The Halcyon Agency Reviews

28 | Los Angeles, CA
See photos, pricing and details

28 Reviews for The Halcyon Agency

Recommended by 100%

28
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • User3492315 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Honestly, how in the world did I get so lucky to have THE Amy Clarke and her team come do make up for my bridesmaids, moms, sister and aunt. They did a phenomenal job and I couldn't have asked for a better artist. All of our make- up and hair came out so STUNNING.

    The team was EXTREMELY punctual and I judge a business byvtheir punctuality, service, and honesty. I also want to have a connection with my artist as well and Amy gave me that and more.

    I recommend Amy Clarke to every single bride that plans on getting married... WHY? Because my Husband said "Amy, is truly a god given gift to us on our wedding day. She made you look exactly as you are, she was flexible, down to earth, funny, and an amazing person overall". If my cute sexy husband says that, I think I can say more than that.

    Amy, you were SO AMAZING. I am so grateful that you were able to do my make up throughout the entire day, including the different make up changes and hair change for the night. One day, you'll be my personal make up artist for life. =]

    If you are contemplating and looking for an artist, don't hesistate and just book her! I booked her for the entire day and she literally did cartwheels for me. THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!

    Sent on 07/02/2014
  • A

    Amy · Married on 06/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot recommend Amy from Amy Clarke makeup enough. We hired Amy to come to our hotel suite and do makeup for all of my bridesmaids and myself at our Palm Springs wedding, which was one of the best decisions that we made during wedding planning. Our planners, Beau & Arrow, highly recommended Amy, and her close friend Dianna Bautista for hair, and we are so glad that we hired her. She is one of the most talented makeup artists I’ve ever worked with--her work is truly artistry.

    We were married in June 2014 at the ACE Hotel & Swim Club in Palm Springs, California, but we’re from Connecticut. Lots of people told me that I should be nervous that I wasn’t going to do a wedding trial with Amy in advance, but she was absolutely fantastic! She listened to exactly what I wanted and my makeup was simply stunning. So was everyone else’s. She does the most amazing job, truly, and while other makeup artists get crazy with the eye shadow and fake eyelashes (which often look so obviously fake, or in the case of another recent wedding that I attended, come off after thirty minutes, making you look ridiculous in all of your wedding photos), Amy’s work amplifies natural beauty. I felt like I looked like myself, but a better, prettier version of myself. Exactly what you want for wedding makeup! Her makeup is the best kind—stunning and effortless.

    Lastly, Amy is fun and nice and sweet (not to be undervalued). You spend the entire day of your wedding pre-ceremony hanging out with your bridesmaids and your hair and makeup team, and it was really nice to enjoy their company, vibe, and positivity. I was definitely nervous when I was in Amy’s makeup chair, just filled with anticipation and excitement, and it was great to talk and laugh with Amy (this also helped to calm me down). I felt like I could be myself with Amy that day—excited, nervous, anxious, or joyful—and for this, I am tremendously grateful. Not only is she remarkably talent, but she has a really wonderful spirit.

    Sent on 06/20/2014
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 05/24/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had Amy Clarke do the makeup and Danielle Frizelle do hair and makeup for myself, my bridesmaids and the mothers of the bride and groom. They were both absolutely fantastic. Amy is truly a magician with makeup. If you have any doubts, check out her before-and-afters! She made everyone look and feel gorgeous. Everyone looked like themselves, but with 12 hours of sleep and in perfect lighting. :) I absolutely loved what she did, and my makeup lasted all night--through five hours on the dance floor!

    Danielle did an incredible job creating romantic, bohemian braided styles on my bridal party. Everyone's hair was prettier than a Pinterest photo--absolutely to die for!

    Both Amy and Danielle are incredibly sweet and fun. They made the experience calm and relaxing. And they are extremely professional--easy to communicate with, very good at sticking to a timeline, and great at giving input about what will and won't work. I would hire either of them again in a second!

    Sent on 07/10/2014
  • Summer

    Summer · Married on 10/20/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What is there to say about Amy that her work doesn't say for itself!? To this day, I am still receiving compliments on not only my makeup, but the makeup of my entire wedding party and all the mothers. Amy makes women feel BEAUTIFUL, which is priceless, especially on such a big occasion. A lot of women have their makeup done..but we had the distinct honor of having our spirits made over! My maid of honor, who is always her own biggest critic, was almost in tears at the sight of how beautiful she looked. I am so happy to have been able to provide such a service for my special ladies via Amy. She was a pleasure to work with, and I am still such a huge fan of her and her work. I am looking for any excuse to get all dolled up just to have my makeup done by her again!

