The Grove at Centerton Reviews

18 | Elmer, NJ
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for The Grove at Centerton

Recommended by 88% of couples

4.4 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.4
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 4.4
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.4

Awards

18

3 User photos

Order by:
  • L

    Lauren · Getting married on 08/27/2022

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect day!

    10 months before our wedding we decided to change our venue to the grove from a diy venue. The moment we went we knew it was the one! At the time, the venue was still undergoing a ton of construction and we had to completely put our faith in it being finished in time for our big day. And it was. Jennie and Stephanie were so great. They answered every question and accommodated us all along the way. On the day of, everything went so smooth. All the staff esp Jennie and Roseanne were great, and the day of I didn’t have to worry about a thing! The venue is beautiful and was exactly what we wanted. Food was good, cake was good. And you can’t beat the price!

    Sent on 10/20/2018
  • Jacquelyn

    Jacquelyn C. · Married on 07/25/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Booking Experience

    My fiancé and myself fell in love with The Grove on our first visit. Jennie was very helpful and made our booking very smooth and exciting!

    Sent on 05/03/2019
  • Jennifer

    Jennifer · Married on 11/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect venue for a perfect night

    The Grove was by far the best wedding venue we could have ever chosen. From the moment we walked in the door we knew this was where we wanted to get married. The staff was attentive, and Stephanie literally brought my vision to life in the ceremony set up, cocktail hour room and ball room. The sweetheart table looked like it came straight off a Pinterest board. I felt like we didn’t have to worry about a thing while she was there. The food was incredible (I’m still hearing about how much our guests loved it) and the pastry chef gave us the perfect cake. I didn’t give her much to work with, however she managed to make it better than I envisioned. I highly recommend anyone who is in the market for a venue to look into The Grove at Centerton. You will not be disappointed!

    Sent on 12/22/2019
  • C

    Chardai · Married on 09/22/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    9.22.19 Wedding Venue Review

    The Grove at Centerton completely exceeded all of our wedding expectations. Everything about the venue, the team, the ambience, etc., was more than I could ever dream of. I live in Philadelphia and The Grove is located some 50 minutes away from my home, family and friend. However, as soon as I walked into this venue, I instantly knew it was the place I wanted, even despite the distance. Not only is the venue BEAUTIFUL, modern, classy, rustic, and elegant; the food is delicious, the patio is breathtaking, the grounds are perfect for pictures, the bridal and groom suites are magnificently comfy, and the STAFF will certainly make you want the venue without a second thought. Stephanie and Jennie were more than a joy to work with on the wedding journey. They selflessly gave of themselves in such an extraordinary way. They catered to all my family and bridal party needs the day of the wedding, leaving us with no doubts, fears or concerns in our minds. They were the perfect team for a perfect venue. I would recommend The Grove to anyone seeking an amazing venue that will provide more than you ever dreamed of having. Please book The Grove ASAP so you don't lose out on your dream wedding. Thank you Grove for making my wedding day such a success.

    Sent on 10/08/2019
  • Teresa

    Teresa · Married on 05/25/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect for my large wedding!

    I had a lot of reservations about my wedding because I originally wanted something small and intimate, but I ended up with a 260 person wedding. So I struggled to find a venue that captured simple yet rustic elegance, but could still accommodate our massive families. But The Grove was just that - simple rustic elegance, classy and beautiful but just beside the woods so we could take some shots outdoors. It was also large enough to accommodate I think 400 guests if necessary - but there was no way I was telling our families that haha.

    The team from start to finish were amazing, from booking with Jennie, working with Stephanie to plan the wedding itself, and even Krista and the GM, everyone was professional but also really laid back which really made it more comfortable and easy for me to plan a massive wedding. Wedding planning is really stressful, but every time I interacted with The Grove's team I just felt so much more at ease and excited.

