The Brookwood Community Reviews

68 | Brookshire, TX
See photos, pricing and details

68 Reviews for The Brookwood Community

Recommended by 97%

68
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8
Sort by:
  • Kelsey

    Kelsey · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an amazing experience! Brookwood is such a great place to have a wedding at. It fits small and large weddings perfectly. Katie and Jessie were so on top of things and made sure our day was absolutely perfect. The food was amazing as well. We had so many compliments from our guests about the food and venue itself. The dance floor was big and placed perfectly in the room which made it easier for everyone to want to go up and dance. The venue was beautiful. I couldn't have pictured a more perfect wedding than at Brookwood.

  • M

    Mattie · Married on 09/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can't say enough good things about our experience at Brookwood. Katie was incredible and guided us through every step of the process. We had a bit of a unique experience in that we got married a week after Hurricane Harvey hit Houston. We were worried about guests being able to make it in and the venue even being operational, but Katie was in constant contact, offered us every option (from refunds to rescheduling to relocating), and in the end bent over backwards to find an alternate reception space on site and made everything absolutely perfect, with very little different from how we planned. Katie's flexibility made our event happen in spite of local tragedy. Apart from our individual wonderful experience, part of why we chose Brookwood is because of the incredible work the community does. It was an affordable wedding venue where we knew proceeds were going towards a cause we were passionate about. The chapel is gorgeous and although we didn't get to have our reception in the Garden Ballroom due to the storm, the garden and cafe area where receptions typically take place is also beautiful and maintained by local residents- a cool extra touch. While Brookwood requires you do your catering through them, the chef and food are so good we wouldn't have had it any other way. Katie was very flexible with the menu and even offered to have the chef make any family recipes we might have. We had such a wonderful experience and can't say enough good things about The Brookwood Community and Katie. I am so glad we choose them for our perfect day!

  • K

    Kelly · Married on 12/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we started planning our wedding we knew our priorities were focused on ensuring that our community of friends and family felt welcomed and comfortable coming together to celebrate this little thing called love. From the moment we found the Brookwood Community during our research (and I did A LOT of research), we loved that their own mission statement directly aligned with our goals. Their chapel is breathtaking. The food is fantastic - I'm talking fresh from the garden delicious. Chef even catered to my gluten free diet and nobody noticed because they were too busy eating! We had plenty of room for 175 guests (could have easily had more). Being from Texas, we had a Grand March as a part of our reception. We weaved in and out of the reception hall, out the doors opening directly into the the garden and back through the foyer. Everyone had a great time!
    We could not have been happier with Katie, our wedding coordinator. She listened to what we wanted and helped deliver everything down to the smallest detail with constant communication and clear expectations on costs.
    We knew we were going to spend a lot of money on our wedding, and felt better knowing it was going to an amazing organization. I should also note, that Brookwood was the most economical choice that we were considering. That means we were able to check off EVERY SINGLE box - welcoming, delicious food, well priced, and a respected organization within Houston.
    Overall - We love the Brookwood Community! And we loved our wedding!!
    For a note on logistics - we had our hotel block at City Centre so that guests had plenty to keep them entertained with during the weekend. It was an easy drive out to the venue.

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 11/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you have any doubt in your mind about having your wedding at Brookwood before visiting the campus, I highly suggest that you go visit first! You might fall in love, again :) The chapel is stunning and doesn't need much extra decorating. Brookwood does have a fern package you can rent from its greenhouses, which is a really neat option. In fact, as you talk with Katie, the wedding coordinator, you will find there are many nice options that a lot of other wedding venues do not include. My guests loved the cocktail hour - the small bites, Photo Booth (Trendy Touches), the garden to explore and take a walk in (although it was a cold evening in November!) and drink options. Katie was really lovely to work with and is an excellent communicator, very professional, kind and thoughtful.
    I love how Brookwood does the catering and hosts a top notch chef that is somehow able to cook for 200 people and get it just right! Our lemon chicken was even BETTER than we had at our tasting. What?! The guests loved everything about it and I know they would have had a great time wherever we decided to have the wedding...which is why I'm so glad my love and I decided to have it here, at Brookwood. What a special place that I can't wait to go back to with my husband and eat at the cafe and walk the gardens and just remember what a fantastic celebration we had there!

