Skip to main content
Weddings

The Historic Post Office Reviews

The Historic Post Office

The Historic Post Office

Hampton, VA
4.9 out of 5 rating, 60 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
60 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating
98% Recommended by couples

Awards

60
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • A
    Alejandra I. Sent on 01/12/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Review

    The Historic Post Office simply did not disappoint. The venue was clean and the staff was wonderful. Ellie was our coordinator and she went above and beyond to ensure that our special day was nothing short of perfect. She was available throughout the entire planning process. I knew I could count on her for anything! The venue itself is elegant and had everything we needed for the day of. The wedding party suites were comfortable and spacious, giving everyone plenty of space to get ready and spend the day together. We could not have asked for a better venue for our wedding day. Thank you all so much for everything you did!
  • Caleb & Keilani
    Keilani A. Sent on 12/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Venue and Staff

    Absolutely loved working with the HPO over the course of a year as I planned my wedding. It provides you with the perfect clean-slate venue that allows you to bring in your own vendors and really make the place your own. The staff is so lovely to work with and made the process so easy. Special shout out to my wedding coordinator Sylvia, who I couldn’t have imagined the day without. She coordinated all of my vendors and told me where to go and when on the day-of, which made everything so easy. It’s 100% worth the money to get one because they know the vendors and space so well. Loved my experience at this absolutely gorgeous venue and wouldn’t have had it any other way. Thank you!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Emily
    Emily Sent on 11/13/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Picture perfect day!

    I can’t say enough great things about the HPO. The Historic Post office gave us our picture perfect wedding day that we envisioned. From our venue tour to the day of the wedding everything was amazing.
    For starters, the building is BEAUTIFUL. The white brick, lighting, scalloped windows, and wooden floors are so pretty on their own, it gave us a great backdrop to add our personal touches onto. The bridal suite is amazing to get ready in, and the guys had a great time in the grooms suite.
    Second, the staff at HPO runs a tight ship! The pricing is clear, concise and fair. There are different price points for different budgets. They were great at explaining add ons available like pro lighting, custom name added to the wall, Photo Booth etc which made our day even more custom and special. Everything went so smooth with the planning process over our year of planning.
    And last, but certainly not least Ellie, our wedding coordinator is hands down THE BEST decision we made for our wedding. We worked with her the entire engagement and she made the planning process so easy and made the day of perfect! We had 4 meetings leading up to the wedding. She planned the day step by step with us throughout the year. She gave us great advice on picking the rest of our vendors. The day of, everything was executed flawlessly. Ellie kept us on our timeline and set everything up perfectly. She set up all of our decorations exactly how I had in my mind, it was great seeing everything come together after a year of planning. Adam and I didn’t have to worry about a thing, as she took care of EVERYTHING! The day was everything’s we wanted and more, we can’t thank Ellie and the rest of the HPO team enough.
  • B
    Betsy F. Sent on 09/21/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing venue and excellent coordination services

    We decided to go with The Historic Post Office as our wedding venue because they have these events down to a science. Everything leading up to the wedding went so smoothly with Ellie as our coordinator. Their existing relationships with vendors made that aspect so painless as well. The day of was fabulous too. Getting ready in the beautiful bridal suite, the elegance of the venue itself, and the flip between ceremony and reception was all perfect! We would definitely recommend HPO and Ellie to anyone looking to plan their wedding.
  • Hannah M
    Hannah Sent on 07/24/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Wedding Venue

    The Historic Post Office is an amazing wedding venue, and we would recommend it to anyone! We had about 180 guests for our mid July wedding, and HPO was able to fit everyone comfortably inside for the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception. Communication was great from the start, and we loved that we could hire a HPO specific Wedding Planner to bring our event together. No other venue that we looked at offered something like that, and it helped us navigate our vendors and decoration with ease. Our planner, Ellie, was awesome, and we're so glad that she was able to help us over the course of multiple planning meetings in the months leading up to our wedding day! She truly helped make our day so special, and took care of everything the day of while we got ready. Our bridal party appreciated the large bridal suites upstairs, and our guests couldn't get over how unique and charming HPO was. Don't hesitate to book your wedding here!!
  • Lauren
    Lauren E. Sent on 03/25/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Phenomenal

    We had the pleasure of marrying last Saturday at this beautiful venue. Our coordinator, Ellie Bernstein was amazing. From start to finish she kept us on track, was thorough & her experience & organizational skills has made her a master of herding cats with patience, grace, thoughtfulness & attention to detail. Highly recommend this venue & Ellie to make your day the most wonderful day & your vision come true.
  • K
    Kevin F. Sent on 05/30/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    World Class

    World class wedding facility! One stop shop for your venue and reception needs. I’m not sure I found a speck of dust in the entire building.

    Great lighting. Great climate control. Great bathrooms. And TOP NOTCH suites for the bride and groom. You spend half your day in these suites and they have every amenity under the sun.

