The GA Freight Depot Reviews

26 | Atlanta, GA
See photos, pricing and details

26 Reviews for The GA Freight Depot

Recommended by 88%

26

4.4 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.4
  • Professionalism 4.3
  • Flexibility 4.4
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.4

22 User photos

The GA Freight Depot 1
The GA Freight Depot 2
The GA Freight Depot 3
The GA Freight Depot 4
The GA Freight Depot 5
The GA Freight Depot 6
The GA Freight Depot 7
+ 16
Sort by:
  • Shelley

    Shelley · Married on 08/03/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful, Versatile Venue

    My daughter was recently married here and it was such a wonderful experience! You can transform the space so many different ways and it really has a "Wow" factor. All of our guests raved about the food and the service and we couldn't have been happier with how everything turned out. The Blue Room that can be used as a bridal suite is super convenient and makes a beautiful background for getting ready pics as well. We found it to be one of the more affordable venues in the downtown Atlanta area too!

    Sent on 08/20/2019
  • S

    Sydney · Married on 10/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at GFD October 2017 and it could not have been better. Brittany and Kinisha were who we worked with and they were extremely helpful with everything. The responsiveness was amazing. We even went through the two of them for day of coordination and flowers. Brittany was everything you wanted in an event coordinator. She was knowledgeable, got married herself there so she knew what worked and what didn’t, went with my vision and gave input that I knew I could trust. The venue itself was large enough for us to host the ceremony, reception, and cocktail hour in its own sections of the GFD. THE FOOD. The food was amazing!!!! (Thank you Gladys!) We had fried chicken, short ribs, and Mac and Cheese. Everyone is still talking about it. When we were selecting venues the things I heard about GFD was that food was the best wedding food they’ve ever had. I would highly recommend this venue to anyone. If there was one piece of info I could share with you is the GFD is a little bit hard to find because it’s a little bit set back off the street and since it’s on a one way street if you miss the turn you have to go around the block. Go ahead and put on your invites the ceremony starts before it actually does just in case someone gets lost. Also, if I could do it all over again I would have bought out the pay to park lot in front of the GFD. It rained on our wedding day so a lot of our guests were stuck out in the rain paying to park. Of course wouldn’t have been a big deal if it wasn’t raining. BUT If you’re trying to stay in budget and can not afford to buy out the lot- tell your guests to download the Parkmobile app and they can pay to park in the zone 70302 just on their phones and reload time if needed directly on the app. My husband and I loved the GFD and we hope to be back there again someday soon! Thank you again to Brittany, Kinisha, Gladys, and the rest of your team. You made our special day so incredible.

    Sent on 10/30/2017
    The GA Freight Depot 8
    The GA Freight Depot 9
    The GA Freight Depot 10
  • M

    Matt · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The GA Freight Depot and Brittany were absolutely amazing. The venue itself has loads of characters and the large space allows you to customize a layout to create whatever vision of a wedding you have. Brittany was also a huge reason why we decided on the venue. She was always on top of everything, quick to respond, and a pleasure to work with. I highly recommend making her your day off coordinator. Also, the we didn't have high expectations for the food (when is wedding food ever great?) but our guests were blown away! Lots of compliments on the food. Highly recommend the short ribs!

    Sent on 10/03/2017
  • A

    Anna · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One of the best decisions of planning my daughter's wedding was having it at the Freight Depot. I worked with Brittany who did the best job at transforming the space into an elegant beautiful wedding venue. Brittany did the flowers and centerpieces (which were stunning) and served as the day of coordinator (I could not have done without her). We got so many compliments about the food, decorations and overall beauty of the space. If you are looking for a great downtown venue, look no further!

    Sent on 08/20/2017
  • B

    Barbara · Married on 07/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Brittany and Kinisha at the GA Freight Depot has been a great experience. We chose the Depot because we were expecting more than 200 guests and not many venues can handle this number. It was also across the street from the Shrine of the Immaculate Conception church which made it easy for our guests to park in one place for the ceremony and reception. From our first appointment, Brittany has been attentive and responsive to all our questions and needs. The Depot provided an absolutely beautiful venue for our wedding reception and the rehearsal dinner the night before. We didn't have to spend a lot of extra money making the venue look great. The staff was over-the-top attentive and provided excellent service to all of our guests. The food catered by Distinctive Catering & Events was wonderful. It made it a much easier process to plan the wedding when Brittany handled the venue and setup, food and we even had her do the flowers. Having it all handled by one person made life easy for me. This venue is truly a special place and we had the wedding and reception of my daughter's dreams. I highly recommend it!

