The Engagements Reviews

67 | New York, NY
See photos, pricing and details

67 Reviews for The Engagements

Recommended by 100%

67
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

9 User photos

The Engagements 1
The Engagements 2
The Engagements 3
The Engagements 4
The Engagements 5
The Engagements 6
The Engagements 7
+ 3
Sort by:
  • R

    Ryan Goldberg · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Engagements made our wedding!

    The Engagements were recommended to us by a musician friend who'd played with them before. His praise meant a lot to us, and then when we saw The Engagements play at the Bell House in Brooklyn, we knew they'd make our wedding. Their band leader Aaron was a joy to coordinate with, always accessible, generous with his time and insight, and eager to discuss our musical tastes. So our expectations were high by wedding night -- and the guys just blew them away, with a nearly three-hour dance party of Motown, 50s and 60s soul, and 70s dance music. Our guests won't forget it, and my wife and I surely never will. Choosing the Engagements was unquestionably the best decision we made for our wedding.

  • E

    Eric Leventhal · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best damned wedding band ever and it's not even close

    I can't say enough good things about The Engagements. Countless people kept asking us where/how we found them. They actually blew a ton of people's minds. They learned half a dozen songs for our wedding, including deep cuts by George Harrison and The Band, and even an Abba song for my bride. They sounded great and they performed with profound sincerity and passion. I know they may cost a little more than the big company wedding bands, but I promise you, if what you're looking for is a band that cares about music and about rocking the fucking doors off of wherever your reception is, pick The Engagements. Aaron is a joy to work with. He took all the stress out of everything. I was able to borrow a guitar to play a song for my wife during our reception and they took the time to soundcheck me and make sure I felt comfortable in every way. Incredibly professional and badass. Can't say enough good things.

  • M

    Matthew Bernhard · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    No other band could compare!

    I first experienced The Engagements at my sisters wedding over three years ago. Flash forward to planning my own wedding and I struggled to find a band in Utah that could put on a show like The Engagements. We were so lucky that with Aaron's help, a Utah trip became a possibility! Aaron was able to contact local vendors, arrange housing, and work with our venues to provide the most amazing music for our rehearsal dinner, ceremony, and reception! No other band can replicate so many different artists to the level The Engagements can. They had every wedding guest dancing the entire night, to the point that they wouldn't even take a break! Having a wedding with The Engagements is truly an experience you will never forget. Thanks again Aaron!

  • S

    Stjepan Pavich · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Doesn’t get better than The Engagements

    They are the best. An extremely professional, incredible nice, and insanely talented group of human beings! There isn’t a band that even comes close to these guys

  • J

    Josh Arenberg · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This Is Why People Hire A Band

    I’ve been playing in bands for 30 years, and this is the band I hired for my wedding. These guys are far and away the best wedding band I’ve heard. In addition, Aaron is a great guy and a pleasure to deal with. He was one of the first people that I talked to in putting the reception together, and he really helped me wrap my head around what we needed to figure out and what we could leave loose.
    The band brings a great vibe. They’ve got a great, extensive song list and they immediately understood what we were going for and put together a great set list including some special requests which they played beautifully. Anyway, the day went great and they kept the dance floor packed the whole night. I am still hearing about how great the band was months later. Do yourself a favor and hire these guys.

  • Emily

    Emily · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome wedding band!

    We (and our guests, who couldn't stop talking about them) absolutely loved the Engagements!! They were so much fun, and truly, truly talented. If you're looking for something a little different than the typical wedding band (think - lots of 70s-80s music, nothing too modern or pop-y) then the Engagements are perfect. They were SO much fun and learned quite a bit of songs for us, too! It really felt like more than just a wedding band, but like a real concert/dance party.

    Aaron was extremely flexible and easy to work with. He ended up helping us out with our ceremony music, and even was able to add in music for cocktail hour fairly last minute. He was down to earth and easy to work with from beginning to end. Everything turned out perfectly and we couldn't have asked for more!

