The Colony House Reviews

6 | Anaheim, CA
See photos, pricing and details

6 Reviews for The Colony House

Recommended by 94% of couples

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.6

Awards

6

5 User photos

Sort by:
  • Amy

    Amy C. · Married on 04/01/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great wedding at The Colony House

    We loved having our wedding at The Colony House! Picking a venue is one of the most important parts of planning your wedding since it sets the tone for the whole look and feel of the day. When we came for our tour, we knew it would be perfect. We wanted a space that would work for the reception and the ceremony without needing to be outside. This was it! We loved the upstairs loft and outside patio for cocktail hour and our guests loved the amazing succulent wall for photo opps. The staff were very helpful and answered all of my questions in a timely manner, which is important as a bride! The food was soooo delicious! Truly, amazing! We read other reviews that mentioned bad sound inside the venue. I was really concerned about this since my husband is an audio engineer. I knew we could not have a venue with bad sound, but actually we didn’t encounter a single issue during our ceremony or reception. We had almost 160 people at our wedding and the room was the perfect size. Everyone on staff with was super kind and friendly. Service staff also came up and congratulated me throughout the night, which I thought was so sweet. We’re so happy we chose the Colony House for our wedding!

    Sent on 05/25/2020
  • Christine

    Christine G. · Married on 11/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Night of Our Lives

    My finance and I just tied the knot last week at Colony House and all we can say is WOW! Mind you we planned our wedding in 90 days and from the start we knew Colony House was the place for us. There are so many areas around the venue you can have your ceremony and the cocktail loft is probably our most favorite spot of the entire venue! With such short notice to pull this whole thing off Nicole G. and Shae H. were on it and helped in every way possible leading up to the big day. From with suggestions for DJs and giving me their honest opinion about ideas, I don’t know what I would have done without them. (Sorry ladies for my mass emails)
    Anyhow on the day of our wedding Nicole G greeted us at the front doors and welcomed us to our vision of our perfect day. Everything we had discussed was spot on and we had our perfect venue right in front of us. All the time while waiting for the time to arrive to walk down the aisle my fiancé and I weren’t stressed one bit. The staff greeted us in the bridal suite with a bottle of champagne, probably to calm the wedding jitters, everyone seriously did the BEST job setting up the entire venue.
    The ceremony was a hit. The reception was a hit. Cocktail hour was so much fun and personally my favorite but overall the food stole the show. Just saying, get the macaroni and cheese with brisket! The only down side of the entire day was that I couldn’t eat anymore. There was so much yummy food available, we ate everything in site and couldn’t even finish our dinner plates. [But it was so good we were bummed talking about how we couldn’t eat anymore without exploding - still talking about it a week later] I would say my fiancé…my husband..and I loved hosting our wedding at Colony House and if we could would come back to have dinner catered by 24 Carrots we would! From the appetizers – bleu cheese sliders to the chicken adobo and the bbq brisket, glazed corn and macaroni and cheese, it was all delicious. Thank you to the staff and Colony House and 24 Carrots for making our day our dream come true!
    PS to future brides: Don't be a Bridezilla and more people will want to work with you. Just saying

    Sent on 10/15/2019
  • User5537752 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I haven't had my wedding there yet, but I wanted to post a review on their awesome customer service. I booked this for my wedding venue 18 months in advance and 6 months have passed and they've been really responsive to all my questions. I'm sure I've been sweating about all the small details too early in the game but I appreciate them taking the time to respond to this brides incessant questions. Really looking forward to my wedding next year with them!

    Sent on 10/19/2015
  • F

    Felice · Married on 04/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My (now) husband and I were married at the Colony House recently, and we love this venue beyond words. The venue itself is gorgeous, and an empty canvas for your own creative enjoyment!

    Nicole and Jessica were very helpful throughout the whole wedding planning process. They are definitely experts in the wedding and event planning field. They will try their best to accommodate to your style and your occasion. Even more so, day-of, the 24 Carrots staff was incredible and ensured that the bridal party and all guests were taken care of.

    The Colony House is a great wedding venue, and I know our pictures will turn out amazing because of all the modern decor.

    Sent on 04/23/2016
  • N

    Nancy · Married on 08/01/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We booked The Colony House for our August 2015 wedding and we were so glad we did! When we booked, it was a brand new venue but by the time our wedding rolled around, they were doing at least 1-2 weddings every weekend. The venue has a gorgeous modern industrial feel and very usable space. We loved the upstairs loft space and paid additional to use it for cocktail hour.

    The venue comes with some very nice accent furniture, including nice wooden tables that we used for the entrance, and couches and coffee table in the loft space, and a gorgeously decorated bridal suite. Everything is conveniently done through 24 Carrots, including any additional rentals such as tablecloths, upgrades, lighting (contracted through their exclusive vendor) and staffing. The venue used to be a club so it comes with professional speakers that your DJ can just plug in . The parking lot is HUGE.

    The catering is all through 24 Carrots and we couldn't be happier. Our guests raved about our wasabi mashed potato appetizers. The buffet food was also excellent. They recently installed local brews on tap and we were able to serve that through our wine and beer package. They were also very accommodating and agreed to create a signature "mocktail" for us at no additional cost.

    Nicole and Jessica were very responsive. Nicole has tons of experience and really has a system and method for getting everything done, especially towards the end, which is great. The team was really accommodating when it came to helping us find a time for our rehearsal on-site and allowed us to rehearse early before they had to set up for another wedding that night.

    Sent on 08/26/2015
  • K

    Katrina · Married on 09/04/2016

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    The Colony House is an absolutely beautiful venue, and while we are ultimately happy with our decision to have our wedding there, we did run into a few issues of note.

    For the positives:
    Like I mentioned, the venue was beautiful and made for wonderful pictures. The simple layout of the venue was spacious for our 120 guests and also ideal for what we were trying to accomplish aesthetically. The day-of staff was very professional and accommodating. And, lastly, the food was very, very good. We even had several food allergies in our group, and 24 Carrots was able to accommodate all of them too!

    On the not-as-positive side:
    There were three main areas where there was room for improvement when it came to working with 24 Carrots and The Colony House staff.

    First, communication wasn’t the best. In an industry where other vendors were responding back within a day (if not a couple hours), there were multiple occasions where I wouldn’t hear back on questions for over a week. There were also inconsistencies between the answers we received from different staff members, which they attributed to our main contact leaving about 6 weeks before our wedding. However, the inconsistencies occurred both during the time she had been there and after she left. We understand that they were short-staffed after she left, but we also didn’t get our finalized contract until just a few days before our wedding (2.5 weeks later than promised).

    Second, we felt a little nickel and dimed. We know that the weddings don’t come cheap, but there were certain charges that just felt disrespectful. For instance, glasses weren’t included in the price for the bar, and we were quoted a certain price for coffee per person and then later found charges for the “urns” to serve it out of. Why wouldn’t that cost have been factored into the per person charge since we couldn’t have served coffee without them?

    Third, and maybe the most significant issue we ran into, was that we were never told

    Sent on 10/19/2016