Skip to main content
Weddings

The High Five GR Reviews

The High Five GR

The High Five GR

Grand Rapids, MI
4.4 out of 5 rating, 13 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
4.4 out of 5 rating
4.4 out of 5 rating
13 Reviews
88% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.3 out of 5 rating

Awards

13
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
Weddingwire
4.4/5 13 reviews
Google
4.6/5 66 reviews
  • L
    Liz C. Sent on 02/24/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely Amazing!

    The venue is beautiful! Elegant and timeless! The staff is incredibly helpful, from planning, through the big night! Our daughter's wedding was perfect. The Staff was so helpful! They were even available the Monday morning after the wedding to help me load up our decorations! I highly recommend the High Five!

    The High Five GR's reply:

    Liz, thank you so much for your kind words. It was so wonderful to have your Daughter's big day at our venue. Thank you again for letting us be apart of the wedding, you were a joy to work with.
  • Taylor
    Taylor W. Sent on 09/19/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best venue choice!

    The High Five was amazing throughout the entire process. From the time we booked with them, through planning, the rehearsal, and the day of the wedding. We were so impressed by their quick responses! They were more than happy to jump on a phone call if we needed it and were willing to give their opinions when asked! Even through covid they made sure to keep up communication. The venue itself is beautiful and we got compliments all night! Plus they coordinated with all of our vendors when to show up so it's one less thing you have to worry about. I cannot talk enough about how beautiful and perfect our day was thanks to the High Five. I wish we could relive this day over and over again.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Taylor
    Taylor B. Sent on 06/11/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Venue

    The High Five is an amazing venue. They are currently in renovation of the 4th floor into a ceremony location that way the beautiful reception hall can be just for that, your reception. The ability to have ceremony and reception in one place was very important to us. The reception area is to die for. No pillars, original hard wood floors, amazing chandlers, brick walls, and high arch windows.

    The High Five GR's reply:

    Thank you Taylor for the kind words! We are very excited to work with you and be a part of your big day!
  • M
    Megan B. Sent on 12/09/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Experience with Helpful Staff

    Can not say enough good things about how our wedding day turned out working with The High Five! The staff walked through every step of the way with us as we planned for 10 months - they were always responsive to questions and open to suggestions and ideas to make work for wedding day. The week of the wedding, they were very organized, and so helpful to let us in early to the venue to set everything up so our day-of could be very low stress setting up! We had our ceremony and reception at the venue, and they did a beautiful job making the same space beautiful and different for both events. Thank you for all of your help! The space is gorgeous and they are so nice to work with...would highly recommend!

    The High Five GR's reply:

    Thank you so much Megan for your kind words. It was such a pleasure to work with you, and your big day was absolutely stunning. Best wishes!
  • A
    Annie T. Sent on 10/26/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    In Love With This Space

    We had our ceremony and reception at The High Five and we truly couldn’t have asked for a better venue! The whole team was so easy to work with and we were able to rest knowing that every detail was taken care of. The day of our wedding, all of our guests were wowed by the ceremony space and the reception space and everything flowed so smoothly. I’m so glad we found this space and can’t thank Marija and Leslie enough for helping make our wedding everything we’d hoped for!

    The High Five GR's reply:

    Thank you Annie! We miss you and loved being apart of your day. Your wedding day was gorgeous in so many way. Wishing all the best!
  • S
    Suette S. Sent on 12/18/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceptional

    Our guests enjoyed their time in the venue and we received wonderful compliments indicating how much they enjoyed the facility. A total win for us and our guests! The management was so responsive and attended to all of our requests promptly and cheerfully. Everything was set up the way we requested. Tables, chairs, bathrooms, AV, all new and top notch in an urban chic room.

    The High Five GR's reply:

    Thank you for a wonderful review! We loved being a part of your event. Looking forward to working in future together again for your next event! Thank you again for choosing The High Five!
  • G
    Gina K. Sent on 12/04/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our wedding at Hi-Five was a dream!

    We had our wedding at Hi-Five this past October and it was the perfect place for an indoor wedding reception! The venue is warm, elegant, charming, but also modern. Our ceremony was at the church across the street so it was the perfect location for us. The venue space is just beautiful with exposed brick walls, wooden floors, big windows overlooking Grand Rapids, and stunning chandeliers. The venue space maintains its character as an old roller rink but is also very polished. It was perfect!!

