16 Reviews for The Dessert Room

5.0
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Consultations (8)
Custom Design (8)
Delivery (8)
Cakes (7)
Setup (7)
Private Tastings (7)
Cake Stands (7)
Cupcakes (3)
Fresh Fruit (3)
Cake Cutters (1)
Cake Toppers (1)
16 The Dessert Room Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

We had our wedding favours and wedding cake/cupcakes made by The Dessert Room this past long weekend and I can't thank them enough for the wonderful job they did! The cupcakes stole the show for sure! Although we were from another province, Marcia was amazing at communicating with us her ideas and answered any questions we had. With her advice, expertise, and creativity, she created exactly what we wanted! Her and her team produced an absolutely beautiful product with our Lego wedding cake topper! Thank you so much and you will not be disappointed with their work and service!!

Profile Picture Christina, 8/4/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Wedding Cake
5.0

We had an amazing time working with the dessert room on our wedding cake! From the initial email to the cake tasting to the final product, Marcia was a dream to work with and everyone at our wedding commented on how beautiful the cakes looked, but also on how delicious they tasted! I highly recommend the milk chocolate passion fruit buttercream flavour with toasted coconut - very unique and delicious!!! I will definitely be using them again for other special occasions!

Profile Picture Angela, 6/17/17, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Cake
Services Used: Cake Stands, Cakes, Consultations, Custom Design, Delivery, Private Tastings
5.0

Marcia was amazing to work with! She was funny and super creative! Also her new space is so chic and modern!
I had a pretty specific idea of what I wanted and she went above and beyond to deliver! I highly recommend using her for not only your wedding but any special day.
The cake was so delicious we ended up eating everything, so guess we will have to get another one to celebrate our one year!
Thank you Marcia for making our wedding that much more special??!

Profile Picture T, 11/12/16, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Cake
5.0

We are so lucky to have been referred to the Dessert Room! From our first contact with Marcia, we (as a same-sex couple) felt extremely comfortable working in sharing our vision for our wedding day. Instead of a wedding cake, we wanted different flavoured pies.Marcia was open to brainstorming ideas with us and we easily came up with some great (seriously delicious) options. We were able to do a tasting before the wedding where Marcia ensured that we were ok with the flavours --- this was great as it allowed us to get to see how much time and talent Marcia has (**we also tried some of her other confections --- all are amazing!!) . In total we ordered over 10 pies. In addition we had Marcia create our favours (macarons made to match our wedding colours). Marcia is highly organized and made everything extremely easy for us (e.g., she set up the pies the day of the wedding with her stands and co-ordinated with the florist to decorate the dessert table; she packaged our favours with the name tags we provided). All we had to do was show up and eat the pies! Our guests were in love with the range of pie options (the chocolate cream pie vanished into thin air as did the spiced cherry) and continue to ask if and how we can order more! We would highly recommend Marcia and the Dessert Room to any couple interested in having premium pastries at their event. We will definitely see the Dessert Room soon :)

Profile Picture Jessica, 9/10/16, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Cake
Services Used: Consultations, Custom Design, Delivery, Setup, Private Tastings, Cake Stands
5.0

Marcia was an absolute pleasure to work with. I first discovered her at the Hamilton Wedding Show and after tasting her cupcakes I had to have her for my wedding!! I have never had a cupcake that was so moist and delicious. The cake and cupcakes Marcia created for my wedding were so beautiful and tasted so good. Our guests were raving about them and even the venue had to know who made them!!
So happy. I would recommend Marcia and her company The Dessert Room in a heartbeat!!

Profile Picture Nicole, 9/9/16, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Cake
5.0

I found The Dessert Room after months of searching for the perfect dessert vendor. Marcia was very responsive and friendly since day one. We had met her 8 months before our wedding date and for those 8 months, she was nothing short of amazing. She was very detailed oriented and adds 10 times the excitement for your big day. Marcia is full of beautiful ideas and we trusted her 100% with our sweets table and wedding cake. The only regret I have is not ordering more desserts from her because everything was not only gorgeous but so delicious!

Profile Picture V, 8/13/16, 2 Reviews
Category: Favors & Gifts, Wedding Cake
5.0

Working with The Dessert Room was the best experience. The owner takes pride in her work and takes your vision and makes it reality. We loved it thank you

Profile Picture Nancy, 8/6/16, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Cake
5.0

Marcia at The Dessert Room was very professional to work with. She was also creative, took all of our ideas into account AND made a cake that was both beautiful and delicious! Her delivery to our venue was on time and she even took the time to arrange our dessert table to look fabulous. She also provided detailed instructions to our venue for cake cutting and she provided all of the boxes necessary to bring some home. We had so many compliments from our guests about how delicious the cake was. Couldn't be happier!

Profile Picture Megan, 6/11/16, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Cake
Services Used: Cakes, Fresh Fruit, Consultations, Custom Design, Delivery, Setup, Private Tastings, Cake Stands
5.0

Our wedding cake and cupcakes were made by Marcia and absolutely delicious! From the beginning she understood exactly what we wanted and thoroughly discussed all the details with us, we then had a tasting to try some different flavours and decide on what we wanted for the big day. The presentation at our wedding was so beautiful and all of our guests commented on how great the cake and cupcakes tasted. Marcia was always prompt with any communication and super easy to work with, I'm so glad we picked The Dessert Room and would definitely recommend them!

Profile Picture Sylvia, 5/21/16, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Cake
5.0

We got out engagement party, wedding shower and wedding cake from The Dessert Room. All three were amazing.

Marcia took the time to get to know us, understand my vision for three cakes, and provide me with many different (and all delicious) cake options to try.

Marcia has the knowledge and experience to make the perfect cake. I was originally going to use real flowers on my cake and decided to use sugar flowers and WOW. They were incredible and so life-like. Not only were the cakes beautiful, but all of the guests commented on how delicious they were as well.

I highly recommend The Dessert Room and have already convinced a few of my engaged friends to get their cakes from Marcia. We are so happy that you have a bakery in Westdale now!

Profile Picture Tamara, 5/14/16, 3 Reviews
Category: Wedding Cake
Services Used: Cake Stands, Consultations, Custom Design, Delivery, Setup, Private Tastings, Cakes
5.0

Marcia is a wonderful person to work with. She knew exactly what I wanted and did not push me to have more than what I needed. Not only did she create a beautiful cake but it also tasted amazing.
Marcia thank you so much. I cant wait to stop by your new store in West Dale. I will be in touch with you soon to have my daughters Birthday cake made.

Profile Picture Claudia, 5/7/16, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Cake
Services Used: Consultations, Custom Design, Delivery, Setup, Private Tastings, Cake Cutters, Cake Stands, Cake Toppers, Cakes
5.0

OMG what a beautiful display you provided. The cupcakes were a hit, The wedding cake was delicious . I would like to thank you so much for making my daughters day a success. I will sure pass on your name to family and friends for their special occasions.

Regards,

Sherry Mangion

Profile Picture sherry, 3/19/16, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Cake
Services Used: Cakes, Cupcakes, Consultations, Custom Design, Delivery, Setup, Cake Stands, Fresh Fruit
5.0

Working with The Dessert Room was a pleasure from start to finish! From our very first meeting, Marcia took the time to get to know us and our vision for the wedding as a whole. She took every opportunity to ensure she met (and exceeded!) our needs, and that we were receiving exactly what we wanted. Her enthusiasm was genuine, and her passion for what she does was evident in every conversation.

Enthusiasm and patience aside, it is clear to anyone that Marcia is incredibly knowledgable in what she does. She guided us with expertise through each stage of our planning - initial brainstorming and design, identifying our needs and numbers for cakes & cupcakes, flavour pairings - and made all of it easier than we could have imagined. Her delivery and set-up could not have gone more seamlessly from our perspective, as she connected with our venue and coordinator to ensure no last minute stresses for the bride & groom.

When our display of a small two-tiered cake and cupcake selection were unveiled on our big day, our guests could not have given more glowing reviews! They were blown away by the beauty and intricate details, the way the design "fit" with our day, and (most importantly!) the delicious taste. Upon realizing there was more than one flavour, everyone we spoke to was scrambling for seconds!

Marcia is a master at what she does, a lovely person to work with, and we would happily recommend her to anyone!

Profile Picture Caitlyn, 1/23/16, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Cake
Services Used: Cakes, Cupcakes, Fresh Fruit, Cake Stands, Consultations, Custom Design, Delivery, Setup, Private Tastings
5.0

We love Marcia and the Dessert Room! Marcia was super easy to work with, organized and creative. We gave her abstract requirements and she ran with them to make the coolest cake!

Thanks again, Laura & Graham

Profile Picture User5577422, 2+ years ago, 5 Reviews
Category: Wedding Cake
5.0

Yes, that is a perfect score. No, it is not a joke. My wife & I were married on Oct. 2nd 2015. The Dessert Room provided us with a 4 tier cake iced in buttercream. Each tier was a different cake flavour of our choice... Vanilla & Salted Caramel, Re-Vamped Black Forest, Red Velvet & the tier we have saved for our 1 year anniversary... An Earl Grey Infused Chocolate Ganche... Also they did our favours which were individually wrapped Granny Smith Salted Caramel Candy Apples!!! From our first meeting to the last bite of cake & candy apples it was amazing!!! We had 0 negative responces to the taste, quality or appearance from our guests; guests took extra cake & apples home upon leaving. The entire time we dealt with The Dessert Room we always felt comfortable & understood in our specifications & they went above & beyond to give us "our" cake that would be similar upon appearance to other cakes but not even close to a "standard" cake. We honestly have no complaints, we can only rave about how amazing they are. As a Chef, whom was dead set on making his own cake/favours I was worried about finding someone who could recreate my ideas. Well to my surprise we found my "miracle", someone who recreated my ideas & made them better than I ever expected. We are so thankful to The Dessert Room for truly making our wedding one that was individually ours & adding that much more to our day! THANK YOU Cohen & Brenna Glaw

Profile Picture Cohen , 10/2/15, 1 Review
Category: Favors & Gifts, Wedding Cake
5.0

I do not know where to begin to sing Marcia's praises! From the very first point of contact to the impeccable, detail oriented follow through on our wedding day Marcia was fun, professional and so excited to make our wedding cake. She really paid attention to everything that we said we wanted and worked with us to create a custom buttercream that we accidentally created during our tasting. She took every opportunity to say yes to us and we received SO many compliments on our gorgeous cake and cupcakes. We have been to many weddings and usually the cake is ok or not very good, ours was DELICIOUS and many of our guests commented on how good it was. She even took on the responsibility of taking our vision for our cake table and seeing it through; she has an impeccable eye for small details.

As if it wasn't enough that Marcia is a wonderful person and talented pastry chef, her cakes are gorgeous and she is such a treat to work with she was also by far the most reasonably priced pastry chef we came across. She also pays attention to the small details providing actual samples of the cake sizes so there is no guessing how big or small your cake will be. We have HIGHLY recommended Marcia to many friends who have upcoming weddings and we will most definitely be contacting her again for all of our cake and confection orders!!!!

Marcia we cannot thank you enough!

Katarina and Daniel

Profile Picture Katarina , 7/4/15, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Cake
Services Used: Cakes, Cupcakes, Consultations, Custom Design, Delivery, Setup, Private Tastings