The Events Department Reviews

24 | Palm Desert, CA
See photos, pricing and details

24 Reviews for The Events Department

Recommended by 100%

24
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • R

    rachel · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely amazing!

    My husband and I got married at the O'Donnell house in Palm Springs and we had Lisa as our day-of coordinator. She was SO much more than a day-of coordinator to us though! Lisa was so helpful, responsive, caring and organized. I was unsure how everything just 'comes together' but trusted that Lisa had everything under control and she sure did! The wedding turned out PERFECT and I owe much of the success to Lisa. HIGHLY recommend :)

    Sent on 10/27/2018
  • M

    MacKenzie · Married on 03/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lisa & Laurie are absolutely fantastic! We had our wedding at the ODonnell House in Palm Springs on 3/17 and are still beaming from our perfect day. Lisa was always available to email, text or talk on the phone whenever I had questions or concerns. She was our rock through this whole process! Our day couldn't have been more dreamy, she handled every detail to make sure our wedding was sheer perfection. I've cried a few times because its over! The Events Department will take care of you to the fullest. I cannot thank them (and especially Lisa and her assistant Bridgette) for their incredible service and passion. I will miss working with Lisa daily. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts <3

    Sent on 03/20/2018
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 12/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with The Events Department for our wedding at Smoke Tree Ranch and we could not be more thrilled with the experience. We were lucky enough to work with Laurie through the entire process, starting 8 months before our wedding. From start to finish, Laurie went above and beyond to answer every question and put our minds at ease. Laurie and her team know the Palm Springs area so well and were able to help us out with recommendations for everything from donuts to a last minute tailor. The weekend of the wedding was a dream. Laurie and her team were organized, professional and a calming presence. Many of our guests even commented that it was one of the most seamless and enjoyable weddings they've attended. If you're getting married in Palm Springs, work with The Events Department!

    Sent on 02/27/2018
  • C

    Chloe · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with The Events Department for our wedding at the O'Donnell House earlier this month, and we're so pleased with the experience. Leading up to the day, Laurie and team were extremely responsive when I had questions about possible vendors and venue details. Lisa was our day-of coordinator, and she was so organized and on top of everything. I had utmost confidence in her and knew that she would make our wedding day flow smoothly, which it did! Thanks for making our day stress-free for us!

    Sent on 10/31/2017
  • D

    Denise · Married on 02/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are getting married in Palm Springs hire the Events Department! Laurie Lund helped us create a wedding that was more wonderful than we ever could have imagined. She recommended vendors all of whom we absolutely loved, she was extremely responsive throughout the entire planning process, and saw to it that our big day was perfect.

    We had a few communication issues with our reception site along the way and Laurie quickly responded and resolved the issue.

    Laurie is professional, friendly, and extremely knowledgeable about all things Palm Springs. If you want a stress free wedding day hire Laurie to coordinate your wedding.

    Lisa was also involved in "day of" coordinating. She is great and kept everything running smoothly and saw to it that everything was cleaned up and organized for us after the reception.

    Sent on 03/21/2015
  • M

    Meagan · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Events Department, specifically Lisa, is what made our big day what it was. We could do not have had the great time that we did without Lisa to help us get it all lined up, put everything together, and most importantly, keep it all together.

    Words cannot explain how awesome Lisa and her team was and how important they were to making sure the day was great. Thank you, Lisa - Sean and Meagan

    Sent on 01/06/2015
  • J

    Joni · Married on 04/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a destination wedding and I don't think we could have pulled it off without Laurie's vendor suggestions, recommendations, and guidance. She immediately got our vision and provided helpful tips to help us turn it into a reality.

    During the planning stages she helped us outline the things we would need and also showed us places where we could save money and still provide our guests a truly memorable weekend. Although, we did the majority of our planning remotely we never felt like we were out of the loop.

    The day of our wedding Laurie and her team were like ninjas: getting everything done behind the scenes, while remaining completely invisible to our guests. They made sure we were never bothered with any details of the day, leaving us to truly enjoy our wedding day. We can't thank Laurie and her team enough for all they did for us and how they were instrumental in turning a potentially stressful time into one that we look back on with great joy. In short, The Events Department are true professionals committed to helping you have the wedding of your dreams from planning to implementation.