    Our wedding was on May 25th, and it was perfect. Stephanie seemed very on top of it and I could see her touching base with my bridal party and family when needed and kept everything going smooth for each part of the wedding. I was really nervous that this massive wedding could end up disorganized and a mess, but Jennie and Stephanie always had great recommendations on how to keep it flowing and smooth, but also make time for my groom and I to get away. It ended up beautifully organized and even my guests thought the resulting service was great.

    As for the food, my asian family is super picky. They were concerned it would be bad and there wouldn't be enough food. But they loved it - there was definitely more than enough food during cocktail hour to hold them over for dinner, and they loved the salad and entrees. We got the prime rib and salmon entrees. Prime rib was my favorite but the salmon was great too. And the cake! It was delicious!! I don't normally think much about wedding cakes at weddings, but this one was so good. It was a chocolate cake and I wish I ate more of it because it was delicious. Even my grandpa is still talking about the wedding and the food, and he's a tough one to please, so cute haha.

    The Grove was also very accommodating of late RSVP's from my family - the last RSVP I believe was a few days before the wedding, and we had to constantly adjust the number but they were very understanding.

    All in all - best wedding I've ever been to and I'm glad I get to say that about my own wedding. Thanks guys!

    Sent on 06/03/2019
  • B

    Bradley D. · Married on 10/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So cute! So perfect

    Go see the new space at the Centerton Country Club. It is so nice, brand new, gorgeous country chic vibe.

    The staff was just great. Everyone was so pleasant and helpful. They all made us feel like we could trust them to make sure this was a day to remember. Stephanie was an absolute pleasure, detail-oriented and fun.

    We had a wonderful day at the Grove and almost every one of our guests had a comment about the quality of service and the space. We definitely recommend The Grove at Centerton to anyone!!

    Sent on 10/24/2018
  • Katelyn

    Katelyn M. · Married on 09/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gorgeous wedding, accommodating staff

    My husband and I decided to have our wedding at the Grove September 2018 and we could not have chose a more perfect venue. Not only was the place newly renovated, but the design was beautiful. Jennie was amazing, she was always there to answer any question and never made me feel As though I was bothering her. I also cannot say enough good things about Stephanie, she was very friendly and responsive. They made our day perfect and made it look easy! They took care of every detail, we truly did not worry about anything. We planned on having the wedding outside, but it started to rain and the crew moved everything around last minute and it still looked gorgeous. The food was spectacular, the staff was friendly, and the atmosphere was romantic. Every single guest complimented us on the venue and enjoyed the food. I highly recommend this beautiful venue for any event.

    Sent on 09/13/2019
  • User4496877 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lauren, Roseanne, and the staff are wonderful. Lauren was on top of everything and was very helpful. The evening of the wedding, we had a server that was just for the bride and groom. It was nice to have a server designated for us. Kay made sure that we got all that we needed. The venue has a beautiful ballroom with large dance floor and beautiful chandeliers. They include chiavari chairs in their package as well as a selection of linen colors which would be an additional charge elsewhere. You won't be disappointed if you book the Centerton. The chef is amaing and every guest told us how much they enjoyed their food.

    Sent on 12/04/2015
  • S

    Shannon · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our reception was perfect thanks to Centerton! All of our guests had a great time and the food and service was exceptional!

    Sent on 11/29/2015
  • K

    Kristyn · Married on 09/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at Centerton was perfect! The ballroom is absolutely gorgeous, and they had no problem accommodating our large guest list. The food was delicious. The staff help you every step of the way so that your wedding is as you've envisioned it. I highly recommend this venue!

    Sent on 10/01/2015
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 05/14/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I used Centerton for my wedding and they were great to work with! The room is huge and yet you don't feel lost! The food is amazing and my guests are still calling me about the cocktail hour and desserts! Very easy to work with and an amazing price for the package!

    Sent on 06/08/2011
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 11/03/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Centerton Country Club provided me with a great venue at a wonderful location. The package was very accomodating. The food was GREAT! In fact, my guest still rave about how great the food was during the whole day.

