The House of the Seven Gables Reviews

12 | Salem, MA
See photos, pricing and details

12 Reviews for The House of the Seven Gables

Recommended by 100%

12

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

19 User photos

The House of the Seven Gables 1
The House of the Seven Gables 2
The House of the Seven Gables 3
The House of the Seven Gables 4
The House of the Seven Gables 5
The House of the Seven Gables 6
The House of the Seven Gables 7
+ 13
Sort by:
  • Tara

    Tara McMullen · Married on 11/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely the best location for an outdoor wedding ceremony in Salem!

    We chose to hold our wedding ceremony at the House of Seven Gables this past November – and it was one of the best decisions we have ever made! My husband and I live in Salem, and we really wanted to host our nontraditional wedding ceremony outdoors in the Fall (our favorite season) in a gorgeous natural setting…so the House of Seven Gables was the perfect location! The large section of the lawn in back of the House held our 130 guests absolutely perfectly, and between the waterfront view and the view of the house, we were completely surrounded by natural beauty and historical architecture. We were lucky enough to have a perfectly clear (although incredibly cold and windy!) Fall day for our outdoor ceremony – and as we chose to have our ceremony begin right around sunset, the view over the water ended up being simply breathtaking! Included in our rental agreement was the opportunity to shoot photos in various rooms in the House itself, in addition to all over the grounds – which was SUCH a wonderful and unique experience! All of the various spaces on the property (both inside and outside) are extraordinary, and made our photos look that much more magical.

    Deb Costa, who we worked with through the entire process of planning and executing our ceremony, was so incredibly kind, patient, and helpful all along the way! She provided great suggestions and ideas, and took the time to meet with us three times in person in the preceding months to do several walk-throughs of the space. She was also with us every step of the way on the day of the ceremony, and we 100% couldn’t have done it without her!

    Having our wedding ceremony at the House of Seven Gables was simply a splendid experience, and the venue and staff deserve five stars in every category.

    Sent on 12/27/2018
    The House of the Seven Gables 8
    The House of the Seven Gables 9
    The House of the Seven Gables 10
    The House of the Seven Gables 11
    The House of the Seven Gables 12
    The House of the Seven Gables 13
    The House of the Seven Gables 14
    The House of the Seven Gables 15
    The House of the Seven Gables 16
    The House of the Seven Gables 17
    The House of the Seven Gables 18
    The House of the Seven Gables 19
    The House of the Seven Gables 20
    The House of the Seven Gables 21
  • Kelly

    Kelly · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Wedding

    We feel incredibly lucky to have been able to get married at this location. There really aren't words to describe how grateful we are to Deb and the House of the Seven Gables for letting us use such beautiful grounds to get married and celebrate with our friends and family. The location cannot be beat - where else can you get historical buildings, lush grass and beautiful flowers right on the ocean?? Thank you so much for such a perfect day!

    Sent on 12/13/2018
    The House of the Seven Gables 22
    The House of the Seven Gables 23
    The House of the Seven Gables 24
    The House of the Seven Gables 25
    The House of the Seven Gables 26

    The House of the Seven Gables's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to let other brides learn how special The House of the Seven Gables is. I always feel honored to help make such a memorable day special. Deb Costa
  • C

    Cassandra · Married on 11/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were married at the House of the Seven Gables Hooper Hathaway House on 11/12/2016. It was wonderful!! Debbie and her staff were phenomenal to work with, we had a small wedding (less than 30 people) and used the space in a unique way. The entire time Debbie was open to our ideas and what we wanted, our family and friends were excited about the space and it was just a really fun evening.

    I would recommend this historical place for anyone looking for a unique but beautiful place to get married! Thank you for everything.

    Sent on 12/31/2016
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 10/31/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Deb Costa is wonderful and accommodating! The venue is full of New England charm, and the seaside lawn location is breathtaking. They can also connect you with the best local wedding vendors. You can't go wrong with this venue.

