The Highballs Reviews

36 | Athens, GA
See photos, pricing and details

36 Reviews for The Highballs

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

36
Sort by:
  • T

    Trent · event on: 06/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Love this band! I have used them for 2 consecutive years and looking forward to next years event. They do a great job and bring a lot of energy to the crowd. Most people I have seen on the dance floor at any corporate event I have done.

    Sent on 09/08/2016
  • D

    Daniela · Married on 12/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We found the Highballs through a recommended vendor list from a venue we did not use, but we are so glad we found the Highballs! Meredith is so easy to work with and very responsive which isn't the case with wedding vendors. They help you craft a complete itinerary for your entire reception and then emcee the entire evening. It was such a relief knowing that they would help guide our guests through our reception and we could just enjoy ourselves. In addition to being organized and professional, they were just a blast. The dance floor at our wedding was packed the entire evening because the Highballs played great song after great song. We received so many compliments from guests on how much they enjoyed the band and how much fun they had. Even our 77 year old grandparents hit the dance floor for some songs. The Highballs made our wedding reception exactly what we were hoping for and much more. They were a slight splurge for us, but I would chose them again because of the superb service they provided and how much fun we all had.

    Sent on 01/07/2016
  • L

    Laura · Married on 09/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have been more pleased with The Highballs! They were professional, friendly, accommodating, and just all around FUN! Our guests (especially the Father of the Bride) still raves about how fantastic the band was. If you are considering a band, look no further. :)

    Sent on 01/07/2016
  • User5460650 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When I first started the wedding planning process, I asked several people to name the most important part of the reception. The unanimous answer was "the music," because that determines how much fun people will have. The HIghballs were the first band I thought of. They are known for being entertaining and Meredith's voice is unbelievable. Thankfully, they were available. Meredith is so easy to work with and has a lot of knowledge and experience to help everything go smoothly. I felt so comfortable during the entire process. The band learned a song for our first dance which was amazing and made us feel so special. They made all of the announcements and kept the schedule without sacrificing the energy of the crowd. They have such a diverse playlist - it is unrivaled. They know how to make everyone happy! My goal was to have fun at my own wedding, and they definitely made that happen. It was better than I even imagined. I don't think I had an empty dance floor all night. Everyone was raving about the band and people are still talking about it and saying that it was the best wedding they'd ever been to. They are the best band around and I would book them immediately!

    Sent on 02/16/2016
  • J

    James · Married on 06/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had high hopes for the Highballs after listening to them and reading reviews online and they still blew me out of the water on our wedding day. Meredith was awesome to work with from the get-go in terms of help with planning our day and how to make things run smoothly and there were extremely flexible around how we wanted to structure the night. MOST IMPORTANTLY, everyone at our wedding had a blast and was raving about the band afterwards. I'm biased, but it was the best party that I've ever been to and the Highballs were a huge part of that. They played an awesome set that they tweaked after garnering our feedback and they can really play!! I couldn't recommend these folks more!

    Sent on 07/27/2015
  • User6166653 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Meredith and the guys were FABULOUS to work with! Super personable and easy to work with. They kept our guests on the dance floor the entire time! We HIGHLY recommend this band for any event, but they truly made our wedding reception the best time we could have imagined. We would give them more than 5 stars if we could!

    Sent on 01/07/2016
  • K

    Kate · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Highballs played at my wedding on June 28, 2014, in Athens, and it was an absolute BLAST. My husband and I had seen them perform in the area several times, so we knew we were getting a great and extremely fun band, but I can't say enough about how Meredith helped make the event run seamlessly. Her event planning experience shines through as she truly has as much talent in this area as in her singing and performing - she was organized, thorough, helpful in the whole process, and kept things running smoothly all night on the day of the event. Guests are still talking about how much fun they had at our reception, and this is thanks in no small part to the job that Meredith and the Highballs did. They are amazing!

    Sent on 07/16/2014
  • User3683598 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It's shameful that we have taken so long to post our feedback because the Highballs were PHENOMENAL! We could not have gotten any luckier, and almost everyone who was at the wedding followed up to get more information about the band. My aunt in South Carolina even called them to see if they were available for her son's wedding next spring (they weren't). THAT'S HOW GOOD THEY ARE!

    Meredith was wonderful to work with and everyone was delightful. The talent is through the roof. These guys are the real deal and we feel so blessed that they were able to play our reception. We had a relatively short engagement and I was a little bit of a space cadet when it came to wedding stuff, despite being very organized in my "real life," and Meredith was a champ and so cool about everything. It made my life so much easier to just put my trust in the team, and my spaciness certainly could have meant we had an unpleasant surprise, but instead, they were even better than we'd hoped for, and we KNEW they would be good. Very professional, very personable, kind, considerate, talented, fun, approachable--just perfect in every way. I can't say enough about them and hope we'll have another chance to hear them perform soon. Immediately after the wedding, my parents and I were like, "Let's have a Christmas party so we can get the Highballs to play again!" I've recommended them to everyone.

