from start to finish and was exceptional! Can't say enough about her the set up, her timeline and right to last call she planned perfectly. it was flawless! Thanks Amanda

    Sent on 08/16/2017
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    We loved our outdoor dockside wedding at The Landing. From the very beginning, the staff was extremely helpful and responded to any emails and questions quickly. The venue itself is intimate and unique which was perfect for the 85 guests at our wedding. If your are looking for a casual, relaxed, romantic wedding, this is a great choice!

    Sent on 07/24/2017
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 05/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding reception at The Landing in May of 2017 and it was perfect. We had a cocktail style reception for around 175 people with passed hors d’oeuvres and a buffet dinner. The food was great and we have heard nothing but good reviews from our guests. They especially liked the mashed potato bar. Amanda was great to work with throughout the entire planning process. She was very responsive and receptive to our ideas and any concerns we had. Everything turned out great and everyone had a fun time. We are happy we chose The Landing for our reception and wouldn't have wanted to go anywhere else. It is a great value and you really can't beat the location.

    Sent on 06/13/2017
  • K

    Kathy · Married on 05/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Landing was the perfect location for the Rehearsal Dinner for my son & his wife in May. As our guests enjoyed drinks before dinner, they also enjoyed seeing a beautiful sunset over the harbor from our private function room upstairs. Amanda was a pleasure to work with. She was easy to reach & always responded promptly to any questions I had via email or phone. She offered great suggestions on menu/ bar choices, as well as room setup & decorating. We dropped off the boxes of my decorations during the afternoon of the event & when we walked into the room the evening of the dinner, it looked even more beautiful than I imagined it would look, thanks to Amanda!
    We are so happy we started off the Wedding Weekend at The Landing!

    Sent on 07/27/2017
  • G

    Genevieve · Married on 05/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I got married at the landing on May 19, 2017, and it was nothing short of amazing from start to finish. Amanda (the event coordinator) really made us feel comfortable from the beginning. With her insight of the local area, knowledge of how the night should flow, and overall attention to detail, we were nothing short of impressed. She was extremely prompt, and attentive whenever we had a question or concern.
    When we arrived, there was a buzz in the place. The outdoor bar was packed, and there was also a really fun band playing. People we didn’t even know were buying us drinks and cheering us on. The atmosphere really got all of our guests in the mood to party.
    Our guest list was around 85 people, which felt great in the upstairs event room. It felt full, but also very comfortable (does that make sense?). The room is surrounded in glass, with a wrap around private deck, and as the sun set, the light reflected off the bay and into the room. It was absolutely beautiful. We were extremely fortunate with the weather that day, and there really wasn’t a bad place to take a picture. Bowens Wharf has great docks, and other nooks and crannies to get fantastic wedding photos.
    If you want a medium/small sized wedding, a beautiful venue, and you want to pay a reasonable price; This is your spot. Amanda and the rest of the staff at The Landing will not disappoint you!

    Sent on 11/27/2017
    The Landing Restaurant & Bar 17
    The Landing Restaurant & Bar 18
    The Landing Restaurant & Bar 19
    The Landing Restaurant & Bar 20
    The Landing Restaurant & Bar 21
    The Landing Restaurant & Bar 22
  • M

    melissa · Married on 05/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding ceremony and reception at The Landing on May 14, 2016, and I cannot say enough good things!! The location was beautiful and the perfect spot for our event. The Landing hit every requirement we had for a venue - especially on price. You cannot, cannot beat the incredibly reasonable cost of an event at The Landing, especially given the location. Located in the middle of Newport on Bowen's Wharf, The Landing is exactly where we hoped to be married, and we never expected to be able to get exactly what we wanted at such a reasonable price. The event room with 3 walls of french doors gives you an incredible view of Newport Harbor. And the food!! The food was absolutely delicious.

    I could not be happier with our choice. Every moment of working with Amanda was easy, enjoyable, and I knew we were in good hands. I trusted her judgment, and would choose The Landing again and again for any special event. If you are looking for Newport, with gorgeous views, amazing food, and a reasonable price...look no further than The Landing. It is absolutely the best choice you could make!!

    Sent on 05/20/2016
  • C

    Christine · Married on 05/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Day Ever is an Understatement!
    The Landing Restaurant was the ideal place for our wedding. Not only is this our favorite place to hang out, eat, and enjoy drinks on a regular basis but, it was the perfect place for us to share our special day with our loved ones. Amanda was a pleasure to work with. She was always reliable and helpful in every aspect of the planning, day of events, and even after the wedding. She was my life saver! It began to pour just hours prior to our planned dock wedding. Amanda could see the concern in my face, she was so easily able to calm my nerves. She was able to problem solve on the spot! She offered me the Lobster Bar covered deck for our ceremony. She jumped into action at the last minute and was able to accommodate me and my guests. She eased my worry and the day went on without a hitch! Words can not express the gratitude my husband and I feel towards the team at The Landing. Despite the rainy day and night, Amanda and the staff at The Landing were able to make this day so special for me, my husband, and our family and friends. This was the most amazing and beautiful experience of our lives! We recommend this venue to anyone looking for a great time, location, scenery, food, atmosphere, and staff. When you think about Newport, RI weddings, think: The Landing!!

