The HideOut Reviews

16 | Kirkwood, CA
See photos, pricing and details

16 Reviews for The HideOut

Recommended by 99% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

16

61 User photos

Order by:
  • Ali

    Ali Gibbs · Married on 08/17/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stunning location with everything you could want and need for the perfect day

    My husband and I had a change in plans and ended up eloping this year but we had planned our wedding here for next August 17th, 2019 (BONUS, that date is now available)! We would have loved to spend more time exploring the HideOut and enjoying all that the venue has to offer. This place is incredible!

    All of our conversations with BJ and the team up at the HideOut were timely and professional. We toured the venue last summer and quickly realized that the HideOut is absolutely gorgeous. The owners really have thought of everything you could want and need for your wedding weekend. Every wedding planner and vendor we spoke with had high reviews of this place. If you love the great outdoors, the HideOut is the perfect venue for you.

    Sent on 01/09/2019
  • C

    Cori Mcgovern · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved everything

    best venue. It was the wedding of my dreams and Tom and BJ were a HUGE reason.

    Sent on 03/07/2019
  • D

    Danielle Wyss · Married on 08/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What an epic wedding location!!!!

    Our friends and family continually tell us we had THE BEST wedding and we have so much to thank The Hideout for that. What a magical location! We had 4 amazing days with friends and family. We asked everyone to do their best to arrive early on Friday and really enjoy this spectacular spot with us and by Saturday afternoon it really felt like everyone had "dropped in" and fully arrived to the magical weekend we'd created. The food and lodging options were our biggest issue for guests. We ended up doing a big Costco fun and supplying a breakfast and lunch bar everyday (just bagels and build-your-own sandwich stations). We so wish we could have accomodated more people on the property too. My feedback to The Hideout is to find ways to allow more people to camp there! I think 90% of our guests would have loved that option. But other than those hurdles, we found the venue and the staff so accommodating. My husband wanted us to have a very fun first dance and had this idea he would swing in from the rafters (yes, he's very silly and fun) and they were happy to help and even mounted the support structure he needed in the rafters for us! You can imagine it was a surprising and fun moment in our reception! We can't say enough great things about this place. Be sure to get all your guests out there swimming and hiking and exploring the property for your whole stay. Our Sunday after the ceremony was perhaps the most special for many as everyone just unwound in a lazy day at the lake using the Lodge House as the base. We bbq'd and had speakers on the deck and everyone spent the whole day sunning and swimming and having the best summer day.

    Sent on 03/18/2019
  • M

    Megan Biagi · Married on 07/31/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing venue!

    We had the most amazing wedding! This place is perfect for those who love the outdoors, want to spend quality time with guests, don’t want a curfew, want to DIY/fully customize their special day, and want to chill in a huge granite hot tub under the stars with 30 of your closest friends every night. We couldn’t have dreamed of a better venue:)

    Sent on 03/06/2019
  • C

    Carolyn · Married on 07/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A magical location

    The best part of my wedding day is looking back and knowing we wouldn't change a thing. And it wasn't just one day but an entire weekend to relax and take it all in! The quiet moments sitting on the porch or walking through the granite gave us a chance to truly appreciate our union and families to share it with. We lived in SF but our friends and family were mostly from out of state. It was so fun to share the splendor of the Northern California with them all! Everyone kept asking "How did you find this place?" (Google). It was so important to us to not have to end our party at 10pm and shuttle off to a hotel bar. The immediate families and bridal parties all fit in the Hideout, Saloon, and The Lookout (a separate rental), and we maxed out the tent camping on site. Believe me, it is so much fun to sit by the campfire with your nearest and dearest after your wedding!! BJ, Tom, and Josh were amazing on site. They helped us settle in and were attentive though not obtrusive on our time and offered recommendations as needed. They also lent us some beautiful natural wine barrel tables to use instead of rentals (though these aren't guaranteed, so check with BJ leading up to your weekend). Our rehearsal dinner was on the patio between the Hideout and the Saloon, and the wedding was on the main lawn. The shuttle drivers even drove me and the bridal party over there to save us from the dust :) For future couples, I would highly recommend using the preferred vendors. BJ knows who works and the last thing you would want is someone unfamiliar with the space who didn't know you needed ice, for example. The vendors who have been there LOVE the space and many of them offer delivery discounts, too. We couldn't afford a wedding coordinator, but with my own spreadsheets and a few friends to help out the day before/morning of, we didn't need one. Tip: keep things organized in advance so that you can relax and enjoy the weekend with your guests who traveled so far! The Hideout is truly a magical place and we would get married there all over again! Photo Credits: Kim J. Martin Photography

