57 Reviews for The Engagements

5.0
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Learning New Songs (4)
Reception (4)
Cocktail Hour (3)
Music During Breaks (3)
Vocals (3)
Willing to Travel (3)
Microphones (3)
Sound/PA System (3)
Ceremony (2)
Instrumentals (2)
Liability Insurance (2)
Sort by:

5.0

The Engagements are amazing. They played our wedding in Bermuda and we couldn’t have been happier. Aaron was really easy to work with on the logistics and the band was professional and low maintenance. It was surprisingly easy to pull off. We checked out pretty much every big band in NYC and they were definitely the most talented and down-to-earth we came across. It’s also good that they’re an actual band and not a collective like a lot of the others. We didn’t get a chance to see them live before we booked, and based our decision completely off the youtube videos, but it worked out fine knowing that most of the members in the videos would be the ones playing our wedding. They’re an incredible band – talented, professional, tight. Our guests were blown away. Aaron was fun to work with on our selections and they can cover a lot of different styles. If you’re looking for a great band that can play a unique set list, this is it. If they’re available – BOOK THEM.

Profile Picture Dan , 9/23/17, 1 Review
Category: Band
5.0

The Engagements are the best! We hired them for our September 2017 wedding in Beacon, NY after hearing them play at a Wedding Crashers event at the Bell House in Brooklyn. We immediately knew we wanted to book them as soon as they started playing. Aaron, the drummer, was a dream to work with - responsive, cool and so so nice. The Engagements played our ceremony and reception and we got so many compliments on them. Our guests were cheering "One more song!" at the end of our reception, and one guest even ripped his pants from dancing so hard! The Engagements have an amazing catalog of music that every guest will love (Bowie, Prince, MJ) and even learned to play our obscure wedding song, along with a few others. The band was so good that I was sad when our wedding was over that we wouldn't get to see them again. Hopefully we'll get to see them play another wedding! We couldn't recommend them enough.

Profile Picture J, 9/15/17, 4 Reviews
Category: Band, Ceremony Music
Services Used: Microphones, Sound/PA System, Ceremony, Cocktail Hour, Instrumentals, Learning New Songs, Music During Breaks, Reception, Vocals, Willing to Travel
4.5

The Engagements absolutely rocked our wedding! All three vocalists were top notch and the band were all pros. I had 10 people stop me during the wedding to compliment me on the band. Aaron was easy to work with. They should be your wedding band, plain and simple.

Profile Picture John, 8/26/17, 1 Review
Category: Band
5.0

We found The Engagements after googling "non-wedding band wedding band." My fiancé (now husband) is a musician, and it was important to us to have a band that was truly talented in addition to being entertaining and getting our guests up and dancing. Every wedding band we looked at seemed too cheesy - we didn't want a "wedding band," just an awesome band that happened to be playing our wedding. When we came across the Engagements, we watched one of their videos (The Cure, "Close to Me") and immediately knew we'd found our band. They are outstanding musicians, incredible singers, great entertainers and just super cool. The music they play is so good, and not your typical cliché wedding music. We knew they'd be amazing - but we didn't know how genuinely nice they would be, too. Aaron worked with us in the months leading up to the wedding to patiently take us through all the details, timing and song selections. At one point we thought we were going to have change wedding dates at the last minute, and the band was totally prepared to make it work. At the wedding, they were so awesome, from the ceremony duo to the cocktail trio to the full 10-piece band at the reception. Everything went so smoothly. They did (and killed) several songs that we requested that weren't in their standard repertoire. All the guests were dancing or just enjoying listening to great music. We got SO many compliments on having such an unusually good band! My husband and I keep saying that our one regret from the wedding was that we were so busy that we didn't get to hear every song The Engagements played. We can't wait to get our video just to watch them. If you are looking for a really talented, not-cheesy band you cannot go wrong with The Engagements - they are AWESOME.

Profile Picture Amanda, 7/15/17, 3 Reviews
Category: Band
5.0

We cannot recommend The Engagements highly enough. The band initially attracted our attention because of the breadth of their repertoire--they can handle everything from 40s and 50s classics to 70s funk to 80s post punk and classic rock. (Going through the song list to choose our requests for the wedding was, by far, the highlight of wedding planning.) Their performance at the wedding was terrific, combining musical talent, thoughtful song selection/ordering, and tons of energy (but none of the cheesy MC-ing endemic to typical wedding bands). But in between was where they truly stood out: the band was always a pleasure to deal with, responded quickly and thoroughly to any inquiries, gave helpful advice on choosing songs, and are just overall really nice people.

