The Felt Mansion Reviews

22 | Holland, MI
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for The Felt Mansion

Recommended by 90%

22

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.6

16 User photos

The Felt Mansion 1
The Felt Mansion 2
The Felt Mansion 3
The Felt Mansion 4
The Felt Mansion 5
The Felt Mansion 6
The Felt Mansion 7
+ 10
Sort by:
  • M

    Monica Hazel · Married on 05/17/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Enchanting

    Prepare to be enchanted! We had a magical wedding at The Felt Estate. The property is immaculate, sprawling with natural beauty and meticulously groomed grounds. The beautiful and expansive mansion is welcoming for all guests to enjoy and explore. But, the best part...our event went off without a hitch all in part to the amazing support of Holden and Derrick, the estate’s coordinators. I have never experienced such proactive support and guidance from a venue. Their passion for the venue brought out all the best and I could never thank them enough for keeping everyone where they needed to be and everything planned perfectly.

    Sent on 06/01/2019
    The Felt Mansion 12
    The Felt Mansion 13
    The Felt Mansion 14
    The Felt Mansion 15

    The Felt Mansion's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words! It was wonderful having you and your guests at the estate. We can’t wait to see the rest of the photos!
  • A

    Amber Hamming · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hamming Wedding

    They were sensational! I lost my venue a month before my wedding and THEY CONTACTED ME! We toured the grounds in full amazement and our wedding was more than we could ever dream of! They made it stressfree!

    Sent on 12/07/2018

    The Felt Mansion's reply:

    We are so glad we were able help! It was wonderful working with you. Here’s to the two of you and a long, happy life together!
  • J

    Julia · Married on 06/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Choice for Our Wedding Day

    The Felt Mansion was the perfect choice for our wedding. The venue and grounds are beautiful, and the staff was a pleasure to deal with. It rained on the day of our wedding, so we did not get to have our ceremony outside the chapel, but because Felt has so many options it went off without a hitch. We would get married there again if we could!

    Sent on 12/07/2018

    The Felt Mansion's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words Julia! We would love to have you back again - 10 year vow renewal perhaps? Best wishes!
  • M

    Megan · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at The Felt Mansion in September 2017. The grounds and the mansion itself are gorgeous and the perfect backdrop for a wedding. We chose to have our ceremony at the water garden which was beautiful. We received tons of compliments on the venue.
    This isn't an all-inclusive venue so be prepared to bring in vendors for food, bar, linens, etc. Felt does provide tables, chairs, and a tent (though you have to pay extra for them). We hired a day-of coordinator to coordinate all our vendors, which was very helpful. There are Felt staff on site for the day of the event, but they don't serve as planners or coordinators, so I'd recommend hiring someone if you don't want to handle vendors yourself.
    We had access to the entire grounds which was great for pictures, cocktail hour, lawn games, etc. And people loved exploring the mansion (though watch out for ghosts). We didn't need a lot of decor or flowers either since it's already so beautiful.

    Sent on 10/09/2017
    The Felt Mansion 16
    The Felt Mansion 17
    The Felt Mansion 18
  • L

    Lis · Married on 07/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Felt Mansion made our wedding dreams come true. It was such a unique space, our guests loved exploring during our cocktail hour. If you want to have a dreamy, beautiful, jaw dropping wedding this is your venue. We had our ceremony on the steps of the cute little chapel on the grounds and moved from there right to cocktail hour spread out on the two patios of the main house. Our reception was held in the permanent tent on the back lawn. They recently laid concrete inside the tent and it made a world of difference. It looks so clean, light and sharp, its the perfect canvas for any kind of creative decor you can dream up. We couldn't be happier with our experience with the staff at the mansion. We planned our wedding from Denver, and they were quick to answer any questions that came up along the way and helped us figure out a lot of logistics. We couldn't be happier that we chose this for our venue, it was truly unforgettable!

    Sent on 08/01/2017
  • Kory

    Kory · Married on 10/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved this venue! It was gorgeous and the coordinators knew exactly what they were doing! Highly recommended!

    Sent on 10/19/2016
  • User6356081 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Staci is so helpful with any questions that arise through the wedding planning process. She always responds within 24 hours to phone calls if she is out of the office but she is usually very easy to get in contact with. She always gives us free passes to show our friends, family and vendors around the venue.

    Sent on 05/08/2016
  • User3498477 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great staff, private, gorgeous grounds.

    Sent on 08/29/2013
  • T

    Tiffany · Married on 09/18/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was the perfect place to have our wedding reception! The grounds were beautiful and there is so much charm and character at the Felt Mansion! The people at the Felt were wonderful to work with and very professional. You should check this place out!

    Sent on 04/12/2012
  • M

    Megan · Married on 02/23/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff at the Felt Mansion were incredibly professional and easy to work with. They were a great help with finding vendors and helping to direct activities the day of the ceremony. The mansion itself has great character, speaks volumes of history, and is simply beautiful.

    Sent on 11/16/2008
  • D

    Dana Lewis · Married on 07/14/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Wedding

    Most of our guests came from out of town and every single person loved the fact that we held our ceremony and reception at the Felt Mansion.The staff was amazing and our wedding went so smoothly and wonderfully. Thank you!!