    Sent on 11/17/2013
  • C

    Chris · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Highballs put on a show last night like I have never seen before from a band. Their energy was so amazing they made set my already great wedding over the top. They were so great to work with from day one, always there to answer questions and provide comfort in the stressful wedding planning process. The wedding guests were coming up to my wife and I and telling us how incredible the band was and asking us questions about them. I would recommend The Highballs to everyone! Book them for your event I promise you will not be sorry!

    Sent on 09/22/2013
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 06/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There is not one negative thing I could say about the Highballs. They were amazing and wonderful to work with every step of the way! After seeing my friends and sister deal with other bands, I was very appreciative of all of the help with planning Meredith offered! She really understands the flow of a wonderful party and they had everyone on the dance floor all night! Even on the big day, she would come by and give me a "ten minute" count until the cake cutting, garter toss, etc. which really allowed me to just concentrate on having a good time because I knew she had everything under control!

    Sent on 07/18/2013
  • D

    Dan A. · Married on 06/08/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an incredible experience with the Highballs from start to finish. Meredith was helpful and friendly throughout the process, was always responsive to requests and concerns, and did a great job of keeping in touch with us in the months leading up to the wedding without overwhelming us with information.

    Most importantly, though, the band is fantastic! They did a great job of running the reception and keeping things moving, and the music is awesome. They're great -- high energy, enthusiastic, and just plain fun. Many, many guests told us afterwards that the Highballs weren't only a highlight of our reception, but one of the best wedding bands they had ever heard. We had to agree!

    Their playlist is long and varied, and there wasn't a dud in the songs they played for us. They also have an extremely broad appeal -- we had a very varied crowd in terms of age and occupation -- everything from graduate students to society movers and shakers to 90 year-old relatives. The Highballs had a knack for playing to the whole crowd, keeping everyone on the dance floor, and making sure people were having a good time.

    And just as a tip: Make sure they play "Like a Prayer." You'll regret it forever if you don't. Thanks, Highballs!

    Sent on 07/17/2013
  • User3007446 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Highballs played at my best friend's wedding in Athens in 2011 and were amazing. In fact, when we began planning our wedding my dad's only request was that they play at our wedding as well. Meredith was a pleasure to work to leading up to the wedding and the music was great at our wedding! The dance floor was packed thanks to their great music. They read the crowd and kept playing songs that everyone loved. One of the musicians also provided the music for our ceremony for a minimal charge which great and very convenient. Our wedding was so much fun and a huge part of that was thanks to the Highballs!

    Sent on 06/27/2013
  • P

    Paige · Married on 05/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jason and I knew we wanted The Highballs from the beginning and we couldn't be happier with our decision! From our first meeting to our wedding day, Meredith had everything under control and right on schedule! If you're looking for a fun, energetic band that everyone, and I mean everyone, will love, you HAVE to get The Highballs!!

    Sent on 07/22/2013
  • User3446228 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Highballs are pure fun and energy! We had a great experience pre-wedding as well as on the big day. Meredith was beyond helpful with the planning process and flexible with our song choices. The band wants it to be "your day" and is adamant on making the music reflective of you and your guests.

    At the reception, people were on the dance floor the ENTIRE time and loving the song selections. I don’t think my husband and I sat down the whole night. I heard so many comments on their excellent performance and my husband and I couldn't have been more pleased.

    Our wedding day wouldn't have been the same without The Highballs!

    Sent on 08/06/2013
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 02/17/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not be happier that we chose The Highballs to play at our wedding reception. Many of our guests were used to the "same old band circuit" of Atlanta bands and loved hearing a band that was fresh and different! Meredith was so easy to work with and made sure that every detail was set for the big day. Our time schedule was a little thrown off for the reception, but The Highballs had no issue and made sure the night went smoothly. Their music is very well-rehearsed and they have a great, diverse playlist. Our guests had a great time dancing and rocking out and many of them commented how much they loved the band. I would absolutely recommend them for any reception in the Atlanta/Athens area!

    Sent on 04/05/2013
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 11/03/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Highballs were absolutely amazing at our wedding. They were incredibly professional and very easy to work with. We had a consultation with Meredith over a month before the wedding and she helped us finalize the itinerary for our reception. The Highballs were also very accommodating to our special request to have some family members perform with them.

    The music was exactly what we wanted and our guests had an incredible time. There was not a dull moment! Thank you so much to The Highballs for making our wedding reception a blast!

    We would recommend The Highballs to any couple wanting to have a fun and lively wedding reception!!

    Sent on 11/19/2012
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 08/25/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot begin to describe how much I love this band! The lead singer Meredith, is one of the nicest people I have ever met. She wanted to make sure that their band would fit with what we wanted our reception to be. They did an amazing job and made our reception so much fun! The keyboarder also did the music at the ceremony and he did a great job too! They are so easy to work with and very laid back. If you want a fun reception with lots of dancing I would definitely recommend them!

    Sent on 09/27/2012
  • K

    Kendall · Married on 08/11/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We LOVED having The Highballs as our wedding reception band. Meredith was super easy to work with and made the planning process very easy on us! They were awesome on stage and most of our guests never left the dance floor. I would highly recommend them to anyone!

