Skip to main content
Weddings

The Homestead Reviews

The Homestead View more information

Reviews

4.1 out of 5 rating
4.1 out of 5 rating
43 Reviews
81% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.2 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    3.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.2 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4 out of 5 rating

Awards

43
  • Annah
    Annah Sent on 07/27/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our wedding at The Homestead

    My husband and I are so happy we had our wedding at The Homestead! Everything was so beautiful and perfect. Our coordinator Sandy Luthardt is an amazing woman who loves what she does and is damn good at her job! She was so professional and kind. She had an answer for all of our questions and a solution to any problem. The catering staff were also amazing! The Homestead is a beautiful place and we can't wait to go back!
  • M
    Marissa B. Sent on 11/04/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Venue to have your Wedding

    Phenomenal wedding venue!!! They had a day of coordinator built in without any extra fee, which made a huge difference between me being really stressed and taking my stress away. It was so nice to have our rooms all in the same place, a bar there, restaurants, etc for the weekend. They answered any and all questions I had and their staff made us feel so welcome and special on our day. They made things easy for us by having things mostly included! We recommend to have your wedding here hands down! We will be coming back to the Homestead hopefully every year, it’s that beautiful and we were treated that well!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • J
    Justin H. Sent on 10/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Wedding

    The homestead was great working with us as we planned long distance through phone and email. Our coordinator, Sandy, was amazing and had everything set the way we wanted. She worked with us through every step from initial planning all the way through the reception. Even with poor weather on the day of our wedding she quickly adapted and suggested an alternate ceremony site that was beautiful.
  • Jason
    Jason A. Sent on 06/04/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best wedding experience we could ask for

    We had our wedding ceremony here and it couldn't have been better. Our coordinator from the group sales team was selfless and extremely helpful, she did whatever it took to make our stay, ceremony, and reception the best it could be! To give some examples, we exchanged over 20 emails leading up to our ceremony to coordinate minor details, they were extremely flexible to the elements allowing us to choose a ceremony site a couple days before the big day, and they helped us save in decoration costs by personally moving some of our ceremony site decorations to the reception site. We had a small, intimate ceremony so that lended itself well to being flexible, but I feel the staff here went above and beyond to give us a phenomenal experience. My wife and I highly recommend this venue for a beautiful, northern Michigan ceremony!
  • S
    Savannah Sent on 06/19/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    All I can say about The Homestead is WOW. My wedding day was absolutely perfect, thanks to Lynize, Connar and the rest of the crew. Their attention to all the details big and small was impeccable. From the time we met them in July to book our wedding, to the clean up, they went above and beyond to make this the event of my lifetime. I had no stress or worries, and was fully able to enjoy my time with my new husband and our guests. Lynzie was there for an entire year, helping us with everything and always answering questions. Connar took charge of our vendors, and helped us the entire week of our wedding. She even got on her knees to help us wrap up extra flowers the morning after. Even the wait staff took care of us and our guests so fantastically. Especially Hillary. She anticipated everything we could ever need or want, and had it delivered to our table before we even asked. Our guests have been raving about their time at the resort. Most wished they could have stayed longer. We can't thank everyone at The Homestead enough. If you are looking for a perfect wedding in Northern Michigan, look no further than The Homestead Resort.
  • H
    Heather Sent on 01/15/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Wedding weekend was a winter wonderland. Homestead had white powdery snow that made our winter New Year's Eve wedding perfect. Staff was superb and my wedding coordinator Lynzie Gotshall made everything stressless for me. It was amazing
  • N
    Nicole Sent on 06/15/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding at The Homestead was truly incredible. My husband and I feel so lucky to have found this venue. Our coordinator, Lynzie, was so helpful, organized, and responsive throughout the entire planning process. I felt very comfortable relaxing on our wedding day because I knew things were under control. The staff at The Homestead were so prepared with every detail of our day that things moved flawlessly. The food and drink service was fantastic – so quick and friendly. It’s like they anticipated everything we would need and would have it to us before we could ask for it. Our guests loved The Homestead, too. They raved about both the resort and our wedding. So many people thanked us for inviting them because it provided them with a weekend getaway at such a beautiful place. I highly recommend this venue!!!
  • K
    Kristen Sent on 11/09/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The team at The Homestead, led by our wedding coordinator Barb Ellis, was beyond spectacular. From the moment we booked the venue, to the morning after our wedding when we had to take everything home, they were attentive, helpful, sweet, kind, quick, and thoughtful. We couldn't have asked for a better venue, inclusive of all the bells and whistles! Even on the worst possible weather day, when our outdoor wedding rained out, they did everything in their power to make sure the day was beyond our wildest expectations. We wish we could do it all over again!

