Skip to main content
Weddings

The Campbell House Reviews

The Campbell House

The Campbell House

Lexington, KY
3.5 out of 5 rating, 10 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

3.5 out of 5 rating
3.5 out of 5 rating
10 Reviews
69% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    3.6 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    3.7 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    3.4 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    3.2 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    3.6 out of 5 rating

Awards

10
Weddingwire
3.5/5 10 reviews
Google
4/5 1564 reviews
  • C
    Candice Sent on 02/25/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I have just signed a contract with The Campbell House to host my rehearsal dinner for my wedding and I couldn't be more excited! The facility is gorgeous and I am looking forward to planning my rehearsal dinner with Stacey! Also, Stacey has been very prompt with communication as well as answering any questions I have. So far, she has done a great job with helping me get all of the information I need.
  • M
    Melody Sent on 07/09/2015
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Campbell House did everything to make my daughter's wedding day perfect!!!! Wonderful Venue!!!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • T
    Lyndsey Sent on 05/19/2008
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Beautiful hotel...great staff....very helpful
    Only drawback...EXPENSIVE!
  • A
    Amanda Sent on 06/14/2012
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    The Campbell house is a very elegant hotel that is more unique than a lot of the ones in Lexington. I loved the setting and that I only had to go one place for everything.
  • A
    Alison Sent on 05/29/2012
    3.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    We held our reception at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. It was a good venue.
  • K
    Kristen Sent on 05/05/2008
    3.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    I was pleased with the room, the service from my assistant, and the food choices. When we went to sample the food they had tons of selection and they did not skimp on the amount of food they offered up for our sampling. The food during the reception, I was told, was really good and there was plenty of it. My main complaint was that they rushed us out of the room at the end of the evening, they didn't seem as helpful DURING the reception as they were before the wedding, and we ended up losing some things that the staff had packed up for us (including our groom's cake which was almost half of the cake).

    The room was nice - the decorations were mostly thanks to my florist and the service of the staff before the actual wedding day was great.
  • Julie
    Julie H. Sent on 07/20/2022
    1.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.0 out of 5 rating

    Daughters Nightmare Wedding

    As I write this review, I am in my hotel room after my daughters wedding/reception at this
    hotel. We booked it a year ago and as of
    last week, we still did not know what our
    total cost was going to be. It was very hard
    to ever get a hold of the events planner,
    and apparently Hilton does not need
    money because my husband tried for
    months to get a total cost and make
    payments. Still never heard from anyone
    and so ended up having to pay over
    $20,000 in one payment the day before the
    wedding. At the reception, the food tasted
    nothing like what we had at our tasting.
    Everything had very little flavor and was
    similar to hospital food. Once everyone left
    the reception to go outside to do the bride
    and groom send off, our wedding planner
    started taking down all the beautiful
    flowers that my husband and I spent
    $8000 on. We hated all of the huge,
    beautiful centerpieces to go to waste so
    we allowed guests to take home loose
    flowers that were laying on the tables. All
    of the bridesmaids bouquets were put at
    the back of the room with all of the other
    items we were taking home. When I
    returned about 10 minutes later my friend
    said that all of the workers who were
    breaking down the room, went over and
    took several of the bouquets. She tried to
    chase them down a hallway to ask them to
    return them but they did not. All that was
    left was the brides bouquet. I headed to
    the front desk to inform them that several
    workers at the hotel stole the bouquets,
    and I happened upon a security guard
    employed by the hotel. I let him know what
    happened and asked him to please go find
    them and ask them to return our flowers.
    He came back and told me that we said
    they could have them. I was stunned and
    said that was not the case. He refused to
    do anything else. I was so angry and ask
    why he was not doing his job snd he
    literally raised his voice to me and said
    "I've been too busy dealing with your drunk
    guests"! Which is a lie. I was completely
    appalled and said that I was going to get
    my husband to talk to him and he
    proceeded to tell me that he would "clean
    my husband's breaks and anyone else that
    had a problem with him"! I was so in shock
    and stunned! I went back to the ballroom
    to get my daughters bouquet which the only one that hadn't been taken, and in
    those few moments it was also stolen! So l
    headed back to the front desk to tell the 2
    gentleman(I use that term loosely!)
    working that they had gone back and stole
    the only remaining bouquet and they just
    looked at me and said nothing at all! My
    husband tried to get them to do something
    about it and one of them proceeded to
    laugh at him snd my daughter that by now
    was in tears. Then the security guard
    comes up and tells my husband that he
    called the police because he felt
    threatened by me! FYI I'm 4'11" and 120
    lbs! It honestly felt so unreal that this was
    happening. I was so upset that I just went
    back to my room while my husband waited
    for the police that were called because I
    was so threatening! Of course they didn't
    believe shit the security guard said, not to
    mention several of our guests are police
    officers and FBI personnel. I am absolutely
    at a loss for words at the horrible way that
    we were treated at this establishment that
    we had just spent over $20,000 at not
    including the mass amount of rooms that
    we and other guests paid for. Which brings
    me to how tiny and dirty the rooms were.
    My husband and I have a king suite and all
    the chairs have stains, several bugs were all around the windows and we killed 2
    huge spiders right after getting into the
    room. The fact that Hilton calls this one of
    their boutique hotels is totally lost on me.
    The hallways are like a dark maze that you
    can hardly navigate. They also have the
    thermostats set to where you can't go
    lower than 67 but really feels more like 76.
    This night has been a total nightmare and
    the memories of the best day of my
    daughters life have been completely
    tainted by the horrible treatment from staff
    to our family and friends.
  • K
    Kaeli S. Sent on 05/26/2022
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Nightmare