    Sent on 01/08/2019

    The Felt Mansion's reply:

    Thank you! We are so glad you and your guests loved the estate and enjoyed their time here. Best wishes!
  • User6883486 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful, private location. Lots of great indoor and outdoor options for ceremony and reception.

    Sent on 09/27/2016
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 09/30/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved having our wedding at Felt! We were outside at the Carriage House and couldn't be happier with the decision to have it there. Staci was our contact person in the planning process and her team that was there the day of was incredible as well. The planning process was easy. Receptiveness was great and speedy. The venue is beautiful and the grounds were exactly what we wanted. I'd recommend this venue to anyone that wants a rustic and outdoor vibe!

    Sent on 11/06/2017
    The Felt Mansion 19
    The Felt Mansion 20
    The Felt Mansion 21
    The Felt Mansion 22
    The Felt Mansion 23
  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 06/30/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The Felt Estate was a beautiful location for our wedding reception. Most of the staff were helpful and responsive, however, there was some miscommunication between the staff the day of our event and our rental company regarding access to the mansion. That minor misstep aside, the Felt provided a beautiful venue for our wedding and the staff were great to work with.

    Sent on 07/10/2012
  • K

    Rachel · Married on 08/08/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Felt Mansion next to the Saugatuck State Park was the perfect place for a wedding. The price may seem a little high but it is well worth the cost. The most difficult part was only having the facility for 12 hours including set up, wedding, reception, and tear down. But...with a reasonable amount of planning, it can be done! I would highly recommend The Felt Mansion.

    Sent on 08/18/2008
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 07/29/2017

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    For what we wanted, Felt Mansion was unbeatable. We got to rent the place for a full 11 hours, which gave us total control over the timeline for the day. We were able to have two cocktail hours, one before the ceremony and one after. The ceremony was right on site at the lovely chapel, and reception a short walk away in the tent. Guests got to wander around the house, take photos in the water garden, play yard games, and sit on the patio. I honestly think everyone had just as wonderful a night as we did, as the place is kind of a choose-your-own-adventure, all amidst a gorgeous setting. The team was responsive throughout the year, with just some day-of hiccups that were fixed promptly. Really - when I look at the photos it's breathtaking. Perfect setting for our perfect day.

    Sent on 08/06/2017
  • User3456093 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This location is incredible. I am SO happy that I chose to have my wedding and reception at the Felt. It was beautiful, elegant and unique. Everyone absolutely loved it too--it was so so perfect with our theme. Staci, the coordinator, was a great help and good about answering emails. The person on site the day of was also helpful when our caterer hadn't shown up with the linens yet.

    Sent on 08/10/2013
  • D

    Tara · Married on 08/23/2008

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Felt Estate was a beautiful location for our reception. The grounds and house were well kept and we were very pleased. We were assigned an event planner to work with during the planning process, she was great. However, when we sat down to finish the details of the table arrangements we were told that another woman would be working our wedding. This became a problem because our seating arrangement and table arrangement information never got passed on the woman who was working the night of our wedding. This caused a lot of last minute headaches for everyone and we were rushing around trying to fit everyone in to a tighter space than we had arranged. For the rental cost, I think that they should allow more time for set up. Overall, we were happy with the space and how the reception turned out. All of our guests remarked on how beautiful the Felt Estate was.

    Sent on 11/04/2008
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 06/23/2007

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    The Felt Mansion is a beautiful place to have your wedding or reception. However, in my particular opinion, they were much more expensive than initially. From the time I booked my wedding there and the time that I actually got married, their rental rates had doubled...along with my price. I wasn't too happy. Also, they do not have enough rental supplies. If you ask me...if someone is going to rent a wedding "hall" they should have all the tables and chairs you need included in the price.

    Also, there was no one present during the wedding...except at 12:00 after the wedding to do a "final" walkthrough to make sure nothing was broken in the mansion. But when my caterers had questions on where things were....no one was to be found.

    Sent on 05/06/2008
  • User4885049 · 2+ years ago

    2.4
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    We contacted the Estate to see if we could shoot our engagement photos on location and I was shocked at how we were treated. The booking lady was very rude and snotty. They required $100 just to be put on the calendar for a photo shoot! I can't imagine having our reception here after the way we were treated. We decided to take our $100 and 50 thousand more to a place where people didn't look down their nose at us.

    Sent on 05/29/2015
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 03/25/2017

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    The Felt Estate is a beautiful venue for an intimate wedding. Our guests loved being able to roam the house during the reception. The property is a bit worn but it adds to the casual feel of the venue. We also loved that we were contributing to the preservation of the building. The chairs that they have available with the space are very dated and worn. Chair rentals ended up being a substantial part of our overall cost.

    Unfortunately the current staff is unprofessional and caused unnecessary stress during our big day. They were unresponsive with us and our venders leading up to our event. They also poorly advised us to locate our musicians back in a corner where no one could hear them. Two days before our wedding the rental company called to inform me that there would be an extra $500 pick-up fee because there was another wedding the next day that had been coordinated Felt Estate. The worst part of the staff were the onsite coordinators the day of our wedding. They appear to be two high school kids that locked themselves in a office the whole time. The heat was on way too high when we arrived to the venue and they were nowhere to be found to adjust the temperature. At the end of the night we were worried that we were leaving he venue unlocked because the Felt Estate staff was nowhere to be found.

    Sent on 05/14/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review