the Bridal Cottage Reviews

21 | Kingston, NY
See photos, pricing and details

21 Reviews for the Bridal Cottage

Recommended by 92%

21
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.6
Sort by:
  • K

    Kayleigh · Married on 08/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the moment I walked into the store looking for dresses to the moment I put the dress on the day of the wedding, Gladys at the Bridal Cottage was absolutely amazing. She mad the whole experience so personalized the entire time and truly made me feel like such an important and beautiful bride. The dress was perfect and so unique, the alterations were perfect, and it made my wedding day so special. She was so sweet and so accommodating, and she really showed that she cared about how the dress looked and about making sure it was perfect for my wedding. She personally made changes she felt would make the dress look better that I wouldn't have ever noticed on my own, like changing the clasp in the back of the dress and changing the way the dress bustled, and measuring everything perfectly, at no extra cost to me. The dress was also so affordable. I really had such an amazing dress experience and it was such a pleasure to have the opportunity to get to know Gladys thought this process and to connect to her on a personal level! She made it so easy and I couldn't have asked for a more amazing and stress free dress experience!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED :)

    Sent on 08/22/2016
  • User4595951 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gladys was so incredibly helpful in picking out my dress! She never failed to make me feel beautiful and like I was the most important bride. I loved my Casablanca dress and was so happy that it could be customized while still being affordable. The Bridal Cottage made my wedding dress everything I could have dreamed it to be!

    Sent on 12/09/2015
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 05/09/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Let me start by saying Bridal Cottage is amazing! The minute you meet Gladys, there is a sense of relief. She is so sweet and helpful, you just know THIS IS THE PLACE. With so many different designers and knowledge, Gladys and Bridal Cottage are perfect. My dress was gorgeous…and Gladys made sure it was absolutely perfect from top to bottom. She made these gorgeous customize buttons for my bustle. I got a million compliments on my dress…how elegant and perfectly fitted it was. I felt like a princess…and it all started the minute I walked into Gladys's store.

    Sent on 05/30/2015
  • User4385279 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gladys was wonderful to work with. Great prices and great customer service, dress was amazing!!

    Sent on 09/08/2014
  • User4669912 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gladys is so amazing at tailoring, and so personable too, she makes you feel right at home!

    Sent on 01/06/2015
  • User3580937 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the first time I stepped into the Bridal Cottage I knew it was going to be the place I found my dress. Sure enough, 6 dresses (that I picked) later, Gladys picked one for me to try and it was the one! She had a great sense of what I wanted (but didn't know it) and found me the perfect dress. My mom and I loved Gladys and my mom got her dress there too! Gladys was always great in accommodating our schedules for appointments (which was challenging at times, because I live in CT). The hem of my dress had a very complicated lace trim and I couldn't have been happier with the alteration work that Gladys did. I highly recommend Gladys and the Bridal Cottage!

    Sent on 11/01/2013
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 09/07/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gladys was absolutely amazing to work with. I originally found my dress at another location but had not heard good things about their alterations department so I went to Gladys. She ordered the dress even though it was not a designer she typically carried after she borrowed a sample of the dress from another shop so I could try it on and she could size me correctly in it. Months after I ordered my dress and it came in, I found out I was pregnant and would be 5 months along at my wedding. Gladys took on the task of completely redoing my dress and changing it from a fit and flare to an empire waist. I met her on a biweekly basis to get measured, then weekly, then daily and every single time she was a complete doll. The day I picked up my dress I was still in love with it and surprisingly it didn't break the bank. Most of my bridesmaids had their alterations done by her and had nothing but wonderful things to say.

    Sent on 02/03/2014
  • User3653231 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had previously met Gladys when one of my friends used her for her dress and her bridesmaid dresses. I decided to also use her for my wedding gown, as well as for my bridesmaid's dresses. She is wonderful to work with and has an amazing eye for detail. Unlike some other shops, she allows you to have fun while you are there. She is easy to talk to, honest, fair, and provides quality services at reasonable prices. I recommend this quaint dress shop to anyone in the area that is looking for a beautiful dress, as well as wonderful customer service.

