The City Club of San Francisco Reviews

22 | San Francisco, CA
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for The City Club of San Francisco

Recommended by 98%

22
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8
Sort by:
  • E

    Eleanor · Married on 05/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a wonderful venue!

    We recently had our wedding and reception at the City Club (5.12.18), and it was everything we hoped for and more. The venue itself is gorgeous; the vintage elements have been beautifully maintained, and so much care has been put into the details.

    The food and beverages were delicious. We opted for their 155 package which worked out to be an amazing deal, especially for the Bay Area. The appetizers were plentiful, as was the wine, and the entrees got rave reviews from the guests.

    However, what truly set the city club apart was their warm, gracious and professional staff. Juliette St. Andrew was our coordinator, and she did an excellent job making sure the event went flawlessly down to the last detail. I had ambitious plans, and Juliette was so generous and helpful in their execution! Sylvia cut our cake, and she had such a warm and graceful professionalism. When I dropped my cake off the day before, she greeted me and congratulated me with genuine kindness.

    To paraphrase my father, who was equally enamored with the entire experience, I'm not sure if personality is something the City Club looks for when hiring, or something that is engendered through their culture and standards, but we felt so genuinely welcomed and cared for throughout the night that I can't imagine having had our wedding in any other setting.

    If you are looking for a venue in downtown San Francisco, you will do yourself a great service by considering and checking out the City Club!

  • L

    Linda · Married on 03/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot thank Cassie Harris and the entire team at The City Club for making my wedding day a flawless event. Everyone raved about the venue, food and service. My husband and I enjoyed ourselves just as much as the guests. The added bonus of using both the 10th and 11th floors made the event all the more special for everyone. Cassie and the team also worked collaboratively with my wedding planner and her assistant and all of my vendors. They were all consummate professionals and never seemed to break a sweat all night :)

  • K

    Katie · Married on 03/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not have imagined that my wedding would turn out as beautiful as it did. This is THE venue if you are looking for something unique that has that great, old-San Francisco feel... so different than the standard hotel ballroom. The wonderful thing about this venue is that it is already so beautiful with such rich colors and neat architecture throughout that there is no need for pipe and drape or a lot of extra fluff, which adds up so quickly. The club also provides up lighting, so there is no need to hire an extra vendor for that either. This place really does it ALL. I was planning my wedding from half-way across the country and all 90 guests were from out-of-town, so this was a true destination wedding. I cannot convey how much easier it was finding a venue like the City Club that housed everything I needed under one roof. Ceremony/reception venue, tables/chairs/linens, bar, dinner, lighting, furniture… the only THREE vendors I had to work with outside of the City Club were a florist, a DJ, and a bakery for the cake. Not having to coordinate with 8+ vendors made the whole process so much nicer. I worked with Alexi and I cannot thank her enough for all her hard work not only executing the wedding, but everything leading up; answering my emails, providing cost-savings where she could, giving me options, being flexible, going above and beyond. Everything start to finish was perfect. My guests loved the food, as well! I don’t know how they managed to put out so many plates of salmon and beef filets that are so perfectly cooked, but they nailed it. Food was really important to us and everything was wonderful from the cocktail hour appetizers to our dinner entrees. I couldn’t be happier with how everything turned out & would recommend this venue to any bride that either lives out-of-state or local that wants a more simplified planning process and wants a venue that’s completely different & unique! Thank you Alexi & City Club staff for making our wedding so special!

  • L

    Laura · Married on 02/23/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at the City Club last month, and I couldn't be happier with our choice of venue. The space itself is absolutely gorgeous and very unique - lots of great spots for photos! The food is great too - everything was prepared well and tasted high quality.

    One of the best parts about the City Club is that everything is so easy! Alfredo was our on-site coordinator, and he was a pleasure to work with. He met with us several times to nail down all the details. He was very responsive and promptly answered any questions that came up during the planning process. He was also on-site the day-of to make sure that everything ran smoothly. Alfredo kept us on time, coordinated the day-of schedule with our vendors, and made the entire event totally stress-free. All of the other staff was excellent as well - someone was always on hand to make sure our guests had everything they needed. We had multiple guests comment on how good the service was.

    If you're looking for a beautiful space with excellent food and service, then choose the City Club as your venue.