    Sent on 08/16/2014
  • J

    J · Married on 12/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I honestly am remiss for not posting this sooner now that I am back in the throws of reality. I cannot say enough about Laurie Lund and her team. They are THE reason I had the most magical, perfect wedding day. She gave me the best gift you can give a bride: a perfect wedding day that she can enjoy without worry because she did not know a thing if anything went wrong. Not only was she professional, funny, honest, and practical through this process, she and her entire team made this wedding planning thing seem easy (which it is not). I cannot tell you how many compliments we received on our wedding: how fun it was and how beautiful it was and how much it reflect me and my husband...that it is because of Laurie Lund and her and her team's hard work and dedication. I would refer her to anyone planning a wedding in Palm Springs. She is the best and has been around the longest. You would be lucky to land her as your planner!

    Sent on 02/13/2014
  • T

    Todd · Married on 05/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie and her team. Amazing, amazing, amazing! My wife and I planned a wedding in Indio Ca. and Laurie came recommended from the property manager where we were having the wedding. We couldn't be more pleased with Laurie and her team. From the very first conversation with Laurie, we felt taken care of. She and her team were always available to answer any and all questions we had. Laurie made sure we were always on schedule with all of the details for the wedding. We are so happy to have met Laurie and her team and have them be a huge part of our successful wedding that went off without a hitch. Thank you so much Laurie!

    Sent on 06/21/2013
  • C

    Celia · Married on 03/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If I could give Laurie Lund and her team at The Events Department 10 stars out of 5, instead of just 5 out of 5, I would! Laurie worked extremely hard at ensuring that every detail of our wedding was well thought out and, as a result, our wedding day was perfect in every way. Everyone said that I was a very relaxed bride, but one of the main reasons for that was that I had complete confidence in Laurie. Our was a destination wedding, and Laurie made sure that each of our planning trips to Palm Springs was used effectively, such that we got lots done on every trip. She also recommended top-notch vendors who clearly respect her immensely. Laurie also went the extra mile by providing recommendations and assistance with other wedding week activities like our welcome cocktail reception and my husband's bachelor lunch.

    Thank you again, Laurie!

    Sent on 05/11/2013
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 10/06/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you're even considering hiring a wedding coordinator, I strongly recommend the Events Department. The entire team is professional, warm and a joy to work with.

    My husband and I loved every minute of our wedding and was thanks to Laurie and her team. The took care of all the details and created the exact experience we had envisioned for our special day.

    Sent on 10/26/2012
  • User2701480 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laure of Events Department is the main reason why we feel our daughter's wedding was everything we could have imagined. Thank you Laurie! You helped us settle on the best possible venue; you coordinated countless details for us; you gently pushed us to get things done; and, you worked with us through a crisis that threatened to derail the entire wedding. You did all of this with style and grace. We could not have asked for a more professional event planner. Your patience, expertise, availability and warmth meant a great deal to us. You were the perfect consultant, mentor, crisis manager and friend. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts! You were wonderful to work with and we credit you with making our daughter's wedding an memory that we will forever treasure.

    Sent on 10/15/2012
  • Kristen

    Kristen · Married on 09/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie Lund, Lisa, and Chris are an amazing team!! Our wedding went off without a hitch. All requests were fulfilled promptly and completely. The guests at our wedding were amazed with how well the event was organized and how well it flowed....seamlessly!!! We couldn't have asked for a more professional, thorough, talented, and experienced event coordinator!!!

    Sent on 10/02/2012
  • A

    Amy · Married on 04/28/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    To say Laurie Lund was an exceptional wedding coordinator is an understatement! She helped us plan a destination wedding that was, by our guests reviews, the best wedding ever!!! From day one, she guided us in selecting all the best vendors and planning all the details to create a flawless event. We couldn't be happier with the outcome!

    Sent on 05/03/2012
  • lindsay

    lindsay · Married on 04/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie Lund and her team are the most hard working group I've ever seen. She was the most patient wedding planner, knew the ins and outs of all of her vendors, the venue we got married and answered our zillions of questions within 24 hours, if not sooner! They gave me and my hubby the PERFECT wedding and I wouldn't be such a calm bride without her!

    Sent on 04/28/2012
  • P

    Ali · Married on 11/05/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie and her team were beyond amazing from day one. We decided to use Her after she did such an amazing job with my sisters wedding years ago. Our wedding day went so smoothly, and even if there was a problem, we never knew of it! I urge any couple to hire Laurie if you want the best service available!!! You'll only be sorry if you don't!

    Sent on 02/16/2012
  • A

    Abigail · Married on 04/09/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie is the most magical, wonderful, thoughtful planner any bride could ask for. She was the first and best wedding vendor decision my husband and I made. Early on I was worried that we couldn't afford her highly recommended services, but Laurie worked with us and our budget to make it work. Let me tell you, her services, skills, and piece-of-mind well paid for themselves triple-fold.