    Sent on 02/19/2008
  • Aarushi

    Aarushi · Married on 06/15/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Beautiful Venue for our Indian Fusion Wedding

    We had an amazing experience at The Grove at Centerton and are so thankful for the staff there that helped make our wedding day near perfect. The venue has recently been fully renovated into a beautiful space with a rustic but modern feel. We came across The Grove at Centerton when searching for venues in New Jersey for our Indian wedding. I had no idea how challenging it was to find a venue in New Jersey that could accommodate our guest size and an outside Indian caterer – that was not a traditional crystal chandelier hotel ballroom. After touring several venues throughout the state, we visited The Grove and were instantly sold. Jennie and Stephanie are such a delight to work with and are so flexible and excited to help make wedding dreams come true. The entire staff was so accommodating and excited to incorporate the Indian traditions that were so important to us including working side by side with our Indian caterer and making sure we had everything needed to make sure our Mandap could be built properly – a truly custom event. We used both outside catering and The Grove’s catering and everything was so good and well displayed. The Grove also has an in-house pastry chef that made a delicious cake that was even more beautiful than the inspiration we provided. It was so convenient to have everything in one space – from an on-site bridal suite, wooded surroundings for photos, outdoor patio for ceremonies, natural light filled cocktail hour room, and large ballroom – perfect for dancing. We would highly recommend The Grove to any of our friends and family! Thank you for making our big day so special.

    Sent on 06/28/2019
  • A

    Ashleigh · Married on 06/14/2009

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Food was amazing, staff was very helpful, presentation was beautiful, their package is amazing, it was a great reception!

    Sent on 12/10/2009
  • Kate

    Kate Y. · Married on 09/27/2019

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Loved the feel, great price, did not hire

    This was the first place we visited and loved it!!! They did not have our date so we did not pick them but we did consider changing the date to have the wedding here. Of all of the venues we visited this was the only one to not follow up, which could have influenced our decision, as I am a sucker for customer service. She did seem mildly judgmental during our meeting with a few pretty simple ideas. I just hate that ya know, you do this for a living, I only do it once in my life, of curse you know more.

    Sent on 03/08/2019

    The Grove at Centerton's reply:

    Hi Kate, we take our online reviews very seriously. When we received your message, we discussed your tour & contact timeline with our team. Our records do show that we contacted you via phone and left you a voicemail to follow-up about potential alternative days. We're very sorry if that message didn't reach you. We do know, based on the vision you shared with us on your tour, that your day will be stunning, even though the stars did not align for us to celebrate your special day together. Cheers to a very happy & healthy married life for you & your mate.
  • User3521853 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    My wedding is going to be May 23, 2015, and we had put down deposit and 2nd payments on the venue. Our wedding planner from the venue, Lauren is the best !! She is a nice sweet young lady. Although my wedding is not here yet, but I believe my wedding will be beautiful. Her help ease my nervous.

    I just had my wedding on Saturday, and it was wonderful !!! I love every expect of my wedding. The coordinator at the venue help to set up everything includin

    Sent on 12/08/2014
  • B

    Brooke C. · Married on 10/18/2020

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    They lied about too many things

    As a bride, here is my day from start to finish. When I arrived at the venue at 9am I was informed Stephanie would not be there until 1pm.

    Which I had no problem with because I was with Stephanie for rehearsal the day before and she said all decor for all vendors will be waiting in the ballroom for their 9a arrival.

    My mother and I went into the ballroom and it was still set up from the previous wedding. None of my decor was in the ballroom. My grandfather had made me very special doors to place behind my sweetheart table and drove an hour just to put these doors up for me at 9a. When he arrived the arbor from the previous wedding was in the way and he was told the arbor would eventually be moved on The Groves time. I was very upset by this because my grandfather needed to drive home to get ready for my wedding after setting up these doors and he was inconvenienced waiting around for someone to move the arbor.

    After this was straightened out I went into the bridal suite to try and relax before the ceremony. The floor of the bridal suite had large sticky areas all over the tile along with trash and dirt. As I was getting my hair done the florist came into the bridal suite and asked me where the decor was that she needed. My mother was getting her make up done at this time also. We were both unable to get up to show her where we placed the decor the day prior. Two of my bridesmaids actually went searching for the decor room and carried all the decor out for my florist.