    The staff was incredible - a group of people genuinely excited to be there and make sure that our entire day was perfect. We are beyond lucky to have chosen The Homestead for our wedding! Our guests had an incredible vacation weekend away, and all fell in love with Northern Michigan (as we knew they would)! Thanks again to the Homestead for our dream wedding!
  • A
    Anne Sent on 09/29/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My original thank you letter to the Homestead team and Wedding Sales Associate, Lynzie Gotshall was three pages long. Because this review box is not long enough to express all of the gratitude I have for this team and the incredible weekend they helped to create for us, I will have to summarize the highlights. Bottom line, Lynzie was a lifesaver. My husband and I decided not to use a wedding coordinator due to budget restrictions and I know now that without Lynzie our dream wedding never would have happened. We chose The Homestead as our ceremony (top of bay mountain) and reception (mountain flowers lodge) sites in early October 2015 and Lynzie helped guide us through every decision there was to make regarding planning not only our wedding day but entire wedding weekend. She even included potential vendors!! Lynzie is an invaluable resource on the Homestead team and made our 10-month journey of planning and facilitating our dream weekend wedding an absolute blast and stress-free.
    While Lynzie was such an important part of our positive experience with the Homestead, it is also important to acknowledge our gratitude for the front desk staff and wait staff present during our cocktail hour, reception and farewell brunch. During an obviously busy time at the front desk, the staff welcomed my chaotic family in arranging welcome bags for all of our guests and any adjustment in accommodations were easily and hospitably addressed. The wait staff at Mountain Flowers Lodge made us feel as though we were attending a black-tie affair. From greeting my groom and I right off of the chairlift with champagne on a silver platter to always making sure our glasses were full, many of our guests stated they felt they had their own personal servers that evening.
    Overall an incredible job well done to each person that had a hand in making our wedding weekend possible. One week later and everyone is still talking about the event of the summer. THANK YOU!!!!
  • C
    Carrie Sent on 05/21/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I have been photographing weddings here for over 5 years now. Every wedding that I have shot has been very well organized and beautifully decorated. The Homestead has several amazing spots for photos, no matter what time of year! The staff really make sure all guest are fully enjoying their experience and are very accommodating. I highly recommend the Homestead to make your wedding day an experience you will never forget.
  • E
    Erin Sent on 10/24/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding was a fabulous stress free event and I can contribute all the of the wedding's success to Elizabeth Curlew and all the staff at The Homestead. We are from the metro Detroit area but even with the 5 hour distance it was a breeze planning a wedding at The Homestead. Any time I had a question or a concern I would email Elizabeth Curlew (our wedding coordinator) and she would respond asap (I'm sure I emailed her a bajillion times).

    First, you can not overlook how gorgeous the property is. Everything is so well maintained, you could not ask for a better venue. We had our ceremony and reception at the Camp Firefly venue, it was gorgeous! I love how secluded it felt, it was like we had the whole property to ourselves.

