The Culinary Institute of America Reviews

7 | Napa, CA
See photos, pricing and details

7 Reviews for The Culinary Institute of America

Recommended by 96%

7

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.5

3 User photos

The Culinary Institute of America 1
The Culinary Institute of America 2
The Culinary Institute of America 3
Sort by:
  • H

    Holly Odea · Married on 10/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible service, excellent food, large beautiful space

    Wow! Greystone did a fabulous job of making our daughter’s wedding an event to remember. The food for 185 people was delicious; the service was beyond attentive; and the professionalism of the staff was outstanding. No need to look elsewhere. This is a 10 stars out of 5 venue.

    Sent on 10/21/2019
    The Culinary Institute of America 4
    The Culinary Institute of America 5

    The Culinary Institute of America's reply:

    Thank you so much Holly, it was such a pleasure working with you throughout the process and making this day special. We wish Erin and Evan all the best in their life together!

    Thank you,

    Andrea Luke
    Sales Manager
  • V

    Vernon Laquindanum · Married on 08/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful people at a wonderful venue made for a wonderful wedding

    Could not say more nice things about this place. Every single person we worked with here was incredible in every way: responsiveness, helpful, clear, professional, kind, and accommodating. Even the wait and service staff on the day off went above and beyond for us. Hugely grateful to everyone, and especially Andrea, Sonia, and Ursula for all their help (and patience) coordinating the event.

    But even moreso: the space itself is both massive, varied, and gorgeous. The different shots we were able to get with our photographer makes it seem like we went to different parts of Napa just to get the shots. It was an absolutely stunning place to get married, and we could not be happier.

    Finally, the food: likely the best wedding food we've ever had, and according to our guests, the best they've ever had as well. Even just the food during cocktail hour got high praise from otherwise picky family members. The place truly loves up to his name, and the Chef and pastry Chef did an absolutely amazing job (wish I could remember their names, but even during our tastings, they were incredibly kind and helpful).

    We could not have been happier with going with this place, truly.

    Sent on 08/13/2019
    The Culinary Institute of America 6

    The Culinary Institute of America's reply:

    Hi Vernon and Mabel,
    Congratulations on your wedding, it was our pleasure to have you and your guests here at Copia for your big day! I am so glad you all had a great experience and enjoyed the food, we really appreciate the feedback and can't wait to see more photos! Please come back and visit from time to time- we are truly honored to be a part of your wedding!

    Thank you so much :)
  • R

    Rana · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had our wedding at Copia in August. It was nothing short of amazing! We had a small group (50) and most places we looked at had a minimum charge of 80-100 people. We came across Copia online and discovered they had an elopement wedding package. This was the best find ever!! Instead of charging a pricey venue fee, they charge per person. The package included florals, wedding cake, buffet style dinner, tables, linens, chairs, and drinks. We added signature cocktails and beer for an additional cost, but wine and champagne were included. Everything was beautiful and the event went seamless the day of. The wedding coordinator, Lisa, was great and always took care of any questions and concerns we had. This is a highly recommended wedding venue! They are experts at hosting events and of course, cooking! All of our guests are still staying how good the food was. Check this place out if you're hosting a small wedding!

    Sent on 09/28/2018

    The Culinary Institute of America's reply:

    Hi Rana,
    Congratulations on your wedding, it was an honor to have you and your guests here at the CIA for such a special day! We agree, Lisa is pretty fantastic :) Please come visit from time to time.

    Thank you so much!
  • User2748645 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful reception location! They did an amazing job from the staff, food and venue. The pictures are amazing! A lot of history in this building. Such a please to work with. The service was amazing and all of our guests are still talking about the food. Amazing night for all!!! So glad we found it and everything worked out perfectly!

    Sent on 11/01/2012
  • M

    Mrs.JBond · Married on 12/28/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was our dream venue, delicious food and the service was amazing!
    I dealt with Eileen and Molly and both were fabulous!
    The Chef and Pastry Chef allowed us to make our own menu and everything was delicious!
    They made everything very easy and memorable!
    Everyone is still talking about how wonderful it was!
    I highly recommend them!

    Sent on 02/02/2009
  • D

    Duchess · Married on 02/17/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a most wonderful wedding at the CIA. Molly, our CIA wedding coordinator is fantastic. The food is brilliant.

    Sent on 06/30/2008
  • J

    Julia · Married on 06/20/2015

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    We selected the CIA because of it's dramatic architecture, stellar food and alcohol selection, and the "built in" services. On those counts, we were not let down.

    The Chef and his team are open to making just about everything and anything you can imagine. When we had our tasting, we were blown away by the quality of each and every dish. We were concerned how they could execute such perfect dishes at scale, but we were not disappointed. The food on our wedding day was just as perfect as it was at the tasting.

    Included in a contract with the CIA are lots of great "add ons". For example, the wedding cake, linens (they have a contract with La Tavola linens), glassware, flatware, tables of various sizes and shapes, and chairs are all included. This simply streamlines the whole wedding planning process.

    My only issue in dealing with the CIA was the events manager. She was highly unresponsive via email and phone, which was frustrating and stress-inducing, particularly the closer we came to the event. I often had to ask questions multiple times before she would answer them -- sometimes addressing some questions in an email and completely ignoring others. She was also fairly unorganized for an events manager. During our menu planning and menu tasting meetings, we reviewed choices that had been made in terms of lay out, decor, etc. In both meetings, she had wrong information or didn't remember/hadn't documented choices we made earlier. Her disorganization and lack of responsiveness made me particularly nervous.

    In the end, everything went off as planned and was exquisitely beautiful, but, I'm not sure how much of this to chalk up to the CIA or our kick ass wedding planner. Regardless, having a more professional, organized event manager would have made the whole experience much more enjoyable.

    Overall, I would absolutely recommend the CIA for a wedding, but give fair warning on the potential frustrations of dealing with the event manager.

    Sent on 07/11/2015

    The Culinary Institute of America's reply:

    Julia,

    Thank you so much for the honest feedback on your experience at The Culinary Institute of America at Greystone. I am very glad to hear that your wedding was everything you had hoped for regardless of the communication frustrations during your planning phase. Please know we have recently taken steps to ensure our communication, organization and follow-through on all aspects of events at the CIA will be at its highest efficiency.

    If there is anything else I can do for you or issues I may address, please don't hesitate to reach me at 707-967-2307 or a_thomas@culinary.edu.

    Regards,
    Amy Thomason-Richardson
    Special Events Sales Manager
    The Culinary Institute of America

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review