  • R

    Rachel · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best band ever!

    We loved the Engagements! They were super responsive throughout the planning process, even when we had somewhat unusual requests (like Michael Bolton as our first dance song). Now, nearly 4 months after our wedding, people are still telling us that our wedding band was the best they'd ever experienced. Would recommend the Engagements to anyone looking for a fun, easy-going, unique band.

  • G

    Gail · Married on 07/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough good things about this band! We LOVED them. They were phenomenal, fun, and played exactly the right stuff at exactly the right time. Aaron was super helpful and easy to work with. He made the process so much FUN! They was so awesome about playing special requests for us and they really put a lot into our first dance song, which was a fast one, and it meant the world to us. My sister had the same band at her wedding a few years back and having them at ours was, hands down, easiest decision in the whole planning process. Everyone at the wedding raved about them. Book The Engagements!!

  • A

    Aixa Mercado · Married on 06/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfection!

    If you’re having a wedding and you plan to have music at that wedding, there is really no other logical choice than hiring The Engagements to play that music. We, like so many other couples, were looking for the atypical wedding band that doesn’t play all the same old, tired wedding band music. We found The Engagements online and what we listened to when we came upon their website seemed to match what we were going for – a band whose setlist included Talking Heads, Davie Bowie, Prince, James Brown, all sorts of 70s soul, and 80s pop.

    Once we contacted them, Aaron was immediately responsive, professional and super easy to work with. Because we knew we wanted to see them live before committing, Aaron invited us to see them perform at a large-scale, public event. Within thirty seconds of listening to them, we made our decision. Their energy is unreal (it seems like they never get tired), each bandmember seems to absolutely love playing music, and each of them is a phenomenal musician.

    Once we booked them, the process was seamless. Aaron stayed in touch – he’s the sweetest guy. So wonderful to work with! He manages the administrative stuff and also plays a mean drum kit. He let us collaborate and give input on song choice, was easy to communicate with throughout the planning process, and worked out all logistical issues with the venue. He really made everything so simple.

    Every musician in the band is extremely talented. JB, one of the singers (there were three amazing singers!!), sang our first dance song and absolutely nailed it. The setlist was perfect and our guests basically had no choice but to dance without resting for a few hours thanks to The Engagements’ electric energy and exciting/unpredictable song choices. So many of our guests told us that it was an experience they’d never had at a wedding – more like a concert experience than a wedding reception. One of our friends accosted (in a good way) JB afterward and drunkenly raved about his talents and how moved she was by the band's music. The one thing that has been somewhat unpleasant about this experience is that our relatives who we barely speak to keep emailing us about how good The Engagements were. In short, book this band, guys. And, if you do, feel free to invite us so we can dance to their music again. Our June is wide open.

    The Engagements 8
    The Engagements 9
    The Engagements 10
    The Engagements 11
    The Engagements 12
  • Sara

    Sara · Married on 04/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Best!!!

    Without a doubt, hiring The Engagements was the best decision we made in our wedding planning.
    Our number one goal was for our guests to have a good time, and Lucy Music delivered from start (with the String Tribute Quartet), to a trio from the band for our cocktail hour, to late into the night with an 8-piece band for our 100 guests. I’m a music lover so once the venue was picked, the band was the next most important decision, as they set the tone for the whole night. We did an extensive search. Every step of the process with Aaron of Lucy Music was a joy. He made the contract, communications for song selection, and the day of the wedding, a breeze. A major reason we choose them was not only a great song list from the 80s, but that they play them with passion and authenticity. They sound amazing! We had considered an 80s cover band that felt almost more like a concert rather than being there for your party or another that were cheesy with silly costumes. The Engagements are talented musicians, often touring artists, who we were lucky enough also do this. They actually agreed to even learn several songs for our wedding upon our request and nailed them! You would think they had performed them for years. All our guests had an amazing time dancing all night. Friends and family, who are musicians, said they were the best band they’ve ever seen at a wedding. After the stress of wedding planning, we were ready to have a good time. Having The Engagements at our reception was the perfect wedding gift to ourselves. They did everything we asked and more. I cannot recommend them highly enough.

