The Glamourist Reviews

13 | San Francisco, CA
See photos, pricing and details

13 Reviews for The Glamourist

Recommended by 99%

13
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8
Sort by:
  • A

    Amy · Married on 05/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jane Kim, the Glamourist, is amazing!!! I wanted to look my absolute best on my wedding day and she made that come true - I have never felt as beautiful as I did on my wedding day!!! She knows how to work with your features and bring out the best in you. And she is an absolute perfectionist, which I love! I also used her for my engagement pictures and they came out so gorgeous thanks to the flawless makeup and hair. If only I could get my makeup done by her every day! i highly recommend her.

    Sent on 05/29/2018
  • J

    Jina · Married on 08/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jane Kim is incredible. She did my hair and make up for my wedding in August 2014 and for my bridal party.

    I first met her at Blu Bungalow for a trial. I met up with a friend afterwards and she couldn't stop telling me how gorgeous it looked! I booked her Glamour Package (bonus: your trial cost is included in this package... woohoo!) since 1) I am very unfamiliar with hair/makeup, 2) I was going to change out of my wedding dress to a traditional Korean hanbok and back to my wedding dress and needed to change hair/makeup accordingly and 3) I knew it would be a hot day/I might cry.

    Jane was very responsive to all of my e-mails and even met with me (free of charge!) several weeks before the wedding to trial airbrush foundation as I was curious whether this work for me.

    On the day of the wedding, Jane and her assistant were right on time. She really worked her magic and everyone looked amazing! My guests told me numerous times how beautiful and natural I looked on my wedding day. Bonus - she used YSL 52 lipstick which I totally love! Thank you Jane! :)

    In addition to making me look gorgeous, she was also able to change my hair and makeup quickly with each dress change. I wore a jokduri (Korean hairpiece) with my hanbok and she was able to change my hairstyle accordingly, then back into a style that was appropriate for my wedding dress for the reception. Not easy to do when you're trying to stay on schedule!

    On top of everything, Jane has a wonderful personality and really helped me throughout the day. I was really nervous before my first look and she calmed me down, telling me how excited my husband-to-be would be when he saw me. She also tucked tissue in my bouquet before the ceremony in case I cried, carried and bustled my train for photos, gave me endless bottles of water to drink, and was just an all around rockstar.

    Jane Kim is amazing and I am so glad I booked her for my wedding. I definitely recommend her for any event!

    Sent on 09/07/2014
  • C

    Candace · Married on 05/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Put simply, Jane is simply the best at what she does. She is super professional, knows weddings inside and out, and will make you look more fabulous than you ever thought possible. Not only that, if you opt for The Glamour Package, which includes personal attendant services, you will find Jane to be absolutely indispensable during your wedding. In addition to constantly touching up your hair and make-up, ensuring that you always look your absolute best for photos, Jane will keep you on schedule, make sure you maximize use of your time, help carry your train as you traipse about numerous photo locations (even over rough terrain and in the blinding heat), notice and fix your groom's boutonniere when it starts to look wilted, make sure you stay hydrated (like, literally, she will make you drink water--it's awesome), and even tuck tissues into your bouquet for you. Looking back, I don't know how I would have gotten through the day without Jane's help.

    She is of course also fantastic at catering to whatever hair and makeup style you want, while also providing expert opinions in the case of indecisive brides, such as myself. She was super accommodating with all our various location changes and did different styles for my hair and make-up for the ceremony and reception. By the way, the makeup is FABULOUS--it stayed on despite my copious crying, sweating in the direct sunlight, and numerous hugs and kisses. Jane also did my mom's hair and make-up and made her look incredible--totally age appropriate and natural--and was very tolerant of my mom's constant worrying/panic over how she would look, being someone who never usually wears makeup. Jane is really easygoing and a cinch to get along with; she even gave some free hair and makeup advice to my bridesmaids while we were getting ready. I can't recommend The Glamourist enough--Jane is for sure worth the investment.

    Sent on 06/02/2014
  • lauren

    lauren · Married on 06/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jane is amaze-balls to the wall. I was immediately sold after reading her blog and website. She can turn a "2," to a "10," as mentioned by some dudes. She is a miracle worker and if she can truly glamourized these ladies on her blog, she can probably make me and my bridal party look smoking hot on THE DAY.

    The morning of THE DAY, Jane and her assistant arrived at my house bright and early and was ready to work. She transformed my mother-in-law, mom, maid of honor and other bridesmaids into a more amazing and fabulous version of themselves. On schedule, no hiccups. Perfection.

    As mentioned in my review of my photographer, my hair was ruined during outdoor shots due to the 500 mph wind. My photographer, who just happened to know and had work with Jane before, had contact Jane to meet me at our ceremony location to fix me up! She did my hair and make up touch ups in the back seat of my dad's benzo parked curbside to the museum. Just her rolly bag and her awesome self. I was whole again.