    Sent on 08/04/2017
  • T

    Tessa · Married on 07/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved my experience with this team! Awesome value for the space and flexibility! Would recommend to all brides looking for a large gorgeous space for their wedding! Also used Kinisha as a day of coordinator and she was on point all day! Keeping us on track and executing all my plans perfectly! We also did decor and flowers with Brittany and she was amazing! Delivering day of touches we hadn't even talked about - and we LOVED!

    Sent on 07/20/2017
  • T

    Taylor · Married on 07/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Georgia Freight Depot was absolutely the perfect venue for our wedding! This venue allowed us to take a blank slate and create whatever we wanted to. While it may be big a big space, it doesn't need as much as you would think to fill it up because the rustic-ness to the building adds a touch that you don't want to cover up. And let me just say the Blue Room was the BEST space to get ready in. The lighting, the huge room, the fact that we could be there all day - it was just perfect! The food was also great. Some of the best mac and cheese I've ever had! Brittany was also the perfect person to help us with our big day. She was one of the many reasons that we fell in love with this venue! We used her as our day of coordinating and I would recommend her to anyone using the venue. No matter what crazy question I would ask, she had the answer! I didn't have a wedding planner so she helped me out a lot and I am very grateful for that! If we had to do it all over again, we would still pick this venue!

    Sent on 10/06/2017
    The GA Freight Depot 11
    The GA Freight Depot 12
    The GA Freight Depot 13
    The GA Freight Depot 14
    The GA Freight Depot 15
    The GA Freight Depot 16
    The GA Freight Depot 17
    The GA Freight Depot 18
    The GA Freight Depot 19
  • J

    Jason · Married on 07/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place is awesome. Run by some really good people who are always willing to help. We did our day of coordinator through them as well, and I gladly would have paid double. She was worth so much more.

    Sent on 07/31/2017
  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Georgia Freight Depot was an absolute perfect setting for our June wedding. The history of the Depot is awesome already, but we fell in love with its uniqueness among other wedding venues. Brides who want an urban space have that city buzz. Brides who love that industrial feel have that brick and exposed beaming. Brides who want touches of nature have the garden and gorgeous trees along the platform. The GA Freight Depot really did suit every idea we had. The other thing we loved about the Depot was the openness of the space – with 18,000 square feet and tall ceilings, the world is your oyster as far as what you want your wedding to look like. When the barn doors are open, the sun just pours in – so beautiful! Lastly, we can’t wrap this up without mentioning the food – AMAZING! Our guests are seriously still talking about our menu. As a wedding professional myself, it was important to me and my fiancé that we found a venue who would be flexible and open to our ideas for menu, timeline and décor – the GA Freight Depot team was exactly that. We were so happy to have hosted our wedding at the Depot. It was perfect!

    Sent on 09/15/2017
  • C

    Cayce · Married on 05/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Freight Depot hosted our Ceremony and Reception back in May of this year and we wish we could do our day over there a thousand times. We had the very best experience working with Kinisha and her team to create the unique wedding of our dreams. The facility was flexible with us on outside vendors, pricing, customized food and beverage requests, etc. My bride even used the Blue Room as her Bridal Suite free of charge. Their lead event captain Maxine made my family feel like her family which made the day relaxed and left us knowing we were in good hands. After the wedding, we've received an innumerable amount of compliments about the food, staff and facility. We truly appreciate all the Distinctive Catering and Events team did to make our wedding a roaring success.

    Sent on 08/17/2017
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 11/26/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Britney and the entire Freight Depot staff were above awesome. My sister (bride's mom) and I worked with Britney to create the perfect wedding and reception for my niece. Due to my niece's military commitment, she was not able to meet with Britney until 1.5 weeks before the ceremony. Through consistent phone calls, texts, and conversations; Britney was able to create the wedding and reception my niece envisioned. It has been nearly 8 months since the wedding and people still compliment the food and the venue. Britney also recommended the florist and deejay to us. The old adage...birds of a feather flock together; was personified. Her recommendations were spot on! If you are looking for that industrial chic venue and a staff that will take the worry out of planning for your big day; the Georgia Freight Depot is the answer.

    Sent on 07/25/2017
  • J

    Janet · Married on 10/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic Venue - Beautiful (!!!) clean, spacious, comfortable. Loved the food - so many options, you can really wow your guests. Above and beyond the standard boring wedding catering food that everybody has at their wedding. Great bar service. Loved the lights over the dance floor. They'll even create a custom light design to shine on the wall for you! Planning process went really smoothly. We had a blast!

