Skip to main content
Weddings

The Gardens at Heather Farm Reviews

The Gardens at Heather Farm

The Gardens at Heather Farm

Walnut Creek, CA
4.6 out of 5 rating, 37 Reviews
View more information

37 Reviews

Rated
4.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 93% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.4 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 37

11 User photos

  • Alissa
    Alissa G. Married on 06/01/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Venue and Experience

    We originally booked the Gardens for October 2020, but due to Covid needed to reschedule. The venue was very gracious and found us a new date with no issues regarding payment. All the coordinators we communicated with were wonderful about responding to any questions we had. My husband and I along with our guests. felt very safe with their Covid guidelines

    As luck would have it our new wedding date was the Sunday of intense rain so all of our outdoors planned had to be scrapped and everything moved inside. The venue was helpful with making suggestions about the ceremony and where things could be placed in regards to decor.

    A big thanks to the venue for being such a big part of our day!
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer N. Married on 11/22/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Perfect Venue

    I cannot give The Gardens enough praise for being absolutely flexible when it came to planning my wedding. The outdoor space is absolutely amazing no matter what time of year and I am in love with my photos. Although I was unable to use the indoor space due to COVID, it is also lovely and one of the main reasons I chose this venue. Rebecca was fantastic and was a valuable resource during planning. I am so thankful that The Gardens were flexible when I had to downsize our wedding and applaud them for being so on top of everything. Thank you again, Rebecca!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • V
    Vessy I. Married on 10/02/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wish we could have had our wedding here!

    We had booked the Gardens at Heather Farm for our wedding in May of 2020, but unfortunately had to cancel everything due to COVID. However, I wanted to write a review because working with everyone at the Gardens was a joy. They were always quick to respond, very professional and informative, and super sweet. They even gave us a full refund of our booking when we had to cancel, so we really appreciate that! The venue itself is a true gem. So beautiful!
  • andthecity
    Fang C. Married on 11/17/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful, elegant, rustic, intimate

    I would highly recommend The Gardens at Heather Farm to anyone, especially those who want an intimate, rustic, elegant, and most importantly, beautiful wedding.

    The venue is spacious. It has roughly three levels: a lower level rose garden and gazebo area (most couples use the gazebo area for the ceremony), a middle level patio/cocktail area, and upper level reception hall. Amazingly, it provides a cozy/intimate vibe at the same time, which is exactly what me and my husband were looking for.

    The staff here are amazing. Rebecca and Jenn are both caring and passionate about their work. They were also very responsive during the entire process and answered our questions promptly.

    Since we had a November wedding, we were quite worried about the weather. Rebecca and Jenn explained the rain contingency plans thoroughly and put our minds at ease. It turned out beautifully on our wedding day - and surprisingly, the roses were still in full blossom, which was a big bonus to us.

    We visited the venue multiple times through different seasons (summer, fall, winter) before our wedding, and each time we visited it, we fell in love with it a little more.

    The Gardens at Heather Farm's reply:

    Thank you so much for your review, Fang! It was a pleasure sharing your wedding day with you and we wish you both the very best! :)
  • Alona
    Alona F. Married on 09/15/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful and elegant location.

    When it’s time to decide for our wedding venue, I tried browsing online to see pictures of possible places that we might like. The Gardens at Heather Farms was the first thing that we saw and to be honest, we didn’t really looked somewhere else anymore because the pictures of this place online were all pretty. Me and my fiancé immediately went there the next day and we knew from that very moment that this is going to be the place our wedding will take place. The ambiance was very romantic and serene which are perfect for our wedding. Rebecca helped us and toured us around the place and she was very helpful and knowledgeable. She was suggesting a lot of things which gave us ideas on what we should do on our wedding day. We Did our ceremony at the gazebo and the reception at the Camella hall. Our guests were all saying that our venue was so beautiful which proves that we made the right choice. We love the Gardens and we highly recommend it!
  • K
    Kelly Married on 10/20/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Elegant and Affordable: A dream venue