    Sent on 09/03/2012
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 07/28/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used The Highballs at our wedding at Chota Falls on July 28th, 2012. They were fantastic and everyone stayed on the dance floor the entire time. They truly made our wedding and we are so thankful! I would highly recommend this band to anyone. Thanks again!

    Sent on 08/24/2012
  • J

    Jodi · Married on 03/31/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    THIS WAS THE BEST WEDDING BAND EVER - because they're not really a "wedding band", they're just a band, and they are awesome. The songs were fantastic - everyone from the 25 year olds to the 75 year olds were loving every minute of it, and they even went out of their way to learn songs that they knew we liked. They sounded incredible and put so much energy into it - our friends (and admittedly myself and the groom as well) were refusing to leave the dance floor to eat and/or use the bathroom because they couldn't stop dancing. Two months later people from our wedding are still commenting on how amazing they were and joking that they want to fly them up to NY for their weddings (we are from NY and just LUCKILY happened to find them online as we were getting married down south). Dealing with everything before the wedding was super easy, and Meredith thanks for taking the time to skype with use beforehand and getting everything squared away. You guys ROCK.

    Sent on 05/29/2012
  • M

    Morgan · Married on 10/22/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I CANNOT rave enough about The Highballs!!! Pre-wedding - As a former event planner, I was a pretty hands-on bride. Working out the details with the band could easily have been a very stressful ordeal since the band sets the tone for and steers the reception. With The Highballs, though, it ended up being completely enjoyable and one of my favorite parts of the planning! They were were so responsive and easy to get in touch with. Their Website is fantastic and full of key information. Meredith (their female lead vocalist and event coordinator) sent the reception planning form with plenty of time to spare. She had such a good vision of how the reception would progress, what music would fit where and what timing of all the reception elements (cake cutting, parent dances, etc.) would work the best (and was spot-on with all of that). She followed up at just the right times to reconfirm everything. Basically, Meredith was thorough and thoughtful about every aspect of the planning, and it was a huge weight off my shoulders because I knew that the reception would be in good hands. Reception - The Highballs' performance at our reception was perfect!!! Guests young and old keep telling me, my husband, and our parents how much they loved the band. They played "standards" during dinner, which sounded fantastic and gave people time to eat before they started dancing. After dinner, though, they launched into 80s and oldies (tailored to play our favorites), and EVERYONE rushed to the dance floor! They will learn one special request song for your reception (we did "Still the One" by Orleans for an anniversary dance), and it sounded like they had been playing it forever. They also give you the opportunity to list recorded songs to be played during band breaks, and I think I heard all of those. In sum, my wedding turned out perfectly, and I had some wonderful vendors, but I have to say that hiring The Highballs was the second-best wedding decision I made ... first-best being, of course, saying yes to the groom! :)

    Sent on 11/27/2011
  • A

    Anna · Married on 10/15/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were beyond impressed with The Highballs and their ability to transform our reception into one big party! The music was phenomenal and we were so grateful for the time they took to make our reception just perfect. They were so easy and delightful to work with and we are wishing we could throw another party so we could hire them again. They were truly the highlight of the reception and we still have friends raving about the music!

    Sent on 03/26/2012
  • Margie

    Margie · Married on 09/24/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Are there words that could truly express just how much we think of The Highballs!? It was four years ago that I first saw them and at some point in the evening I text Drew and said, "if we ever get married can we PLEASE have this band at our wedding?" Booking them was the very first thing we did in the planning process and on September 24th, 2011 that text came to fruition and we could not have been happier! From word "go" Meredith was such a pleasure to work with and during our consultations whether via phone, email, or face to face, she was incredibly attentive, professional and yet I felt like she was a friend. There was never a doubt in my mind that everything we discussed would be delivered and boy did they ever! If we've heard once we've heard it a thousand times since that they were by far the most amazing band our guests had ever seen or heard. So much so that people were dancing during their warm up prior to the ceremony! The dance floor never cleared the entire night and in the days following my knees were killing me due to the fact that I literally bounced from place to place around the tent. Every song was as good as the one before. Hands down THE BEST addition to our day. Already scheming the next big event where we can hire them again!

    Sent on 11/02/2011
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 09/17/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Highballs played for our wedding in September 2011. The band was amazing and we continue to get compliments and rave reviews about their performance from our guests. If we could give more than 5 stars we would. Meredith was reliable, responsive, honest, very professional and really wanted the best for us on our wedding day. The Highballs went above and beyond to make our wedding celebration a great success, and it really showed.

    The band combined several different styles and song selections to create a wonderful night of fun and dancing for all ages of our guests. Everyone danced all night long and had a great time!

    Hands down, The Highballs are the best band in the area and will make your wedding complete! Thank you for making our wedding a dream come true!!

    Andrea and Hal Mahaffee
    September 17, 2011

    Sent on 11/07/2011
  • C

    Claire · Married on 08/13/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They Highballs were amazing to work with! They played all the songs we wanted and really personalized the reception for us. They had so much energy and kept the party going all night long. We love them!!!

    Sent on 08/29/2011