Weddings

Graduate Chapel Hill Reviews

Graduate Chapel Hill

Graduate Chapel Hill

Chapel Hill, NC
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 19 Reviews
View more information

19 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 19
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
Sort by:
  • B
    Beverly Married on 10/23/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had a rehearsal dinner at The Franklin on Oct. 23, 2015. The person who helped me with the planning was Wes Rowe. He was able to help me coordinate the event from WI. When I walked into the Terrance Room after the set up it looked just the way I had it in my head. It was beautiful. He was wonderful to work.

    Sincerely,
    Beverly Watson
  • M
    Mark Married on 05/21/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We wish to thank The Franklin Hotel staff

    * For helping to plan our event, listening to our ideas and providing suggestions that went beyond our expectations
    * For being so supportive of us and responsive to our guests (even though you hosted two wedding parties that weekend)
    * For being flexible when we made a change
    * For providing a wonderful atmosphere which we'll always remember as the perfect backdrop to our wedding weekend
  • A
    Alli Married on 04/30/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Franklin Hotel was the perfect place for our wedding reception. Joann Sullivan is incredible and made sure that everything ran smoothly so that I didn't have to worry about a thing! Her attention to detail is incredible. She even took our gifts up to our room to ensure that they weren't sitting out in the open. She was also extremely helpful during the planning process, suggesting other awesome vendors (DJ, florist, cake, limo, etc.) and helping us to finalize all of the decisions to ensure that the reception was flawless (including those decisions that I didn't even know existed!). All of my guests told me that it was a beautiful reception and that they had an incredible time. Many thanks to Joann, Katie, Mark and everyone else at the Franklin that made our awesome reception possible!
  • G
    Adrienne Married on 04/19/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The work that Joann does is absolutely amazing! She is an exceptional woman to work with for any event! I look forward to working with her in the future! She truly helped our sorority formal go exactly as planned! She knew our budget and was able to work with us and even allow some flexibility!

    Thank you so much!
  • T
    Andréa Married on 03/28/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This was the PERFECT place to have a bridal shower. I am still getting compliments weeks after. As maid of honor, I had a bridal shower tea and it was eloquent with the self-playing piano and timeless charm of the room. The food was excellent and the service was exceptional. Crabcakes were carried on a tray and offered around the room as a nice touch. They thought of every detail so I didn't have to. Joanne, director of catering, took care of everything and was a sweetheart to work with. She was there the entire time in case anything went wrong. Best decision was choosing The Franklin as our venue for such a happy day!
  • D
    Des Married on 02/12/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We held a large engagement party here and it was amazing! Joann, Katie, Mark, and the whole team really helped make it as successful as it was. Each guest, literally, commented about how they were either glad they got the opportunity to see the hotel and visit in the future or how they never experienced a more elegant atmosphere for a party.

    We couldn't have been more over the moon; they worked with us, kept open communication, helped come up with flexible options, stuck to budget, and delivered beautifully. I can't wait for the bridal party to get ready there the day of the wedding!

    So a big loving thank you to The Franklin Hotel!!
  • L
    Elizabeth Married on 12/11/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Franklin Hotel is an excellent place to have a wedding reception.
  • A
    Amethyst Married on 10/16/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Joann and The Franklin Hotel staff made our wedding day absolutely amazing. It's been 3 months since our wedding and our family and friends still rave about it. We had our wedding ceremony and reception at The Franklin Hotel and most of our guests stayed at the hotel. Everyone commented on how beautiful the hotel was, how nice the rooms were and how helpful and friendly the staff were. The location was great and allowed out of town guests to really experience Franklin Street. We were a couple on a budget and Joann was amazing at working with us to make sure our day was special.
  • S
    Nancy Married on 09/25/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jeff and I had a lovely wedding. Joanne and her team did a wonderful job of ensuring that the day was perfect. Loved the suite- got rave reviews from all of our out-of-town visitors.
  • B
    Betty Married on 08/28/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The entire staff at The Franklin went out of their way to accommodate us in surprising our Mom for the celebration of her 90th birthday. Everything went perfectly! The room decor was lovely, the food delicious and the service could not have been better. We enjoyed working with the staff and they had wonderful suggestions. We definitely would use them again for our next celebration.
  • C
    Cindy Married on 07/24/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Franklin Hotel provided my reception and guest accommodations.
    Joann was EXCELLENT to work with. Her caterer was exquisite and accommodated above and beyond our special requests. We were not tied to a package but everything was customized our own to meet our needs. She worked beautifully to match our budget.

