Skip to main content
Weddings

The Grateful Head Reviews

The Grateful Head View more information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
36 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating
97% Recommended by couples

Awards

36
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • A
    Alison Sent on 05/08/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I cannot say enough wonderful things about Amber as a wedding hair stylist, personal hair stylist, and person! She is simply the best. I was initially referred to her by my wedding planner in August for my April wedding. I texted her to set up a trial and she responded right away asking to see any hair inspiration photos I had, photos of my dress, jewelry, etc. Amber could not have been more warm and welcoming when I arrived for my trial and I felt like we just clicked right away. After assessing my hair, she was honest in telling me that she did not think the particular style I wanted for my wedding would work with my fine/thin hair. I really appreciated her honesty and together we came up with a totally different style that not only worked way better for my hair, but I loved way more. We also started chatting about the current color/style of my hair and before my trial was over I decided that I wanted to make another appointment with her for a cut and color. I ended up switching hairstylists and now look forward to regular cuts/colors with her as she has totally transformed my once lifeless locks. On my wedding day, Amber could not have been more amazing not only with me, but also with my 10 bridesmaids and 2.5 year old flower girl. She took the time to listen to each bridesmaid and truly brought each girl’s vision to life. Everyone LOVED their hair and had so much fun talking to Amber and getting to know her. One of my bridesmaids who lives in Chicago even said she wanted to move to Arizona so Amber could be her hair stylist. I feel so lucky to have met Amber and would HIGHLY recommend her, without a doubt, to anyone looking for a high quality, incredibly talented, reliable, flexible, professional, personable, and exceptionally caring hair stylist. A thousand thanks for everything, Amber!
  • J
    Jennifer Sent on 04/19/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I met with Amber for my wedding hair trial and had no idea what I wanted to do with my hair. I gave her a little direction as to what I didn't want, and she ran with it. When she was all done, I was in shock because it looked better than I could have imagined. I got married this past Saturday, and Amber did such an incredible job with my hair. She also did my mom's and sister's hair, and we all felt more beautiful than ever. I would HIGHLY recommend Amber for wedding hairstyles, other occasions, or just every day. She is so incredibly talented, and I'm so grateful to have met her.
  • Kelsy
    Kelsy Sent on 01/11/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I have known Amber for quite some time and knew that she did hair. We reconnected at a wedding event that I was shopping for vendors at and I knew that I wanted Amber to be a part of my day. She reached out to me about 5 months before my wedding with some tips about my hair...so instead of a trial, I became a full time client of hers and I could never be happier about the change.
    I know as a client of hers, how wonderful she is as a stylist, therapist, and friend. So I was even more excited for my bridesmaids to meet her and find out why I had been bragging about her so much. They were not disappointed. My 6 bridesmaids, myself, and Amber were having the BEST time getting ready for the wedding. Amber reminded us all to eat, stay hydrated (she makes everyone take water breaks) and it just felt like she was one of the girls.
    Amber listened to all of the girls wants for their hair styles and made sure that everyone was happy and camera ready before she left. I think she even left with a few new clients. :)
    I would recommend Amber 1000x over to any one. She is amazing and such a joy to be around. Thank you Amber!!!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • B
    Betsy Sent on 10/26/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amber is a true genius! She is a top-notch artist and transformed both me and bridesmaids into princesses for a day! Her hairstyles were innovative and full of natural beauty. It's as if she was inside our heads and knew exactly what we were all dreaming of and hoping for! My hair is very fine and pretty lifeless and I have never had a more gorgeous and lustrous head of hair in my life! I highly recommend her to anyone interested in having a miraculous hair day!!!

