Weddings

The Chalfonte Hotel Reviews

The Chalfonte Hotel View more information

12 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 12

5 User photos

Sort by:
  • A
    Adrienne G. Married on 07/01/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Value in Cape May

    We had our wedding reception at the Chalfont on July 1, 2018 which was a Sunday in the afternoon. They were great and very helpful with the whole process. They were very flexible with the menu which was helpful because we are vegetarians and we wanted a vegetarian buffet. They worked with Peace Pie to coordinate our desert choice (we didn’t have cake). They helped our DJ and our cocktail hour musician set up. We really couldn’t have asked for more. If we were to do it again, we’d choose the Chalfonte. All of our guests loved it and many stayed there on the hotel. It is such a special venue for a wedding.

    May husband thought the Chalfonte was better than he could have imagined. The staff was exceptional and the ambiance was really special. The staff and Terry, the wedding coordinator, were the best.
  • E
    Erin Married on 05/05/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our 5/5/18 wedding at the Chalfonte was a blast! We were sold on the history and character of the hotel, and Terry and her staff really delivered on the rest. Terry was a breeze to work with - her even-keeled manner was very reassuring leading up to and on the day of the event. She was great about recommending different options and flexible with our special requests. And in addition, she made all the right decisions when we didn’t know what to do (like where to put all the random decorations and homemade desserts that kept multiplying in the days leading up to the event). Our guests raved about the charm of the venue and the food was great, too. And if you’re on the fence about the post wedding breakfast, go for it. It was an unexpected highlight for us - both for the amazing spread of delicious food and the chance to recap with friends and family about how great the wedding was.
  • A
    Amy Married on 09/30/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding at the Chalfonte was perfect! I live abroad and had to schedule appointments around my trips to the States in the months leading up to the wedding. Terry Carr was always available and willing to accommodate, even in the middle of winter when the hotel was closed! Terry was extremely helpful throughout the whole process and took care of details like ordering special wine to accompany dinner and having the servers pass out chocolate covered strawberries after the cake was cut. She coordinated with our various vendors and month-of planner and we did not have to worry about anything except enjoying our day. My Italian fiancé and his family were very impressed with the service and the food, which says it all, as Italians have very high standards! The appetizers were delicious, as were the entrees. Everything was plentiful and no one went home hungry. The venue is perfect, from the front porch for cocktail hour, to the beautiful dining room. The Chalfonte will always be a special place for us!
  • M
    Mimi Married on 07/08/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Chalfonte Hotel was the absolute perfect location for our wedding reception. The staff was incredibly helpful, enthusiastic and accommodating! From the cocktail hour on the porch to the amazing sit-down dinner to the last dance- the night was perfect. I couldn't have asked for anything more. I highly recommend the Chalfonte!!
  • Emily
    Emily Married on 09/25/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    What an unforgettable day!!! The Chalfonte was the first and only venue we looked at and I immediately fell in love. It's not your typical wedding venue, it's a trip back in time. I cannot rave enough about how beautiful the property is! The wedding coordinator, Terry is AMAZING! Most of our planning was done through emails and we met a few times to discuss details. She was always quick to answer all of my questions. I knew that my day would go smoothly because of her (and it did!) We DIY-ed most of our wedding so we brought down a ton of decorations and flowers! They gave us a spare room where we were able to store everything and work on our floral arrangements. We had a few friends and family who stayed at the hotel and it was so nice to sit on the porch in the rocking chairs and take in the whole weekend. My husband and I got married at the Chalfonte on a beautiful Sunday evening. We were married in the backyard under the willow tree. The yard looks small, but it was able to fit all of our 92 guests (and there was still room!). It was such an intimate and lovely ceremony. The weather was perfect, and the sun was out all day. The hotel is so close to the beach that we were able to walk down for a few pictures. The reception took place in the Magnolia room and everything was decorated just as I imagined!! There was honestly not one thing wrong about the whole day. After the wedding, a bunch of our friends and family went into the King Edward Bar and mingled with some of the guests there and had a few drinks before heading to bed. It was honestly a weekend that I will never forget. Many of our guests are still talking about how wonderful the wedding was. My husband and I are already planning to come back next year and we plan to make it a yearly trip. Thank you so much Terry and the rest of the staff at the Chalfonte. You gave us our dream wedding!
  • E
    Elaine Married on 10/03/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had the perfect wedding day, with thanks to Terry and the staff at the Chalfonte. We were the 1st of 2 weddings that day, but you would have thought we were the only one because of the attention they paid to us. Terry took my directions for decor, and delivered spot on. Because of the weather, we had to go with Plan B for the ceremony (inside instead of outside). Everything ran so smoothly and our guests raved about the beauty of the building, the excellent service and the amazing food.