    This place is a fairy tale and the absolute best venue to have your wedding. From their incredible staff (Rebecca is amazing) to the stunning garden full of every flower imagable, to the stunning backdrop, this is the perfect place to start the rest of your lives together. We didn’t live in Walnut Creek when we booked the venue and Rebecca spoke to us on the phone for about an hour easing any concern and answering every question we had with kindness and care. She was so on top of communication and every detail we hadn’t considered. She even recommended a phenomenal florist for us (Sweetness and Light), based on my personality, who we simply adored.. The Gardens at Heather Farms is one of the most stunning places I have ever seen, with an exceptional staff, and a gorgeous venue, this is hands down one of the best affordable and elegant Bay Area finds. Book now, while there is still space available.
  • Alison
    Alison Married on 11/18/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Such a beautiful venue and the staff was very accommodating (allowing us to use the library and classroom downstairs as prep areas). They were communicative throughout the planning process, especially when discussing a rain option given my wedding was in November. I was so pleased with the gazebo and surrounding foliage. It was the perfect wedding venue!
  • M
    Margo Married on 10/07/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This was the perfect venue for our wedding and is such a beautiful spot. We first visited in February and even though all the rose bushes were trimmed back, we liked the layout of the gardens, and could tell that it would be really stunning when everything was in bloom. We worked with Kelly from the start, and she was super helpful answering our questions, showing us photos from different seasons, and suggesting vendors. Both she and Rebecca were extremely prompt answering emails and made the whole process much easier. We picked a lot of vendors from their suggested list and I'd definitely recommend doing the same; the caterer, DJ, and decoration company knew the venue so well and worked seamlessly together.

    The gazebo and rose garden are really lovely for the ceremony and photos, and it was wonderful having a cocktail hour on the patio before moving up to dinner in the reception room. The room looks a little bland on it's own, but I couldn't believe how it transformed once all the tables and decorations were set up. It's sort of like a blank canvas, so you can dress the room up however you like.