    We hired Laurie and her Events Department team for Day-of-Coordination, but she was not concerned with only sticking to the terms of our contract. Any time I had a question or concern she was easily available by phone or email. That is very impressive for our planning process was over a year long!

    Someone (possibly Laurie) once told me that its a wedding coordinator's job to save you the amount of money the coordinator is charging you. That she easily did, but how do you put a dollar amount on time? Laurie is THE Palm Springs Expert, and her expert advice on vendors, supplies, and locations was a huge time-saver. She is very professional but also has the sweetest personality such that is hard not to become close friends by the time the big day finally arrives.

    Despite my OCD planning, our big day arrived with a handful of challenges, most importantly some uncooperative weather. Laurie guided us through last minute decisions all while keeping me calm. Vendors arrived and set up under her direction without me even noticing. We could not have pulled off a wedding at the Cree Estate without her. I am forever grateful for all her work, advice, and kindness....

    Sent on 06/22/2011
  • J

    JAN · Married on 05/08/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As the mother of the bride who fancies herself as a "can do" type of person, I was skeptical that we needed a wedding coordinator. My daughter felt this was necessary, and I went along with it. After having experienced the wedding day, I can honestly say we could not have pulled this off without Laurie Lund's assistance. She was invaluable in attending to details no one else had time for, pitching in when the wind started to blow, knowing how to pin a buttonierre on, and doing all with a smile. Although we got our own venue, band, florist, etc., whenever we needed a referral, Laurie had several names to offer, and her referrals turned out to be first rate. I know I was not the only member of our family who appreciated Laurie's help, as my husband wrote her a personal thank you the day after the wedding, with absolutely no prompting from me. When all was said and done, my daughter sent me a note telling me all of the things that I had suggested that turned out to be "spot on", I sent her a note back giving her a list of things that she had been right about.. hiring Laurie Lund and The Events Department was at the top of that list.

    Sent on 06/03/2010
  • R

    Jennifer · Married on 05/08/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie and her team was amazing. She was responsive, flexible, efficient and made me feel at ease even when the band had a technical issue and had to ship in new equipment during the reception.

    My mother who was a skeptic of having a wedding planner told me that one of the things I was right about was hiring Lori. I would highly recommend her to anyone having a wedding in the Palm Springs area. She will make your day.

    Sent on 06/09/2010
  • C

    Lena · Married on 05/01/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie is simply the best! I had a destination wedding in May 2010 and from the moment I met with her I knew I was in good hands. Not only does she have great taste, her professionalism and expertise were very apparent throughout my wedding planning experience. All the vendors that knew her prior to my wedding raved about her work ethic and those that didn't wanted to work with her again in the future. She really put me at ease the entire weekend knowing I had her behind the scenes. I had a complicated family dynamic and she handled it like a true pro...if you want the best Laurie is your girl. I highly recommend and would only suggest using the Events Department for your big day!

    Sent on 06/15/2010
  • G

    Gloria · Married on 03/21/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie is a true professional. As mother of the groom, I was made to feel valued and appreciated throughout the process and particularly the wedding day. I highly recommend Laurie for your wedding. You can rest assured she will cover every detail and then some.

    Sent on 06/02/2010
  • H

    Howard · Married on 10/25/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Events Department was hired to help plan our daughter's wedding which was a destination wedding. They were incredible. They started by giving us the right vendors to making sure each vendor provided the best service. They made sure the wedding ran smoothly. They also provided the much needed mental help to my daughter and wife who were stressed out. If we would have known how good they were, it would have saved me a lot of aggravation, medication and booze for the two of them.
    They are experts in the field and treat you not as a customer but as a friend or better yet as family.

    Sent on 02/05/2010
  • R

    Ruth · Married on 05/04/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie was beyond amazing!!! I can't say enough about her. We had a very difficult wedding to plan, and Laurie handled it very professionally and with such ease, and took all the stress away! She was always available with great ideas and was always accessible, and was an absolute pleasure to work with. I highly reccommend her!!!!

    Sent on 03/13/2010
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 10/07/2000

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie Lund, the principal owner of The Events Department is the most outstanding professional in her field with whom we have ever worked with in creating a wedding. She responded immediately to all of our questions for our wedding at The O'Donnell House in Palm Springs, and accommodated our needs with every change from our initial plans.
    Laurie was present the entire day of setting up and taking charge of the various additional venders who were involved in the event. It was a challenging location. She did not miss a detail during the event as well as the followup. It was an extremely successful wedding and we have done many. We would highly recommend Laurie to create your wedding or any other special celebration!
    Elizabeth & Marsha from Marrying Later in Life.

    Sent on 10/24/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review