Profile Picture Beatrice, 7/1/17, 1 Review
Category: Band
5.0

This band is the real deal, it feels like a rock show your guests are guaranteed to get their dance on! The singer's voice is amazing and the covers sound so authentic, you just can't help but sing along and have a great time. Our event started out formal and then turned into endless fun on the dance floor. Songs range from "Kiss" (Prince) to "Just like heaven" (The Cure), but they also play Hall and Oats, Erasure, James Brown etc... I can highly recommend this ensemble. They are the real deal and the opposite of a cheesy wedding band!

Profile Picture Julia, 5/16/17, 1 Review
Category: Band
5.0

These guys absolutely ROCKED our wedding reception! Not only were our guests out on the floor all night dancing their butts off to everyone's favorite classic hits, people were literally chanting "one more song" at the end of the night! Aaron and The Engagements were delightful to work with from the beginning, great with communication, and they were really receptive to learning some special request songs. This is a group of SUPER talented musicians, who are total professionals, and we could not be more thrilled that they played at our wedding. Our friends and family are still raving about how much fun they had dancing the night away. So awesome, thanks again for everything guys!

Profile Picture Jen, 4/8/17, 3 Reviews
Category: Band
5.0

All we can say is WOW. In the weeks leading up to our wedding, The Engagements were extremely responsive and accommodating as far as discussing our song preferences including our "must-plays" and "do-not-plays". The evening and night of the wedding, these guys put on an A+ performance. They expertly shifted between quieter background music for when our guests were seated / eating and then during dance sets, and for the rest of the night following dinner, covered all the 80s songs we wanted to hear. and had all our guests up and dancing They did such an excellent job that our guests were raving about the music afterwards. They really helped set a fun mood for the event and we could not have asked for more. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

Profile Picture User7696814, 1+ year ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Band
5.0

Aaron was consultative through the entire process. So fun to work with and they made our wedding memorable for us and all of our guests. Everyone was up and dancing all night. They sounded awesome!!! They really made it a great party.

Profile Picture Scott, 12/17/16, 1 Review
Category: Band
5.0

The Engagements rocked out for a solid 4 hours - our wedding guests went from dancing in their seats to joining us on the dance floor in short-order. In the weeks leading up to our wedding, we had a few great conversations with Aaron, pairing our preferences with the bands skillset. In the end, The Engagements preparation showed and they were the source of countless compliments.

Profile Picture User7545281, 1+ year ago, 1 Review
Category: Band
5.0

We are SO HAPPY we hired The Engagements to play at our wedding. Their song catalog is fantastic and they are incredible performers--our guests were so impressed that we had a super-legit sax solo at our wedding. They kept the dance floor packed all night and we had a wide range of musical tastes in attendance. There are also great MCs in the band!!! We worked with Aaron in the year leading up to our wedding and he made everything a breeze. He asked all the right questions and made perfect suggestions. We had no idea what worked and what didn't work to keep the night on track and engaging--luckily Aaron is a pro at this. The band also learned a few songs we requested that weren't on their list and played them with gusto. Hire them!!!

Profile Picture Julia, 10/1/16, 1 Review
Category: Band, Ceremony Music, Entertainer
5.0

Tough to get across in a review just how great The Engagements were at our wedding. Phenomenally tight band, great singers, and awesome awesome set list seguing from sam cooke to the beatles to james brown to 80s michael to bowie to the boss to the clash. Aaron is thoughtful about details and great to work with up front dealing with song list, electricity requirements, etc. and was really flexible coordinating their guys doing the sound for our ceremony, three members of the band playing jazz during cocktails, and their guitarist accompanying a bridesmaid singing a song during the ceremony, in addition to the full band for the party. We had three generations of guests out there on the dance floor really getting into it (and in many cases asking us who the band was and how we found them), and the band seemed to genuinely be really into the songs and to really enjoy playing with each other which really creates great energy for a party. I'll just copy below an excerpt of what my wife wrote the band afterwards:

"We had an absolute blast! You guys were amazing and really helped to make the night so special!...We've been listening to the set list on repeat ever since and reliving the great memories. It all went by so fast, it's hard to imagine that you packed all of that in there. ... We still keep getting raves from guests of all ages....I have a feeling that you may get a few requests to play at Princeton Reunions... Thank you again so much for helping to make it the best dance party ever!"

The pretty much says it -- great dance party -- we're both looking for an excuse to book the Engagements again in the future!

Profile Picture User7515009, 1+ year ago, 1 Review
Category: Band
5.0

Music was one of the most important decisions we made during planning and we could not have asked for a better band to have at our wedding. Aaron was awesome to work with from the very beginning. He was easy to communicate with and set up multiple conference calls so my husband and I could work through our vision of our wedding day. We were aiming for a more casual, less structured feeling for the day and the band had no problem rolling with whatever felt natural to the vibe while also making sure we covered all the necessities. Aaron gave us great feedback about what he thought worked and what didn't based on his vast experiences. Our wedding was in Philadelphia at a historic playground and everything went smoothly even in a somewhat less traditional space. He made sure all of the details were worked out in advance (enough power, space, etc.) so we never had to worry about last minute problems. All of our conversations set my mind at ease.