    Anything you can dream of The Homestead staff will make possible. We had a fall wedding and it had also been a dream of mine to have mini donuts and cider at our fall wedding, Elizabeth made it happen. I wanted to set up my ceremony completely different that they normally do, Elizabeth made that happen. And it wasn't just Elizabeth (who I can not stop singing her praises) it was everyone else. My guests loved how our bartender remembered their exact drink order and how friendly everyone was. You can tell they take pride in what they do. You are not just another wedding to them. If you are looking to get married in Northern Michigan, no need to look any further than The Homestead! My husband and I can not wait to go back up and visit!
  • J
    Jennifer Sent on 10/13/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband Brian & I were married at The Homestead in September 2014. From Day 1 the service we experienced was superior. Our Event Coordinator, Elizabeth walked us through each step of the wedding planning process and kept in constant communication with us the entire time. The resort was gorgeous, well-maintained and everyone from housekeeping to the management staff were friendly and helpful. Each and every person that assisted us on our Wedding Day at The Homestead provided us with a lifetime of memories. We not only built memories, but friendships with the staff there. We cannot wait for many more trips and a limetime of memories!
  • User1884214 Sent on 10/24/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    What a beautiful place to make many lasting memories! My daughter's destination wedding at the Homestead was wonderful. Many of our guests said it was the best wedding they had ever been to! Planning the wedding from such a great distance (we live on the west coast) was much easier with the vendor lists provided by the Homestead. We worked for a year with Elizabeth answering our questions, and helping with planning. Lynzie was our event coordinator and set up and assisted with each of our events: rehearsal dinner, welcome reception, wedding, and goodbye brunch. She made each of our venues look beautiful. As the mother of the bride I was able to relax and enjoy a wonderful wedding weekend and spend time with our guest.
  • J
    Jason Sent on 09/17/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Elizabeth and Emily were absolutely awesome, they took care of everything. The Homestead is such a beautiful place....we couldn't have asked for a better venue. Everything is on premise and our guests were able to enjoy a beautiful day at the beach.

    The bar manager at Beppi's was great during out rehersal party. Actually after the wedding my sister left her shoes outside and her son, which works at Nona's restaurant on premise, brought the shoes to our room.

    Everything was perfect and we had such a great time. I would recommend this venue to anyone. #Awesomeness
  • User1677459 Sent on 06/24/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Homestead is hands down the best venue in Michigan. Everything from the venue to food to staff to lodging was absolutely perfect. Having everyone so close to each other was a huge plus. No one had to drive to get anywhere and we were all able to hang out all day. Our coordinators kept everything running smoothly all day without any hiccups. You must check out The Homestead for your wedding!
  • S
    Samantha Sent on 07/10/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    You cannot beat the setting and scenery at The Homestead. I looked all over Michigan trying to find the perfect venue for our wedding and there is no comparison to The Homestead.

    The food was excellent. My guests all commented on how much they enjoyed our wedding because the resort is so relaxing and beautiful. There were a couple hiccups with vendors outside of The Homestead but the staff (especially Barb) made sure that I was ok, my guests were happy and things continued to run smoothly.

    The set up and tear down of all our decor could not have been easier. I met with Stephanie for about 10 minutes to tell her how I wanted everything set up. She took notes and it looked beautiful on our wedding day!
  • H
    Heather Sent on 01/01/2017
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We recently got married at The Homestead and were very happy with our experience. It is a beautiful location and our guests enjoyed the quiet, up-north village setting. It is a resort, but it is not cheesy or gimmicky at all. They provided us with a wedding organizer document, which was basically a giant checklist to ensure that we had all of our bases covered, and also served as a communication document between us and our wedding coordinator, Lynzie Gotshall. Lynzie was incredibly helpful and responsive during wedding planning, and with the Homestead team, helped to execute what seemed like a flawless wedding day! The reservations manager (I believe his name is Tobias) stepped in to assist when there was a room availability issue with an out-of-state member of our bridal party, and went above and beyond to accommodate him and his family. The servers for our cocktail hour and reception were professional and ensured that everyone had what they needed. Last but not least, the food was incredible, both at Nonna's and at our wedding reception. The reason for taking off a partial star on the review was the difficulty that a few wedding guests had when booking - the reservations system had crashed over the summer and they were unable to take future reservations for about a week while the system was restored, and some guests had to call back a few times if they did not receive a return phone call. That being said, Lynzie kept us informed about the issue and made sure that everyone was taken care of once the system was back up and running. Thank you for a beautiful, memorable, and fun wedding day!
  • K
    Katlyn M. Sent on 07/25/2023
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Small, intimate dream wedding in Northern Michigan