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 02/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing staff! Everything exceeded our expectations. Venue was beautiful, our event coordinator, Alfredo was AMAZING and everyone had so much fun. The food was also fabulous and many people remarked about how perfectly cooked their steak was (I mean seriously, how often does that happen?). We got a lot of "It was the best wedding we have ever been to" and our event coordinator kept us on track and allowed us to have fun! I did not have a worry the whole time we were there (and I am a total detail oriented, type A freak). LOVE this venue! Thank you!

  • User3724112 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent service. We love this place.

  • User3233259 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were extremely happy with our California reception (got married in New Zealand) Donna Labriola was a delight to work with. Any requests we had were taken care of. The guests raved about the food. Just wish that we could do it all over again--it was a perfect evening.

  • N

    Nicole · Married on 12/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had our wedding ceremony and reception at The City Club on 12/22/12 and it was ABSOLUTELY PERFECT! Not a thing I would change! The venue is breathtakingly beautiful and really comes to life at night! This venue has beauty no matter where you look- from the relief sculpture above the fire place to the beautiful metallic ceilings. We picked it not only because of the character it has but we loved the movement of the wedding. The City Club is two floors- so we had our ceremony & cocktail hour on the 10th floor, dinner on the 11th floor, and the back down to 10 for dancing. Moving to the 10th floor for dancing was genius! The room was set up with high boy tables and couches- very loungey! It made people get up out of their seats and mingle! In part to The City Club and also the DJ- the dance floor was full all night!

    Donna Labriola (the event organizer) was fantastic!! She dealt a lot with my mom (since I live out of state), but I was always kept in the loop! She had everything calmly under control the entire night! She set out menu cards, programs, table numbers, made sure my bouquet was there when I did my bouquet toss- you name it, she was on it! Something inevitably always goes wrong- but not this time, everything went very smooth! It was perfection!

  • User2199245 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so happy we chose the City Club for our reception. Everything was so easy and fun. Alfredo walked us through the whole planning process and on the night of the wedding he pointed us in the right direction all evening long-- so that we were able to fit everything in we had planned while still having a relaxed amazing time.
    The food was outstanding.
    All of our guests loved the incredible scene-- including 3 floors of fun, the Diego Rivera mural, and the cigar room.
    You should definitely check out this awesome venue if you are getting married in San Francisco.

  • User3244543 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The City Club of San Francisco was the perfect venue for our wedding reception. From the Diego Rivera mural to the attentive/friendly service staff and amazingly preserved art deco interior we could not have asked for more. Not to mention the attentive, detail oriented Sales and Catering Manager (Donna) that made sure everything ran smoothly every step of the way. Recommend the delicious peppered steak and halibut for the entrees and the crab cakes! The Catering Manager also takes the role of outside vendor coordinator, making sure that all of the parties involved combine and result in a wedding reception masterpiece. They were willing to meet with us and be flexible about our different asks and accommodating to make our day just like we envisioned. Wedding sizes big or small, The City Club delivers the best San Francisco wedding experience.

  • User2193079 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Exceeded my expectations and could not ask for a better venue and perfect service Thank you!

  • W

    Cindy · Married on 09/10/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you want a beautiful venue with a very professional staff that allows you to enjoy your wedding, this is the place! We worked w/Michelle Kimmins & she is superb. She met & spoke with us before the wedding as much as we needed, she was there for the wedding & made sure everything went smoothly. The head of catering is terrific - everyone complimented us on the great food. You don't need to add much to the venue - it is lovely & a perfect place to have ceremony, cocktails, dinner upstairs, dancing...go for it!

  • M

    Maryana · Married on 07/03/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing the City Club to be our reception location for our July 3, 2011 wedding was the best decision we made during the entire wedding planning process. One month later, I still am receiving phone calls and emails from guests about how delicious the food was, how well the event flowed, and how beautiful and unique the City Club was. Guests raved about our duo petit filet and salmon entree, they loved the elegant Art Deco decor and the stunning view of San Francisco (wait til you see it at night..!), and they were so impressed by how the downstairs cafe was transformed into the dancing space after cocktail hour.