We loved how talented each musician was. We never felt like any of it was too cookie-cutter or too wedding-y. From Talking Heads to Motown, The Cure to Tom Waits, they really hit all the marks with the music we love without forcing anything we didn't. They were always in tune with the energy of the party and made great decisions about what to play next. They also learned a handful of songs just for us. The song they learned for our first dance (which happened organically after dinner) was so beautiful and energetic-- my favorite part of the whole day. We are still hearing from our guests about how good our band was! I had enormous blisters for days from dancing so much and I wouldn't have it any other way.

Profile Picture Kristen, 6/25/16, 2 Reviews
Category: Band
5.0

I hired The Engagements to perform at my bosses’ 50th birthday party, which was held at her home. The band was incredible, especially the lead singer! The dancefloor was packed the entire evening. There were several musicians present among the guests and everyone was really impressed.
Aaron was extremely responsive to all of my many emails. The party hosts wanted a lot of variety in the songs and The Engagements created an amazing set. I would highly recommend the Engagements to anyone planning a special event. I wish I had known about them for my wedding!

Profile Picture Ginger, 6/18/16, 1 Review
Category: Band
5.0

We agree with the reviewer below - hiring The Engagements was perhaps the best wedding-related decision we made. When we selected The Engagements, we knew that the music would be fantastic - we had seen them play at a friend's wedding a few years back - and it was... our wedding was a great dance party (exactly what we wanted) and the band played a setlist that got guests of all ages on the dance floor. The compliments on the music at our wedding are still flowing in over a week later, some guests said they were the best wedding band that they had seen. My parents were also pleased with the volume of the band - loud enough that it was fun and filled the space, but not so loud that it drowned out conversation and overwhelmed.What we didn't expect when we selected The Engagements was how involved, helpful and flexible Aaron would be in the lead-up and planning. He really listened to our needs for the evening and was responsive to a lot of back and forth to ensure we were happy with how the night would go. Aaron and the band are very experienced in the ebb and flow of a good party, and so it was great to have his advice as we were planning the evening. He even came to the venue with me to scope out the best spots for the band set-up and to talk through possibilities as there were some logistical hiccups with our venue. In the end, The Engagements helped make an incredible night, we can't say enough good things.

Profile Picture Blythe, 6/11/16, 4 Reviews
Category: Band
5.0

I cannot say enough good things about The Engagements!!!

From the very beginning, Aaron was super helpful. He clearly loves what he does. At the initial stages of booking, my husband and I weren't sure what our budget would allow for the band. Aaron was more than willing to figure out how to make the band work within a reasonable budget. In the end, my husband and I were able to book the entire 10 piece band and we couldn't have been happier! It definitely was well worth it.

Aaron was super accommodating with song requests. He even managed to make one of our song requests happen despite the fact that it required detailed synth programming. Our e-mails were always answered in a timely fashion. He was very easy to work with and understood our musical taste.

All of our guests were up and dancing. Even my 88 year-old grandmother was cutting a rug! The attention that Aaron put into the song list was incredible. There was not one moment the entire time that the dance floor was not packed. People cannot stop telling us how much fun they had at our wedding and how much they enjoyed the music. We had more fun at our wedding than we thought possible thanks to the Engagements.

Do yourself a favor and book them! Your guests will thank you.

Profile Picture Mary, 4/23/16, 5 Reviews
Category: Band
Services Used: Cocktail Hour, Learning New Songs, Reception, Vocals, Willing to Travel, Microphones, Sound/PA System
5.0

We knew the Engagements were good but they exceeded all expectations. Fantastic band, world class singers, they learned some special requests for our reception and played all our favorites. Lots of soul and lots of groove. Whenever the wedding comes up, everyone mentions how great the band was, "best wedding band ever" being the most common remark. Easy to work with, everything was smooth, organized and ran like clockwork.

Profile Picture Michael, 3/13/16, 2 Reviews
Category: Band
5.0

Other than saying yes to my husband when he proposed, this is the best wedding-related decision we made. Incredible sound, awesome to work with all around, and truly set the tone for our day.

Profile Picture Brooke, 9/12/15, 1 Review
Category: Band
5.0

The Engagements (and my wife) made our wedding amazing. The band skillfully navigated our diverse - a song from the ‘Like Water for Chocolate’ soundtrack and an obscure U2 number - and purposely funky set list; smoothly flowing William DeVaughn, Curtis Mayfield and the Wonderful Stevie throughout that hot August night. Aaron was proactive in ensuring we came up with song selections to match the energy of our personalities and yet inclusive for the wide range of guests. The dance floor was always full and the feedback from friends and family during the weeks to follow always began with the beautiful bride and ended with that brilliant band.
Aaron and the Engagements were professional, prompt and provided the sonic backbeat to a very special night for all that were there.

Profile Picture User6100556, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Band
Services Used: Ceremony, Cocktail Hour, Instrumentals, Learning New Songs, Liability Insurance, Music During Breaks, Reception, Willing to Travel
5.0

Working with Aaron and The Engagements was a true pleasure. In our entire wedding planning process, The Engagements were our favorite vendors to work with. Not only were they extremely efficient and professional in their communications, but they continually put us at ease, responding to our requests with a great deal of flexibility and understanding. Their live performance was HANDS DOWN the best we've ever experienced at a wedding (of course, we're probably a little biased). We were touched by the number of songs the band was willing to learn for us, and by how many of our requested songs they played SO incredibly well. Hearing our favorite music on our wedding day was a magical experience we will remember for the rest of our lives. The Engagements made that possible and we will be forever grateful. Use this band if you have the opportunity to do so! You won't regret it!

Profile Picture User5353969, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Band
5.0

The Engagements came strongly recommended by a musician colleague with discerning taste, so we had high expectations going in. They did not disappoint.

Aaron, the bandleader, was great to deal with. We had several in-depth discussions before the wedding (via FaceTime) to pin down the playlist and the overall flow of the reception. He was also very responsive by email whenever we had follow-up questions. We appreciated that the group was flexible enough to learn several request songs before the big day. Overall, the tone of all our interactions was relaxed and professional. It was as if we had a very talented, competent, and experienced friend in charge of the music.

And the music was amazing. They were versatile enough to cover both The Cure and Stevie Wonder, without any kitsch or pretension. Their version of Donny Hathaway’s “A Song For You” (a request song) brought the house down. And when they settled into a groove for the post-dinner dancing, their energy got everyone, young and old, up and out of their seats. Afterwards, everyone went on and on about how great the music was.

We highly recommend Aaron and his group without reservation.

Profile Picture Diane, 6/6/15, 2 Reviews
Category: Band
Services Used: Learning New Songs, Liability Insurance, Music During Breaks, Reception, Vocals, Microphones, Sound/PA System
4.1

Kick Ass Band!
•Pros: We had The Engagements for our wedding. They were awesome! They played so many of our favorite and classic 60s, 70s, 80s hits. Our guests were dancing until the event ended, and even requested one last song at night end. At our reception, we often found ourselves in front of the band dancing with our hands in the air! Band was very accommodating and great to work with day of wedding.
•Cons: Response time wasn’t often as quick as we’d like but a few follow-ups got us what we needed.

Profile Picture Cindi, 5/29/15, 4 Reviews
Category: Band
5.0

The Engagements were a huge hit at our wedding. They had our guests, both young and old, dancing the entire time. Several guests told us it was one of the best weddings they've ever been to, and they raved about how fun the band was! A few guests have already asked for the band's contact info for future events.
The Engagements played a great mix of music and weren't cheesy like many other wedding bands we've seen. Aaron was also the epitome of professional. We were initially somewhat nervous about hiring a wedding band we'd never seen perform live, and we had a few conversations with Aaron before making our decision. One of the things that swayed us was that Aaron was extremely easy to deal with; he was responsive and accommodating to all of our requests. Before the wedding, we discussed with Aaron what we liked and didn't like, and the band took it from there. We were also having trouble deciding on a first dance song, and really appreciated the band's feedback on which songs they felt they could cover best - we ultimately loved their rendition of the song we chose. Throughout the reception they did an awesome job of reading the room and selecting songs accordingly, and the dance floor was packed all night.
I would definitely recommend The Engagements to anyone getting married or hosting a special event - they will not disappoint!

Profile Picture John, 11/22/14, 1 Review
Category: Band
5.0

The Engagements put on an amazing show and made our wedding an absolute blast. Our guests have repeatedly told us how great these guys were and many of them asked for the band's contact info. Hopefully The Engagements won't become too famous by the time we have our 10-year anniversary party...! We would hire them again in a heartbeat.

Profile Picture E, 9/20/14, 1 Review
Category: Band
5.0

The Engagements totally killed it our wedding! We fell in love with their music the minute we heard them online and when we called Aaron to book, he was attentive, easy to work with and took pride in customizing our special day. He traveled from Brooklyn to Manhattan in the pouring raining to discuss how the day would go and lock up last minute details. The music was amazing at wedding. All our guests kept asking where we got the band and how we found them. The dance party was nonstop, the sound and musicians were incredible, such talent, and they only took 2 short breaks. I wish we could celebrate with The Engagements every year - They truly made our day unforgettable and we could never thank them enough.

Profile Picture Erica and Joe, 8/23/14, 1 Review
Category: Band