    When Stephanie arrived at the venue she came into the bridal suite while I was getting my makeup done to advise me of a simple issue with decor. I was unaware of what the ballroom looked like because it was going to be a surprise for me.

    When it came time for my first look Stephanie came into the bridal suite and suggested we do it in front of the fire place in the foyer. I specifically asked if she would move the furniture and she stated yes I'll have the works come and move everything out of the way. Ten minutes prior to the first look, the furniture was not moved. My mother asked Stephanie when it'll be moved and Stephanie stated it was the photographers job to move the two couches, glass coffee table, and two consoles behind the couches. My photographer was (1) female. It took 4 groomsmen to move one couch. Im really disappointed that my grandparents, my parents, and my groomsmen had to move the furniture after spending all the time getting themselves dolled up for the wedding.

    After the first look was over, my photographer suggested we goto the back patio outback of the ballroom. When I got out there it was covered in leaves. The ground had so many leaves on it that I couldn't even see the patio floor. This is the same patio Stephanie suggested we had a cigar bar on (which now I'm very happy I did not do). She also told us there would be heaters out there for guests and it would be cleaned off. We visited at a time where leaves were on a ground and Stephanie assured us it would not look like that for our wedding. This was very embarrassing for me. My guests had to walk through piles of leaves when they walked outside.

    As we continued to take our photographs, guests started to show up for the ceremony. No one was in the foyer to direct them and they started flowing into the ballroom. I could be seen right outside of the ballroom windows. My husband had to go back inside and direct them to the ceremony space. This infuriates me because my husband should be with me not directing people.

    When it was time to come inside for the ceremony I was told to go-to the bridal suite. Many of the guests were in the garden room and in the foyer. As you know, both doors leading into the bridal suite are in these areas. My grandmother had to stop people from coming in the foyer so I could get back to the bridal suite. I sat in the bridal suite awaiting the start of the ceremony. Stephanie continued to open the door leading to the garden room where my guests were seated. Several of my guest saw me prior to the ceremony.

    After the ceremony was over it was time for cocktail hour. I had previously been told that there will be an outdoor bar on the terrace and guests would step out of the garden into the foyer or the terrace so the garden room could be set up for cocktail hour. The guests were not directed out of the garden room after the ceremony and there was no outdoor bar. A huge line accumulated in the garden room while set up was still taking place. The bartenders also handed out napkins that said "oh, baby" from the baby shower that was taking place while I was getting ready in the bridal suite.

    I was able to join my cocktail hour for the majority of the time. As soon as I walked into the cocktail hour I was offered a crab cake. I never discussed having crab cakes on my menu. I did however discuss having a brie pear chutney appetizer which was not butlered. Stephanie and I had also spoke many times about having an alcoholic beverage butlered at cocktail hour. This did not happen either. It was disappointing to see my guests spend the majority of their time at cocktail hour waiting for a drink because there was only one bar, not two as promised.

    The waitress advised me that a large plate of appetizers were in the bridal suite for my husband and I for after we were done socializing. It's very hard to eat and greet all your guests. I was really looking forward to this. I went into the bridal suite toward the end of cocktail hour to eat and relax prior to the reception. The appetizers were not there. I'm assuming they had been cleaned up even though they were untouched.

    Walking into the ceremony I saw a buffet was set up. I clearly asked for stations many many times and was told it was no problem at all. I would never of had a buffet due to the fact it creates a long line. Stations would have made it so guests were not as clustered. I had made arrangements to have my one cocktail hour station be moved to the reception instead. I chose to have the slider station at my reception. Nothing was set up as I had asked it to be. I was told I could have the exact set-up of the tasting back in February, which is the main reason we did not do a sit down dinner. When my husband's family got up to the buffet there were several empty containers. The food was not being replenished quick enough, so many of my guests were not able to enjoy all the food choices.