    I did not want my or my family to have any responsibilities on the day of the wedding. Nor was I specifically picky about anything except that my guests enjoy themselves. Therefore, I gave Janice a lot of free reign and it worked out wonderfully. I would highly recommend Joann and this facility. I would certainly use them again.
  • M
    Scott Married on 06/26/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    JoAnn Sullivan and her excellent staff did a terrific job with our rehearsal dinner, guest rooms, wedding party preparation and revelry suites, and all-around accomodating our extended family and friends's various needs throughout the weekend.

    JoAnn understood the whole flow and goal of what we were trying to achieve and guided us with her considerable knowledge and experience. She handled many last minute changes without blinking.


    Everybody attending commented how the entire affair came together so seamlessly. Most said it was just the best wedding celebration they had ever been to.


    JoAnn and The Franklin Hotel could not have been more perfect for our needs. I can't imagine anybody getting married around here not utilizing this great jewel of Chapel Hill.

  • A
    Anna Married on 04/10/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We hosted our cocktail reception at the Franklin Hotel, and we absolutely loved the venue! The hotel is beautiful and right in the heart of Chapel Hill.

    What really set the Franklin apart was the amazing service we received. The staff did everything they could to make sure our night was perfect. Joann is a great event planner; she met all of our expectations and more, and she was with us through both the planning process and the event from start to finish. We look forward to hosting other events at the Franklin in the future!
  • A
    Annie Married on 01/16/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I have been involved with many events at The Franklin Hotel and each time I am truly amazed how they continuously out do my expectations! Not only is the staff extremely flexible and professional throughout the whole process, I am amazed by the quality of the food and the beautiful facility. Joann Sullivan has been such a pleasure to work with. She is always very cheerful, friendly, and very responsive to your communication needs. She is extremely creative and innovative to make the most of your budget plus more! Her hard work will ensure that your event is the event of your dreams.

    I have seen The Franklin host every type of event including weddings, receptions, fashion shows, formals, and luncheons. Each event is very unique but executed exquisitely. The Franklin Hotel is the perfect venue for all your event needs.

    I highly recommend The Franklin to anyone with an upcoming event. They will do an excellent job and create the ideal experience.
  • M
    Mj Married on 04/04/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Franklin didn't simply meet our expectations for our wedding planning, brunch, and rehearsal dinner, they blew it away! This hotel, and Joanne Sullivan went above and beyond what we though and expected. It is a very special quality to take someones vision, and add to it in ways that a harried bride and groom cannot even think of.
  • M
    Mark Married on 10/31/2011
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    great excellent wonderful magnificent
  • N
    Nancy Married on 09/25/2010
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We thought everything was beautiful, and Joann and Katie were a joy to work with. The only reason I am not giving 5 stars for quality of service is because the buffet area did not look as nice as I had hoped, we had to ask for the childrens' meals, and there seemed to be a mix up with the flowers.
  • L
    Lin Married on 11/19/2010
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    I had another venue drop out on me last minute. Franklin hotel was EXTREMELY helpful and accommodating last minute and responsive to my needs! Definitely RECOMMENDED
  • L
    Laura Married on 04/30/2010
    Rating 4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our sorority's formal at the Franklin Hotel. Great service and flexibility. We definitely enjoyed our time there. Beautiful ballrooms and great food. Enjoy!