    Sent on 05/08/2019
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A wedding in the woods

    Gosh, what can I say about The Hideout that hasn't already been said? This was the most amazing wedding venue that my husband and I could have asked for. We saw it on their website and booked their last available wedding weekend for 2017 sight unseen! I managed to see the location under 20 feet of snow in February and I was still in love. When I got to see it in person for their open house in July, I was IN LOVE. If you like open air, pine trees, huge granite boulders, log cabins, and antique old world charm - this place is for you. Plus if you like having venue owners who really care about their clients and are on site for any issue during your stay - you'll love The Hideout. Here's just a few tidbits:

    - 40 person granite hot tub
    - stocked lake for fishing and canoeing
    - 5 bedroom log cabin with individual bathrooms and fireplaces in every room
    - Dine in kitchen
    - Huge dining table
    - Amazing bridal/master suite with great views
    - Separate saloon with wifi
    - Camping onsite with heated showers!

    We definitely want to come back for our 10 year anniversary. Thanks Tom, BJ, Dusty, Josh & Isa!

    Sent on 03/05/2019
  • M

    Meagan · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    More perfect than we ever imagined

    BJ, Tom, Dusty, and adorable Brooklyn were the most amazing hosts you could ever ask for at a wedding venue! The HideOut and all the beautiful land that surrounds it are stunning. The cost of the HideOut is more than fair considering how much time you get and how many people can stay and enjoy the property for the entire weekend or multiple weekdays. On top of that amazingness you get all the practical bonuses like table, chairs, barn for your reception and more. If you want to spend quality time with your loved ones in an unforgettable setting and make great friends in the Hoover family then the HideOut is for you. It has all the amenities you could ever need including the amazing hot tub while being the perfect place to unplug and truly make memories. Our experience was 100% positive in every way. BJ hooked us up with great vendors was the sweetest person in planning and helping us tour the property. During the big weekend BJ, Tom, Dusty and Brooklyn went out of their way to make sure we had the best time. They even helped in paddling the canoe around so we could get married on the rock in the middle of the lake and pulled through with a sound system when the party was still going but the DJ had to go. The Hoover family and what they have created in the HideOut is incredible. You won't be disappointed.

    Sent on 03/05/2019
  • Shauna

    Shauna C. · Married on 09/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dream Wedding Venue

    The Hideout was our dream wedding venue. I seriously can not recommend this venue highly enough. BJ & Tom created a stunningly beautiful and fun venue at their property in the woods. Everything was perfect - the gorgeous big house on the lake, the seriously sweet saloon, the ceremony site surrounded by wildflowers, dinner and dancing under the stars, a campsite for our friends, and the truly epic hot tub - it was better than we could have imagined. BJ & Tom were so kind, helpful, easy going, accommodating and SO hospitable (plus no noise curfew!). It's been almost 2 years and our family and friends are still raving about it. Our wedding weekend at The Hideout was so magical, and we are so grateful to Tom & BJ and their family for creating such a picture perfect place. You will not want to leave at the end of the weekend! The property is so serene and we had so much fun, we just wanted to stay forever. We wish we could relive that weekend again and again.

    Sent on 03/05/2019
  • L

    Leah · Married on 08/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Just do it!! we all had a BLAST and the setting is so perfect.

    Sent on 08/27/2016
  • E

    Elizabeth Zenuk · Married on 07/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    People are STILL talking about our wedding!