    The Grateful Head's reply:

    Wow , thank you kindly for your generous words . It was my pleasure to be such an important part of your big day ! Thank you so much !
  • R
    Rachel Sent on 10/27/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amber is a fantastic find!! My hair was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! She made me feel so beyond beautiful on my wedding day as did my mom and all of my (4) bridesmaids!! She responded right away, she was very flexible and so much fun to spend the day with! One of my bridesmaids even hired her on the spot for her wedding after she finished her hair for my wedding.
  • S
    Sopy Sent on 06/10/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE Amber!! She did an amazing job on my hair, my four bridesmaids, flower girl & both Moms. We all had a great time getting ready & Amber made it delightful.. I highly would recommend Amber to be your hair stylist for any occasion!! I am so happy to have found her- she definitely made my hair beautiful for that special day!! XOXO
  • User2134730 Sent on 05/16/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amber Tillinghast was the stylist for all of the bridesmaids for my daughter's wedding last weekend in Scottsdale, AZ. It was a tremendous convenience that she came "on location" to do this. Sure made it a lot easier for everybody. Amber did an outstanding job on their hair and went out of her way to make it fun for everyone. She arrived on time and was professional in every way. Everyone looked beautiful for the wedding and the photos.
  • C
    Catherine Sent on 04/21/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amber did a phenomenal ,top notch job with my 8 bridesmaids, two flower girls, my aunt and not to mention the knockout job she did with me, the brides hair!!!!I received non stop compliments on how beautiful I looked on my day and without Amber that just wouldn't have happened.She had the highest professional standards, listened to my vision and executed it flawlessly, did a great job with my trial and was fun spirited to work with. If your a bride and looking for a great wedding hair stylist,do yourself a favor and go with Amber. You won't be disappointed !
  • User2112580 Sent on 04/28/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I cannot begin to say enough about Amber! Every time I am scheduled to see her it is always fun and something I look forward to.
    Beyond that she was AMAZING on my wedding day. First of all, Amber came TO US the day of the wedding with all of her supplies and the most calming energy. We hung out in the hotel room, ordered room service, had coffee and relaxed. And with Amber there, I had that one additional friend that made it even more special.
    But most importantly, because Amber had taken the time to get to know me, my hair, and my style, not only was it a wonderful morning, but my hair couldn't have looked any better! I am always so nervous about my hair, and she nailed it.
    Amber also knew how important having my stepdaughter feel and look beautiful was to me. My stepdaughter has short hair that has been fried from extensive use of hair straighteners. Yet, Amber made her look gorgeous and ecstatic.
    But, the greatest testament to Amber is her level of patience and professionalism. Weeks leading up to the wedding, Amber and I had created a full schedule of which females were to have their hair done, and which would do their own. Inevitably, one bridesmaid came in 1.5 hours late and decided she now wanted her hair styled. Amber, being conscientious of my schedule, checked in on my timeline and then graciously welcomed the late comer into the chair and calmly made her look glamorous, without showing a sign of frustration.
    Amber was supposed to be with us roughly 4 hours that morning. She'd actually been with us closer to 6, and never complained or looked upset once. She made me feel calm and was a support system that I gladly welcomed and would have happily kept her with me all day.
    There is no one I would recommend higher than Amber for special events. She is the full package you want when it comes to styling your hair on those special days. I will never go to anyone else.
    Heather Butler (Bride)
  • T
    Tina Sent on 11/14/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amber made me feel beautiful on my wedding day! She is so talented and, more than that, she is such an amazing person! Our wedding planner, Victoria Canada, HIGHLY recommended her after we discussed what kind of look I wanted on the wedding day.

    Amber is very professional and great at communicating. She reached out to me prior to my hair trial appointment asking for pictures of hair styles I like. I must have sent her 10 pictures of bridal hair styles since I had no clue what would look good on me. When I showed up she was so pleasant and wanted to get to know me, my wedding dress and the look I wanted. The trial went extremely well so I booked with her right away.

