Skip to main content
Weddings

The Hollins House Restaurant Reviews

The Hollins House Restaurant

The Hollins House Restaurant

Santa Cruz, CA
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 25 Reviews
View more information

25 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 25
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner

21 User photos

  • H
    Haley L. Married on 10/30/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Easy planning and spectacular venue!!

    Carter and the staff at the Hollins House were a pleasure to work with throughout the wedding planning process. They were always responsive when we had questions and the day of went very smoothly. The team did a great job of coordinating with our other vendors to make sure everything was set up how we wanted. They paid attention to the details and made sure our day felt extremely special. We definitely recommend the Hollins House for any special event but particularly a wedding. We had such a lovely day!!
  • Katelyn
    Katelyn H. Married on 07/31/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Loved everything about getting married here!

    My husband and I chose to have our wedding at Hollins House on 7/31/21. When looking for venues, we really wanted to find a place that would be naturally beautiful, have good food, we meshed well with, and would be reliable. Hollins House and Carter was exactly that. To start, Carter was so helpful in planning the event, coordinating with our vendors, providing helpful worksheets, and really taking the time to get to know us and our vision for the wedding. We would talk quarterly and then more regularly as the wedding got closer, where she would answer any of my questions, talk about next steps, and help us through any of the tools she had sent over. For the day of, everything was perfect! We managed to stay on time, everyone absolutely raved about the food and how beautiful the venue was, and Carter and Quinnlynn made sure we all had a blast without needing to worry about a thing. Additionally, as with many weddings planned for 2020, we chose to postpone and Hollins House was absolutely incredible in working with us to change the dates twice, without an extra charge.
  • Natalie
    Natalie T. Married on 09/12/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best night of our lives

    We can't thank Carter, Quinlynn and the rest of the amazing Hollins House staff enough! Everything was just perfect and ran so smoothly. Carter was patient, calm, warm and professional. We were originally supposed to get married in September of 2020, which obviously wasn't possible and the Hollins House team was so kind and accommodating. Carter even helped us navigate the reimposed mask mandate just a week before our wedding. We loved the food, the space, the decor and so much more - we can't recommend the Hollins House enough!
  • M
    Matthew V. Married on 10/03/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    What An Amazing Experience!

    We instantly fell in love with Hollins House while searching for our wedding venue and the level of service easily matched the incredible views and beautiful facility. Carter and James made sure our big day went smoothly and everything went off without a hitch. Carter was there for us every step of the way during the planning process and we could not have asked for a better wedding experience! Also a big thank you to the kitchen staff who prepared, served, and cleared away the phenomenal food. If you are on the fence about having your wedding here, stop waiting and sign the contract!

    The Hollins House Restaurant's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words Matthew! It truly was such a pleasure to work with you and your wife Jenny. You're wedding day was so much fun! Please stop in and say hi next time you all visit Santa Cruz.
  • Leah
    Leah Married on 09/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Gorgeous venue

    Picking Hollins House was the best wedding decision that I made. From the first time I stepped foot there, I felt comfortable and welcomed. Carter’s help throughout the process was invaluable as she guided me through the countless decisions that I didn’t even realize I would have to make. The day of the wedding I was able to relax knowing that I was in great hands and the event ran smoother than I could have ever dreamed! I got compliments all night about how beautiful the venue is and what a great vibe it created amongst my guests.

    The Hollins House Restaurant's reply:

    Thank you Leah for this fabulous review! We loved hosting your wedding here and are delighted to know that your guests also enjoyed the Hollins House! Please visit us anytime :)
  • J
    Jon R. Married on 09/01/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Our dream wedding!

    What can we say about Hollins House other than it met all of our expectations for a perfect wedding! As validated with countless compliments from our guests, the setting/backdrop was absolutely gorgeous, the food was so delectable, and the service was incredible. Carter was diligent and handled all of our questions and requests throughout the entire planning process, and Annie ensured everything executed flawlessly the day of the wedding. We were amazed with how everything turned out, and highly recommend HH!

    P.S. not sure why WW shows our wedding date shows as 1/9/19, but it was actually 9/1/19!