    Sent on 11/04/2013
  • User3336477 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I really loved a Carolina Herrera gown, and I asked if it is possible to make some changes to the dress, the consultant was so nice about it and made a couple of calls to make sure my requests were doable!!! I was very surprised and touched with her level of effort.

    Sent on 06/19/2013
  • L

    Laura · Married on 06/29/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a great bridal store! I had such a wonderful experience here. Stuff's were so lovely ;) Fantastic collection of very well curated dresses. I will definitely be buying my dress here!!

    Sent on 06/21/2013
  • P

    Patricia · Married on 06/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    this was the best. i had bought my dress and it fit perfect. i gained some weight and she performed a miracle and got me in that dress. I just love Gladys.

    Sent on 11/04/2014
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 03/16/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We CAN NOT Say enough THANK YOUS!!!!
    Congratulations to Jennifer and Rob on winning the grand prize at Sunday’s 9/23/12 bridal show which includes a Wedding Dress give away compliments of Bridal Cottage.

    I will tell every bride to go here!! Gladys was just perfect from beginning to end!! She works with you in so many ways; First I LOVE how she let's you know (very kindly) what dress looks great on you and what dress does not ... and explains why!! Then she helps you put together you dream dress!! She took the top of one dress I loved and the bottom of another dress I loved and made them a dress!! I had a ONE OF A KIND WEDDING DRESS!! She also loves when you bring people with you to the fitting!! When i first went we had 8 of us!! The detail she puts in making sure your dress fits is amazing!! She only has kind words and thoughts for you ... even if it's a bad day for a fitting!! The personal note on my huge pink dress bag was just the touch you would expect from her and not a big store or one that thinks they have it made here in the Hudson Valley! GO TO BRIDAL COTTAGE!!

    P.S sorry for the late review!! it's 7/18/13 and we got married on 3/16/13.

    Sent on 07/18/2013
  • Brooke

    Brooke · Married on 03/17/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gladys at the Bridal Cottage was wonderful. I called many bridal shops looking for a specific designer and many of the people of the shops I called seemed to have a bad attitude. However when I called the Bridal Cottage they were very freindly and nice. From the first moment I walked into the Bridal Cottage, Gladys was welcoming and made me feel special. She gave me her full attention from the moment I walked into her shop, throughout all the fittings and right up until the last day that I picked the dress up. I would highly recommend The Bridal Cottage to anyone who wants to be treated like a princess.

    Sent on 03/20/2012
  • M

    Mrs. Anthony · Married on 08/06/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding dress purchase was a wonderful and friendly experience!!!

    Sent on 07/16/2012
  • M

    Meghan · Married on 10/23/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Bridal Cottage has been the most amazingly brilliant experience I have had, thus far in my bridal journey. This was my first stop in looking for my wedding dress, and after I shopped around for about a month, it was my last. The expertise that I was lucky enough to experience at The Bridal Cottage was due to Gladys' knowledge, patience, and willingness to work with you in any capacity; it surpasses that of anyone I have met, anywhere else. I recently purchased my dress from The Bridal Cottage. Thus far, everyone who I tell where I got my dress, tells me what a great decision I made. If you're looking for a wonderful experience, like nothing else you have gotten, go to the bridal cottage and meet Gladys. She will help you find the dress of your dreams.

    Sent on 11/21/2010
  • A

    Alicia · Married on 06/26/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gladys was extremely helpful in finding the perfect dresses for me and my bridesmaids. She worked with my style and provided her knowledge and experience to help with the entire process. I would highly recommend the bridal cottage for quality, price and ease during your dress journey.

    Sent on 11/29/2010
  • L

    Lynn · Married on 05/15/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The bridal cottage, and it's owner, Gladys, are just wonderful! I got married last May. Every time I went into the shop Gladys made me feel so welcome and beautiful, which doesn't always happen when you are a bigger woman! She helped me pick out the dresses I wanted to try on, working with me to find the dress that was just perfect for me. And it ended up being the first dress that I tried on! Not only was Glady wonderful that day, but through all of my fittings and needs she was always there. We added some finishing touches to my dress, and she worked with me personally to get exactly what I wanted. I also got my veil and tiara there. Again, Gladys was right there to find the best ones to go with my outfit. We got my maid of honor and bridesmaids gowns there, too. Two of the girls were local, and got their alterations done right there. The other girl, who was from the city, Gladys mailed her dress to her so she could have her alterations done down there. When there was a problem with the colors on one of the dresses, Gladys took care of everything. She shipped it back to the company and got it back to us without any problems. My whole experience at the Bridal Cottage was amazing from beginning to end. Gladys and her staff are amazing and I would recommend them to everyone!