    As other brides mentioned, the City Club is very reasonably priced considering the caliber of their food, service, and not to mention their stunning venue. Unlike other upscale hotels in the area, you have the City Club all to yourself on the day/night of your wedding-- and it's so much more personal, lovely, and unique than a "hotel wedding." We considered the Ritz Carlton, Fairmont, and Omni, but none of their spaces held a candle to the City Club. The City Club has a wonderfully retro/elegant/classic/glamorous feel with tons of personality, which generic hotel ballrooms cannot hope to compete with.

    The City Club is amazing in itself, but then there's Cassie Harris, the Sales & Catering Manager worth her weight in gold. Cassie is the best wedding coordinator a bride could hope to work with. She's smart, savvy, professional, punctual, kind, has a wonderful calming and relaxed presence, and is simply incredible at what she does. I can't tell you how much time and effort she put into our wedding. We booked the City Club just over a year before our wedding and we certainly put her to work in the interim. We changed floor plans at least a dozen times, changed our menu three times, created numerous elaborate displays for our cocktail hour, and more, and Cassie took it all in stride. Our directions and questions for Cassie could have filled up several large volumes, but never once did she make me feel like the very high maintenance bride that I admittedly was. She was always willing to help and full of great ideas. She promptly returned phone calls and emails, and accomodated me even when I ran late to meetings. On the big day, she made sure everything ran smoothly and without a hitch. I wouldn't be surprised if the City Club eventually books several years in advance for weddings, considering the amazing experience they create for brides like myself.

    Thank you, Cassie, and the entire City Club staff, for making our wedding more than we asked for, more than we hoped or expected, more than we dreamed!!

  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 03/05/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wish I could give MORE stars here. I had my wedding last month at City Club . . . I wouldn't change a thing if I had to do it all over again.

    Venue, food, coordination, and a completely beautiful day. I would recommend City Club to my dearest friends any day.

    The venue was absolutely beautiful, the food is still being talked about as the best wedding dinner my guests have had, and our onsite Coordinator, Cassie Harris, exceeded our expectations (and was wonderful, kind professional and very thorough).

    When we first selected the venue, it was obvious that even with no wedding decorations, City Club is absolutely gorgeous, elegant and classy. I had been to a wedding there previously and fell in love with it even more when we reviewed for ours. The decor is glamorous to say the least.

    The wedding itself can be held there, they have the ceremony on one floor, and then your guest move up past a beautiful Diego Rivera painting to the dining room. During dinner, the previous floor is transformed into a BEAUTIFUL dance and reception area . . .really breathtaking. I caught my breath when I came down to the reception after dinner . . it was amazing.

    Our onsite coordinator led us through the entire process, from selecting City Club, to finding the right dining package, and then through the palnning phase. She was SO on top of everything. As the date approached, she worked with each of my vendors for a perfect outcome. I was really surprised at how smoothly everything went. On top of it all, she was SO helpful on the day of, with everything from fastening boutonnieres to reparing my bustle that broke to comforting us all to calmness.

    I am so happy we made such a good choice . . . we will remember that day forever as being perfect!

  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 11/20/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The City Club helped make our wedding personal and intimate for our guests. We highly recommend this venue and will probably be back for anniversary parties in the future.

  • K

    Kristen · Married on 12/31/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married on New Year's Eve and had the best ceremony and reception at the City Club! We got so many wonderful compliments about our beautiful wedding. The City Club was very flexible with all the crazy ideas I had, including a balloon drop, giant crystal trees in the dinner area, a full wall of crystals and an aisle lined with candles in the ceremony space. Sandy Roissier was our City Club coordinator and was so wonderful and responsive to all the questions I had. Thank you Sandy! I highly recommend this venue for a classy event.