    The Hollins House Restaurant's reply:

    Hi Jon,
    Thank you for your kind remarks from your Hollins House wedding! It was such a joy to work with you and your wife Becky. It's a pleasure to hear that your wedding day was flawless and a setting your guests are still raving over. Please join us at our restaurant for the years to come to celebrate your anniversary.
    Kind Regards,
    Carter Coberly and the Hollins House Event Team
  • Holly
    Holly H. Married on 08/03/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazinggggg!

    Words cannot express my gratitude for Carter and the HH staff; they were amazing! If you're stressed out or concerned about anything, just call her right away and she'll take care of it! Carter was very organized and punctual too! My wedding was something out of a magazine; it was the PERFECT wedding and it's all because of them. I came to Carter with a simple idea of Disney Sleeping beauty theme and she/her team worked their magic and brought it to life.

    The Hollins House Restaurant's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words Holly! Your wedding day was truly was a dream come true. It was our pleasure to ensure that you had a stress free wedding day :) We look forward to seeing you next time you visit Santa Cruz.
  • K
    Katelyn C. Married on 07/27/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Have your wedding here!

    We had the absolute best wedding day at the Hollins House. The view during the day and at night was stunning, the entire team and staff were amazing to work with (so experienced and on point!), and the food was so so delicious!! Do yourself a favor and have your wedding here for an absolutely wonderful, relaxing, and enjoyable wedding day!!

    The Hollins House Restaurant's reply:

    Katelyn,

    Thank you so much for the kind words! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the Hollins House for your wedding. It was a pleasure to work with you and Tyler. Your photos look gorgeous, by the way, and we can't wait to see more! Please come back anytime to visit and have dinner.

    Best wishes,
    The Hollins House Team
  • T
    Taylor G. Married on 07/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Our dream-come-true wedding

    We can't thank the Hollins House team enough for making our day so special. We felt taken care of from the very first walkthrough of the property and knew immediately that that's how the entire experience would be. A huge acknowledgment to Carter Coberly for her professionalism, excitement, responsiveness, support, and care throughout the entire process. Her and the Hollins House staff made a seemingly overwhelming process much easier with their attention to detail and coordination. Our vision came to life and we loved being able to sit back and enjoy our day. Thank you, team!

    The Hollins House Restaurant's reply:

    It warms our hearts to hear that you vision of your perfect wedding day came to life. Helping ease the stress of planning your wedding day is something we pride ourselves on. Everything fell into place so nicely from your loving guests to the beautiful floral to the lacey table runners down your farm tables. Please stop in for happy hour next time you all are in Santa Cruz!
  • A
    Alexandra Married on 04/20/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Stunning Venue with Fantastic Staff

    Having our wedding at The Hollins House was better than we could have ever imagined! The venue and grounds are stunning, the food is fantastic, and Carter and her team are A++. We had some very specific requests for foorplans and decor, which Carter's team was highly amenable to and everything was executed perfectly on our wedding day. The whole Hollins House team made our experience pretty darn seamless because of their extensive wedding expertise. The venue felt intimate and homey, yet very elegant, which is exactly what we were looking for. Our guests had an amazing time! Not to mention everywhere you turn at the Hollins House is picture perfect because the venue is so charming. I couldn't recommend the team & venue enough!

    The Hollins House Restaurant's reply:

    Hello Alexandra,

    Hosting your wedding was a true joy and working together with you was inspiring, and brought in a new & fresh perspective to our vision of what weddings can be at the Hollins House.

    Your glowing recommendation was truly heartwarming, knowing that the efforts of our crew is recognized and appreciated. Thank you so very much!

    With kind regards,
    Carter & The Hollins House Events team
  • J
    J Dwelley Married on 04/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Hollins House-Amazing Venue, Amazing Staff

    We were thoroughly impressed with Carter and all of the staff at Hollins House. The stunning location is a given, but what really made the event spectacular was the attention to every detail that Carter provided. From our first meeting to our last minute questions, Carter always handled everything with an amazing balance of efficiency and calmness. We had over 150 guests and everything was seamless. So many of our guests made a point of telling us that our reception was one of the best they had ever been too. The food was exceptional and the dining and bar staff made sure to see to everyone's needs. We could not have been more pleased!