    Sent on 01/15/2013
  • E

    Erin · Married on 09/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amy is an extremely talented makeup artist and she is a joy to be around. She answered my many detailed questions early on in the process and was flexible, even when the engagement photoshoot date was changed. I hired her for both my engagement shoot and for my wedding; since I was so pleased with the work she did for the e-shoot I didn't even need a trial pre-ceremony.

    I had Amy & her assistant on our wedding day for my wedding party, as well as the mothers and grandmothers. They did a beautiful job! Even when one of the girls who doesn't wear too much makeup on a regular basis wanted to lessen the amount of makeup on her eyes - they handled it like pro's and worked with her until she was happy.

    I only needed to tell Amy that I wanted to play up my blue eyes and look glowy and with those 2 pieces of direction she nailed it - my eyes were a piercing blue and my skin was perfectly dewy; I have never felt so beautiful!

    It was one of the hottest days we had seen in September (100+) and I never once felt like I was covered in makeup or sweating it off. It was 110% worth having them stay up until ceremony time. They even helped me adjust my hair and added some curls with the curling iron - so I could have it down for the ceremony - too hot to have down for the whole event. Such sweethearts!

    I would recommend Amy to any bride looking to feel her best on her big day & get papmered a little at the same time - or really for any woman with a big event / occassion that she wants to shine for.

    Completely worth every penny!

    Sent on 10/03/2012
  • S

    stephany · Married on 07/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    we love AAMMYY <3
    best make artsit ever:)

    Sent on 07/24/2012
  • M

    Erika · Married on 05/26/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amy is awesome!

    I never knew how pretty I could look until I had my make up professionally done by Amy Clarke. She is a genious. She was so quick too! I couldn't believe how much she accomplished in such a short period of time. She achieved the look I was going for with just a tad of information. I was worried I wasn't explaining it correctly but she understood exactly what I wanted.

    She did my make-up for my engagement pictures and my wedding day... my pictures came out beautiful thanks to the flawless make-up. My (now) mother in law, and mother had their make-up done by Amy too and they looked absolutely radiant. Amy made them look so youthful and beautiful. I received compliments all day about how young out parents looked and how they looked like celebrities because they looked gorgeous. I can honestly say that my mother in law looked like a starlet.

    My bridesmaids looked beautiful too! The look Amy gave each one of them was absolutely AMAZING!

    You will love her work. Check out her page and see the transformations she does. You will still look like you... but 100 times better! Book her, book her, book her!!!

    I'm going to be a bridesmaid in another state and wish I could take her with me!

    Sent on 07/01/2012
  • K

    Kim · Married on 03/31/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved working with Amy, did such a great job and couldn't believe hoe amazing her work is.

    Sent on 07/02/2012
  • S

    stephanie · Married on 12/16/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amy was amazing from start to finish. She was always friendly and prompt in our communications. On my wedding day when I met her she was so sweet and friendly in person. I showed her one picture of a makeup look I liked and she did the most amazing wedding makeup! I received SO many compliments and the look came out fabulous in my wedding pictures.

    Her services definitely stood out that day! I would recommend her to anyone and everyone. Her work is expert and flawless and she is warm and personable.

    Sent on 07/03/2012
  • S

    Sepideh · Married on 11/19/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am very picky with my makeup on any given day! I am so lucky I found Amy, thanks to my hairstylist Diana. She is magical. Her work is flawless, her attitude is perfection and I promise you will look like after the beautiful queen you are supposed to look like on your wedding day.

    Sent on 04/22/2012
  • S

    S · Married on 10/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    She was wonderful! She provided everything she said she would and I was very pleased with her services. I looked amazing and I felt beautiful, couldn't ask for anything more on my wedding day!

    Sent on 07/02/2012
  • L

    Laura · Married on 05/14/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amy is terrific. She did an incredible job on makeup for me, my sister (maid-of-honor), my mom and my mother-in-law. Plus, she's fun and easy to talk to. I had my makeup preview a couple days before our engagement shoot, and she gave me very helpful tips on how to do my own makeup for the engagement shoot. I got compliments on my makeup at the wedding, but the makeup also looks AMAZING in our photos. I'd recommend Amy very highly.

    Sent on 07/22/2011
  • M

    Missy · Married on 01/08/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amy is the best makeup artist I have every worked with and is talented beyond beliefe!! I will always reccomend everyone I know to her!!!! I love her!!

    Sent on 01/13/2011
  • D

    Debbie · Married on 10/23/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amy was so wonderful and just the best! She was professional and she did such an amazing job! We were more than pleased with her work!