  • User3612518 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We picked this place for the following reasons:

    - I wanted an evening, urban wedding at a location where guests can just walk to and from their hotels without worrying about driving or transportation
    - Curfew can go till 2am
    - Compared to most venues in the city, CC is in the middle in terms of budget
    - While you can't bring in your own food (aside from dessert), you can totally customize your menu to your liking. My husband and I did a Southern & Chinese food buffet where we choose our own menu items (ie: Chinese BBQ pork buns, Asian spare ribs, hot n sour soup, egg rolls, BBQ beef brisket, collard greens, red beans n rice, mac n cheese, corn bread, etc.), and the food was excellent. Being a big Yelper, food is extremely important to us
    - CC provides almost everything: tables, chairs, linens, flatware, basic uplighting, food, alcohol, staff, day of coordinator, full setup and breakdown, etc. I just had to bring in my own florist, dessert, DJ, photobooth, extra uplighting and video/photographer. But the day of coordinator works with all your vendors to coordinate timeline and manages them a few weeks out as well as the day of
    - The venue is already pretty grand/ornate in itself, so you don't need to do much in terms of flowers or decoration
    - Cassie, who I worked with from the very beginning when first scouting venues all the way to the big day of when she acted as day-of coordinator, was absolutely AMAZING. She is super nice, responsive, detail oriented, and extremely flexible when it comes to making things work for YOU. She's the best.

    Thank you Cassie and The City Club for making my big day so awesome!

  • S

    Shannon · Married on 07/10/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I visited a lot of wedding venues all over the Bay Area before we decided on the City Club for our wedding in July 2010. We loved the fact that the City Club was so private, with two floors of event space so that we could move guests around and keep the event flowing. The space itself is beautiful (although we did cover up the archer statue over the fireplace with a drape) with great views of the city, and there is something about it that just feels comfortable and makes you want to hang out for a while. It has a very old San Francisco feel to that we thought added a cool vibe to the wedding. There is just something very elegant about the space. It was also very convenient for our guests, as they were able to walk to the wedding from their hotels.

    The wedding ended up being even better than we could have imagined. The space looked beautiful, the staff was all extremely helpful, and everything went off without a hitch. We had our ceremony and cocktail hour on the 10th floor, dinner on the 11th and then back down to the 10th floor for dancing. We got compliments all night (and are still getting compliments) about how much our guests loved the space.

    The food was also great. As appetizers we served crab cakes, spanakopita, lemongrass prawns and beef skewers. For dinner we had peppercorn crusted filet of beef and pan seared salmon. All of it was delicious.

    To top it off, the price for the City Club was very reasonable when compared to other venues in the City.

    Overall, I was very happy that we chose the City Club for our wedding venue. It was the perfect day.

  • User4852553 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We love our venue, beautiful and surrounded with a very friendly and professional staffs .

  • User4331967 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Overall, the City Club hosted a great wedding reception for us. We were pleased with the value, the fact that the venue also included catering, cake, rentals, and a coordinator. Unfortunately, we ended up going through four different coordinators because of coordinators departing the City Club, including one within the month of our wedding. We gave a lower rating for responsiveness and professionalism because often we had to email several times after not getting an email response just to find out that we had a new coordinator. Despite the turnover in coordinators, the City Club still put on a great event that our guests really enjoyed. The location was excellent for a city wedding, the history of the Club and design is interesting in a good way, and the food was excellent.

  • S

    m · Married on 11/01/2009

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cassie at The City Club was a great help for my wedding. She was able to work with my ideas and then completely take control and create a wonderful event. She was light and happy and kept the spirit of the planning fun. The space is magnificent; it barely needs any decor. Having two beautiful floors available is extremely convenient if you would like the ceremony and reception in one location.

  • S

    Deb · Married on 08/31/2008

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We were soooo happy we decided on the City Club. It has such a great sense of history and is truly a unique building. There is a gorgeous mural by Diego Riviera in the stairway and the Art Deco decor was greatly appreciated by the guests. One of the reasons I chose them was that many they have very highly rated food. We had a tasting and I was so pleased, especially the champagne that they include in the package. Not bad at all! And our guests were so complimentary towards the food. I also found their packages for the bar to be really reasonable. They were quite flexible so we did a flat rate for the first hour and a per drink rate for the remaining hours. The rental fees are reasonable and we had both floors to ourselves. We had a photobooth which was easily accomodated and the staffing was great. We even had a room for the babies for them to rest in right off the dance area,- very convenient. Our event planner was Cassie and she was really helpful and just super easy to work with. And she would get back to my emails so quickly- I love that! Overall, there weren't any muckups or problems- the night went pretty seamlessly. The only thing that I wish it had was better lighting. We took our family photos here and since it's a historic building and it was an evening wedding, some of the photos were a bit dark.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review