    Sent on 05/31/2016
  • L

    Laura · Married on 10/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hosted a welcome party for our wedding guests at the Landing on Friday the 16th of October. My husband and I visit Newport frequently and always start our weekend out at the Landing so it seemed only appropriate to start off our wedding weekend with a welcome party for all our guests there. We cannot say enough about the level of service we received from the Landing. We rented the Waterfront Room and it was really beautiful when all set up. The food was amazing and the staff so helpful and friendly. The location is beautiful, overlooking the harbor. We caught the sunset which was breathtaking. The Landing staff set everything up for us and were so sweet and useful, and truly made it such a special night. Amanda Roderick organized our event for us and was truly spectacular - calm and composed she made this at times 'stressed' bride very reassured. It was a joy and pleasure to work with Amanda and the whole staff at the Landing. I would highly recommend hosting an event at this location. The welcome party was truly an amazing night that our guests are still raving about.

    Sent on 11/01/2015
  • User5491528 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our rehearsal dinner at The Landing and it was lovely. We needed a private dining room large enough to accommodate our ~80 guests. The Landing’s second floor dining room has a gorgeous view of the harbor and it was the perfect setting for our Friday evening clambake.

    Amanda Roderick, their events coordinator, is so lovely to work with and very flexible. In our family, the rehearsal dinner is almost as important as the wedding itself. We had lots of toasts, requiring not only audio equipment, but timing between meal courses. Amanda worked with our wedding planner, videographer and our emcees (best man and man of honor) to make sure everything went smoothly. The wait staff and bartenders were very professional.

    It was a great night. We loved the clambake, the view was spectacular and we had so much fun! Thank you, Amanda. It was a pleasure working with you and the Landing staff!

    Sent on 10/03/2015
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 05/05/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We feel so fortunate to have found The Landing as the venue for our ceremony and reception. Between the views, location, service, and food - we were THRILLED! Our guests are still raving about our wedding and we feel the same way. Thank you for Amanda, Sarah and the entire staff of The Landing for all you did to make this the best day of our life. I felt ZERO STRESS the entire time. You gave us the gift of TRULY enjoying our day. Thank you.

    Sent on 05/10/2018
    The Landing Restaurant & Bar 23
    The Landing Restaurant & Bar 24
    The Landing Restaurant & Bar 25
    The Landing Restaurant & Bar 26
  • M

    Michele · Married on 06/24/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hosted the Rehearsal Dinner at the Landing this past June and we couldn't be happier with the results. The venue was beautiful, the food was fantastic, and everyone had a wonderful night.

    Sent on 07/23/2017
  • S

    Sharon · Married on 09/07/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Easy to work with and deliver beautiful atmosphere.

    Sent on 09/12/2016
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 04/16/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Had our 40 person rehearsal dinner here. Awesome views, our guests loved the venue that overlooks the docks and water. We got a beautiful sunset. The room is spacious and has a bar. Our guests were able to mingle in bar area before dinner, which we did buffet style and was great. Good value, the room charge does fluctuate based on season. Amanda was awesome on setting everything up day of and coordinating with us.

    Sent on 05/14/2016
  • User4423867 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect venue for a newport reception! Great views, food, and space for a medium sized wedding. People are still talking about their meals and the amazing views of the harbor at sunset. Would defiantly recommend The Landing!

    Sent on 09/24/2014
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 05/08/2015

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The Landing Restaurant was a gorgeous setting for my wedding! I chose the Landing Restaurant for my ceremony and reception venue because we were having a small wedding 40-60 people (ultimately ended up being 45 people) and it was unique and different. We had our wedding ceremony out on the dock. It was the perfect setting, right on the water. Some of our friends stood along the dock and other were able to stand inside with the windows wide open looking out onto us. Amanda was great to work with. Easy going and always got back to me within a reasonable amount of time. The food was good, we had the clam bake and the setting was perfect. I couldn't ask for anything more on my wedding day. It's a day I will never forget!

    Sent on 06/01/2015
  • C

    Claire · Married on 05/28/2017

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We booked The Landing for our rehearsal dinner. We did a casual buffet style with an open bar in the upstairs area for 50 people and it was perfect! The room has recently been done over and is really beautiful. There was a high minimum to spend on food & bev but it was a holiday weekend so it was expected. I love The Landing - it is such a fun place and they were flexible about letting our group stay late and party after our event which was perfect! Amanda Roderick was great to work with!

    Sent on 07/24/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review