    The Hollins House Restaurant's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words! It was always such a joy to receive an email or phone call from you when planning your daughter's wedding. We were blessed with such a beautiful day and the love and laughter that you guests had throughout the evening made it one we will never forget. Please keep in touch anytime you all plan a trip to Santa Cruz.
  • J
    Janice D. Married on 10/20/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Gorgeous setting! Great staff! Yummy food!

    Hollins House was a beautiful place to have our daughters wedding. Carter, Annie, Caroline & the whole staff were great! Friendly, helpful & very organized. Even when our daughters bridal veil was forgotten & not in her garment bag. Carter & Annie were able to find us a beautiful veil. Our daughter looked beautiful walking down the isle. The wedding went very smoothly & the food was great. Thanks to everyone at Hollins House for making our daughters wedding a very memorable day!
    Thank you from all of our family! 🌻

    The Hollins House Restaurant's reply:

    Hi Janice,

    Thank you for your kind words. We take pride in ensuring that every aspect of our client's wedding day is flawless; even if the veil was left out of the dress bag :) It was such a pleasure to work with you and we hope to continue to see you for dinners here at the Hollins House.
  • E
    Emily Married on 07/22/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Great venue and very professional staff to work with. Our wedding was beautiful and the good was amazing!

    We had a beautiful view of the ocean in July. Everyone had an awesome experience.
  • User1734240 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had such a wonderful experience at Hollins House. We had our wedding and rehearsal dinner there. The planning process was a breeze, and the event itself was magical. The greatest thing about Hollins House is the on-site coordinator, Margy Seifert, who has been there for over 20 years. Margy really knows what she is doing, and she was such a comfort during the planning process, and during the event itself. It amazes me that there is no additional charge for her services. Her on-site coordination is included in the site fee. Several people commented on our wedding day that I seemed very relaxed, and I credit that to Margy. I knew she was behind the scenes making sure the flowers were delivered and set up, that our guest book was in place, that our favors and escort cards were displayed, that the guests were being seated, that the band was set up, that the food was coming out on time--and more. She took care of all the details so that I could relax and enjoy my wedding day. The view, the architecture, the gazebo, the lawn--what could be more beautiful than the setting at Hollins House? Best of all, we got all of this for a deal. We didn't think we could afford Hollins House, but Margy gave us a discount, and we got the whole venue for an incredibly low site fee, half of what other venues quoted us. If you're worried that you can't afford it, go up and view the site anyway and meet Margy because there is a good chance that she will be able to work within your budget and accommodate you. It was so wonderful, I wish we could do it again!
  • A
    Anna Married on 04/05/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Hollins House is truly a special place to have your wedding with a stunning backdrop of the ocean, near perfect weather, flawless golf course and a beautiful vintage style house to really set the scene. Margy and her crew at Hollins House provided professional and amazing service to ensure our day was absolutely perfect. We received countless compliments from the guests on the venue, service and the incredible food. Hollins House will always have a special place in our heart. Thank you Margy and team for the memories!
  • L
    Linda Married on 05/31/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Margy was the cornerstone of everything beautiful, memorable and professional about our daughter's wedding! She not only created a family-oriented wedding that was so personal and beautiful, she also made incredible recommendations for DJ, Photographer, Hotel and Flowers!
    This was a destination wedding so planning was a critical part of the event; we totally entrusted all the final details to Margy because she instills so much confidence in you! I can't think of a time when she didn't respond via email or text within moments - even on her days off!
    We truly fell in love with this very special lady.
  • User1220352 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I were from San Diego and getting married in Santa Cruz. We had to plan our entire wedding by searching the internet and reading reviews. After finding Hollins House the pictures caught our attention instantly. We contacted Margy and we were sold on having our wedding there! Margy is the sweetest most helpful person! We would not have been able to plan this wedding if it wasn't for Margy! If we ever had any questions/concerns/problems we were able to call or email her and she would get back to us immediately! The venue is absolutely perfect and beautiful and Margy is the most amazing wedding planner! Our wedding was seamless and perfect. I could not have imagined a more perfect venue!! If you are looking to get married in the Santa Cruz area I would definitely put Hollins House on your list of places to consider!!
  • User939945 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    While the views and history of the place can sell you instantly...once you meet Margy, you will definetly be saving the date for your wedding there. Hollins House is the most amazing wedding location and has the best coordinator, Margy. We planned our wedding cross-country and Margy was SO helpful and responsive to our wishes. She went beyond meeting our needs and put together so many details that we didn't even think of. Margy and her staff did a fabulous job the day of the wedding, not only helping us stay calm and on schedule, but making sure we enjoyed the food, guests and that we have plenty of time for photos (we have so many fabulous wedding pictures)!

