The LAB Salon (love.art.beauty) Kauai Reviews

18 | Kalaheo, HI
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for The LAB Salon (love.art.beauty) Kauai

Recommended by 96%

18
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.7
Sort by:
  • D

    Delia · Married on 07/26/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristy Love was wonderful!! She made me look amazing on my big day!! I recommend her 100%

  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 08/11/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristy at The Lab Salon is absolutely AMAZING! I HIGHLY recommend her to anyone looking for hair/make-up artists on Kauai. I had my hair and make-up for my wedding done at her beautiful salon. My hair looked exactly how I imagined it and described it to her. She did such a great job, I could't have been happier with the outcome! She also does Airbrush make-up which looked and felt so natural. I've seen hairbrush before that looked a little caked around the eyes and not very natural, which caused me to be a little anxious about getting airbrushed. Kristy did such an amazing job. My make-up was flawless and looked so natural and gorgeous. She is very professional and a really sweet person to work with. Anyone who says differently must be an extremely difficult person to please. After doing my own research before booking her, and then working with her, I can honestly say that she is the absolute BEST you will find on Kauai!

  • F

    Stefanie · Married on 02/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristy Love is absolutely amazing. She made my hair look exactly like what I showed her in my pictures. I am pretty sure she is the only one on the island that does airbrush make-up and trust me you want this on your wedding day! I even drove from north shore to south shore to have this celebrity stylist do her magic on me and it was so worth the drive. She will travel for a fee. The makeup lasted all day. I had her do my hair and make-up two days later for trash the dress shoot. I went in the ocean and underwater in the pool and my makeup stayed on and STILL looked amazing. No need to look anywhere else for a stylist. BOOK KRISTY! Besides doing amazing work she is a sweetheart of a person too.

  • W

    Whitney · Married on 08/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would recommend the LAB Salon to anyone and everyone! Both ladies were so sweet and laid back. They both did an awesome job on my, my sisters, and my mom's hair and makeup. They listened to what we wanted or where going for and everyone loved the results. I wanted my hair to be loose and simple, but with the wind on the beach I was nervous it would not work, but she did it and it worked perfect. I had morning after photo's and it ended up pouring rain that morning and thank goodness I got airbrush makeup bc my makeup did not run or smear at all! All and all my experience was PERFECT and I wish they lived closer to me so I could use them all the time!

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 10/10/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristie did an amazing job on my hair and make-up. She is such a sweet person and boy does she know what she is doing! When I saw my self in the mirror for the first time after it was all done....I just couldn't beleive how amazingly beautiful she make me look and feel. My make-up was just perfect, it was natural and not over done but stunning at the same time. My hair was done exactly what I invisioned in my mind. I would recommend her to anyone who is getting married in Kauai.

  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 06/26/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristy made me feel like a princess on my wedding day! My hair was gorgeous & my make up was perfect. Thanks Kristy for helping make my wedding day perfect!
    Chelsea Vaccaro

  • C

    chelsea · Married on 06/26/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristy made me feel like a princess on my wedding day! My hair was gorgeous & my make up was perfect. Thanks Kristy for helping make my wedding day perfect!

  • E

    Sarah · Married on 05/15/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristy did my hair and make up for my October 7th, 2010 wedding in Kauai. She did an absolutely incredible job. My face looked truly flawless. She airbrushed mac foundation on and the shade was an exact match to my skin tone. No lines of demarcation. The make up looked natural and yet stunning.
    My hair turned out different than what I had pictured it to be. But I loved it. It was very pretty and she put enough product in it so that it never got frizzy or had any reaction to the humidity. Major plus!
    My only issue was timing. I thought starting at 2 would have us done in like an hour & a half, giving me time to get into my dress and head down to the car by 4pm. (The ceremony was at a beach 40 minutes away) But the hair & make up took much longer than I expected and I was about 30 minutes late for the sunset ceremony.. It got dark faster than we would have liked. To Kristy's credit, I have long & extremely thick hair. This was my first time having hair/make up done professionally for an event so I didn't know to add that in when making the appointment.
    She was extremely friendly & professional and I would recommend her to anyone. When I look at my pictures I just feel grateful to have had such a skilled artist to help me look my best on such an important day.

  • K

    Kay · Married on 04/08/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristy did a fantastic job. She managed to help me have a stress-free day! Thanks again!
    Kay

  • I

    Stacey · Married on 04/05/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are getting married on Kauai, I can't imagine you would find a better choice for a wedding stylist than Kristy. She's very talented and she's a nice young woman who was a calming presence on a very stressful day.

    I traveled to Hawaii for a destination wedding and I was extremely nervous about booking a stylist I had never met before. Several vendors that I contacted were rather flaky (taking forever to respond to e-mails or phone calls, if they bothered all), but not Kristy. She always responded promptly and courteously. Her professional-looking website also made me feel more comfortable.

    I would highly recommend getting to the island a couple days in advance so you can book a trial run with Kristy, playing around with ideas for make-up and hair. I sent her a few pictures sketching out the general "romantic" look I was going for. During the trial run, she nailed it.

