The Gay J.P. Reviews

65 | Branford, CT
See photos, pricing and details

65 Reviews for The Gay J.P.

Recommended by 100%

65
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

5 User photos

The Gay J.P. 1
The Gay J.P. 2
The Gay J.P. 3
The Gay J.P. 4
The Gay J.P. 5
Sort by:
  • J

    John · Married on 11/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You won't find a better person

    Don was amazing from the beginning. He accommodated a skype call with one of us with him, the other in England. He told us of his experience, listened to our story, and asked really relevant questions. We explained the type of service we wanted and he did not disappoint. A number of the guests commented on his service and it being the best they had attended.

  • B

    B..k.. · Married on 10/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful!

    It was wonderful. We wanted something small, quiet, and tasteful, and that is exactly what we received. Don was very helpful, and made this so much easier for us. He also has a beautiful garden area that can be used for the services. Thank you Don.

  • P

    Paige · Married on 05/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don provided us with a detailed and intimate wedding ceremony. In getting to know us, he captured our love for one another and conveyed it to our guests beautifully.

  • M

    Maria · Married on 11/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When you find the right partner, for life, you need to find the right justice of the peace and that's what Don Gentile is! Emotional Personal He touched our heart. He made our heart one. Plus very Classy Guy! Do not search any further Don is the complete package to complete a union made in heaven.

  • M

    Michelle · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don is the bomb! Seriously, he is fun and very professional. My now husband and I are quite laid back and the only thing we knew we wanted was a short ceremony. Don listened to our story of how we met and made an absolutely amazing ceremony for us! Our guest thought the ceremony was wonderful. It was funny, it was sweet, and it was the perfect length! Don has not only married my husband and I, but also my sister and her husband, and our friends. We will hands down recommend Don to all our friends and family! Thank you Don, we love you!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don was a pleasure to work with every step of the way. He really took the time to get to know us as a couple, and put together the most accurate and eloquent ceremony. I highly recommend Don!

  • W

    walter · Married on 06/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you Don you stuck it out through the heavy wind and rain and made my surprise 25th anniversary a memorable time for Karen and myself. Thank you for taking all of our pictures as well. I will highly recommend you to anyone that ask.

    The Gay J.P. 6
    The Gay J.P. 7
    The Gay J.P. 8
    The Gay J.P. 9
  • J

    Jill · Married on 06/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don was perfect! There ceremony was exactly the way we wanted it and he made us feel completely comfortable. He was quick to respond to any questions we had. I would HIGHLY recommend him!!

    The Gay J.P. 10
  • E

    Edith · Married on 03/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don was an absalutely amazing at capturing the exact vision we had for our wedding ceremony. In the brief time we spoke he managed to ask all the right questions and answer all the questions we didn't know we had....he took the time to get to know our story and he truly "fit" our celebration perfectly! His way with words and the beautiful things he said were truly heart felt and both my husband and I could not have asked for a better officiant!!! What an amazing job!!!!!

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don, The Gay JP, was incredible! Don married my brother and brother-in-law several years ago. I was so impressed by Don's officiation of their ceremony. It was so personalized to their relationship as a couple. It was so them. When it came time for me to find a JP to officiate my wedding, I immediately thought of Don. My brother sent me Don's contact info and I emailed him right away. I chuckled because Don's contact info was The Gay JP and I'm not gay. I emailed Don, mentioned that he'd married my brother and brother-in-law, and asked if he'd marry a heterosexual couple. He called me back right away, said he remembered my brother and brother-in-law and agreed to work with my fiancé and I. He was very responsive with both emails and phone calls. He ended up officiating 2 ceremonies for us. My husband's son was visiting from out of state and we wanted to do something special with just him and our parents and siblings. Don worked with us and we catered our ceremony to be about my husband, step-son and I becoming a family. It was so unique and family focused. We then did another ceremony with our friends and extended families. Don helped us cater that ceremony and make it more about us as a couple celebrating with our extended family and friends. It too was unique and so us as a couple. Don was so thorough and detail oriented. He got to know us as a couple and worked with us to make both of our ceremonies us. I can't say enough. He was amazing! I highly recommend Don, The Gay JP.

  • T

    Tiffaney · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don was absolutely the best! He made our wedding special and personalized. He really took the time to get to know us beforehand and was always responsive and professional.
    I would recommend him to anyone! Thank you Don!

  • User7043900 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We thank Don Gentile for having the understanding and concern to lend a much greater depth and dignity, than we knew we wanted, to what would otherwise have been an awkwardly impromptu marriage ceremony.