    Planning a wedding can be stressful, but I feel like ours was much easier than it could have been, in large part thanks to the venue we chose.
  • kt gal
    Katie Married on 03/31/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Working with both Kelly and Rebecca was the BEST! They are both super responsive and very helpful. The venue was perfect - it was very beautiful inside and out, affordable, and our guests really enjoyed the gardens. VERY happy with GHF!
  • F
    Fatemah Married on 08/20/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We loved our venue. We had our ceremony at the garden gazebo area and reception a short walk away. Tons of greenery and beautiful flowers. Our guest constantly complimented our wedding venue. We wanted a venue where our guest didn't have to drive around. The Marriott Hotel gave free shuttle rides to and from the venue to the hotel for our guest. This was important since we had an open bar. No complaints :)
  • M
    Melissa Married on 11/13/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My November wedding was beautiful and amazing. After looking at several outdoor venues and being displeased with the sites my husband and I knew this was the place for us the second we parked the car. Its so romantic and fun and gorgeous. Our wedding guests were so impressed with this venue. The staff are very professional and accomidating. If you are looking for an amazing venue then this would be it.
  • K
    Kaitlin Married on 09/26/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This Venue is beautiful!! Had my wedding here and they were so accommodating to my every need. Not one thing went wrong. Would recommend this venue to anyone and you cant beat the price either!
  • K
    Katy A. Married on 08/07/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We got married here, and were so thrilled with how beautiful the grounds were, and how smoothly the wedding went. We were working on a limited budget, but because The Gardens has discounted rates for weekdays, we were able to have a beautiful Friday night wedding for under $3000. When we were first considering The Gardens, we were a little concerned that they had a list of preferred caterers, which limited our options for food, but it turned out to be a great decision since all of their preferred caterers are vetted ahead of time and are very familiar with the site. The site is spacious, open, wheelchair-accessible, and really really gorgeous. We had plenty of space for our 120 guests to wander the grounds and took advantage of the gazebo area, patio area, and reception hall for our wedding events. Rebecca and Kelly, the two people we were in contact with, were very professional and friendly, and were willing to help us with whatever we needed.
  • H
    H Married on 05/03/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I got married here on May 3 2015. It was absolutely the perfect venue for us: gorgeous, affordable, great amenities, and they were fine with my dog being in the ceremony. We really lucked out in the timing of our wedding; it was a beautiful sunny day and all the flowers were just amazing....even the roses on the gazebo were in full bloom. That said, we visited the venue at several times of year while planning our wedding and it was always gorgeous, so even if you can't do spring it would still be a great venue. We had our ceremony at the gazebo, our cocktail hour at the pavilion, and our reception in the Camellia room. The Camellia room is set up with absolutely everything you could ever need for a wedding reception (yes the reception chairs are not exactly gorgeous, but we didn't care about that--the ceremony chairs were very nice, though). In addition to the gorgeous setting and fabulous facilities, the people that work in the office there are amazing. I would e-mail them with the most inane and random questions and they always got back to me immediately and they were always super friendly and professional. They do have a list that you have to choose from for caterers, but we didn't find that to be a negative, that means your caterer (we chose Elegant Occasions, highly recommended) will be familiar with the venue which is a great bonus. I highly recommend this venue, I can't think of a single negative thing to say!
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 08/02/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I loved this venue! The ceremony needed no extra flowers because it was gorgeous all on its own! We walked through a rose garden into a gazebo. It was perfect. The cocktail area was shaded and had a big bar area. The reception area had gorgeous windows and high ceilings. It easily fit our 109 guests and had enough dance floor space for EVERYONE to dance! It was a perfect place to get married :)
  • M
    Michelle Married on 04/19/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amazing Venue for both ceremony and reception, they also include tables and chairs with your rental! Stunning amount of roses.
  • Ashley R.
    Ashley Married on 08/04/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I absolutely postively loved my venue!!! Gardens at Heather Farms is an absolutely beautiful venue to get married at. The staff was accommodating and prompt in their responses. We booked the Camilla Room (main reception hall), the Pavillion Room (outdoor patio area) and the Gazebo (ceremony area) and it was absolutely perfect. The flowers were blooming, the sun was shining and it was quiet and serene. And while it there were people adjacent to the Gazebo (since it is near a park) they were respectful of the fact that a wedding was taking place! My wedding was absolutely perfect and the staff helped make my day one of the most memorable!
  • K
    Kenneth Married on 09/04/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Gardens at Heather Farm is such a beautiful and affordable wedding venue. We looked at many different sites as a possibility for the venue of our wedding. The ironic thing about it all is that the Gardens at Heather Farm was our favorite, and least expensive, out of all the venues we looked at! We highly recommend renting the gazebo for a ceremony since the gardens are absolutely beautiful. We had our wedding in early September and all of the roses were perfectly blossomed, the weather was perfect, and we had a great time. We couldn't have asked for anything more.
  • J
    June Married on 09/14/2008
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding was perfect, the gardens were beautiful, the staff professional and most helpful for our special needs — all-in-all a superb location for our wedding. The wedding service was held in the gazebo/rose garden. It was a warm afternoon and the staff thoughtfully provided an awning for our guests for shade. The reception and celebration was held in the patio which beautifully accommodated our sixty guests with tables, sun umbrellas for guests, caterers and musicians. I can't recommend The Gardens at Heather Farm more highly as a wedding venue and can assure you that your wedding will go as smoothly as ours...
  • B
    Beth Married on 08/16/2014
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    Great venue; the gardens are incredible. The staff was very friendly and easy to get in touch with during our planning. We highly recommend this location!
  • User2760348 2+ years ago
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Garden was beautiful! The venue was amazingly convenient in that the ceremony took place right outside the area we were holding the reception. People could walk the grounds while we got beautiful pictures taken. Best part is that we didn't have a need to pay for flowers since it was such a well maintained garden and in bloom in October!
  • Emily
    Emily Married on 08/13/2011
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    Just two weeks ago I had my wedding reception at The Gardens at Heather Farm, and I would highly recommend this venue. We found it to be the most affordable site in the East Bay, especially for all you get--10 hours of rental time, access to the reception hall, and ability to roam throughout their entire beautiful garden (a great spot for all of those photos)! Our guests loved exploring the rose garden, gazebo, and sensory garden before the reception began, and after sunset dancing in the moonlight on the patio. Their staff was extremely responsive and easy to work with. I appreciated their patience with all of my questions. It was also a bonus to us that they are a non-profit organization, hosting many students and horticulture lovers throughout the year. Not only was our money spent well but it went to support great cause!
  • S
    Sarah Married on 10/02/2010
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    The Gardens are beautiful and the roses gorgeous. The water fountains and rock garden were perfect for pictures. Everything in the gazebo and garden was amazing. The Camilla room is a little dated looking and small. If you have a good imagination you can really spruce up the room like I did. I had to bring in other vendors for lighting, covering up one of the walls with a curtain, linens, etc. etc.. I would recommend this place for someone who wants a small and intimate wedding day. You do have to watch out for extra fees like using non preffered caterers and such. I also wish you could rent the venue past twelve o'clock, but you can't. All in all the outside location is beautiful, the inside needs a bit of work, and watch out for little kids riding their scooters past you during your ceremony! It is a public park!

    The Gardens at Heather Farm's reply:

    Thank you Sarah for the great review. I just wanted to mention that we now have a beautiful new floor with a wood-grain pattern in our banquet room. We have received many compliments on the room since then.

    Another clarification is that we are not a public park, although we are adjacent to one. We block off the entrances from the park to our grounds during weddings. If anyone is causing a distraction before or during your ceremony (this very rarely happens), our building attendants are available to speak with them.
  • J
    Jeanette Married on 04/25/2009
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    They were amazing- I would definitely recommend this vendor. They provided lists for preferred catering, florists, officiants, dj, photography, you name it. It is a stunningly beautiful site and for the price is unbeatable! The people working there are nice and welcoming and easy to work with.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message