    Sent on 07/28/2017
  • L

    LaCrystal · Married on 10/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephanie Mule is one the best people I have ever met!! She was extremely helpful and I owe the success of my wedding to her. I changed to this venue 1 WEEK before my wedding date and she went WELL out her way to ensure everything turned out perfect & it did!! I would Highly recommened Stephanie and the Georgia Freight Depot for not only a wedding but for any event! My wedding was the best night of my life & I owe a very large piece of the credit to Stephanie and her staff!!

    Sent on 10/26/2012
  • C

    Carol · Married on 06/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This space is an incredible place for a wedding. It can hold 5000 people or can be intimate for 200. Once you get someone to drape the space, it turns out beautifully! I dealt with Stephanie Mule and she went above and beyond at EVERY step of the way. It is a state owened facility, and the caterers used are absolutely wonderful! My son in law owns a restaurant, and we were afraid of what the food would taste like. Every guest raved at JUST how good the food was. The space is a great way to plan a creative wedding! If you are looking for a vintage wedding, this is a MUST reception hall!

    Sent on 06/23/2012
  • Retta

    Retta · Married on 02/04/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kashara Parks, Stately Events Catering, and the whole Freight Depot team was OUTSTANDING!
    The space is perfect for a fun, elegant, historic, downtown Atlanta wedding reception. There is a long circle driveway, a pretty entrance, a side garden with a fountain, the Blue has working fireplaces and a baby grand piano (we used it for cocktail hour) and the Depot room is perfect for dinner and dancing.
    Kashara Parks was absolutely amazing and made our wedding planning experience so easy. She is professional, fun, easy-going and never once expressed frustration regarding our many requests and questions. The night was perfect.
    Stately Events Catering provides the food and beverage and service for the Depot. I don't recall the chef's name but the food is delish!
    I highly recommend this venue!

    Sent on 02/21/2012
  • Kati

    Kati · Married on 08/15/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kashara and the event planners at the Georgia Freight Depot were great to work with. When congress is in session, it is difficult to get a timely response, but they always came through. The reception was excellent, service was great, and the food was better at the event than the tasting.

    Sent on 09/01/2009
  • D

    Derek · Married on 09/01/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    What a great experience, we clearly made the right choice. Britney was nothing short of awesome, even while balancing her own wedding she made sure our day was perfect. The staff, the tasting and actually evening was nothing short of WONDERFUL!

    Sent on 08/10/2017
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 04/21/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We LOVED having our wedding at the GA Freight Depot. The staff was attentive and very organized, the food was AMAZING (our guests are still talking about it), and the venue is beautiful. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 05/02/2018
  • M

    Mary C · Married on 06/15/2019

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Great historic downtown venue

    We chose the Georgia Freight Depot because of its location and history. It was a great place to celebrate our marriage. Though there were a couple of small day-of hiccups, Kinisha and team were responsive and friendly. Our guests keep saying what a fun, beautiful venue it was, and how great the food was. Our guests' photos are dark, but the professional photos are beautiful and dramatic. We would recommend it to friends.

    Sent on 07/01/2019
  • L

    Lee · Married on 11/04/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We are so happy with our decision to have had our wedding at the Freight Depot! Brittany Buttrey (our venue and catering coordinator) is so down to earth and we felt immediately comfortable with her from our first informational meeting. Brittany was absolutely key in making our wedding come together and in keeping our stress levels down throughout our entire planning process. Brittany responded to our e-emails in a timely manner, didn’t suggest or require additions that would have added extra costs, and went the extra mile whenever possible, including the week of our wedding. Brittany was easy to work with, flexible, and helped us envision what an amazing wedding would look like at the Freight Depot (and then made it happen).

    We loved and trusted Brittany so much throughout the planning process that we also hired her as our florist via her company, Luxe Studio. We didn’t have a clear idea of the design elements that we wanted, and Brittany was a great resource in brainstorming and was so patient with us. She gave us an amazing deal on florals and utilized a lot of beautiful design elements that the Freight Depot already had. Our bouquets, centerpieces, and decor were gorgeous and above and beyond what we had imagined. We felt truly taken care of at the Freight Depot from start to finish, and we’ve heard numerous compliments about the venue, food, and decor from our family and guests. We highly recommend Brittany and the Freight Depot and Luxe Studio teams!

    Sent on 02/04/2018
    The GA Freight Depot 20
    The GA Freight Depot 21
    The GA Freight Depot 22
    The GA Freight Depot 23
    The GA Freight Depot 24
    The GA Freight Depot 25
    The GA Freight Depot 26
    The GA Freight Depot 27
    The GA Freight Depot 28
    The GA Freight Depot 29
  • K

    Katie · Married on 07/22/2017

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The Freight Depot was a great venue to work with. Their team of specialists was so helpful and we had an amazing event!