    The staff at Hi-Five provided everything we needed for the day to go smoothly. Communication was clear and easy in the days leading up to our wedding, and they really went above and beyond to make sure everything went according to plan - coordinating with the caterer, florist, and other vendors as well as setting up decorations and creating a floor plan.

    We used the fourth floor for our cocktail hour and fifth floor for our reception at Hi-Five. It was great to have a still beautiful and simple place for guests to gather for a drink and hors doeuvres on the fourth floor before heading upstairs.

    We could not have asked for a better staff, location, city, or venue for our wedding. My husband and I are so thankful for the hard work Hi-Five put into making our day so special and memorable!!

    The High Five GR's reply:

    Thank you Gina for a wonderful review! We loved being a part of your beautiful day. You both were a dream to work with, along with your amazing family and group of friends. Wishing you all the best in your future together, and thank you again for choosing The High Five!
  • E
    Elizabeth M. Sent on 01/02/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    AMAZING Experience! Highly Recommend!

    Having my wedding at The High Five was magical! Everything really came together perfectly. I received so many compliments on the space--It's that perfect combination of rustic and chic/elegant. Marija and Leslie were a pleasure to work with and an immense help! Also, there were awesome food/bar caterer options you could choose from and they were super flexible on décor. You really couldn't tell it was a new venue with how professionally everything was handled and executed. I definitely recommend The High Five!

    The High Five GR's reply:

    Thank you Liz for a wonderful review! We loved being a part of your beautiful day. You both were a dream to work with, along with your amazing family and group of friends. Wishing you all the best in your future together, and thank you again for choosing The High Five!
  • J
    Jenna P. Sent on 10/25/2019
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    So happy we chose the High Five

    The high five was a great venue to work with and is obviously breathtakingly gorgeous- making our special day just perfect. We had tons of complements re: the venue size, cleanliness, location, a ton about the clean bathrooms (seriously- it matters!). We wouldn’t have changed a thing about our wedding and choice of venue!

    The High Five GR's reply:

    Thank you for the kind words Jenna! It was such a pleasure working with you and we were honored to be a part of your wedding day! We are very excited to see all the beautiful images from your day so we can keep replaying it :)
  • S
    Samantha M. Sent on 09/18/2019
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Loved the views!

    When searching for a venue, I had almost given up on what I was searching for until a friend recommended High Five GR. As soon as I walked into the venue, I almost cried, I knew it was the venue that we would use for our big day! Its absolutely gorgeous empty, but when I walked in the day of our wedding, it was perfect! The views of the city are stunning, the lighting is perfect! We wish we could go back to our big day! It was amazing in so many ways!

    The High Five GR's reply:

    Thank you Samantha for a wonderful review! We loved being a part of your beautiful day. Wishing you all the best in your future together, and thank you again for choosing The High Five!
  • K
    Kristen K. Sent on 12/27/2023
    1.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Great planning w/horrible day of execution and service

    I continue to discourage friends and associates from using this venue after the service we received the day of my daughter’s wedding, starting with having to clean up after the wedding party from the previous evening. Move ugly blue rugs -$500, move a table to accommodate the dance floor -$500. Had to take garbage with us and they still tried to assess $500 from previous night refuge. Julianna unprofessional and downright mean to the grooms family, our DJ and the wedding planners. I have debated a review because I can’t say anything nice about this place besides the aesthetics. Beware of service and limited parking adds to the “just say no” aspect.
  • A
    Anthony S. Sent on 07/27/2020
    1.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    High Five GR Review

    I understand the difficulty Covid is causing, but working with the High Five has been by far the worst part of our whole wedding process. When we first started looking for venues Leslie was incredibly helpful and responsive, but once we were completely paid and started asking about how Covid would affect us they became much less prompt. Moreover, when it became clear we weren't able to have the wedding we paid for the high five was unapologetically rude and unhelpful. You can tell a company's true character when they don't need anything from you, and as soon as the High Five had our money, it became abundantly clear they are not as kind and helpful as they would like to portray themselves as. I would strongly recommend looking elsewhere for a wedding venue.
Responds within 24 hours