The Fox Theatre Reviews

22 | Atlanta, GA
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for The Fox Theatre

Recommended by 80%

22

4.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.3
  • Professionalism 4.1
  • Flexibility 3.6
  • Value 4.1
  • Average response time 4.0
Sort by:
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 06/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue and the people we worked with for the wedding was wonderful.

    Sent on 06/30/2015
  • F

    Fran · Married on 09/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was the perfect day at the perfect venue. I can not express how much we thoroughly enjoyed having our wedding/reception at The Fox and all of the professional people we worked with. Thanks to the beverage manager for keeping me hydrated. Thanks to Cindy Huang and Jennifer Farmer for their attention to detail in the planning process. All of you were so easy to work with and made me feel as if no one else mattered...it was MY DAY! A Special shout out to Jim, the event coordinator, who was always where he needed to be at the right time. He was amazing and made everything run so smoothly. Love you guys-thank you so much!

    Sent on 10/17/2013
  • M

    Mjurphy · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our daughter's wedding reception was held at The Fox Theatre in the Grand Salon Ballroom and Terrace last Saturday night. I was so afraid that the rain was going to ruin everything and I couldn't have been anymore wrong. The entire night so magical for the bride and groom. The Grand Salon and Terrace (we had to tent) were spectacular!!! Jim Lane of The Fox was such a professional and knew just what to do with every second.
    Growing up here in Atlanta, The Fox has always been so special to us and now is even more special.
    Our guest were so impressed with the entire evening and danced til midnight!!!!
    The marque announcing "Just Married" was the icing on the cake!!!
    Jennifer Farmer went over and beyond for us and we are very appreciative!
    I can't complain about ANYTHING!!! We had many out of town guests and they raved about the The Fox and the entire evening.
    I would change nothing about the entire night (well maybe I would have stopped the rain earlier), but it was one of the most memorable
    events in our lives.

    Sent on 09/24/2013
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 08/10/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have nothing bad to say about The Fox Theatre when it came to my wedding. A lot of the planning was able to be done via phone and email, so the trips to walk the venue were limited. Cindy was able to answer most questions quickly and offer suggestions as to what other brides had done in the past. Jim, our rehearsal and day-of person, was fantastic! The Fox accommodated our Westie Highland Terrier being in the rehearsal, wedding, and there for pre-wedding pictures. Traffic was stopped for us as we crossed the street to get there and to get back to the hotel afterward. I am extremely impressed and felt they went above and beyond. I would highly recommend them.

    Sent on 08/21/2013
  • C

    Casey · Married on 07/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our daughter's wedding was truly a night to remember! The beautiful, historic setting of the Fox Theatre was a PERFECT venue for our out of town (and many intown) guests! The staff was very professional, easy to work with, and appreciated the importance of creating a memorable night! Every detail was handled perfectly....a well oiled machine!
    The venue of the Fox also creates a special place going forwards in our daughter's Atlanta memories to share this very special place with her friends and family through time. What a great way to spend future anniversaries!
    The names on the marquee, the stopped traffic on Peachtree and the wedding kiss in the middle of the road....only added to the beautiful ambiance of this very special evening. I recommend them without reservation!!!!

    Sent on 07/26/2013
  • S

    Susan · Married on 04/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Fox was the perfect venue for my daughter's wedding and reception. It is a beautiful facility and allowed us outdoor access and to use the same overall facility for the wedding and reception using two of the rooms. The sales and services staff members were all professsional and responsive and delightful to work with. I cannot imagine a better or more fantastic venue.

    Sent on 04/10/2012
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 06/21/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Fox Theatre is the perfect reception venue! The Eygptian ballroom, Grand Salon, and Terrace are all beautiful. We were able to take some photos in the actual theatre as well and that was really special. I would highly recommend the Fox Theatre!

    Sent on 03/13/2009
  • H

    Heidi · Married on 11/18/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was the most beautiful day, and the unique setting at the Fox was a big part of that. The staff was incredibly helpful and flexible (they let me pop in on random site visits with both mothers several times). Jim Lane was an absolute gift on our wedding day and I couldn't have asked for a better event coordinator. Everything was perfect.

    Sent on 04/23/2008
  • J

    Julie · Married on 09/14/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having our wedding at the Fox Theatre. We felt that everyone one there was very responsive to all of our questions and inquiries. We got married in the Grand Salon, used the Terrace for cocktail hour, and had the reception back in the Grand Salon. We thought the location was absolutely beautiful. We had our wedding on a night where there was not a show scheduled which was very convenient but is not something that you can really control. We were not bothered at all by the wedding going on in the Egyptian ballroom which was a concern, but we truly couldn't tell they were there. The pictures you get at this venue are beautiful. We were very happy to have celebrated such a special day at this Atlanta landmark.

    Sent on 10/03/2013
  • W

    William · Married on 06/24/2017

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Fox Theatre is an Atlanta icon, and we were thrilled to have both our ceremony and reception there, using both the Grand Salon and Egyptian ballrooms. In terms of cool, unique venues, it is hard to beat the Fox--it is a glamorous art deco palace whose unique architecture lends itself to truly unforgettable photos. Nancy Lutz is the onsite coordinator for the Fox, and she is a joy to work with--a truly sweet woman who wants to make sure your wedding desires are met. We looked at the Atlanta History Center, the Botanical Gardens and the Biltmore ballrooms for our 200+ person wedding, and the Fox was comparable (if not a little more affordable) than these other peer institutions. We liked that the Fox did have some outdoor space (our cocktail reception was in the elegant outdoor terrace off of the Grand Salon), but it is the interior space where it really shines. The Georgian Terrace and Hotel Indigo were literally right across the street, making it an ideal location for a wedding like ours with many out-of-town guests. We did have Affairs to Remember cater our wedding, as they were the preferred caterer--the food was amazing, and while not cheap, it was in line with our budget. We did have to go back and forth a few times to strike the menu we wanted, but in the end, Affairs provided exactly what we desired (a nouveau Southern-inspired menu). If there are any negatives about the Fox, it is that the Open Bar packages are more expensive than average (you can't bring your own wine/spirits), and they essentially charge a penalty if you don't use Affairs to Remember for almost all your vendors (including floral design, and their preferred floral design was almost double in cost of the one we ended up using). But, despite these small faults, we loved the Fox and were delighted with our wedding day experience.

    Sent on 07/09/2017
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 07/28/2007

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We had an amazing time in the Egyptian Ballroom. Later that night, they let us sneak into the actual theatre and take pictures!

    Sent on 01/28/2008
  • S

    Shyama · Married on 05/26/2018

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Regal and historic wedding venue

    The Fox is an absolutely gorgeous and incredible place to get married. There were a number of restrictions and communication with the venue was difficult more often than not, which were the only drawbacks. Otherwise, we loved everything about our Fox theatre wedding!

    Sent on 11/06/2018
  • S

    S · Married on 07/14/2007

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Fox Theatre is a wonderful location for a wedding. The Fox Theatre staff (especially Jim Lane) were amazing on the night of my wedding, even with thunderclouds looming. They made sure everything went according to plan. I couldn't have asked for a better venue in terms of service...and then there is the venue itself. If you haven't been to the Fox Theatre, it's one of the most beautiful, historic places in Atlanta. It doesn't get more romantic than the Fox

    Sent on 12/13/2007
  • User3555601 · 2+ years ago

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a reception at The Fox Theatre recently. It was a wonderful evening and everyone had a fabulous time.
    When all was said and done, I was surprised with an extra $2300 bar bill that we were not expecting. I would definitely make sure you know what costs are involved in every way before the party. DO NOT go with consumption, do hourly bar!!!!
    Otherwise, it was a magical evening.

    Sent on 10/15/2013
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 07/09/2005

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Just an amazing place, I hardly need any decorations because the ballroom was so beautiful. You'd think they'd be really overpriced but really it wasn't too bad. Very professional, and made everything go smoothly the day of. Price includes an open bar.

    Sent on 11/12/2007
  • T

    TINA · Married on 08/20/2005

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    Our wedding was in the Grand Salon. My biggest disappointment was the noise level coming from the wedding reception in the adjacent to the Egyptian Ballroom. From the beginning (when guests began arriving) to halfway through our ceremony, music from the Egyptian Ballroom could be heard from inside the Grand Salon. Not only did this ruin our ceremony, but it was extremely embarrassing as well. And the music can even be heard on our wedding video!

    I find this particularly objectionable considering the significant fee charged for the venue. I initially had concerns about the sound coming from the other ballroom, but was reassured, that noise would not be an issue. Clearly, the sound was a problem, and the grounds on which we agreed to rent the venue were falsely represented.

    On the other hand, the quality of service was good including special events coordinator, Nikki, was very helpful, detail-oriented and patient in handling our questions. Our Fox coordinator for the wedding day, Jim, was also exceptional. He was extremely adept at managing the day so all the activities ran smoothly.

    Sent on 01/28/2011
  • A

    Michelle · Married on 04/09/2011

    2.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The Fox is a beautiful and grand location for a reception. It definitely has the WOW factor for your guests. But, if you're on a budget, beware. The Fox does not compromise on anything. There is no negotiating. If you need the room for even 15 or 30 minutes longer, they charge you. They actually charge you for every little thing. The bar is the worst. The prices are just as expensive as if you were going to a bar in Atlanta. No bulk discounts. This seems unreasonable to me.
    The day-of contact though was wonderful. He was cheery and ready to accommodate. I am not saying The Fox isn't worth it. It was a beautiful day. So, if you really want it, do it. But just know that the staff there is not easy or pleasant to work with. The day-of contact we had was the only nice person we met in a year.

    Sent on 05/10/2011
  • M

    Morgan · Married on 02/23/2019

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Difficult to Work With but An Iconic Venue

    Unfortunately the Fox Theatre was the most difficult vendor to work with while planning my wedding. This iconic venue is a beautiful location that was so fun to have as our reception location. During the planning process, it took on average two weeks to receive email responses, and 10 days prior to the wedding we were still waiting on answers to multiple open questions. During the wedding reception, the staff was extremely kind and willing to help, although they did not execute on everything discussed prior to the wedding. I would recommend this venue to to couples who are looking for a beautiful and iconic Atlanta wedding venue, but only if they have a detailed coordinating team that can help work with The Fox team.

    Sent on 04/05/2019
  • A

    Anna · Married on 10/13/2007

    2.0
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Not easy to work with, overpriced. We had the Egyptian Ballroom, which was BEAUTIFUL. The charm of having the reception at the Fox Theatre was unforgettable...as was the way they treated us. I guess that is the trade-off!

    Sent on 06/15/2008
  • L

    Laura · Married on 05/05/2018

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Horrible communicators

    The Fox Theatre name conjures up the idea of the best there is, so one would expect professional, top-notch staff to help through the process of working out all the details in planning a wedding reception. Our experience was the complete opposite. Communicating with our liaison was very difficult, as it took her weeks to respond. When she finally did get back to us, generally only one or two of our multiple questions were answered. And so the question-asking process would begin again. It was painstaking and frustrating, to say the least. This went on for weeks and weeks before the event, concerning simple issues that should have been resolved one to two months out. We were still trying to get answers and clarification a week before the wedding! Most disappointing, however, were the multiple commitments made to us that never materialized. Our poor wedding planner was in a panic hours before the reception trying to source substitutions for what the Fox had committed to supply. Despite all this, none of our frustrations and disappointments dampened the experience of the event and our guests were treated to a memorable evening. The Fox staff who worked the event were top-notch and, of course, the venue itself was one-of-a-kind and wonderful. Should you choose the Fox for your wedding venue, start early on working out the details, be persistent, stay strong, and get a thick skin. And hire a wedding planner who will do the same.

    Sent on 04/29/2019

    The Fox Theatre's reply:

    Dear Laura,

    We appreciate the feedback on your daughter’s wedding planning process and we sincerely apologize for giving you and your daughter such an atypical experience. That’s certainly not how we operate—we know how special the Fox Theatre is and we love to create magical, memorable events.

    We’re grateful and delighted that Morgan and you loved the venue and the service provided on her wedding day. It is indeed a a one-of-a kind magical place. We hope that we may be of service to you and your family in the near future.

    All the best,

    Nancy Lutz
    Director of Special Events
    AFFAIRS at The Fox
  • M

    Matthew · Married on 07/19/2008

    1.6
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    The Fox Theatre. Impressive Atlanta landmark from the outside. Disasterously unprofessional private event booking staff on the inside. We'll call the staff members Nennifer and Jikki.

    The biggest issue of our affair was the fact that they totally screwed us over on the rehearsal. We'd booked both ballrooms for the Saturday evening ceremony and reception. They promised that they'd set the ceremony ballroom up for us on Friday to rehearse in at the start of the whole fiasco; nine months prior or so. A month or so prior to the event they called and said they needed to move us to the reception ballroom for the rehearsal instead because of a "Fox event". They offered a $250.00 concession and waived the marquee fee. Whoopteedoo. When we showed up the night of the rehearsal, they'd booked that room for an event as well, failed to tell us about it, and also failed to even tell their own employee that was our Fox staff wedding event coordinator. There were vendors setting up tables, rolling in decorations for another event, and preparing the room for that evening's event. No one from the event booking staff was to be found except for the assistant to an assistant with no clue as to why we were even there. Totally unprofessional.

    Mind you the traffic was terrible that Friday evening due to the paving project on the downtown connector and some members of the wedding party were mildly tardy as a result, but nonetheless that's not really the point here. If you commit to something, don't back out on it and not tell anyone; especially the poor guy you've setup as the scapegoat, our Fox staff wedding event coordinator. BTW, he rocked.

    I understand the need for a non-profit to book as many cash-generating events as possible, but a little notice and professional handling of a situation results in less confusion and frustration on the part of the "little guys" like us. The actual event on Saturday went well, but the cake didn't taste right because of the foul taste left in my mouth from the night prior.

    I must say the actual folks from the Fox that were there to pull off the event were professional and beyond reproach. They definitely made up for the shortcomings of a few.

    Sent on 08/27/2008

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review