Skip to main content
Weddings

The Grove Reviews

The Grove View more information

13 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 93% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 13

5 User photos

  • User2532195 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We used The Grove as our ceremony & reception space in the Treehouse (second floor). It was absolutely magical. With the cityscape in the background, and everything lit up at night, you could not beat this view. The floor to ceiling glass windows in the reception space was also breathtaking. Every guest made a comment about how unique and awesome our venue was! The staff was so great to work with and were very accommodating with our requests. Best day of our lives!
  • User1825149 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amazing venue! Awesome food!! Everyone loved it! Service was great :) Definitely recommend! We wanted them for our wedding, but it was too small, but we had to have it for our rehearsal dinner! And it was perfect!
  • Sarah
    Sarah Married on 11/02/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had an EXCELLENT experience with The Grove. The catering team was so easy to schedule with and did a wonderful job accommodating our event. We met shortly after booking the venue and a few other times to take measurements, do a walk-through with my groom and day-of coordinator, and also to set the menu. The food was seasonal, local and absolutely delicious! The woman who worked with us on our event provided us with a PDF layout of the whole event space (including ceremony, gift table, DJ, cake table, place card table, etc.) and updated it with table placement according to how many guests we were expecting as we got back to her with updated headcounts. The wait and catering staff was so professional and did a great job on everything, including timing and accommodating the event as it naturally ran. There was no cake cutting fee (came with event) and no event rental fee as long as we met the food & beverage minimum.

    The restaurant offered a variety of spaces, and we chose to book the whole second floor as to have the Treehouse Deck for the ceremony and Treehouse Bar/Vista Room for the reception. The space accommodated all 115 of our guests, but had enough space for up to 150 to attend both the ceremony and reception. The contemporary style of the venue was absolutely perfect as it drew in natural surroundings of Discovery Green Park, which surrounds the venue, and the downtown skyline. The Vista Room is lined with floor-to-ceiling sliding glass doors that we were able to open during the event as it ended up being a perfect November day outside. The contemporary style allowed for minimal decorations as the natural beauty of the venue and it's surroundings were enough to provide a beautiful ambiance. There was even an arts fair happening in the park that our guests so enjoyed visiting during the event and even bought us a few special wedding day presents from. :) Our venue totally made our event and all in all it was the absolutely PERFECT day.
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • User1192024 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amazing restaurant right in the heart of Houston. The staff was great, funny, and extremely nice. Food was awesome! Highly recommended!
  • C
    Chrystal Married on 05/06/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Grove Restaurant was an amazing place to hold our wedding and reception. We used the Treehouse deck which overlook Discovery Green Park and the Houston skyline for our outdoor wedding ceremony and ventured into the Vista Room for a beautiful Sunday brunch reception. The staff was amazing! There was no cake cutting fee, there was no venue fee with the exception of a food and beverage minimum. The bartender was especially amazing (we had a mimosa/bloody mary bar and open premium bar) and he personally came up to us a few times to congratulate us on our wedding. The waiters/bus boys bussed the tables promptly and kept everyone comfortable. The catering manager was very sweet, patient, responsive, and flexible and worked well with my planner who visited the venue several times for miscellaneous reasons (to see where to hang decorations, room layout, which chairs would work best, etc). Thank you so much to everyone who made our day a special one!
  • John
    John C. Married on 05/04/2019
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    A uniquely beautiful venue