    Sent on 04/10/2017
  • K

    Karen · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue is a hidden gem in the middle of Salem, MA. The back lawn area where we hosted our son and daughter-in-laws wedding has a beautiful view of Salem Harbor that you would never know exists. It was a pleasant surprise to see how much room was there for a tent--big enough to accommodate a band, caterer, etc. Debbie Costa, who is the event manager, was the most helpful, professional and easiest person to get along with. Her suggestions were all on point. I highly recommend this facility for anyone looking for an outside wedding venue.

    Sent on 11/25/2016
  • L

    Lydia · Married on 07/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are having our wedding at the House of Seven Gables in Salem MA this coming July! The event manager Deb Costa is extremely nice and caring. Every question that I ask her, she has a thorough answer from food to DJs and always responds asap. She has been very accommodating to our catering requests since we are on a budget and also offers her ideas and tips on how to cut costs. The House of the Seven Gables is absolutely beautiful and comes along with an ocean view to boot! We are so excited to have our wedding at the House of Seven Gables!!!

    Sent on 12/10/2015
  • User5647423 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our reception here and it was fabulous. The garden is gorgeous and the views at sunset are stunning. Everyone absolutely loved it and couldn't stop talking about great the location was. Deb was great and made sure everything went smoothly. We had an outside caterer that we wanted to use and a lot of places weren't ok with that, but Deb made it really easy. The only caveat is be sure to factor in the cost of renting a tent and tables. It was a lot more than we expected it to be, so that kind of broke our budget. But to be honest, it was worth it. We couldn't be happier with our choice, and as an added bonus, any profits they make either go back into the house or go into funding the Salem Historical Society, so you can feel good about spending your money there.

    Sent on 07/25/2016
  • K

    Kerry-Kate · Married on 09/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding here labor day weekend and it was 1000 times better than we could have ever imagined. The value is amazing. My husband and I wanted to have our reception on the water but also didn't have 8,000 in our budget for a reception site. This was the PERFECT spot. We recently got our pictures back and they are amazing. The gardens are beautiful and you cannot beat the view.

    Deb was our go to person at the house of seven gables. She was very approachable and flexible to all of our ideas and answered all of our questions promptly. She was also there the day of our wedding and helped run everything smoothly.

    The only thing I would say was it did feel a bit small with the amount of people we had which was 170, but I think it is because we wanted a large dance floor which took up the room. Also due to noise regulations you get rushed out the door at the end of the wedding but that is understandable.

    All and all I would not change a thing about the day except not getting to mingle during cocktail hour as they kept the bridal party hidden. we missed out on chatting with a lot of our guests.

    The venue is amazing and the history makes this a very special place to get married, not your typical hotel wedding.

    Sent on 12/26/2015
  • C

    chandra · Married on 08/23/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our ceremony at the house of seven gables. I did not imagine how flexible they would be, they were so kind, helpful, and really allowed us to have our ceremony as we wanted it - including our dog!

    Debbie whom was supporting the day, really kept everything running to smoothly, and was so helpful, and kind to everyone that was in attendance. The location is just beautiful, and is perfect for any couple looking to hold their ceremony in an outdoor location - with plenty of parking in downtown Salem.

    Overall the ceremony was a great success- and I thank the staff of the House of Seven Gables for that - even when our chuppah was not cooperating, they solved the problem!

    Sent on 09/26/2014
  • K

    kim · Married on 08/16/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding here was absolutely amazing! I booked this venue last minute once my original venue closed down unexpectedly. From the very beginning it was a positive experience, all my emails were answered promptly and Deb had great vendor recommendations! The day of everything was amazing and went completely smoothly. The grounds are absolutely beautiful here and the view of the ocean was perfect, I highly recommend this venue!

    Sent on 08/19/2014
  • A

    Angel · Married on 10/11/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding ceremony at the House of Seven Gables. Deb was fantastic and worked with our budget and needs for the day. Unfortunately the weather did not cooperate to have an outdoor ceremony and Deb flawlessly helped transfer our ideas into use in the Hooper-Hathaway House. It was a fantastic day and I would not hesitate to see about hosting another function here again! Thank you so much for making our day extra special!

    Sent on 01/27/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review