The Colonnade Reviews

17 | Scranton, PA
See photos, pricing and details

17 Reviews for The Colonnade

Recommended by 86%

17

4.3 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.3
  • Professionalism 4.2
  • Flexibility 4.2
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.1
Sort by:
  • B

    Britt · Married on 05/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolute perfection. Josh and Paul anticipated the need and took care of everything before anyone even knew it was needed. They listened to our thoughts and offered their professional spin. One thing that just melted my heart was that one of the guests spotted them lint rolling the napkins before the reception started - Impressive! The decor was beautiful and the food was fantastic. Our guests are still raving out their experiences. Every detail was attended to so that we did not have to worry about a thing. Josh and Paul coordinated all of the vendors too. We can honestly say - it was a stress free wedding! Matt & Britt

    Sent on 07/20/2016
  • M

    Marcus · Married on 06/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josh and Paul,
    You two are miracle workers! Marcus and I are so happy we had our wedding at your venue. You treated us like family and we are very greatful for that. You paid great attention to detail and we are so appreciative. We will never forget our beautiful and amazing wedding - the one you helped us bring to life.
    Marcus and Carmie

    Sent on 08/28/2015
  • N

    Nancy · Married on 05/31/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I just want to say thank you for a wonderful event. The compliments we received were numerous and I know that was because of you and your staff. You gave my daughter a day to remember and I couldn’t imagine a more beautiful affair if I tried.

    Thank you,
    Nancy C

    Sent on 06/01/2015
  • User5134741 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just had our wedding at The Colonnade this past weekend, and Paul did our florals. I knew they would be gorgeous, and they exceeded my expectations. Both the bouquets and the floral arrangements on the tables were perfect and gorgeous. I would highly recommend both the venue and the floral to anyone in the future. I knew that everything would be beautiful and that I wouldn't have to worry about a thing, and that's exactly what happened. We were so pleased (and I'm a very picky person!). If you are considering Posh Life Florals or The Colonnade, look no further. This is coming from a person who is very particular about everything and drives her then-fiance, now-husband crazy with all of the little details! :D

    Sent on 06/01/2015
  • B

    Barbra · Married on 05/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A wonderful time was had by all !!

    Thank you for a wonderful celebration for our anniversary.
    FANTASTIC!!

    You and Paul should really go into the business...*:) happy

    Everything from start to finish was great...Table setups were
    beautiful...Staff very caring.....Bar (and Snifters) great....
    Food...out of this world!!!

    Guests and Family agree....it was WONDERFUL !!

    Thank you !!

    Barbara, Frank, Michael, Michele, Alicia, Stephen

    Sent on 05/29/2015
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 05/09/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hi Joshua
    We were thrilled with everything ! Thank you and Paul. Michele

    Sent on 05/29/2015
  • K

    Ketura · Married on 12/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used the Colonnade in December for our wedding rehearsal dinner and also rented two suites on our wedding day were my bridal party got ready. The first time we met with Josh to look at the space, I absolutely fell in love with its charm. It's decorated impeccably, especially for holidays in December. The food for the rehearsal was excellent, as was the service. The suites upstairs are equally as beautiful (and the bathrooms are amazing!) and Paul and Josh set us up with ice and champagne glasses for the day. At some point in the day after photos, we realized some of the flowers that were supposed to go to the church got left behind and Paul offered to take them over himself, which was such a great help! My husband and I opted to stay at the Colonnade that night (since the rooms at the nearby hotel where we held our reception don't even compare) and we had breakfast and coffee waiting for us when we woke up, which was a really nice surprise. Paul and Josh were so accommodating and the venue was excellent, from the food to the decor to the ambiance. I would recommend to anyone looking for a unique venue with great character - or a beautiful place to spend a night!

    Sent on 01/13/2015
  • M

    m · Married on 07/27/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married in July at the Colonnade. Paul and Josh are true masters at what they do. Everything was taken care of down to the tiny details. They even saved us a piece of wedding cake in our suite to enjoy when the night was over. I would not hesitate to book them for any event!