    Sent on 07/31/2017
  • S

    sally · Married on 07/08/2017

    2.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    My daughter's wedding reception was held at GA Freight Depot in July. We were overall pleased with the venue, but if you're considering it, I have some pointers for you. In our meetings with Brittany she would say, "sure, we can do that" and then apparently didn't ever write anything down, because the next time we talked she would say "oh, yeah you can't do that..." Everything was always changing from the previous conversations we had. She said that she would be at the venue the night of the reception until the food was set up (we had our own day-of coordinator), and then a week before said she'd be there just to let the vendors in. We were told the vendors could come as early as 8:30 to set up, and then 3 weeks before that changed to 2:00 pm. She said that we'd have long tablecloths on the bar (specifically requested and approved), and then the bars were set up with tacky spandex tight covers. Brittany said I should have rented a different bar for the event... but that wasn't my point. She said they would be covered with long flowing tablecloths, but obviously didn't take notes. If you use this venue, double check that everything gets written down. And ask 5 times to make sure they hear you.

    Trying to get a menu set up for the tasting was much more difficult than it should have been. It was hard to get a response by email, so you have to do a LOT of follow up to get response.

    During the actual reception, the food was amazing, and the service was good until about 8:00. After the cake was cut, we had to ask 3 times for them to come get the cake and serve it. I had to go find servers 4 times and ask them to bring more beverages to the non-alcoholic beverage station. Water and tea were gone and it was HOT inside. There were plenty of people sitting around in the back rooms, but they weren't interested in making sure we had everything we needed. Again, it worked out, but only because I spent my evening walking around telling people what to do.

    Sent on 08/21/2017
  • T

    tracey · Married on 11/10/2007

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    The space was gorgeous and affordable. We only had to hit a catering minimum and did not have to pay a site rental fee. The best thing (which I believe their policy may have changed since our event) is that we were able to bring in our own bartender and alcohol, which saved us a significant amount of money).

    We were able to bring in all of our own vendors, which at first was a great bonus, but turned out to be a lot of work to coordinate, as the staff at the Freight Depot would not provide any coordination efforts for our vendors, which we didn't expect by any means, but thought at least on the day of our reception, we could hope that they would be a bit more helpful.

    Leading up to the wedding, we had a very hard time reaching our contacts at the Freight Depot and it was quite stressful. It was obvious early on that the planning staff was over-extended and though they would like to have time for us, they simply did not have time. And many of the rules seemed to change while we were going through the process, so I was extra careful to make sure I had everything in writing, so they would honor our contracts.

    Another scary part of this- they changed the menu on us halfway through our planning and we were not allowed to have a tasting, so we just had to cross our fingers and hope for the best. I think I ended up ordering way more food than necessary to over compensate for the fear of not all items tasting good. Thankfully, the food WAS good, but that was not revealed to us until the night of the wedding and it didn't change the stress of that uncertainty leading up to the event.

    At the reception, the catering staff was very accomodating. There definitely seemed to be a disconnect between the planners and the staff. I think the catering staff should be running the show, quite frankly. They seemed to care more.

    I think they are trying to become more "wedding centric", which could provide a totally different experience for new clients. That said, many of the perks (such as bringing your own liquor into the venue) are now gone.

    Bottom line- this worked for us because the space was truly our style, and it was a great value for the money. However- beware, this venue is owned/operated by the state government and it reflects the beauracracies of government! I would strongly urge only brides with wedding planners/coordinators to consider this space.

    Sent on 10/01/2008
  • T

    Thai · Married on 11/11/2017

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Unfortunately, I never got a chance to see this venue. It looked lovely online, but I have to say that the events coordinator--Brittany--was less than helpful. I called and made an appointment to tour the venue, only to arrive and find it locked with no sign of anyone or any message. I checked my email to find an email from the coordinator sent just hours before cancelling the tour and claiming that my phone number couldn't be found in the records (I left it with the coordinator when I scheduled the tour). This was all after I made it very clear that I was only in town for the weekend, as I'd flown in to look at venues in my hometown but had to get back to work, and all after I'd scheduled my family's time to accompany me. I called and left a message, then got a call from the coordinator claiming she'd tried to call me AND tried to email me--despite her email saying (very clearly) that she didn't have my number. I understand that things come up, and that business is booming--but her attitude was defensive bordering on rude when we spoke after this incident and I truly don't appreciate the changing story when she claimed that she didn't have my number, then said she tried to call me, then said she had a wrong number "she guessed" and all without giving me a clear, professional reason as to why she canceled the tour the same day, just hours before the appointment (that I'd set up almost a week in advance). I hope you have better luck here than I did!

    Sent on 02/21/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review