    Sent on 08/03/2016

    The Gay J.P.'s reply:

    Thanks so much for the opportunity to conduct your ceremony - Thank you also for sending the following e-mail -
    "I just filled out the survey on my phone. I didn't know that I wasn't giving you the highest possible ratings for value and flexibility before I entered the whole thing. I totally intended to do so. So, know there's no criticism there. I wish I'd caught the mistake"
    I'm trying to get WeddingWire to correct the review but until then I will set the record straight here- Again, thanks so much and best of luck!
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 07/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don was INCREDIBLE! He did an interview with us right after we booked him for our wedding and he wrote a 2600 words speech about our love stories and love/relationship in general... He made it sooo touching. Even though he asked for our opinions we didn't change a single word. Many of my guests asked us for his name after the ceremony. Strongly strongly recommend!!!

  • S

    Stacey · Married on 05/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don was very responsive in all of our needs. He listened to us tell our story and created a beautiful ceremony for us that was personalized, like he has known us forever.

  • User5633379 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    For us, the wedding ceremony was perhaps the most important aspect of our wedding (which is saying a lot, because we love to party ;-). We're not religious, but we still wanted the ceremony to capture the spirit of who we are as a couple, and to include ceremonial elements. Don blew us, and our guests, away. The ceremony was a blend of teary moments and laughs--just what we wanted.

    This wouldn't have happened if he hadn't taken the time to meet with us in person, and follow-up with questions multiple times on email and over the phone. He is truly dedicated to making the ceremony personal and special for the couple. Additionally, he helped us think through every detail of the program--from who we should include to what he should wear. Throughout the process, he was flexible, incredibly sensitive, and devoted.

    Our guests have remarked that it was one of the most amazing and personal ceremonies they have ever attended, and this couldn't have happened without Don. We consider our choice to work with him as one of the best decisions we made for our wedding. We highly recommend him to any couple seeking the same experience--one that is filled with joy, laughter, and sincerity.

  • D

    Danielle · Married on 10/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We found Don online and contacted him to set up an appointment. Our first meeting was at an adorable coffee shop in Branford. Within 5 minutes of meeting him- we knew he was our guy! He spent a good amount of time with us- learning about how we met…our families…friends- how we felt about one another. It felt like we were old friends! The day of our wedding- Don came in to greet me before the ceremony and immediately put me at ease. The ceremony was absolute perfection. It was like he has known us all along. I cannot tell you how many people said it was the best ceremony they had ever witnessed. It was funny, romantic and personal- everything we hoped for. We cannot recommend Don enough! He is just wonderful- and absolutely made our wedding perfect!

  • B

    Brittany · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As soon as we started talking to Don, it felt like we had known him for years. So kind and professional. I highly recommend him.

  • User5547277 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don is amazing!

    He provided us with a ceremony that we'll never forget. He was professional, kindhearted, and added a pinch of humor where appropriate. He also added in elements of our life story to the ceremony which made it even more special to us. We cannot say enough wonderful things about him. We highly recommend him for your ceremony.

  • R

    Rita · Married on 08/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don was so open to making suggestions, but was also extremely open to hearing and incorporating our ideas which made him very easy to work with.
    He gave us the guidance to put together, with his help, the perfect ceremony for us without ever making us feel pushed in one direction or another. He made the process fun and completely personal and was willing to work with our schedules to get the details worked out.
    He made our ceremony exactly what we hoped that it would be and even exceeded our expectations which is saying a lot. We had more compliments from our guests on our unique and personal ceremony than on any other aspect of our day by far. If you're looking to make your ceremony completely personal and unique to you, I can't imagine recommending anyone higher than I can recommend Don.

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 07/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don,

    Now that the craziness dust has settled, we wanted to reach out to you to thank you for everything you did to make our day special. We felt like we didn't get a chance to give you a proper goodbye at the wedding. I guess people were right when they said it would all be a big blur :) We really appreciate everything you did, from the initial meeting down to the ceremony. We got several compliments in regards to your service. Our family and friends noted about how wonderful, personalized and heartfelt your words were, with one person stating "it was like he's known you both for 20 years". It was truly an amazing, wonderful, perfect day all around and we couldn't have asked for anything more.

    So from the bottom of our hearts, thank you!

    Sarah & Angela

  • M

    Marlene · Married on 07/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don captured our Wedding Day perfectly! He found the words that expressed exactly what was in our hearts. Dave and I knew when we met Don that he was the one. He listened, asked the right questions, and weaved his magic into words that captivated the room.
    Thank you Don for making our day even more special!!
    Marlene Nagel

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 07/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don was absolutely amazing. He was so professional throughout the whole process. He truly made our ceremony a representation of who we are as a couple and what we value. Don has a way with words and it is obvious that he loves what he does.

  • A

    Angela · Married on 06/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    He made our special day even more special. Our ceremony was beautiful and funny at the same time. It was amazing and I would recommend him to everyone!!!

  • S

    Shannon · Married on 03/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don made my family feel like they have known him for years. He made our special day shine because he took the time to get to know us as individuals as well as a couple!

  • G

    Glenn · Married on 03/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was a small family wedding in the home and he fit right in, made it such a wonderful day

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review