    The Engagements 13
    The Engagements 14
    The Engagements 15
    The Engagements 16
  • D

    Dan · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Engagements are amazing. They played our wedding in Bermuda and we couldn’t have been happier. Aaron was really easy to work with on the logistics and the band was professional and low maintenance. It was surprisingly easy to pull off. We checked out pretty much every big band in NYC and they were definitely the most talented and down-to-earth we came across. It’s also good that they’re an actual band and not a collective like a lot of the others. We didn’t get a chance to see them live before we booked, and based our decision completely off the youtube videos, but it worked out fine knowing that most of the members in the videos would be the ones playing our wedding. They’re an incredible band – talented, professional, tight. Our guests were blown away. Aaron was fun to work with on our selections and they can cover a lot of different styles. If you’re looking for a great band that can play a unique set list, this is it. If they’re available – BOOK THEM.

  • J

    J · Married on 09/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Engagements are the best! We hired them for our September 2017 wedding in Beacon, NY after hearing them play at a Wedding Crashers event at the Bell House in Brooklyn. We immediately knew we wanted to book them as soon as they started playing. Aaron, the drummer, was a dream to work with - responsive, cool and so so nice. The Engagements played our ceremony and reception and we got so many compliments on them. Our guests were cheering "One more song!" at the end of our reception, and one guest even ripped his pants from dancing so hard! The Engagements have an amazing catalog of music that every guest will love (Bowie, Prince, MJ) and even learned to play our obscure wedding song, along with a few others. The band was so good that I was sad when our wedding was over that we wouldn't get to see them again. Hopefully we'll get to see them play another wedding! We couldn't recommend them enough.

  • A

    Amanda · Married on 07/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We found The Engagements after googling "non-wedding band wedding band." My fiancé (now husband) is a musician, and it was important to us to have a band that was truly talented in addition to being entertaining and getting our guests up and dancing. Every wedding band we looked at seemed too cheesy - we didn't want a "wedding band," just an awesome band that happened to be playing our wedding. When we came across the Engagements, we watched one of their videos (The Cure, "Close to Me") and immediately knew we'd found our band. They are outstanding musicians, incredible singers, great entertainers and just super cool. The music they play is so good, and not your typical cliché wedding music. We knew they'd be amazing - but we didn't know how genuinely nice they would be, too. Aaron worked with us in the months leading up to the wedding to patiently take us through all the details, timing and song selections. At one point we thought we were going to have change wedding dates at the last minute, and the band was totally prepared to make it work. At the wedding, they were so awesome, from the ceremony duo to the cocktail trio to the full 10-piece band at the reception. Everything went so smoothly. They did (and killed) several songs that we requested that weren't in their standard repertoire. All the guests were dancing or just enjoying listening to great music. We got SO many compliments on having such an unusually good band! My husband and I keep saying that our one regret from the wedding was that we were so busy that we didn't get to hear every song The Engagements played. We can't wait to get our video just to watch them. If you are looking for a really talented, not-cheesy band you cannot go wrong with The Engagements - they are AWESOME.

  • B

    Beatrice · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We cannot recommend The Engagements highly enough. The band initially attracted our attention because of the breadth of their repertoire--they can handle everything from 40s and 50s classics to 70s funk to 80s post punk and classic rock. (Going through the song list to choose our requests for the wedding was, by far, the highlight of wedding planning.) Their performance at the wedding was terrific, combining musical talent, thoughtful song selection/ordering, and tons of energy (but none of the cheesy MC-ing endemic to typical wedding bands). But in between was where they truly stood out: the band was always a pleasure to deal with, responded quickly and thoroughly to any inquiries, gave helpful advice on choosing songs, and are just overall really nice people.