    On my wedding day, I laughed and thoroughly enjoyed getting ready with her. We spent one minute talking about my hair and the rest of the time we just caught up on each other's lives. I wholeheartedly trusted Amber to create the look I wanted. Not to my surprise, I absolutely loved my hair when she was done! Oh, my bridesmaids' hair also looked amazing! =)

    Thank you SO much, Amber, for giving me the look I wanted and for being with me on my wedding day! Love you! <3
  • A
    Ali Sent on 04/14/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amber is AMAZING! Her talents are really beyond words. You can say a few words "I want half up" or "I want a curly side messy bun" and she can make your hair look better than you ever imagined. Plus, it will last all day and never need a touch up. She is extremely friendly, personable and easy to talk to. She is priced very fairly and responds right away to emails or texts. If you hire Amber for your wedding you will not regret it. You'll not only have beautiful hair for your wedding but a new friend! I HIGHLY recommend Amber at Grateful Head!
  • M
    Mary A. Sent on 04/09/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amber is so incredibly talented, fun, professional, AMAZING, personable, honest, and I could go on forever!! Not only will Amber do things with your hair you never thought was possible, she's also a great listener and genuinely cares about making you the most beautiful bride ever! She will give you great advice, tell you to google hilarious YouTube videos, listen to whatever you have to say, and execute the wedding hair of your dreams in less than an hour! I am continuing to go to Amber as my regular stylist after the wedding because she's truly amazing!! I recommend Amber for bridal hair and if u need a great stylist! She's a great person and amazing hair stylist!
  • T
    Tiffany Sent on 11/25/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amber Tillinghast was amazing!! My hair was perfect for the big day! Amber is easy to work with and very creative. The weather was rainy and cold for my wedding, but my curls lasted ALL night long though the rain and dancing! She incorporated my headpiece beautifully and everything stayed in place despite the wind and constant moving around. She did my Mom’s hair and all of my bridesmaids (even squeezing one in at the last minute) and they too had lasting curls and up do’s. She was ahead of schedule the entire time and even came to the wedding venue for touch-ups! We all loved working with her and I highly recommend her for any wedding or special occasion needs. She is very sweet, easy to work with, creative and affordable!! Thank you Amber!!
  • M
    Mandi Sent on 11/02/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amber Tillinghast did my hair and my 9 bridesmaids' hair for my wedding. I love her. She is very quick to respond to email and phone, which is rare in the wedding world. And she is so fun and easy going and of course very talented!!
  • K
    Kelsey Sent on 11/04/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amber did my hair for my wedding in October of 2013, she also did some of my bridesmaids and the MOB and MOG. She was recommended to me by my wedding planner Ashley Gain Weddings. She did a great job. All of my girls were completely satisfied with Amber. She was fun, kind and very professional. She was on time and great to work with!
  • M
    Muriel Sent on 05/10/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amber did a fantastic job! She did my hair, 3 bridesmaids and at the last minute (day of the wedding) also did mother of the groom! I just let her do what she thought would look nice and I was thrilled with what she did!
    I highly recommend her!
  • User1150991 Sent on 05/02/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Quit reading this and book your trial with Amber!!! :) She is simply the best. I had her recommended to me by my planner, and I could not have been more pleased. She is truly a master and what she does and she will have you coiffed and looking fantastic before you know it! I've had the pleasure of Amber doing my hair a few times now and I always came away so thrilled with how my hair looked. She did the hair for my wedding party (8 bms and my mom) and I have never seen them look more beautiful. Her skill with hair and her bubbly personality make her the best! Rest assured you will look fabulous and she will show up on time and with a smile!
  • D
    Danielle Sent on 04/10/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Could not have been happier with Amber. My hair looked amazing, and was exactly what I wanted. She wouldn't let anyone leave without being 100% happy with their hair, which allowed everyone to relax and just have a great time, no one was worrying about what their hair looked like later in the evening. Amber's upbeat personality kept everyone smiling and relaxed. One of the best choices I made for my wedding day!
  • T