    Thank you to everyone at the Chalfonte for a perfect day.
  • L
    Lynley Married on 08/15/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    If you are looking for a classic Cape May, NJ wedding venue, this is it! Terry, the wedding coordinator is truly amazing at what she does and will take care of every tiny detail with the greatest of care. I was planning my wedding from Missouri so I really cannot thank Terry enough for all her help. We used their courtyard area for our ceremony and it was gorgeous! It had the perfect amount of privacy and fit our group of 75 easily. We then had a cocktail hour on the porches, which I can not say enough good things about. Some of my favorite memories from our wedding were spent on the huge porches, chatting on the rocking chairs. Also, the food was absolutely outstanding! Guests couldn't stop raving about the crab cakes and mini filet minion at dinner and all the wonderful appetizers. The Chalfonte is also one of the most reasonably priced venues on the island for all that it includes. Just Terry, the wedding coordinator, alone is worth it! I would highly recommend the Chalfonte Hotel! You cannot find a more quintessential Cape May venue!

    The Chalfonte Hotel's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words! It was my pleasure to be part of your special day. All the best to you!
  • D
    D Married on 10/12/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I grew up going to Cape May and I always knew that I would have my wedding there. When it was time to look for a location, there was no question that The Chalfonte Hotel was THE BEST option. The hotel is the oldest and Cape May and has so much character and charm. The space itself is so beautiful, that there is really little need to no need for decorations to make your wedding feel special. Terri, the Wedding Coordinator, was amazing! She was so incredibly patient with me and my husband and took the time to answer ALL of my questions, even if I asked the same questions 15 times. She is so sweet, as is all the staff there. And the food is TO DIE FOR!! All our guests left saying how beautiful the wedding was, but also how delicious the food was. The appetizers during cocktail hour were perfect and for dinner the fried chicken was THE BEST!! The kitchen actually ran out of chicken at the end of the night because all our guests who ordered fish saw the fried chicken come out and asked to change their order. Both dishes and all the food was delicious and the whole night was absolutely perfect!

    I not only do I highly recommend The Chalfonte Hotel for anyone's wedding in Cape May, but I also promise you that it will be an absolutely magical and charming night that you and your guests will never forget!
  • User2348193 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Chalfonte Hotel was the perfect venue for our daughter's wedding. We have been summer residents of Cape May since 1979, so we were well aware of all Cape May has to offer. The Chalfonte proved to be the perfect venue! From the initial tour and meeting with Terry Carr, the wedding coordinator, to the last dance of the evening Terry was there for any request. My daughter had many special requests and they were all taken care of by the hotel staff. Kudos to Dillon! The food was delicious and plentiful. We choose only the passed hors d'oeuvres in 8 types, all great. The entree was the crab cake and filet mignon. Everyone raved about the food! The room does get hot when the dancing begins, but the lovely porch is steps away to cool off. One of the best features is the welcoming comfort of the hotel for our guests. Most stayed for 3 nights and loved the history and character the hotel offers. I would not hesitate in choosing the Chalfonte for any event!
  • M
    Marie Married on 06/20/2015
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    Terry and her team provided wonderful accommodations, assistance, food, and service for our wedding weekend at the Chalfonte. Terry took the time to meet with us and for addressing our questions and concerns. As a hotel, we experienced fantastic front desk support and friendly staff up and down. As a reception venue, we could not have asked for a better combination of food and service.

    So many of our guests commented on how much they enjoyed the quaint and classic hotel, from relaxing on the porch to enjoying some post-reception drinks at the King Edward Bar. We also got very positive feedback about the food served both at our buffet dinner and at the breakfast we hosted the next morning.

    Tips:
    - The hotel has character. This is not a 24/7 chain hotel, so be prepared to go with the flow. Check out the widow's perch.
    - Forget if it seems a bit low-brow at first -- include the fried chicken in the menu. It is the best we had.
    - Use the porch. It makes a great place for hors d'oeuvres.
    - The reception venue can get hot when everyone is on the dance floor, but fresh air is only a few steps away.

    The Chalfonte Hotel's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed being part of your special day. Many happy days to you.
  • S
    Michelle Married on 05/12/2012
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We loved our wedding at the Chalfonte! Make sure you are very specific about the details for that day with terry however, as some things we not put where I thought I had requested them. This didn't stop us from having the perfect wedding :)
  • T
    Tacy Married on 10/08/2016
    Rating 4.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    The chalfonte was a great venue for my wedding! They were helpful and flexible when it rained and we had to move everything inside! They all worked so hard to make our day so great! I loved that almost everything besides decore, music and cake is provided here! I do wish that maybe they had a cake option but we found a vendor in town for that! The reception did have to end by 10pm so it might have been nice to party a little longer. Regardless, I can't recommend this place enough!