    Sent on 12/01/2010
  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 09/07/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amy Clarke was AMAZING! She did the makeup for myself, my 7 bridesmaids and my mother on the day of my wedding. Each and every girl was BLOWN AWAY with how beautiful they looked! Usually, when you get your hair or makeup done you have to make a few adjustments on your own, but Amy did everything SO PERFECTLY. The face makeup made your skin look flawless and it lasted ALL NIGHT. There really isn't much more to ask for in a makeup artist. Also, her assistant was awesome and the two of them together worked quickly and we were great on time. Amy is also really sweet and gives you exactly what you want. I would ABSOLUTELY recommend Amy for anything and everything makeup related!

    Sent on 12/06/2010
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 08/07/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amy is an amazing make-up artist!!! I live in San Francisco and got married in San Diego, so getting a time to schedule my preview was a little difficult. Amy drove all the way down from Corona 2 days before my wedding to do a preview because it was important to me. Her and her husband hung out at my family's rental house which was filled with a million of my aunts, uncles, and cousins while she did my preview.

    Amy made me look absolutely stunning (if i do say so myself) on my wedding day! My mom's make-up and my 8 bridesmaids also looked stunning and I've had a ton of people ask who did everyone's make-up. Everyone's make-up was different, but completely complimented their skin and who they were as a person.

    Amy is professional, but at the same time makes you feel comfortable and like a friend you've known forever. Check her blog and you'll see how talented she is!!

    Sent on 01/10/2011
  • R

    Richel · Married on 07/11/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amy is absolutely fabulous and worth every penny. She is sweet and very professional. I would definitely recommend her. I was originally on the fence about getting my makeup done for my wedding but it was oh so worth it. The makeup looked flawless all way through the end of the hot summer night ... and this was a outdoor July wedding! I got so many complements and my pictures look amazing.

    Sent on 07/27/2010
  • L

    Libby · Married on 06/05/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amy was great! She made each and every one of my bridesmaids look their absolute best! I couldn't believe what a good looking group we had! Amy is easy to work with and such a joy to be around! She made me look and feel the most beautiful I have ever felt. I would highly highly highly recommend using Amy's services!

    Sent on 07/19/2010

    The Halcyon Agency's reply:

    You are so sweet! Thank you so much for giving me a great review...I may need to put it on my blog if you don't mind? :)
  • S

    Shannon · Married on 05/30/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything was perfect and her makeup was really nice. It wasn't too much, but it still looked fresh and young. :) I will reccomend her to everyone!

    Sent on 07/19/2010
  • S

    Shannon · Married on 05/30/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    She was absolutely wonderful!!!! She made this part of my wedding worry free and I would defiantly use her again. The makeup was clean and applied perfectly.

    Sent on 12/01/2010
  • F

    Faith · Married on 04/11/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amy did a fabulous job making myself and my wedding party look as beautiful as ever on my wedding day. I couldn't of asked for a better makeup artist. We had so many compliments of the way we looked. I plan to use her again whenever I have Makeup needs :) Thank you so much Amy!

    Sent on 07/19/2010
  • C

    candice · Married on 03/20/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Love Amy! She did my makeup for my wedding, for my room mates wedding and for my sister in laws wedding. Not only is she super friendly and accommodating but she makes you look like the best looking version of you!

    Sent on 07/20/2010
  • C

    Cindy · Married on 09/19/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amy is an amazing makeup artist and once I met her at my consultation I knew that it was one less thing I would have to worry about leading up to the big day. I couldn't have asked for anything better on my wedding day. My bridesmaids and family loved her talent as well.

    Sent on 07/20/2010
  • J

    Julie · Married on 08/15/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amy did a PHENOMENAL job with my wedding make-up! She made me feel my most beautiful, and was so easy to work with. She was very flexible and was so knowledgeable when it came to what my my bridesmaids and I needed. I let her run with the creativity aspect and trusted her professional opinion and style. She chose a color palette that I would not normally have chosen, but I was so happy with the finished result! Even at 39, my wedding planners said I looked like Charlize Theron! Thank you, Amy!

    Sent on 03/17/2012
  • C

    Cassie · Married on 08/18/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amy does an AMAZING job!! Her work is incredible and she is extremely professional and easy to work with. I am blown away at the amazing work she does!! I wouldn't use any one else for makeup artistry!

    Sent on 07/19/2010

    The Halcyon Agency's reply:

    Thank you Cassie! I really enjoyed working with you. You were a stunning bride!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review