    Sent on 11/22/2013
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 07/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Colonnade is more than just a pretty venue. Sure, it's elegant and has beautiful decor. But the real treasure here is the staff. From the first time we visited, my husband and I were overwhelmed by how warm, thoughtful and organized Joshua Mast and his team were. During wedding planning, Josh was incredibly responsive to any questions that I had - often answering me early in the morning or late at night. When dining at The Colonnade's sister restaurant, POSH, Josh always made it a point to stop by our table and offer his assistance with wedding issues. Leading up to the big day, we were welcome to call Josh at any hour of the day with questions or issues. Our wedding was simply perfect - the food was out of this world; the service was outstanding and the staff ensured that every aspect of the day ran smoothly. My husband and I did not have to worry about anything - they even brought in lunch for us! Our guests are still talking about the wedding weeks later. I emphatically recommend The Colonnade to anyone looking for a beautiful, well-planned event. My husband and I feel so lucky to have had our special day there and can't wait for an opportunity to return.

    Sent on 07/24/2013
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 06/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Colonnade catered our wedding off-site- the food, service, staff- everything was phenomenal! My husband and I had an 18 month engagement. From start to finish, Josh and Paul worked to make our day perfect! We wanted a wide variety of stations to cater to the various tastes of our 200+ guests. Our food tasting was terrific- we tried everything that would be at our wedding and they showed us how it would be displayed as well. At our reception, the food and presentation was even BETTER than our tasting. The seafood, fruit and vegetables were super fresh and cooked perfectly. The beef tenderloin was cooked to please every temperature preference. The food was fantastic! Josh and Paul also provided our floral arrangements and decor. They understood our vision from day one and our reception was literally perfect. They will ensure that you get what you want on your special day. Additionally, they are professional, friendly and fun. I highly recommend The Colonnade and Posh Life Floral and Events. Thank you!

    Sent on 07/23/2013
  • Ellen

    Ellen · Married on 04/14/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    PERFECTION! It was an absolute pleasure working with Josh and Paul from designing the flow of the day to the menu and floral arrangements! Yes, you are reading correctly, they DO IT ALL! It feels like you have your own wedding planner :-) The day mansion is immacualte and comfortable, the bridal suite was incredible, service was out of this world! Everything went just as I had in my dreams from the first sit down meeting to breakfast in bed as a Mrs! Your guests will rave about this place and you will be very pleased.

    Sent on 05/10/2012
  • User6495718 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our ceremony and reception were held at the colonnade and everything was fantastic. The owners were very accommodating and as a bonus, they are full service, so we just dropped off decorations we wanted and set everything up. They have packages which can accommodate different price points but they are more than willing to do anything you want and try to accommodate any budget. The day of the wedding one of the owners was on staff along with their manager and staff which were all very professional. The food was delicious, the staff very efficient, and the space is so beautiful minimum decorating is required. They offer a floral service in house as well and they were completely beautiful from my centerpieces to my bouquets. I highly recommend this venue for any couple looking for a reception space.

    Sent on 10/21/2016
  • D

    Daniel · Married on 08/02/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The general hope is that one doesn't get much practice planning their wedding, so it's important to learn from others so get the most out of your experience.

    The Colonnade is an excellent, classy venue that will leave a lasting impression on your guests and is ideal for your small- to medium-sized event. Josh and Paul, who run the entire operation (bed and breakfast and event functions), have excellent taste and are a joy to work with. They're also well-connected to great vendors in the area, giving you the flexibility to do as much or as little as you want to customize the day. They also have a staff of capable and attentive people who will go to great lengths to ensure you have what you need before and during your event.

    Watch-outs: Make sure all decisions are confirmed *in writing* with Josh and Paul to prevent surprises. Read the details of your contract very carefully, with the expectation that you'll need to correct some things (I found the formatting of the contract to be rather confusing). Yours will be the only event happening, but there will likely be other events before or after yours which can impact how you prepare and use the space. Plan ahead so you can book some or all of the the beautiful suites upstairs for prep (there were three when we had our event). Also, if you're not getting responses, pick up the phone!

    Other things to know: Josh is extremely resourceful and always keeps a cool head. You can rely on him fully to solve problems, regardless of who or what screwed up. This is a huge asset.

    Finally, go for the premium bar. Seriously, it's your wedding.

    Sent on 11/22/2014
  • User4662211 · 2+ years ago

    2.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    First off, we had 130 people at this venue. They advertise to have a max of 200. Please do not believe this. They say max 120 in the dining area, this is also not true. If you are to consider this for a wedding your guest list should be less than 100. 80 or less would probably fit best.