    The Grove was a beautiful venue for our wedding! We had the service outside with the reception inside, and it worked (almost) perfectly. The only downside is that with both sports arenas and a park within such close proximity, the surrounding noise was less-than-ideal. BUT that's literally the only downside we had! haha. Just be sure that you have a mic for the vows, and you'll be fine.
    You cannot beat the food and drinks, which our guests were complimenting for weeks following the wedding. It really is such a uniquely beautiful setting too, with the trees surrounding the venue to create a really natural, elegantly rustic feel without having to be an hour outside the city. With its proximity to so many hotels, as well, convenience is key. Your guests can easily walk to the wedding and not have to worry about driving or calling a Lyft/Uber. The vendors knew the space really well, so Secret Floral Garden made it feel really elegant (more than it already does) and Binford Creative captured the most incredible photos. And the simplicity of the space allows you to create something truly magical.
    Deborah was also just a really lovely human to work with each step of the way. She was communicative, honest, and offered a lot of guidance based on previous weddings. We really could not have been happier with the venue, and our guests still rave about it to this day :)
  • A
    Allie Married on 04/11/2015
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Grove made our wedding day very unique and special. We didn't want to have the standard ballroom wedding reception and we were excited to learn about The Grove after my fiance proposed in Discovery Green. Tatiana and Debra were fantastic to work with. They are so familiar with having events there that they have solutions and answers to all issues. The setting was fantastic and they were extremely flexible on the day of the wedding regarding rearranging things due to weather. I don't know how many times I emailed questions to Tatiana and/or Debra and they were always patient and timely with responses. The only complaints I have are that you cannot sample the food beforehand and that the deck flooring makes it difficult for women wearing heels. The food we ordered was some passed appetizers, tortilla soup, salad, and the chicken breast/sea bass combo. The food was overall pretty good, but we heard from several guests that the chicken was tough. It is probably difficult to get everything right when cooking for that many people at once.
  • K
    Kate Married on 11/15/2014
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    The Grove was wonderful. The setting is beautiful, the food was delicious (people are still talking about the food), and the staff was a joy to work with. We had our ceremony on the treehouse deck, and a cocktail party reception indoors. We had the space for five hours, which was perfect for us, but is shorter than many weddings.
  • J
    Julie Married on 11/26/2016
    4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    We had a great experience with The Grove. They were very responsive to email, answered a lot of questions from us and provided very clear information. Be mindful that with seasonal menus you and lock down food until close to your day but this wasn't an issue for us. The other outstanding thing was service on the day - very attentive, helpful and that meant we didn't have to worry. Highly recommend.
  • User855048 2+ years ago
    4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our wedding on the first floor “ Primavera Room” which is somewhat unusual for weddings since most people opt for the second floor but it worked out very well for our 70 guest wedding. The room was beautiful and the food was amazing. The restraint event coordinator was wonderful but is not available during the weekends. On the weekends you get a regular manager and they don’t always give the best information on events.
  • J
    Jason Married on 03/10/2018
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful, modern venue for small or medium sized events

    Overall we enjoyed a beautiful wedding at the Grove on a Saturday evening. The Treehouse venue upstairs is excellent for dinner events - and the outdoor deck is nice for a lounge area or for the ceremony. We did have our ceremony on the outdoor deck, and then dinner and dancing inside. We ended up with 100 guests - which meant two tables outside - but I think everyone felt included.
    The food and drinks were excellent, as expected, but the drinks and wine are at restaurant prices, so the bar tab will rise quickly. The quality of the alcohol is very good. We were able to choose our wines and beers from a large list of options to fit any budget.
    I would recommend hiring a planner to work with you and the Grove event staff - even just a day coordinator - as the Grove staff were very hands off. That's good though, because it allows a lot of flexibility. Their event staff were exceptional and professional - I never even noticed them during the evening - everything was done according to the plans.
    For some reason the power went out after our event was over - that presented some challenges for our coordinator - hopefully that is not a regular issue.
    Overall, I felt that it was a good value, and I would recommend the venue if it matches your needs and vision.
  • L
    Lea Married on 03/29/2013
    4.3 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    My wedding was planned within 3 weeks and their catering manager, Debra Wu, was very responsive and helpful. Enjoyed our wedding and reception there as there weren't any extra fees involved with having a setup for the space or chairs for our ceremony.

    Only drawback is what was already stated - no taste testing. As many times as I had eaten there and eaten plates similar to what I had ordered for our guests, I truly wished they would offer it rather than ordering blindly. The staff was professional and very accomodating.
  • A
    Anya Married on 09/29/2012
    4.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    The Grove is beautiful! We could not have selected a better venue. I do wish the chef was more creative with the menu and offer a tasting.