    We couldn’t have asked for a more perfect fit for our wedding. The ladies at HPO were helpful from the day we booked until the day of our ceremony.
  • Katherine
    Katherine Sent on 11/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    10/10 Recommend

    Working with Ellie and the HPO team was incredible. We paid for the day of coordinator, and got a full fledged planner and life long friend out of it. The venue was flawless, and our guests were mesmerized by the inside of the venue. We would recommend 1,000 times.
  • A
    Andrea Sent on 10/20/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Wedding Venue and Coordination

    We had such a wonderful experience with the HPO venue and their coordination service option. It’s their venue and boy do they know how to run the show. I’m sure that all of the coordinators are wonderful, but we were lucky to have had Ellie Bernstein beside us. We enjoyed every meeting leading up to the big day, helpful tips, and vendor recommendations. She helped us make sure things where addressed, gave us assignments, and was always available to answer questions. I can’t say enough about that because we opted to plan our own wedding and this was JUST the right support we needed. We still drove things—- but her wisdom was vital to our success. She helped execute our set up and breakdown perfectly. From what I hear the breakdown is always a bit of a scramble. That’s the only advice I’ll give is plan ahead (more then you think needed) to leave with things that night. There are always little things that happen with these events, behind the scenes, and I promise you don’t want to handle them on your most important day. You can trust the HPO team to have your back and have your best interests. I highly recommend.
    The venue is gorgeous and a perfect canvas for however you want to make it your own event. The area is perfect with bars that are walking distance and a nice hotel around the corner. It’s the full package.
  • S
    Shawn G. Sent on 11/23/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The perfect venue

    Nothing says a successful wedding like a night where everything is perfect. Our wedding was hosted at The Historic Post Office in the downtown Hampton area. This venue is everything you would want and more. The venue has an open floor plan with a balcony overlooking the first floor as well as a bridal and groom suite. Their suites include showers, washer/dryer machines, a pool table, a kitchen and more! During our morning there, we were able to relax and get ready while our day-of coordinator, Silvia, managed everything happening downstairs. Silvia was the most helpful person we have ever worked with. She coordinated all other vendors and set up all the decorations for us. If you use The Historic Post Office as your venue, we’d definitely suggest using one of their day-of coordinators! Everyone there is beyond professional and will certainly make your wedding the easiest and most enjoyable day possible.

  • James
    James C. Sent on 09/19/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wow! Just wow!

    Such an amazing venue. From the expansive suites with kitchenette, foosball table, pool table, and ample prep space to the one-stop-shop capabilities, this was the perfect venue for our wedding. They have obviously spent a lot of time thinking about functionality and appearance and, from our booking until the wedding, a number of additional enhancements became available (additional napkin colors, etc) so they are continually evolving!

    Also, I can’t speak highly enough about their coordination services. Our coordinator, Ellie, was very thorough and helped us figure out just exactly what we didn’t even know we wanted (we were all over the place but she gave us time to hone our decisions while offering insight as to what has been successful in past events (but never trying to push us to repeat or scale back).

    Five stars all around!
  • Kristin
    Kristin Sent on 08/19/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream come true!

    The Historic Post Office in Hampton was a dream venue for our wedding! The inclusive packages offered an array of options for any celebration and the al a carte additional services available were awesome touches to add flare to the event. We had an incredible experience planning our wedding. Both our ceremony and reception were held at HPO. We had the pleasure of working with one of the in-house coordinators, Ellie, who was a gem and vital part of our special day! Ellie met with us several times and was always a text or phone call away to answer any questions or brainstorm about concerns. Her expertise helped guide us into the perfect elements of our wedding. Ellie was always kind, respectful, friendly and professional. For a bride like myself, who wanted to know every detail throughout the planning process, Ellie was a God send. She offered my mind and heart wisdom and relief in the exact right moments I needed it. Ellie made my wedding better. She made the day so much more enjoyable because of the peace of mind she offered. The HPO team, Ellie included, were all very responsive and helpful. They worked tirelessly the day of our event, and transformed each portion of our wedding into its own unique visual landscape. Of the venues we visited locally, none compare to the offerings or caliber of HPO. We could rave all day long about how much we loved HPO and how perfectly suited this venue was for our wedding day. HPO will proudly and forever be etched in our memories, for the rest of our lives.
  • Casey
    Casey T. Sent on 06/23/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Gorgeous venue and a dream team!

    This is the one stop shop for all things wedding!!! The venue itself is absolutely stunning but the staff are the real treasure here. I had no clue what I was doing and they guided me through the whole thing making it stress free and they were extremely flexible along the way. All of the vendors they recommended/including were incredibly as well. Really a dream team!
  • Nicole
    Nicole A. Sent on 04/05/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Venue Ever

    The Historic Post Office was the first and only place we toured. I think the day after we saw it we signed our contract and picked our date. All the information they give you up front is super helpful as well as their preferred vendor list, which gave us a great starting point for choosing the rest of our vendors. The space itself is gorgeous on its own but it was nice to know their DOC service would handle everything too. We had Ellie as our coordinator and she was so sweet, helpful, fun, and made our wedding planning, wedding week, day and experience top notch. We loved the updates they keep adding - the vault/photo booth area was all cleared out and painted and looked great, the bridal suite to get ready in was well lit and comfortable, and the men's parlor was a blast for them. We loved that we didn't have to worry about weather or transportation and everything was all in the same spot. If you choose this venue, which you 100% should, definitely ask for Ellie - you won't be disappointed. The hotel across the street was super convenient as well as the bars / restaurants / coffee & donut shops and area had everything we could want. We may be bias but we had the best experience, the most fun, and beautiful wedding here!
  • Alli
    Alli C. Sent on 01/18/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Love this Venue!