    The Hideout is the PERFECT place to get married. My husband and I both love the outdoors and this was a perfect combination of nature and "comforts of home" on your wedding day. Everyone was happy at the Hideout- from toddlers to grandparents -it was perfect for everyone. Tom and BJ were really helpful and kind people. We could not have asked for a better experience. Thank you!
    -Brandon & Liz (July 2016)

    Sent on 03/05/2019
  • K

    Kimberly & Stephen · Married on 09/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Life has taken a few unpredicted twists and turns with our family's health since we got hitched in Sept. We are now finally finding a minute to sit down and write up all the reviews. Has it already been almost 10 months since our big day!? Wow, time goes by in a blink of an eye! Yes, this is a long overdue, but much needed and well deserved review. Now, where do I even begin?
    My husband is from New Zealand and I grew up down the road from The HideOut. We met while I was on a working visa in Australia and we decided to move back to CA. Since this would be an international wedding, with guests coming from 3 different US States and 5 different countries, having accommodation on the same property as our ceremony and reception was what we were looking for.
    Then we found The HideOut. WOW! What a piece of heaven. The venue speaks for itself and once you see it, you will fall in love. My husband and I are huge outdoor enthusiasts and were looking for a venue that really spoke to us. We knew we wanted to exchange our vows in the very place we fell in love....the great outdoors. Thus, not only did The HideOut fit our personalities to a T, but we were able to rent the WHOLE property for a few days allowing us to have quality time with all of our guests in one of the most beautiful and secluded places.
    Almost 10 months later and we are still getting compliments on how stunning our wedding was. We were even lucky enough to have one of the most spectacular sunsets on our special day. Words can not express the beauty of this venue and pictures, as gorgeous as they are, do not do it justice. You have to see it with your own eyes to truly appreciate the serenity The HideOut exudes.
    We can not thank the Hoover's enough for being by our sides every step of the way. Helping and guiding us before, during and after the wedding. Thank you for being so flexible, accommodating, and genuine. And thank you for providing such a hidden gem for couples to share and exchange their love.

    Sent on 07/03/2016
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 09/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Being a Lake Tahoe local and working in the wedding industry, when it came time to book a venue for our wedding there wasn't another location that came to mind - The HideOut was it for us! From the moment we met Tom to tour to the property, to the day-of wedding the Hoover's couldn't have made things easier! Being dealt a bad case of weather during our stay didn't damper any of our guests time out at the property - If anything... I think it created more memories that will last a lifetime! The HideOut isn't for everyone... But if you enjoy being out in the middle of nowhere with the people you love the most in the most GORGEOUS setting - This is the place for you! Words don't really express the gratitude we feel for Tom, BJ & the rest of the Hoover family for bringing this place to life - It truly is a place like no other! If you want the best, this place is it.

    I look forward to visiting in the future and creating new HideOut memories for years to come! Thank you to the Hoovers - You all and your venue are one-of-a-kind! The entire process was such a pleasure for us - Thank you for allowing us to start a new chapter of our lives at your property!

    Cheers,
    The Hoffman's

    Sent on 11/11/2014
  • User2545335 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Hideout was the most magical, beautiful, "stuff dreams are made of" place to get married! My husband and I couldn't even believe a place this magnificent and completely perfect for our wedding existed! From the gorgeous ceremony site, to the breath taking Lodge and pond, the awesome Saloon, the best hot tub in the WORLD, and the most welcoming, helpful, kind, and fun hosts there could ever be, The Hideout was a dream come true! Thank you Tom and BJ so much!!!! You are the best!!!

    Sent on 09/18/2013
  • S

    Kim · Married on 08/20/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue is pricy, but worth every penny, and really a good value for what you get. Tom and BJ, the owners are SUPER laid back. The road to get in is exciting to say the least--this year was a big snow year, and there was a little river people had to cross in their cars--and people are still talking about it! The setting is drop dead gorgeous, and you get the place for 5 days with their wedding package. They let up to 20 people camp on site, and the house and saloon accommodate 24 in beds! Really, can you go wrong with a place that has a 40-person hot tub!??? No curfews, and very few rules, make this place absolutely perfect if you don't mind bringing in (or hiring) a crew to set up, decorate, and tear down. Don't underestimate how much physical labor goes into setting up for a wedding in the woods!

    Sent on 12/07/2011
  • C

    Cheryl · Married on 07/24/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You will not be disapointed. It truly is the most spectactular venue for and outdoor wedding.The owners & their staff are professional yet helpful and friendly.They really try to accomadate your every desire for your wedding day.
    Our daughters wedding there was so special it was featured in several publications.
    We would do it again there in a heartbeat.

    Sent on 05/16/2011
  • A

    Allyson · Married on 08/19/2017

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Dreams do Come True

    The HideOut Family helped create the perfect wedding weekend for my family. From the moment we arrived to the moment we departed we could feel the love. The memories we created will last a lifetime. Thank you so much Tom and BJ!

    Sent on 03/25/2019