    Thanks Margy and Hollins House staff....you did an amazing job with our wedding. I can't wait for us to go back to Hollins House and relive our wedding memories. The food and drinks were so tasty Our guests still talk about the location and were all blown away when they came to our wedding. Thanks again. I would highly recommend this location to those of you who are looking for a breathtaking intimate outdoor wedding location with incredible staff.

  • E
    Elisa Married on 07/07/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Everything was absolutely amazing! It's was a fairytale wedding come true. And, Margy was wonderful to work with!
  • Allison
    Allison B. Married on 02/10/2021
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Picture Perfect

    This venue is perfect for my vision of my wedding. The flow of how everything is pieced together is so well organized. The view is amazing & we can't wait to share our day with our loved ones!

    The Hollins House Restaurant's reply:

    Hi Allison,

    Thank you for your kind words. We are looking forward to hosting your special day with us next Fall!
  • C
    Stan A. Married on 11/26/2011
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We planned a wedding for about 50-60 guests, and looked at quite a few (probably more than 15) venues in the Santa Cruz County area. We eventually choose the Hollins House, primarily because of the venue, but also because they have a first-rate site manager/coordinator. Because our wedding was set for late Fall, we needed some flexibility in planning if the weather turned, and Margy had a plan and option for pretty much any eventuality.

    Thankfully, the weather was beautiful on our wedding day, but Margy was still there unobtrusively making sure things went off without a hitch. She did everything from making sure all the vendors were on the same page and in the right spot at the right times, to handling demanding guests with tact, to helping the bride bustle her dress when we couldn't figure the darned thing out!

    The staff were great as well, polite and very helpful. The food options at the reception were fantastic (we had many compliments from the guests), and the venue itself really shined on a beautiful sunny day. It was wonderful to just sit back and relax afterwards and enjoy the view across the bay to Monterey.

    These people are pros and have done a lot of weddings and it shows in the detail, polish, and care with which they handled our day. Thank you Margy, and the staff of the Hollins House for the great job you did.

  • M
    Michelle Married on 05/02/2015
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    We had a great experience with the Hollins House. From the beginning to the end. One of the greatest thing about Hollins House is the on-site coordinator, Margy Seifert, who has been there for over 20 years. The entire staff was amazing. I do and have recommend this location for weddings and event parties. Margy worked with us to make sure we stayed on budget. We really loved that they close the place down - so it is only your wedding guests allowed. It was a magical day.
  • S
    Sarah Married on 07/18/2014
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    This was an amazing venue. Our guests are still raving about the beauty of the view and the amazing food. We ate dinner at the Hollins House a few times before our wedding and the food was delicious every time; and the service was always above par. Margy was an amazing coordinator who took the worry out of our big day. I knew she would ensure the day would flow smoothly, and that it did!!
  • K
    Kelly Married on 06/07/2008
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Hollins House is an absolutely beautiful wedding ceremony and reception site! Margy was a bit difficult to get a hold of at times but will always call you back. I would not recommened having children at this site, an upscale golf course is not a good place for children. The food was amazing! Sunset is an absolutely beautiful time at the Hollins House and would absolutely recommened this site for weddings and receptions!
  • M
    Lisa Married on 07/03/2010
    Rating 4.1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    Beautiful views. Lots of room for guests to mingle. Great food. The staff was very good and attentive.