  • J

    Julia · Married on 05/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This band is the real deal, it feels like a rock show your guests are guaranteed to get their dance on! The singer's voice is amazing and the covers sound so authentic, you just can't help but sing along and have a great time. Our event started out formal and then turned into endless fun on the dance floor. Songs range from "Kiss" (Prince) to "Just like heaven" (The Cure), but they also play Hall and Oats, Erasure, James Brown etc... I can highly recommend this ensemble. They are the real deal and the opposite of a cheesy wedding band!

  • J

    Jen · Married on 04/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    These guys absolutely ROCKED our wedding reception! Not only were our guests out on the floor all night dancing their butts off to everyone's favorite classic hits, people were literally chanting "one more song" at the end of the night! Aaron and The Engagements were delightful to work with from the beginning, great with communication, and they were really receptive to learning some special request songs. This is a group of SUPER talented musicians, who are total professionals, and we could not be more thrilled that they played at our wedding. Our friends and family are still raving about how much fun they had dancing the night away. So awesome, thanks again for everything guys!

  • A

    Alexander · Married on 01/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All we can say is WOW. In the weeks leading up to our wedding, The Engagements were extremely responsive and accommodating as far as discussing our song preferences including our "must-plays" and "do-not-plays". The evening and night of the wedding, these guys put on an A+ performance. They expertly shifted between quieter background music for when our guests were seated / eating and then during dance sets, and for the rest of the night following dinner, covered all the 80s songs we wanted to hear. and had all our guests up and dancing They did such an excellent job that our guests were raving about the music afterwards. They really helped set a fun mood for the event and we could not have asked for more. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

  • S

    Scott · Married on 12/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Aaron was consultative through the entire process. So fun to work with and they made our wedding memorable for us and all of our guests. Everyone was up and dancing all night. They sounded awesome!!! They really made it a great party.

  • B

    Billy & Liz · Married on 11/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Engagements rocked out for a solid 4 hours - our wedding guests went from dancing in their seats to joining us on the dance floor in short-order. In the weeks leading up to our wedding, we had a few great conversations with Aaron, pairing our preferences with the bands skillset. In the end, The Engagements preparation showed and they were the source of countless compliments.

  • J

    Julia · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are SO HAPPY we hired The Engagements to play at our wedding. Their song catalog is fantastic and they are incredible performers--our guests were so impressed that we had a super-legit sax solo at our wedding. They kept the dance floor packed all night and we had a wide range of musical tastes in attendance. There are also great MCs in the band!!! We worked with Aaron in the year leading up to our wedding and he made everything a breeze. He asked all the right questions and made perfect suggestions. We had no idea what worked and what didn't work to keep the night on track and engaging--luckily Aaron is a pro at this. The band also learned a few songs we requested that weren't on their list and played them with gusto. Hire them!!!

  • User7515009 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tough to get across in a review just how great The Engagements were at our wedding. Phenomenally tight band, great singers, and awesome awesome set list seguing from sam cooke to the beatles to james brown to 80s michael to bowie to the boss to the clash. Aaron is thoughtful about details and great to work with up front dealing with song list, electricity requirements, etc. and was really flexible coordinating their guys doing the sound for our ceremony, three members of the band playing jazz during cocktails, and their guitarist accompanying a bridesmaid singing a song during the ceremony, in addition to the full band for the party. We had three generations of guests out there on the dance floor really getting into it (and in many cases asking us who the band was and how we found them), and the band seemed to genuinely be really into the songs and to really enjoy playing with each other which really creates great energy for a party. I'll just copy below an excerpt of what my wife wrote the band afterwards:

    "We had an absolute blast! You guys were amazing and really helped to make the night so special!...We've been listening to the set list on repeat ever since and reliving the great memories. It all went by so fast, it's hard to imagine that you packed all of that in there. ... We still keep getting raves from guests of all ages....I have a feeling that you may get a few requests to play at Princeton Reunions... Thank you again so much for helping to make it the best dance party ever!"