    As the night went on it was time to cut the cake. My husband and I did our photographs of the cake cutting and then stepped away for the venue to cut the rest. Guests wanted cake but the cake had never been cut by the venue. We spent a lot of money on the cake and it was never served to our guests. It was used more as a decoration. When I went back to the cake table one of the guests had dug into the cake topper because there were no slices cut they decided to help themselves. At the end of the night I was unable to save the top of the cake that we are supposed to freeze and eat on our one year anniversary. I am extremely upset that we are unable to participate in this tradition now. We also had several cupcakes and the 3 family style desserts for guests to enjoy. There were no plates, silverware, or napkins on the tables for guests while eating these desserts. One dessert being a mousse cup.

    The end of the night finally came around and we had a sparkler send off. Guests were told to take a pretzel favor from the pretzel wall before walking out to the send off. There was no one there to point guests in the direction they needed to be going. The pretzel wall was sitting in a dark corner and missed by several guests. Other guests made the comment there were not enough pretzels for everyone. After hearing this and paying the extra $5 a person for this added feature, I really feel it was not worth having. My husband and I never even had the chance to have a pretzel.

    After thinking about the entire wedding experience, I truly feel I was lied to about many things. My parents spent $20,000+ for my husband and I to have the perfect day, but there were too many false promises to make this day even slightly perfect.

    The venue is absolutely gorgeous, but I would caution those who I talk to about your venue, as their day may not be exactly as they wanted or payed for.

    Although our pictures turned out absolutely beautiful, they did not depict the embarrassment I felt about the lack of service provided to my guests, myself, and our contracted plan.

    Sent on 10/21/2020

    The Grove at Centerton's reply:

    Hi Brooke,

    We are so incredibly sorry to hear this feedback. Our team truly enjoyed working with you and your family throughout the entire planning stage and until the very end of your wedding day. It seemed that you and all of your guests were having such a wonderful time so this note is very disheartening, as you can imagine. We strive for excellence with each and every one of our weddings and are so saddened to hear that you felt we missed the mark on delivering an exceptional reception.

    It is important for you to know that immediately upon seeing this note, we took action to review and discuss each concern. We have a clear understanding of the day and will be reaching out directly to review. You will be hearing from our General Manager, Peter Miner, if he hasn’t been in contact already.

    Despite your expressed concerns, it truly was a beautiful celebration. We really enjoyed working with you and wish you all the best!
  • Ricky

    Ricky L. · Married on 05/25/2019

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Horrible service verp unprofessional

    Do not go here for your wedding or any events they will steal your money and when you say something to them about it the GM tries to bully women

    Honestly, i cannot believe how the wedding turned out.

    I was a bridesmaid in a wedding on Friday last week. We had a rehearsal dinner, a ceremony and reception, as well as an after party.

    Everything was terrible. First of all, during the time we were getting ready, they all but refused to provide more than 3 bottles of champagne for us. I would have *happily* paid for additional bottles (even though an open bar was paid for). They allowed NUMEROUS people to enter the bridal suite prior to the ceremony, many people saw the bride before the ceremony. We asked the coordinator to stop anyone from entering, she did nothing.

    18 cards were missing. So the bride and groom lost 18 cards filled with cash. The facility wouldn’t return calls for 4 days.

    NONE of the food was given to the bride and groom after the ceremony. No cake was provided to guests at the end of the night, and of a 4 tier cake and the top of the cake was all they saw was the top of the cake—which was NOT refrigerated overnight, and they were promised everything would be cared for until the next day.

    We had an after party and no food was sent “to go” for the bride and groom. In fact, none of the guests were told food was being served at the after party (10p-12a)

    So where did that food go? Where did the cake go? Every wedding I’ve attended has sent a price home with each guest. Not this time!!

    Do your servers keep it? Where did the cards go? Why did the coordinator allow random guests to barge into the bridal suite?

    The venue is pretty. But SO many problems, I’d NEVER suggest this venue to anyone.

    Sent on 09/04/2019