    She was amazing on the wedding day. A highway construction project caused a big traffic jam and she phoned to say she would be a few minutes late so I wouldn't worry. In the hours leading up to the wedding, the weather was horrible and she helped me hold it together by providing reassuring words and keeping an upbeat attitude. She acted like a sister rather than someone I had met just days before.

    Most importantly, my hair and makeup looked beautiful. Many guests commented on how pretty and natural I looked. The hair and makeup withstood some stiff winds, drizzle, dancing and perspiration, but 12 hours later, when I went to sleep, I still looked camera-ready.

    Mahalo, Kristy!

  • E

    Emelia · Married on 03/28/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristy is fantastic. I looked great in person and in photos. I normally don't wear makeup or do much with my hair except wash and dry. I left it all up to Kristy and she did a wonderful job. I could not have been happier. My friends were quite impressed. I looked like me but very nicely enhanced, all due to Kristy's skill.

    I picked her out through internet search. It is nerve wracking to rely on someone you've never met to help you look your best on your wedding day. The end result was wonderful. Her sweet calming professional demeanor helped make everything easier. I recommend Kristy without reservations!

  • C

    Carrie · Married on 02/10/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend going to see Kristy for your wedding day needs! I initially spoke with her a few months before my wedding but, had decided to save money and not have my hair and make-up professionally done. Upon arriving in Hawaii, I changed my mind. I thought...why put the additional stress on myself? Isn't that why you go to Hawaii to get married? I came to Kauai have a stress free and perfectly romantic wedding! I contacted her just a day or two before our wedding and inquired about her services again. She was so helpful! She really went out of her way to make time for me on my special day. I brought clip in hair extensions with me and she put them in and did a FANTASTIC job on my hair and make-up! I felt like a princess! My fiance was very pleased as well!! :)

    Thank you Kristy for making my wedding day even more perfect!

    Sincerely,
    Carrie Harris
    Speedway, IN

  • L

    Lisa · Married on 09/21/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristy was amazing. I felt so beautiful on my wedding day. There isn't one thing I would have changed. Since this was a destination wedding for me, Kristy was great with responding to my emails. I'm glad I booked a hair trial before my wedding day, it seem to make things run so smoothly on the actual day. She also did my mom's hair and make-up, which I also thought came out perfect. I would recommend her to anyone and everyone. Mahalo

  • M

    Maria · Married on 09/19/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Planning a destination wedding is hard enough but having to trust your hair and makeup (a HUGE part of any bride's wedding day) to a stranger was a stressor in itself. Kristy Love was so accomodating, and wonderfully prepared. She listened to what I wanted my hair to look like and executed almost to a "T" what I had envisioned. My makeup was flawless and beautifully applied. I felt like a glowing bride.

    I am so glad I happened upon her salon's website and would recommend her to anyone looking for any particular beauty service. A bride on her wedding day or someone simply looking for a new look. She's talented.

    Thank you Kristy for helping me feel my very best on my wedding day!

    -Maria Vincent
    Seattle, WA

  • I

    Jennifer · Married on 05/27/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I LOVED working with Kristy. It was an absolute pleasure. Not only were her prices excellent but Kristy herself was so easy to work with and did a fantastic job. Would highly recommend her to everyone who wants a great job well done! Loved her!!

  • M

    Monika · Married on 02/24/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristi was wonderful! My hair and makeup were fabulous. I thought her price for my Mom and Aunt was a little pricey, but for me, it was well worth the money!!

  • B

    Cheri · Married on 11/09/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristy at The LAB Salon was AWESOME! I had my make-up air brushed and my hair put up in an up-do by her. She's A-class! I had a hard time getting through to someone several times, yet they eventually got back to me. It was a little nerve wracking, because my consultation was cancelled. In the end, it all worked out & that is what matters. The salon is beautiful and her and her assistant were helpful.

  • G

    A · Married on 10/06/2011

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    I had my hair and make up done at this salon. After listening to the professional talk about how she never recommends a bride use anything but her make up because it is "melt-proof" tested, I drove an hour north to my wedding site. Within 15 minutes of leaving the car and starting to dress, HER makeup was MELTING!!! it was a nightmare. I had to patch my face back together. No blotting paper or powder would help. Basically, I reapplied my own make up (fortunately I had it on hand as back up) literally 10 minutes before I walked down the aisle. So much for the $200 I spent to so I could relax and leave it to a professional. To top matters off, I called her studio multiple times in my panic to see how I might remedy the issue. Unfortunately, my calls were not returned until after my wedding had started.

    Sent on 01/26/2012

    The LAB Salon (love.art.beauty) Kauai's reply:

    It is unfortunate that this bride claims her makeup melted off and we were unresponsive about it, especially because her experience with us was very pleasant, and she was very happy with her hair and makeup. Her call was returned immediately after receiving the message, which was about one hour from her initial call. Being in a busy salon, the phone went to voicemail when our assistant was busy helping clients. The message we left her was filled with concern, and an offer to please call us back when she had a moment so we could get to the root of the problem. It is unclear what really happened and not all facts are being represented fairly. The long-wearingness of the makeup has never been disputed before, as every other bride can attest to.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review