    Tiffany Sent on 02/24/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amber was SO awesome! She helped make my wedding day really special. She made me and my bridesmaids look and feel gorgeous! Thanks Amber!
  • J
    Jennifer Sent on 01/11/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amber is excellent. She worked with me before the wedding to create a style that I liked and would also work with my dress. She was flexible on the day of the wedding and worked around my other appointments and duties. She also styled members of my family and my bridesmaids and they looked gorgeous. I highly recommend Amber. I received many compliments on the style she created, she helped keep my wedding day stress free, and most importantly she made me feel great and I had a wonderful time.
  • J
    Jennifer Sent on 01/05/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My daughter and I are very flexible and went to Amber not really knowing what styles we wanted for her vintage wedding. We did not have time for a trial run before the wedding day. Amber is a genius when it comes to understanding what your type of hair will and won't do. She's an excellent listener. Amber took what few ideas we had in mind and turned them into the perfect styles. My daughter and I both left Amber's studio feeling like super models. She WILL meet or exceed your expectations for your special day!
  • K
    Kristie Sent on 01/21/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amber did the hair for my wedding which included; myself, 4 bridesmaids, flower girl, mother of the bride, and mother of the groom!!! All the hairstyles turned out phenomenal. I didn't have a trial run of my hair due to the fact it was a destination wedding and we were coming in from two different states. I showed Amber a photo of how I wanted my hair and she was able to re-create it without hesitation and it was flawless!!! Amber is such a sweet and wonderful person and it was a joy to have her be apart of my big day. Would definitely recommend her to anyone who has a special event coming up!!!
  • C
    Caitlin Sent on 03/03/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amber Tillinghast styled my hair for my wedding in April 2012. She also styled my entire bridal party, my mom and my mother-in-law. The first time I met Amber was when I had my wedding hair trial out at The Grateful Head. I wasn't sure exactly how I wanted my hair to look but had a general idea. Amber went to work and created the perfect bridal style - better than I could have imagined it (down and curly with a few pieces twisted in here and there). On the day of my wedding Amber was fantastic. Her and her assistant arrived on time with big smiles and got to work on my hair, and all my bridal party's hair. Amber was patient with me when I kept having her adjust bobby pins to get the style just right (let's just say I'm a bit of a perfectionist!) She also helped me put my veil in for the wedding, making it just perfect. Amber also made each of my bridesmaids hair look gorgeous -- many of the girls went for similar styles (half up-half down and curly) but Amber managed to make each one look unique - twisting, braiding, etc! She is absolutely fabulous. Besides my wedding, I also had Amber style my hair for a boudoir photo shoot. We went with big sexy curls and lots of teasing and it looked absolutely stunning in my photos. Truly cannot say enough about how fantastic Amber is at styling hair!!
  • A
    A Sent on 03/20/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I am so thankful that Amber was my hair stylist for my wedding. From the moment I met her, I knew she would be wonderful to work with. She is a pleasant, smiling, inspiring woman who took the time to get to know me and helped me to figure out exactly what I wanted for my hairstyle. My trial went perfectly, and I felt that she was very receptive to my ideas and then was able to produce something that went far beyond what I expected. She came to my wedding venue to do my hair, and she was a very welcome addition to my bridal party. My mother, mother-in-law and my bridesmaids all commented on how warm she was, how pleasant she was to have there with us, and how perfect my hair looked when she was done. I would absolutely recommend her to any bride looking for a hair stylist who is a pleasure to work with and who will do an absolutely stellar job. Thanks Amber!
  • Summer
    Summer Sent on 01/07/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amber did my hair for my wedding as well as all my bridesmaids and my mom (the mother of the bride). She did a fantastic job with everything- exactly what I wanted. I wanted a style that would be great with my cathedral length veil (which I brought to the trial) but also something that would be great without the veil for the reception. It was so elegant and I received a ton of compliments. I brought a few pictures with me and she took it from there asking questions along the way to design the perfect wedding hair!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message