    Where to start!? Sandy and Lexi were absolutely incredible. It gave us so much peace of mind to have a beautiful venue that was a one-stop-shop: we didn't have to arrange for booze, food, linens, tables, chairs, accommodations, etc. from separate vendors... instead, The Homestead had it all. Sandy is very organized, responsive, kind, creative, reliable, and authentic - she will give her opinion if you ask for it and you can count on her 100%! And Lexi, the summer intern, would be an amazing permanent addition to The Homestead team! All in all, I can't stress enough how much Sandy did for us, how much we appreciated everything she did, and how truly wonderful she is. Give this woman a raise already! We are so grateful to Sandy, Lexi, and The Homestead for hosting the most important party of our lives (i.e., our wedding!) and we couldn't have picked a better place to represent us, Northern Michigan, and the salt-of-the-earth/homegrown hospitality the Midwest is known and loved for
  • W
    Wendy P. Sent on 07/23/2021
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    SO happy we chose the Homestead for our wedding! Beautiful. Unique and a team that cares!

    The Homestead in Glen Arbor is an absolutely beautiful place to have a wedding! Bay Mountain has a gorgeous view of Lake Michigan, which you arrive at via chair lift - so unique and fun! The team at the Homestead are excellent to work with and seem to truly care that your day is extra special with an eye to every detail. I truly could not have been happier and I am so glad we chose them for our wedding 3 weeks ago. Our out of town guests loved their stay and raved about the meals, not only at our reception at Camp Firefly, but also at Cafe Manitou. Our wedding was the best day of my life. And we are so happy we went with the Homestead.
  • M
    Michele Sent on 10/08/2014
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Homestead Resort made planning our wedding from out of state effortless and stress free. Their coordinator was professional and organized. She really listened to what we wanted and made sure that our day was exactly what we envisioned. The service from our first visit to our check out day was amazing. We truly felt as though we were the only people on the resort even though it was their busy season. There were other weddings the same day and they made sure that our paths didn't intersect. The only reason I gave a 4/5 rating on service was because some of our guests experienced poor service at the pool/bar area by the beach. It was un-related to our wedding but I felt it was worth the note. My husband and I would both HIGHLY recommend The Homestead for your wedding day. I can't stress enough how amazing they all were.
  • P
    Callista Sent on 08/24/2017
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I couldn't be happier with how beautiful our beach wedding was at The Homestead. Even though it is expensive to get married in Northern Michigan in general, it was well worth the money we spent. We choose the smallest venue (maximum of 35 guests) which happened to be on the beach overlooking the Manitou islands and Sleeping Bear Point. The reception was upstairs at Nonna's Loft. Our guests loved the ceremony venue and loved the food at Nonna's. Lynzie was an excellent Wedding Sales Associate and Day-Of Coordinator. If you're thinking about having your wedding at The Homestead, do it!
  • R
    Rachel Sent on 09/24/2017
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    Where do I start? EVERYONE from The Homestead was helpful, courteous, kind, sweet and supportive. Lynzie made everything easy and had the most excellent suggestions to make life easy for us and all of our family. Our wedding was very small wedding and it was PERFECT! We had a rehearsal dinner at CQs BBQ, the food was SO delicious! Our bartender, Liz, was just so lovely! We had a beach ceremony. Audrey was our day of coordinator-her demeanor was so easy going it helped calm me immensely. Our reception dinner was at Nonna’s and the food was the most amazing spread-we had a made to order menu that was over the top. We also included a farewell breakfast, again at Nonna’s and the spread was just UNBELIEVABLE! Everything from an omelet station and mimosas to lunch service. Just incredible. Once again, we had had the privilege of Liz as our bartender. Also, the ladies had manis and pedis done the day before the wedding at LilyJade-Erica and Nicole made us all feel comfy and beautiful at the salon. Last but certainly not least: JESSICA made my hair look so AMAZING!
  • L
    Laura Sent on 12/29/2010
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    Great location!
  • User1966886 Sent on 12/12/2014
    4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding is at The Homestead in May and so far we have loved working with them and the property is absolutely breathtaking! We are so excited to continue working with the fabulous staff and to have our wedding! We are having both the rehearsal dinner and wedding on the property and have recommended that our guests make a weekend out of it so they spend more time up there.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message