    **PSA: Venue Nightmare — Campbell House Hotel: Lexington, Kentucky**

    This will be long, but worth the read if you’re considering the Campbell House as your venue.

    In November 2021 we signed a contract with the Campbell House for our December 2022 wedding. Our venue coordinator was amazing and all was well. In March, the coordinator left and was replaced by a new person. In April she requested that I send her all of the communications I had regarding agreements for the wedding. This included our contract and other written negotiations about pricing on various things. She informed me that Campbell House would NOT be honoring those agreements and were initiating a different fee schedule than what was agreed upon and contracted for. I informed her if Campbell House would be breaching our contract that I would have our attorney reach out. I tried for a week to reach a mutually agreeable solution. By Thursday I called the general manager (no answer) and left a voicemail. After no response and no luck with the coordinator, we agreed to mutually terminate the contract and requested our deposit back.

    The following week I emailed the Musselman Group that owns Campbell House, and Seelbach among others, to inform them of what happened. I conveniently received a phone call the next day from the general manager (who never called me back). After explaining what happened and why I was upset, the manager asked me “What is the point of you calling?” This response was not surprising considering the complete lack of professionalism that was becoming commonplace in my Campbell House communications.

    Two weeks later, after no response from the Musselman Group, I sent another email, updating them on my conversation with the manager, only to find out that I have apparently been blocked by the company. I found another email and sent it there, but still haven’t heard from the company nor received an apology from anyone in conjunction with these events.

    I have filed a formal complaint with Hilton Corporate and have submitted all of my documentation to them (yes, every bit of this was memorialized in writing over email) and I now have a case number.

    This has forced me to scramble to find a venue in time despite having had everything 100% in order.

    Approach with caution.

    (I’m not one to make posts like this, but I tried every avenue imaginable to handle this internally with no success. I share in hopes of saving at least one person from our experience.)

    **The number of brides I have had reach out to me about their similar, some even worse, experiences is astounding and growing by the hour**
  • P
    Priscilla F. Sent on 10/29/2021
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    So far not good

    Hi am looking to set up my wedding day and i have not spoken to no one sense June of this year even thought my wedding is 8 months away I still have questions on my package deal
Responds within 24 hours