  • M

    Melanie · Married on 12/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Brookwood Community was the absolute perfect place for us to get married! No other venue we looked at was able to compare. We loved everything about Brookwood- from the beautiful scenery, to the beautiful chapel, to the delicious food, and ultimately the fact that our wedding was able to benefit Brookwood and the residents. We barely decorated the chapel because it was so beautiful on its own. The green space outside of the chapel provided a beautiful backdrop for our pictures. The reception area was perfect to seat our 200 guests and provide for enough space to have a dance party. We had so many people tell us how beautiful the ceremony/chapel was, how delicious the food was, and how beautiful the garden ballroom looked for our reception. During dinner, they accommodated all of our guests' food allergies. It was great to have a cocktail hour before the reception while we took our family pictures. People were able to look around the lobby, go to the bar, as well as have fun at our photo booth. I have nothing but great things to say about Brookwood! Katie, our wedding coordinator, was very responsive, organized, and sweet. She was helpful and always willing to answer any questions I had. One of my favorite things is that we used ornaments handmade by Brookwood residents as our wedding favors. It was a special way to give back and incorporate Brookwood in to our wedding. I absolutely loved having our wedding at Brookwood and wish we could do it again!! :)

  • S

    Sheridan · Married on 10/04/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had our wedding here and it was more amazing than we could have asked for! Katie was an excellent planner and I loved every single moment of our big day! Everything was beautiful and just the way we wanted it!

  • H

    Hannah · Married on 07/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved Brookwood as soon as we pulled into the parking lot. The staff was amazing! They knew exactly what to do to make sure the bride has a stress-free day! All of our guest kept commenting about how wonderful the venue was as well as the food. The food was so good! All of our guest loved their signature salad and lemon chicken. I highly recommend this great venue! The price is very reasonable compared to other venues around Houston. The more important part is that you are supporting a community member for a year. You will not regret having your wedding at Brookwood!!

  • S

    Sheri · Married on 06/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Brookwood Community was a wonderful place to have a wedding & reception. Wedding coordinator Katie and her co-worker, Kellen, were very professional, organized and communicated well with us during the months & days before the wedding day. They provided us with vendors that worked out really well and did a great job. (We highly recommend Cakes by Gina & DJ Brothers!) The chapel is picturesque and accommodated our guests of around 200. The bridal suite was a great place for the bride and bridesmaids to get ready. The Brookwood Community cafe was perfect for the reception. I can't say enough about how wonderful the Brookwood staff was to our guests. We received MANY compliments on the delicious meal and how accommodating the staff were to our guests. All in all, I HIGHLY recommend Brookwood Community for a wedding & reception. We are very grateful for everything they did to make our wedding day so very special!

  • User6349984 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our experience at Brookwood was better than we could have ever expected! My husband and I had a short engagement, only 4 months, and Brookwood offered a turnkey operation that allowed us to plan our wedding with ease. We loved working with Katie, and she made the entire experience a dream. We received so many compliments about our wedding, some saying it was truly the best they'd been to. Everyone loved the food, and the space was perfect for our needs. The chapel is stunning, as well as the banquet area, and the venue location was so easy for people to find. We also loved that our wedding contributed to continuing services for an adult with special needs at Brookwood Community. Honestly, I can't recommend Brookwood enough! It is a beautiful place that provides top notch service while impacting lives.

  • M

    Marilyn · Married on 07/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our daughter's wedding was beautiful, the chapel is lovely and the gardens surrounding the chapel and Ballroom were meticulous. Our wedding coordinator, Jerri, helped us choose vendors who were fantastic and some gave us Brookwood discounts. We used Rob Milton for our Photographer, Dream Bouquet for flowers, Susie's Cakes for the cake, and PRP Entertainment (DJ - Damon) -- these vendors were all amazing. Many guests told us it was the best wedding they had ever attended. Damon is already booked for all of 2014 and well into 2015, so call early if you want this amazing DJ at your event -- he had everyone on the dance floor for the entire evening. We had a seated dinner with filet mignon and crab cakes -- the service was quick and the food was delicious, prepared by Brookwood's Chef Laura. The very best part of using Brookwood, is that everything over and above expenses, goes to help the differently abled adult residents and staff who live and work at the Brookwood Community. Brookwood takes no money from any government agencies and survives through it's restaurant, plant sales, pottery sales, and weddings.

  • M

    Monica · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Brookwood was a wonderful place for our daughter's wedding! We had so many compliments about how nice everything was. Our wedding coordinator was so great...very thorough, knowledgeable, capable and motherly! She took much stress off of our shoulders. We also really liked that Brookwood's cost will help the residents of the Brookwood Community. Like they advertise, "a wedding with a purpose". It was the perfect place for us!

  • P

    Pam · Married on 06/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff was very helpful and made it easy to enjoy our daughter's wedding without any problems or surprises.

  • User3741378 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Brookwood Community staff were excellent in every way. I am an older bride who didn't want a large wedding but every detail was thought of, every staff member that we saw went the extra mile in helping.
    I would love to recommend Brookwood for any event you are thinking of having.