    Sent on 11/18/2010
  • Sarah

    Sarah · Married on 09/02/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely loooooooved my dress! And so did everyone else, which was just the icing on the cake! ;) All the women that worked there are amazing, kind, and caring. My dress was really expensive, which wasn't really their fault, but for me, it was worth it. My only concern was that I wished they would have had me order the dress in a size up and take it in, rather than recommended the tighter size, which I could barely sit in and felt uncomfortable in, despite taking it out as much as possible and wearing undergarments. Still, I love that dress!

    Sent on 10/22/2013
  • User4054295 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had a good selection of dresses to choose from. With time and patience I was able to find the right dress for an affordable price. At my fittings she took the time to make me feel special and give some advice.

    Sent on 04/22/2014
  • User2699134 · 2+ years ago

    2.0
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    This is by far the vendor I was most disappointed with! I loved my dress until it came down to the last couple of fittings. It was loose, and kept bunching under the bust. She insisted it fitted properly and that she could not make it fit tighter because she was worried about the fabric pulling. The day of the wedding I could shift the dress up and down my body without an issue because of how big it was. I had to stand in certain postures all night to ensure it not slipping. Worst of all you can tell in almost all my photos! If you go here demand what you what no matter what they insist!

    Sent on 10/07/2012
  • L

    Liz · Married on 08/12/2016

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    I was told I didn't need to try on my dress before pickup- picked it up the day before the wedding and tried it on that night and it wouldn't close. It had been taken in on the back instead of the front, many many shortcuts taken on alterations. Through the four fittings I was told to workout and lose weight to have the dress fit my back better instead of having the dress fit me. Ended up paying an extra $300 for emergency alterations from another shop so that I had a dress to wear the wedding day. I called Gladys and left a message with my concerns and never got a call back. Thankful for the seamstress who saved the day because if I relied on this place I would have had my day ruined by a dress that was an inch and a half too small all the way around and wouldn't clasp.

    Sent on 08/13/2016

    the Bridal Cottage's reply:

    Dear Liz - You purchased a Maggie Sottero gown, open back, ties and modesty piece with Mother in May, 2016. We discussed not exercising your back, eating well (no salts or sugars), plenty of water. You continued to work out. Measurements were taken (again in June and July showing a variance) and I started alterations (hem and bustle) needed.
    You requested slight change to neckline and to take in underarm area so it sat closer to chest. You approved an inner fold on neckline. At final fitting on 8/4/16, you, mother and friend approved all alterations. Top Ties were set 2.5 – 3 inches with a perfect “v” at bottom. Asked if pleased, you said yes. Showed friend how to bustle, showed how ties could be tightened more and showed where they were slightly loose. On 8/9 you made payment on hem and bustle per contract. Did not charge you for neckline or side seam under arms as you were a repeat customer. Never altered your gown back or front as stated; you did not express concern about fit of gown or requested another fitting. Gown was picked up on 8/11/16 by same friend, you did not have the time.
    I left Bridal Cottage at 8pm on 8/11. Received no call from you. Returned to Salon next day. Answering machine and computer were not working. Attributed this to extreme heat, humidity and storms experienced in the area over 2-3 weeks. Your number did not show on caller I.D. Your return to Bridal Cottage after several years demonstrated satisfaction with services provided. This was not our first encounter. For me every fitting, was gratifying.
    I do not know what happened to the fit of your gown once it left the Bridal Cottage or what occurred between your final fitting and prior to your wedding. I only know of events while gown was in my possession. I understand you are upset however, what you describe is inaccurate. Again, congratulations on your marriage and I wish you the very best.


By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review