    The pretty much says it -- great dance party -- we're both looking for an excuse to book the Engagements again in the future!

  • K

    Kristen · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Music was one of the most important decisions we made during planning and we could not have asked for a better band to have at our wedding. Aaron was awesome to work with from the very beginning. He was easy to communicate with and set up multiple conference calls so my husband and I could work through our vision of our wedding day. We were aiming for a more casual, less structured feeling for the day and the band had no problem rolling with whatever felt natural to the vibe while also making sure we covered all the necessities. Aaron gave us great feedback about what he thought worked and what didn't based on his vast experiences. Our wedding was in Philadelphia at a historic playground and everything went smoothly even in a somewhat less traditional space. He made sure all of the details were worked out in advance (enough power, space, etc.) so we never had to worry about last minute problems. All of our conversations set my mind at ease.

    We loved how talented each musician was. We never felt like any of it was too cookie-cutter or too wedding-y. From Talking Heads to Motown, The Cure to Tom Waits, they really hit all the marks with the music we love without forcing anything we didn't. They were always in tune with the energy of the party and made great decisions about what to play next. They also learned a handful of songs just for us. The song they learned for our first dance (which happened organically after dinner) was so beautiful and energetic-- my favorite part of the whole day. We are still hearing from our guests about how good our band was! I had enormous blisters for days from dancing so much and I wouldn't have it any other way.

  • G

    Ginger · Married on 06/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hired The Engagements to perform at my bosses’ 50th birthday party, which was held at her home. The band was incredible, especially the lead singer! The dancefloor was packed the entire evening. There were several musicians present among the guests and everyone was really impressed.
    Aaron was extremely responsive to all of my many emails. The party hosts wanted a lot of variety in the songs and The Engagements created an amazing set. I would highly recommend the Engagements to anyone planning a special event. I wish I had known about them for my wedding!

  • B

    Blythe · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We agree with the reviewer below - hiring The Engagements was perhaps the best wedding-related decision we made. When we selected The Engagements, we knew that the music would be fantastic - we had seen them play at a friend's wedding a few years back - and it was... our wedding was a great dance party (exactly what we wanted) and the band played a setlist that got guests of all ages on the dance floor. The compliments on the music at our wedding are still flowing in over a week later, some guests said they were the best wedding band that they had seen. My parents were also pleased with the volume of the band - loud enough that it was fun and filled the space, but not so loud that it drowned out conversation and overwhelmed.What we didn't expect when we selected The Engagements was how involved, helpful and flexible Aaron would be in the lead-up and planning. He really listened to our needs for the evening and was responsive to a lot of back and forth to ensure we were happy with how the night would go. Aaron and the band are very experienced in the ebb and flow of a good party, and so it was great to have his advice as we were planning the evening. He even came to the venue with me to scope out the best spots for the band set-up and to talk through possibilities as there were some logistical hiccups with our venue. In the end, The Engagements helped make an incredible night, we can't say enough good things.

  • M

    Mary · Married on 04/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough good things about The Engagements!!!

    From the very beginning, Aaron was super helpful. He clearly loves what he does. At the initial stages of booking, my husband and I weren't sure what our budget would allow for the band. Aaron was more than willing to figure out how to make the band work within a reasonable budget. In the end, my husband and I were able to book the entire 10 piece band and we couldn't have been happier! It definitely was well worth it.

    Aaron was super accommodating with song requests. He even managed to make one of our song requests happen despite the fact that it required detailed synth programming. Our e-mails were always answered in a timely fashion. He was very easy to work with and understood our musical taste.

    All of our guests were up and dancing. Even my 88 year-old grandmother was cutting a rug! The attention that Aaron put into the song list was incredible. There was not one moment the entire time that the dance floor was not packed. People cannot stop telling us how much fun they had at our wedding and how much they enjoyed the music. We had more fun at our wedding than we thought possible thanks to the Engagements.

    Do yourself a favor and book them! Your guests will thank you.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review