  • User4170025 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They did a top notch job in every way!

  • User4064998 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fabulous venue! It's beautiful and elegant. The food is the best I've ever had at a wedding. My guests were over the top with their praise of everything!

  • User4040001 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Brookwood provided outstanding service - from the logistics, the meal, room outlay, and service, everything was high quality and professional. The staff were outstanding to work with. They went above and beyond to make our day special.

  • User4186472 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best. Thank you so much. I could not have asked for a better place to hold my wedding. Jerri was outstanding and the best wedding coordinator.

    Thank you

  • T

    Tina · Married on 03/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Brookwood provided a wonderful venue for our daughter's wedding. Very little decorating was needed as the chapel and cafe are already very beautiful. The menu was scrumptious and the staff very professional.

  • User3884036 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Do not hesitate to book your wedding at Brookwood. The facilities are gorgeous and require minimal decoration. They were easily accessible for our out-of-state guests with ample parking. Brookwood offered many amenities that other venues wanted to charge extra (i.e. audio/light technician; use of their campus for bridal portraits) Their list of recommended vendors is comprehensive. Several venues can make these same claims so let me tell you what sets Brookwood apart:

    Any inquiry or request was answered promptly and positively. Jerri Sadowski, our wedding consultant at Brookwood, had excellent ideas to make my daughter's wedding special and unique. When the weather interrupted the plans for the bridal portraits, Jerri worked with the staff who kindly changed their plans so that the Worship Center would be available for our use on a Sunday afternoon allowing my out-of-state daughter to make her flight home that evening.

    The food at the reception was over the top and even though I was familiar with Chef Laura and the wonderful food at the Cafe at Brookwood; to be able to bring the same quality to 160 people at a seated dinner was extraordinary. Our guests are STILL talking about the food at the reception!

    Brookwood is a venue that cannot be duplicated for one reason: the citizens. Brookwood provides residential and vocational services for adults with disabilities. We met one citizen at our tasting who had the "responsibility" of maintaining the Worship Center. He was so proud of his work and of Brookwood and was so excited we were planning a wedding there. On the day of the wedding, as we were preparing for the ceremony, he stopped by and asked if he could sign the guest book. There is no other venue that would give you the memory of opening your guestbook and the very first signature was the delightful gentleman who had helped prepare the chapel for your wedding. That memory is priceless.

  • K

    Katherine · Married on 01/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Brookwood Community has a great set up for weddings. The chapel is beautiful and has plenty of space for the wedding party to get ready. The grounds are beautiful and allowed for excellent photos before the wedding. They turn the cafe into a ballroom - complete with a dance floor and bar area. The reception area in the building and the garden area outside allows for plenty of room for guests to mingle after dinner if they aren't on the dance floor. The food was absolutely the best! We received many compliments from guests that it was the best wedding food they had ever had...kudos to the chef at Brookwood. The planning of the entire event was overseen by Jerri, a joy to work with as she took care of all the details. We like the fact that because we held the wedding there, clients that live out at Brookwood will benefit. We knew right away after visiting out there that Brookwood was the perfect venue for the wedding.

  • User3034097 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The coordinators at Brookwood are phenomenal. My husband and I worked with both Jerri and Elise, who both made us feel relaxed and flexible with the venue and our ceremony. Even with another wedding following ours, they made sure that we enjoyed the time and didn't feel rushed. From the candles to the altar, guest book table, and the beautiful Bridal Dressing Room, the details provided by Brookwood made it both a bargain venue and stress-free experience. We are so thankful to have had our wedding ceremony at Brookwood! My husband and I also enjoyed supporting the Brookwood Community and plan to visit the cafe and gift store again in the future.

  • User3841904 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the first time we met with Jerri Sadowski to tour the venue and talk about their packages it was a stressless process. I was coordinating with Jerri and my daughter in North Carolina through the whole process. Brookwood is a wonderful place to have a wedding and reception. Our guest continued to tell how wonderful the food and service was. We all had a wonderful time and I would highly recommend Brookwood to anyone looking for an affordable but amazing place to have their wedding/reception. Besides all the wonderful things about Brookwood, you would also be helping Special Needs adults live independently and be self supporting. A wedding with a purpose is truly what it would be.

  • R

    richard · Married on 11/04/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff and facilities were great and we have had continuous compliments from friends that attended.
    About the Chapel and food quality.

  • User3644572 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Brookwood is a beautiful, very affordable wedding venue. On top of that, their food is fabulous! I don't think you can find a better wedding venue for the money. Thanks, Brookwood!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review