    The Historic Post Office is simply beautiful. My husband and I fell in love with it as soon as we walked in. Kelsey was our coordinator and did an amazing job with making sure everything was perfect. Planning through COVID was not an easy task, but Kelsey was there every step of the way. We couldn't have asked for anything more!
  • Madi
    Madi Sent on 11/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Event Venue in Hampton Roads

    The HPO was the perfect place for our big day and will forever hold a special place in our hearts. The venue was the perfect size and it’s gorgeous in of itself. My husband and I actually had another tour booked for after our tour with the HPO that we cancelled because we knew we wanted to book with them. Madeline and Kelsey are wonderful to work with and are very responsive to any emails I sent them. The venue hosted our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception easily and held every moment of our day exactly where we wanted it. I can’t recommend the HPO enough!
  • J
    Jamey B. Sent on 10/15/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Venue

    This was the perfect venue for our wedding! We were able to have both our ceremony and reception here and it was everything we could have asked for! Highly recommend having your wedding here as well as utilizing their day of coordination- it took the stress out of everything!
  • A
    Ally M. Sent on 09/29/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best day ever!

    We just had our wedding here and it was amazing! We did the elopement package which is all inclusive for a great price. Everything was taken care of for us and the staff was so helpful! They were very accommodating throughout the whole process. They worked really hard to make sure all of our wants and needs were met. To top it all off, the venue looks amazing. You have to put very little effort into decorating because the venue is gorgeous on its own. It was 100% worth every dollar spent.
  • Amy
    Amy B. Sent on 08/04/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue and amazing staff!

    This venue was perfect for our wedding day! Everything you need all in one place. The bride and grooms suites to get ready in beforehand are amazing, and beautifully laid out to accommodate all of your needs. I highly recommend their Day of Coordination services. Madeline helped me so much throughout the process, I could have not done it without her. Her professionalism and calm demeanor was a breath of fresh air!! The Historic Post Office is a wonderful choice, you will not be disappointed!
  • Ashley
    Ashley T. Sent on 08/09/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Above and beyond!

    From start to finish, the HPO was professional and attentive! All of the staff went above and beyond and made my wedding truly magical!
  • A
    Amanda O. Sent on 05/21/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely perfect

    The Historic Post Office is a beautiful venue and was perfect for our wedding. The bridal suite is the perfect space to spend the day getting ready. Plenty of room for lots of people and great lighting for pictures. When I first walked in to the building my jaw dropped and I couldn’t stop looking around. It’s also a must that you hire the day of coordination from the venue. Madeline worked with us and I can’t speak highly enough about her and the work she did for us. She asked the questions you wouldn’t think of yourself and heard out everything I was looking for and then made it a reality. Madeline made sure that our day was perfect. Anything we needed she took care of it. She directed us through rehearsal, was a quick text away when we were upstairs getting ready and she was down stairs getting the space set up and made sure the entire day flowed perfectly. Her professionalism, organizational skills, attention to detail and calm demeanor were on full display every time I met with her. The venue is perfect on it’s own. But if you’re going to book it, hiring Madeline is a must!
  • Claira
    Claira S. Sent on 05/12/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A dream come true!

    Our wedding at The Historic Post Office was absolutely wonderful. We were supposed to be married in 2020, but had to postpone multiple times due to COVID. The HPO was so helpful in changing the dates for us each time and made the process very easy. The whole team is great to work with and the venue is absolutely beautiful. We loved our wedding at the HPO and would choose them again and again.
  • C
    Christine R. Sent on 12/07/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing flexibility and organization!

    When my Husband and I first walked into the post office we knew we wanted to have our reception there! It is a beautiful facility, very clean and just absolutely breath taking. The staff is very easy to get in contact with and they were a huge help. 2 weeks out from our wedding and we had to change our guest size from 90 to 25 because of the new Virginia Covid regulations. Madeleine, HPO wedding coordinator was fabulous! She helped us do all the last minute changes and our wedding was absolutely perfect. The groom and bridal suites are absolutely amazing!! So much fun to hangout there and get ready. Truly and awesome experience!
  • Cortney
    Cortney Sent on 02/14/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Venue!

    I don't have enough great things to say about the Historic Post Office. The venue is so beautiful, pictures do not do it justice. It's perfect for hosting a ceremony, cocktail hour and reception. The getting ready suites are spacious and convenient. Their coordination services are amazing. They will make your entire day run smoothly and help you throughout the planning process. They made our wedding day so perfect and I 100% recommend them!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours