Skip to main content
Weddings

The Deep Light Company Reviews

The Deep Light Company

The Deep Light Company

Santa Cruz, CA
5.0 out of 5 rating, 56 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
5.0 out of 5 rating
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
5.0 out of 5 rating
56 Reviews
100% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

56
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • E
    Emma K. Sent on 05/01/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best photographer!!

    It was an absolute pleasure working with Bobby for both our engagement shoot and our wedding day. Bobby brought an air of ease and calm wherever he walked, and it was delightful to watch him blend in with the crowd or nature to get the perfect shot (a friend asked if he ever worked for National Geographic after witnessing Bobby crouch down in the tall grass during our ceremony). He made my husband and I feel so comfortable during our engagement shoot, and the photos reflected it. He was super responsive throughout the entire process and knew just how to arrange the two of us to get some incredible, natural-looking photographs. He delivered photos quickly and efficiently as well. We are so grateful to Bobby for capturing such a special day!
  • J
    Janine K. Sent on 11/21/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredibly talented and great to work with!

    We are so happy with our experience working with Bobby. The photos he took of our Big Sur elopement are stunning. We sent him inspiration photos prior to our wedding day to share our ideas about setting, color, and light. Bobby also made sure to call us and discuss these ideas and any questions we had, and he was immediately warm and helpful. He executed on the vision we had for our photos flawlessly and was so fun, comfortable, and easy to work with. We can’t thank and recommend him enough!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • K
    Kiely M. Sent on 12/21/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    You won’t find a better photographer!

    Bobby freaking Harding is an absolute artist, but more than that he’s an incredible human. We first worked with Bobby for our engagement shoot. He happily drove up the coast so we could take photos where my fiancé proposed in Pacifica. We had initially booked him as our photographer for a wedding in Santa Cruz. But we ended up making a big shift in our wedding plans, changing our venue from La Selva Beach to Northern Ireland. We asked Bobby if he’d be willing to travel to Ireland for our wedding and he gave us a resounding yes. Our wedding would not have been the same without Bobby. He truly made it even more special with his big smile, positive attitude and camera skills. We had some pretty intense rain during our ceremony, but he didn’t flinch and he still managed to get all of our photos accomplished once the rain stopped. He got every shot we wanted and more, the photos truly bring me to tears and captured our day so wonderfully and he made it all look so stunning. I cannot wait to share them with our future children. Bobby, you know we all fell in love with you those few days. Thank you for being such a wonderful addition to our celebration and becoming a lifelong homie.
  • Annie
    Annie Sent on 12/05/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    We made ART! Photographer for life!

    We are so happy with our Engagement and Wedding galleries, I cannot recommend Bobby enough ! EVERYBODY who met him on the wedding day had so many nice things to say not only about the photography but Bobby as a person! He is so encouraging, creative, flexible, and fun. He has a SUPER chillin vibe but he truly handles business. Timely, responsive, quick turnaround for galleries, and so kind. I will hire him for maternity, family, travel abroad, any category, he has my trust! You da man Bobby!
  • Lyndsie
    Lyndsie A. Sent on 09/26/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    the BEST!!

    I couldn’t recommend bobby enough! He shot my surprise proposal and we loved the photos and him so much we booked him for our wedding as well. He is so much fun to work with and is absolutely amazing at what he does. He has become a friend to us and I will forever contact him for any of my photography needs
  • Diane
    Diane W. Sent on 10/22/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible experience working with Bobby! Incredible photographs and an amazing personality to set you at ease

    Bobby is nothing short of amazing. Looking at his portfolio you can see his unique ability to incorporate the beauty of natural landscapes without losing focus on the subjects, which makes for absolutely stunning photographs. From the first phone call I knew his calm and positive energy was exactly what we wanted to be surrounded by on our wedding day and sure enough he completely put us at ease on our big day, and on our calls leading up to it. He goes all out to get incredible shots of genuine moments. The lighting in our photos is pure magic, beautifully capturing the enchanting essence of our day. We absolutely loved working with Bobby!!
  • Max
    Max Sent on 12/07/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Bobby is the man

    What an asset to our wedding—Bobby is a pro!
    He really does a wonderful job making everyone feel at ease, and capturing those special unscripted moments. You will be lucky to have him.
    Thank you Bobby!
  • E
    Elena H. Sent on 09/18/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wavy AF, totally rad, super fun times

    Cannot recommend choosing Bobby as your photographer enough!! His photography skills are absolutely on point (there was not a single photo we did not love between both our engagement shoot and wedding album), and his friendly and fun and laid back vibes will definitely make sure that working with him is nothing but fun and joy.
  • A
    Annie O. Sent on 10/24/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Capturing Moments with Artistry and Professionalism: A Stellar Wedding Photographer

    From the beginning to the end, our experience with Bobby was nothing short of extraordinary. His keen eye for capturing the innate beauty of the venue and the authentic moments of our special day left us utterly speechless. Every photo is imbued with the natural elegance and romance that surrounded us, turning simple moments into stunning visual narratives.

    His approachability and friendliness were truly delightful, adding a wonderfully positive energy to the atmosphere. He seamlessly blended into the festivities, engaging with guests and subjects with a warm and genuine demeanor, making everyone feel comfortable and at ease in front of the camera.

    In terms of professionalism, he truly exceeded our expectations. Communication was impeccably clear and consistent throughout the entire process. He was receptive to our ideas and preferences, and his organized manner of working gave us confidence that every detail would be handled with care and precision.

    In the crowded field of wedding photography, his work stands out as a testament to his exceptional talent and dedication. He didn’t just take photos; he told our love story through beautiful imagery, capturing the essence and emotion of each passing moment. We are deeply grateful for his contribution to making our wedding day extraordinary and highly recommend his services to any couple seeking a photographer who combines artistic brilliance with the highest levels of professionalism and friendliness.
  • Emily
    Emily S. Sent on 11/12/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Positively amazing!

    Bobby was a pleasure to work with throughout our engagement and wedding. Bobby’s playful attitude and contagious positivity makes every photo shoot full of smiles and laughter. He helped us throughout the process with planning logistics when we asked for advice, yet was extremely open to our ideas when we had a vision for particular shots. Bobby didn’t flinch when last minute changes during our wedding day were made. We threw him blindly into many situations, and he captured them beautifully. It truly felt like he wanted to capture the moments we were most interested in. And he somehow did it singlehandedly, running around all day to be in just the right places without us even noticing.
    Bobby is someone who makes you feel comfortable in front of the camera and gives just enough direction for a great shot that does not feel stiff or posed. And he’s always down for the adventure—scaling rocks and wading through water to capture the best angle and lighting.
    Oh and did we mention his eye for light? Even with our wedding being full of difficult lighting situations for photos (which another photographer we talked to made us feel uncomfortable about, saying we wouldn’t get good pictures at our chosen venues), between dappled lighting under trees, bright reflections on the beach, and a mixture of cloudy/bright direct light/back light/dark tent at the reception venue, Bobby found a way to capture each setting beautifully, each with their own different quality of light. The color and lighting he is able to capture is stunning; bright, saturated, moody and always artistically framed—not the typical washed out wedding photos you too often see. We would love to say we would hire Bobby at our next wedding, but the best we can do is give him 5/5 stars and tell you to hire him for yours!
  • Francesca
    Francesca C. Sent on 01/26/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    1000% yes!

    1000% yes!

    If you want responsiveness, authenticity, and endless positivity, Bobby is your photographer. Not only will he have you feeling like an old friend within minutes of your first phone call, but he'll do the most important thing you want from a photographer: he'll listen to your needs.

    Bobby makes it very apparent that he'll go above and beyond for his clients, making himself available any time to answer your questions or simply share ideas of how you envision your wedding day photos. The unanimous five-star reviews are a testament to his skill, and you'd be a fool not to book him!
  • K
    Katherine S. Sent on 12/21/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    1000000/10 highly recommend!

    From the initial phone call (which we got about an hour after inquiring), my fiancé and I knew that we had found our wedding photographer. However, we did not know that Bobby would pretty much end up as a part of the family by the end of our small wedding of close family and friends. He is simply a super rad and kind human being and we feel very lucky to have been able to connect with him. Another plus: he was extremely responsive every step of the way. For both the engagement and wedding photos, we were given sneak peeks shortly after shooting and timelines were provided for the final albums. We loved our images for both shoots and are so grateful to have these beautiful memories forever. Bobby has a superb talent for catching all the right moments and will put you at ease while doing so.
  • J
    Jocelyn Sent on 02/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing photos, wonderful presence

    Bobby was a fantastic photographer during all stages of our wedding! He has several hidden gem locations in the Santa Cruz area that were a great choice for our engagement shoot. He did a wonderful job at making us feel relaxed and comfortable and was able to capture some wonderful moments with stellar lighting that day.

    We were so glad to have Bobby there for our very full wedding day. From the early morning of the wedding, our first look, the ceremony, and all the way through the reception to when we left at night, Bobby was able to capture every moment perfectly. He has a talent for getting people to relax and look natural, we came away with drop dead gorgeous “magic hour” photos and he also made sure it was a fun and memorable time for us to get away from the bustle of the reception and enjoy time on our wedding day together.

    We wanted to have a good selection of candid photos as well as our posed shots to make sure we really remembered everything, this is definitely something Bobby excels at, he captured so much love and joy in our photos, every time we look at them we can’t stop smiling (seriously our faces hurt).

    As much as we enjoyed our photos taken by Bobby we also were so grateful to have him there with us. He knew our timeline and was wonderful about checking in with us when it was time for cake cutting or our first dance etc. He also did a great job of reminding us that this was our day and that we could enjoy it however we wanted. He ran interception to give us space when we needed and helped keep us calm and everything moving smoothly.

    We had sneak peaks in the first week for both our wedding and engagement shoot. The final selection for both took a few months, but we were busy in the throws of wedding planning/honeymooning so it felt like we got back from our honeymoon and got to re-live our wedding day with the final photos. Bobby had also been really wonderful with keeping us updated on progress so we never felt stuck not knowing when we would get everything.

    We feel incredibly lucky to have had Bobby as our photographer and would definitely recommend him. Especially if you’re a bit anxious in front of the camera.
  • D
    Daniel W. Sent on 08/04/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely Incredible

    I can't say enough good things about Bobby. He is so responsive end the way he captured both our engagement shoot and our wedding left nothing to be desired. It was all we could have hoped for. To quote my wife when we first saw the photos of the wedding, "Oh my god, I'm obsessed." That should speak volumes about the work Bobby does. If you have the opportunity to have Bobby be your photographer, don't hesitate at all.
  • Michele
    Michele C. Sent on 01/15/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Epic photography created with ease

    Bobby is absolutely the best! We chose him as our photographer for our wedding and engagement photos. He did a fantastic job. His dramatic style and play on lighting was exactly what we were looking for. We did an engagement shoot in Big Sur and had such a fun day with him. He really put us at ease. A great photographer is able to create a relaxed and comfortable environment for their subjects, and Bobby does just that! When we got our photos back, we were blown away. They were so beautiful. One of our goals was to have some truly epic photos, and we got them. We were so excited to later get our redwood forest wedding photos and again, Bobby did not disappoint. We are so happy with both sets of photos. He is a pleasure to work with. He was great at calming nerves on our big day. All our guests loved him. His communication is great, his contract is reasonable and he goes above and beyond with his deliverables. We hope to work with him again someday.
  • Brittney
    Brittney A. Sent on 04/25/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Choose this guy!!!

    Seriously, hire Bobby. You will not regret it! Not only are his pictures phenomenal (I had friends describe them as 'dreamy', 'looks like a magazine spread' etc) but he is a genuinely kind and fun person. It felt like working with an old friend by the time our wedding rolled around. Thank you thank you!!
  • A
    Ayryauna B. Sent on 09/08/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely Amazing!!

    We had a wonderful experience working with Bobby! He communicated well and was highly professional! I had no idea what I wanted in regards to my wedding photos but Bobby made it happen! Our wedding party and guests loved Bobby we got so many compliments on the photographer. He fit in to the wedding well and got even more photos than we thought we would. We will definitely be booking Bobby again for any future photography needs in the future.
  • Nicole
    Nicole B. Sent on 01/02/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Bruh, just hire Bobby

    We can't recommend Bobby enough. From start to finish we not only trusted him as our wedding photographer but we had tons of fun along the way. He has such a good eye for setting up unique shots, especially in beautiful scenery and will bring out authentic moments. Nothing corny or too posed. We did our engagement shoot along the cliffs of Big Sur and had our wedding in the redwoods and Bobby's photos are drop dead gorgeous, we serious would have been happy with just 25-50 incredible photos but we got over 1000. He provided solid advice and guidance and lots of laughs. This guy will do handstands or hang off the side of a cliff to get the perfect shot. He's easy to get along with, our guests loved him, and by the end of it we felt like friends. His prices were also extremely affordable in comparison to others, and his value is top knotch.
  • Jess
    Jess M. Sent on 04/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Stunning Photos, Great Vibes

    As soon as my now-husband and I saw Bobby’s work we knew we had to have him as our wedding photographer. As owners of Brothers Ranch, a tropical garden wedding venue, we knew he would be able to capture not only us and our guests, but also do justice the the landscape in the background. He didn’t disappoint!! He was a pleasure to work with, discussing with us exactly what we were looking for prior to our wedding day and coming out to see the property. He made us feel super comfortable in front of the camera and was a positive, supportive, friendly (and fun!!) presence throughout the day. We definitely plan on working with him again in the future.
  • Lindsey
    Lindsey Sent on 09/16/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    He'll go above and beyond to get the awesome shots!

    My husband and I do not like being in front of the camera. Well, we don't like being in front of the camera for boring, posed, stuffy, forced photos. And that's why we hired Bobby. He is super personable and made us feel at ease and natural in front of the camera. He quickly got our vibe and leaned into it. Very intuitive and talented - his photos convey this great harmony of lighting, composition, storytelling, and emotion. And we love that he's into candid shots because we really didn't want to be stopped all the time for posed photos. We didn't even know Bobby was there most of the time - it was perfect. His pricing is reasonable, great quality, great communication, and overall just an awesome guy. Thanks for getting us to have fun and enjoy being in front of the camera!
  • Stephanie
    Stephanie P. Sent on 09/19/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fun and super friendly!

    Bobby was so much fun to work with and was very helpful in picking shoot locations. My Fiancé and I are not big photo people but would definitely do a shoot again with Bobby. The shoot locations were beautiful and the photos came out amazing!

    We highly recommended.
  • S
    Savanna S. Sent on 08/13/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Bobby is a Gem!

    Bobby should be your #1 choice if you have a wedding or need epic photos. He was easy and fun to work with, was a calm voice amidst what can normally be wedding chaos, and is a genuinely great human. We’re so thankful we found this Santa Cruz gem (I’m sure he’ll travel too if you aren’t local ;) We’ve just received our sneak peek and we can’t wait for all of our photos!
  • A
    Athena E. Sent on 01/23/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Possible Choice

    Bobby was an amazing person and meshed perfectly with both families at my wedding. Everyone loved him and asked for his info. Would 100% use his skills again. The photos came out wonderfully and he has great communication.
  • A
    Allie K. Sent on 02/10/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The BEST experience!!

    Bobby was the absolute best to work with! He made us feel super comfortable during our engagement shoot and we knew we were in good hands. His technique is stunning and you will not be disappointed with the end results. Very natural and romantic lighting. Definitely not the cookie cutter wedding photos you see everywhere. We could not be happier!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours