Weddings

The Fig House Reviews

The Fig House View more information

13 Reviews

Rated
4.3
out of 5.0
Recommended by 86% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.2 out of 5

Awards

  • 13

18 User photos

Sort by:
  • ViVi
    Vividvash Married on 10/19/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We Love The Fig House

    Where do I begin? The Fig House is a beautiful venue. The garden is breathtaking and makes you want to stay alll day.
    The venue comes with all the furniture you need and it's trendy! This is a great venue for brides that want something different. We had a "vide" for every area and it met the needs of all guests in attendance. The food is amazing and so are the drinks. The staff is super supportive and helpful. They just made all the stress of wedding planning easier.

    We worked with Shauna and she was always attentive and helpful! She was responsive to all my questions and always so patient. The service the day of our wedding was phenomenal as well. Worth every penny! For one day, I felt like we weren't in a pandemic. We were with all our close family and friends...and it was a dream come true.
  • R
    Ryan N. Married on 07/16/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Have your wedding at The Fig House

    We had our wedding on July 16, 2021 at The Fig House (TFH).

    TFH is an oasis in Los Angeles. Upon entering the property, you are immediately greeted by the lush hedges and greenery that make the perfect backdrop for a wedding ceremony. We fell in love with the courtyard because of the decorative flooring and romantic landscaping where we had our wedding ceremony right under the pepper tree. With all the plentiful landscaping, you do not need much to decorate for your event. The property also features an indoor space that we used for our wedding reception with slider doors that creates an indoor-outdoor atmosphere for cocktail hour. We were also drawn to the stained-glass motif since it fit perfectly with the vision of our wedding.

    While TFH has great bones, the highlight of the experience is the friendly and experienced staff who guided and assisted us throughout the process, especially during the pandemic. Shauna is a great event coordinator who was responsive, professional, and accommodating. We also highly recommend TFH’s in-house wedding coordinator. Lydia was organized, always on top of things, and in constant communication with all our wedding vendors to ensure everything went smoothly and according to schedule on our wedding day.

    Another highlight of TFH was the food and drinks provided by roomforty and Pharmacie, the in-house food and beverage caterers. When we reminisce with our wedding guests, they still fondly remember the food, crafted cocktails, and the meal presentation. We had four-star restaurant quality food and not the usual catering fare. Ask for the menu because they are more than happy to cater to the needs of your event and palate and there is something for everyone. The cocktails were reminiscent of what you would get at a speakeasy and the beverages were meticulously crafted to our liking.

    We wish we could celebrate our special day again, so we could celebrate once more at TFH.
  • Sarah
    Sarah A. Married on 10/18/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Hidden gem, artsy and Cali-chic

    The tree-lined courtyard, bookended by olive and peppercorn trees, at the Fig House is such a magical space. We loved the eclectic boho accents, art-deco detailing, romantic lounge furniture... what a fun venue. Not to mention the food (RoomForty) and drinks (Pharmacie) were killer. The venue is not cheap, but worth it for such a nice hidden gem on the east side of LA. I only wish the standard event time was a bit longer. Our set-up and break-down time was a little rushed/frantic... if I could change anything, it would have added an additional couple hours to our timeline (which of course means extra cost...). Darling venue, wonderful wait staff and bartenders, all the food was delicious as well as beautifully presented. Very high-quality service on the day-of. I think there could have been more one-on-one planning meetings and attention to detail during the planning process to avoid any last-minute surprises! But otherwise a 10/10!
  • J
    Jodi Married on 04/08/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My wedding at the Fig House was absolutely perfect. SueJean & Katie were fantastic at offering suggestions & having things run smooth the day of. Planning with them was so much fun, it felt like my friend's were helping me with my wedding. The Fig House in general has a fantastic vibe & the venue itself offers so much personality, you only need to add a few elements to truly make it your own. It was the perfect place for our special day & I think all of our guests were wowed by the place.
  • K
    Katrina Married on 11/15/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    So in love with this place! If you want a unique, chic, and modern wedding definitely go with the fig house. Scratch that! the venue is so versatile you can make it look anything you want it to. The biggest plus for us was that all the beautiful furniture comes with the place and we didn't have to rent. The place is so beautiful, a true representation of LA.
  • J
    Jean Married on 08/23/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Fig House is a gorgeous and classy venue tucked away in Highland Park in a very non-descript location but once you enter the gate, it’s like you’re transported into a different world. The décor and art pieces are stunning and everything is truly beautifully styled, from the bridal room to the man cave to the indoor reception area to the outdoor garden. The photos of the venue that we got back from our photographer look amazing. One big plus for us was that the venue provides beautiful wood tables and chairs, so we didn’t have to rent any from a rental company. The venue manager Allison, who we worked very closely with for months, is a star! She’s very responsive, held open houses for booked clients to answer all of our questions, and was there on the day of my wedding, making sure everything was flowing smoothly with the site. We’re so happy we booked this venue for our special day!
  • Marianna
    Marianna J. Married on 04/24/2021
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Gorgeous, chic, boho wedding venue!