    No fuss. No frills. Just pure talent and beauty, and FUN! You have to go with Jane is she is open on your day. There's honestly nothing to think about. She's also engaged now and I wish her all the best in her wedding planning and beyond! :)

    Sent on 12/05/2012
  • Eunice

    Eunice · Married on 10/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jane is fabulous! I had a really really really horrible bridal makeup/hair trial before finally finding Jane, and I am so thankful that I found her!
    Jane has such a fun and easygoing personality and made me feel at ease during the trial and on the day of the wedding. The thing I liked the most about her was that she carefully listend to my concerns and ideas and also was able to provide her honest and professional opinions when needed.
    I just received online proofs of our wedding photos and I love how my makeup and hair look in the photos. If you are an Asian American bride who have had a hard time finding the right makeup artist, you should definitely check out Jane. Her price is very reasonable and she will make you glamourous! I am secretly hoping to get another chance/special occasion to get beautified by her sometime soon :)

    Sent on 11/29/2011
  • Janet

    Janet · Married on 09/17/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    jane made me look and feel beautiful on my wedding day, and for that, i am so very thankful. i have been to weddings where other people have had their hair and makeup done, and it just didn't look good. that was my biggest fear... i didn't want people to look at me and ever once have the thought of "oooh, her makeup looks a little off" cross their mind.

    i went to a trial with jane, and i told her to look at me and do whatever she thought would look good on me, in her professional opinion. i trusted her judgement because she was confident from the beginning. she looked and sounded like she knew what she was doing. and i was right to trust her.

    she is funny, quirky, accommodating, quick and enthusiastic about her work. the way she moves and her body language shows you that this girl knows what she's doing. oh, and she brought 2 assistants with her because i had a bridal party of 6 girls, and she chose the right ones. all of my bridesmaids looked great, and they all felt great, and you could tell in their posture, their smile and the way they took pictures.

    i was so lucky to have found her, and i would definitely recommend her to anyone i know!!

    Sent on 10/09/2011
  • J

    Jill · Married on 11/06/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jane was super responsive to my e-mails and was fabulous and fun to work with. I didn't have a really clear image of what I wanted my hair and make-up to look like and Jane was able to make me beautiful and still look like myself. Everyone loved my wedding hair and make-up. I would definitely hire her again.

    Sent on 01/10/2011
  • C

    Cheryl · Married on 10/16/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You won't believe it if I told you, but Jane did two of my bridesmaids and me on my wedding morning in RECORD TIME! And we were all flawless! She did hair and make-up for one of the BMs and make-up for another, and hair and make up for me ... in what seemed like two hours????? Everyone came out amazing. Everyone kept saying how beautiful the bridal party was .... and I had never looked better! (Not sure I'll ever look that good again!)

    Jane is such the professional. On-time, very courteous, easily communicates what she needs and makes wonderful suggestions. Total class! Don't "think" about hiring her for your wedding ... just DO it!

    Sent on 12/06/2010
  • E

    Erika · Married on 08/21/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jane was everything I was looking for on my wedding day. She and another makeup artist showed up to a very difficult location and didn't even charge us for mileage! From the moment she arrived, she got down to business. She made sure that all the girls (there were 6 bridesmaids and myself) understood the schedule she created and were comfortable with the looks they discussed from previous emails. I had left for an hour or so before my bridesmaids got makeup and when I got back, they had completely transformed into even more beautiful beauties! I was blown away.

    She was also extremely flexible. The day before I asked if she could stay and do touch-ups at the venue and she said, "of course!" Then, I asked if she could use specific make-up that I preferred and she incorporated it expertly even though she was not familiar with it! Then, not only did she stay at the venue and do touch-ups, she followed me out right before I walked down the aisle and fluffed up my train, touched up my makeup, then before the portraits, she brought me a cocktail with a straw! Talk about above and beyond service! I couldn't believe how much she had done! I would HIGHLY recommend Jane to any bride looking for a talented, friendly, professional makeup and hair artist! Jane's the absolute BEST!

    Sent on 08/27/2010
  • M

    Marie · Married on 12/20/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jane is awesome!! She is extremely professional and did a really great job with my makeup! I've never looked so beautiful! I loved my eye makeup!! It turned out so nice in the pictures!! She came very highly recommended to me and I was very surprised to find out that her rates are really reasonable... I'm usually not the type of write reviews, but she did such a great job! I give her a 5 star rating!!!

    Sent on 05/12/2010
  • M

    Marie · Married on 12/06/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jane has a really good eye for what will look good on you. I really didnt have an idea of what I wanted until Jane did my makeup! The pictures turned out fabulous! Her prices are really reasonable too.. I was referred to Jane by one of her former clients and I'm so glad that I decided to go with her. She is really professional, but very easy-going as well. As shown by my rating of her, I would recommend her to anyone.

    Sent on 05/12/2010
  • User2753662 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jane Kim rocks! She did my hair and makeup for my wedding and it was EXACTLY like I wanted it and it looked great. I am almost never pleased when anybody does my hair, so the fact that I genuinely LOVED the updo she did for me is really something. I also brought her a picture of some makeup inspiration which was very non-bridal and she nailed it! She is not cheap, but if i could do it over again, I'd def hire Jane again.

    Sent on 11/05/2012
  • H

    Holly · Married on 07/28/2017

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jane made me look and feel my absolute best on my wedding day. My intentions were to look elegant and natural- I looked flawlessly natural and elegant!
    My advice to you when you choose to work with Jane, is Jane knows best; have confidence in her experience! Take inspiration for what it is- inspiration. Jane worked with the natural characteristics of my hair; the long length, the thickness, and the texture and created an up-do so simply elegant; in addition, I felt my makeup was stunningly natural.

    Additionally, Jane’s team worked efficiently to perfect the looks of my bridesmaids and the mother-of-the-bride.

    The radiant package was perfect for me and ensured that I looked flawless until the moment I walked down the aisle!

    Because I would use Jane’s services again in the future- I recommend them to you!

    Sent on 08/28/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review