    Next, Josh (one of the owners and wedding planners) is a yes man. He will tell you he will do this and that, and you will think he is on the same page as you. However, I found this to be the farthest from the truth. From our tasting to the day of, there were details missing. Maybe it was just a busy time, maybe they had too many bookings between their other venue and this one, but either way, my wishes were not followed through with. For example- the tent was not decorated with the decorations that I left. There were no high top tables as agreed on and he charged $250 for a "dance floor" that could literally fit two couples. Don't purchase this. Just use the cement floor that is available.

    On the day of the wedding reception, Josh was no where to be found, even though I was told he would be there. There was a house assistant, but she had no itinerary for the day and was constantly asking me questions throughout the night on when to do what. It was ridiculous because this was previously decided and planned weeks beforehand. If Josh wasn't going to be there, he should have passed on this information to her.

    In the end, things happened out of order and in the wrong spot. We didn't get an official cake cutt

    Sent on 01/04/2015
  • User4995058 · 2+ years ago

    2.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Great venue; not to great service.

    They don't return phone calls or emails. Didn't listen to me about what I wanted. I went over things with them 5 times yet they still screwed things up. My flowers were horrid - I sent a picture of exactly what I wanted - it was half what I wanted.

    On the positive side, it's a beautiful venue and exclusive. My wedding was beautiful. It's also great for a small wedding.

    Sent on 04/20/2015
  • User4875083 · 2+ years ago

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      1.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    I recently got married at The Colonnade this past January. Everything - from booking the rooms to the communication to the flowers & decorations was overall, poorly handled. Such a letdown in every way!

    The morning of my wedding, we had booked all three rooms (in advance) for the bridesmaids, groomsmen & a honeymoon suite for that night. Not only were there guests in one of the rooms until noon, but Josh claimed we hadn't booked them at all; yet we were charged for it. That night, after the wedding, my husband & I were looking forward to going upstairs to settle in the honeymoon suite I'd put my stuff in earlier that day. When we got upstairs, our things were perched upon a bench outside of the room & the door was locked. The only two rooms available were filled with my bridesmaid's & groomsmen's things. So instead of immediately relaxing, we helped our guests pack up their items. The wedding ended at around 10. We didn't settle in until about 11:15; & that was after my husband ran downstairs to check with Josh & Paul that we could stay there for the night. What a wreck!

    That afternoon, when I finally arrived, Josh ignored my presence & didn't say a word to me until hours later when the wedding was half-way through; snapping pictures of me like he was a good host. He wasn't. The caterer we hired - from New York - literally kept the energy going throughout the night, as well as coordinating with the band & making sure I was okay at all times. He was way more than a caterer, he was my personal assistant, my friend & my wedding planner for that day!

    My bouquet was full of wilting flowers, tied in a ribbon I told him I specifically didn't want the week before the wedding. As for the decor, the aisle wasn't as I pictured it to be at all. The flowers I wanted weren't a huge part of either the ceremony or reception. The tables were set in a pretty way, but were not designed the way Paul had initially showed me. I wish I hadn't had my Big Day at The Colonnade.

    Sent on 03/13/2015
  • K

    Ken · event on 02/01/2014

    1.2
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    Joshua Mast, one of the partners of The Colonnade has flunked customer service 101. My wife and I had my daughters Sweet 16 birthday party here. DO NOT DO YOUR EVENT HERE IF YOU HAVE TO WORK WITH JOSH.

    Here's the breakdown of the good and bad:
    Good:
    -Food was tasty
    -Facility is beautiful
    -Staff was pleasant
    -Attendant at door was a nice touch

    Negative:
    -One of the two bathroom doors did not lock, making for some embarrassing situations
    -Food was lukewarm
    -There was not enough food
    -When a family member with gluten allergies filled a plate with five pieces of sushi Josh, the owner asked if she was going to leave any for the family. He then asked her to put some of the food back!!!! He denies the later comment but it was witnessed by more than one person. I was absolutely appalled that anyone, let alone the owner would have the nerve to actually say this to a guest. When under any pressure Josh makes the situation worse by refusing to admit fault and wanting to blame anyone else and then storm off.

    Sent on 02/03/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review