    We had our wedding recently at the Fig House and it was a dream come true. The venue itself is stunning - they have an amazing courtyard that was perfect for the ceremony space, and we ended up doing most of the reception outside as well due to covid. It was gorgeous - our guests were blown away! The decor and aesthetic was perfection. Working with them was great too, and they were pretty flexible in helping us respond/downsize due to covid. It's a pricey venue, but we thought it was worth it because the food was incredibly high quality and the venue was gorgeous (plus it's in LA, so the cost matches the market). You can't go wrong with having a wedding or event here!
  • S
    Stephen Married on 07/15/2017
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I am extremely happy to have had my wedding here. The venue is amazing, the people are amazing, the evening and night was truly magical. I can not say enough how important it was to me that the ceremony, cocktail hour, dinner and dancing were all contained in such a diverse space and kept the party going the entire time. It was so nice to be able have all of my guests in one place and have them feel pampered and taken care of.
  • S
    Susannah Married on 01/30/2016
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    We absolutely fell in love with Fig House when we first saw it and were never disappointed. In fact, it was the best value of venue that we looked at in Los Angeles. The cost includes beautiful and versatile wooden tables and chairs (a rarity among LA venues), and we did not even need linens since the wood is beautiful. The space is incredibly decorated with art deco style and unique furniture pieces. Best of all, the art is beautiful and is curated semi-annually so each event has a unique look. Our florist even took inspiration from the paintings in designing the florals. Allison and Noel were very responsive and helpful throughout the process and made sure everything was on point on the day of. We DJd our own wedding on Spotify and the venue was incredibly helpful in making sure the audio system worked flawlessly and we could switch between the mikes and the music. We got consistent compliments from our guests about how beautiful and quirky the space is. And don't forget to use the man cave...it is a hidden gem! Thank you Fig House for making our wedding exactly what we dreamed of, we would recommend the space to anyone.
  • S
    Sarah Married on 03/07/2018
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    Have to say this venue is great for LA the hall is nice the grand entry and the common patio area. The hard part comes if you opt out of room forty catering. The cost and their treating of your caterer earns them the lower rating.
  • T
    Tiffany Married on 03/17/2018
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    If you want a unique, colorful venue, you really can't go wrong with The Fig House! As soon as I saw it online I knew I had to get married there and reached out for cost info before we were even engaged. The space is adorable, the perfect size, and I love all of the furniture and rugs you can use however you want. Communication isn't the best, but ultimately, we got everything we could have hoped for in a venue and loved our wedding!
  • Corinne
    Corinne S. Married on 05/26/2018
    Rating 1.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Wedding, Terrible Experience Afterwards

    My husband and I got married at The Fig House this past May, and although our wedding day was lovely, the aftermath we had to deal with was horrendous.

    We had a beautiful time on our big day, but the week after our wedding once we returned from our honeymoon we had realized a few of our gifts (cards with cash and checks written to cash) were stolen from the property. After a long back and forth with the Fig House Director of Operations (about four months), we requested that we get reimbursed for the money that was stolen on our wedding day. We were met with a long winded email back about how they were not liable, asking if we had "accused her [our wedding coordinator] of stealing your gifts", and stating that "We don't have enough information to determine whether there was a theft at your wedding."

    This note back was disheartening for more reasons than one. We had given all the information we had regarding the cards that went missing on their property, we had done our due diligence with reaching out to the banks that the checks were from, we dug into details of the day with our wedding coordinator, and among many other tasks we had requested that The Fig House share their security footage - which they were slow respond on. The Fig House's coordinator, SueJean was great upfront as we were planning our wedding, but once it was over and we had started asking questions, the team went pretty silent on us for a while. This meant constant follow up emails and calls to get a simple response.

    Please note that security on the night of your event is required by the venue, so we were even more disappointed to hear that they were unable to protect our items with this mandatory cost/resource in place. They also flagged that "[Their] insurance carrier does not cover loss of personal property nor does The Fig House." We were asking to be repaid for less than 8% of what we had paid for the venue, but they were not compliant.

    The Fig House failed to provide a holistic, positive experience for us and for that I wouldn't recommend this venue to anyone else. Our guests, friends, and family are all aware of the incident and equally aligned with not using this venue in the future. I'm writing this review as a forewarning to anyone that may want to book here. Again, we had a beautiful wedding, but the aftermath we had to deal with was not worth it.
  • B
    Barbara R. Married on 01/10/2020
    Rating 1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Cruel and Unaccommodating with Covid Postponements

    My daughter is supposed to get married at Fig House in the fall and they are hold her hostage. They will not commit to letting anyone postpone until 60 days out from the event, and that's not even a guarantee. At that time they will asses whether or not she is allowed to cancel based on social distancing guidelines. They are being very rude, hard to get on the phone, purposefully vague, and have told her that they can keep all her money (including additional payments she made in good faith beyond the minimum 50% deposit) and do nothing in return. Her wedding planners say that Fig House has the worst covid policy of any vendor they have encountered.
    We just want to make sure our family is safe, and postpone for a later date, but they won't even work with her on this. Fig House doesn't seem to care about the safety of their community, or feel any obligation to their clients. Really heartbreaking in these difficult times.