Skip to main content
Weddings

The Better Half Gourmet Reviews

The Better Half Gourmet

The Better Half Gourmet

Houston, TX
5.0 out of 5 rating, 23 Reviews
View more information

23 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 23
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner

41 User photos

  • S
    Shay S. Married on 08/12/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly Recommended!

    The Better Half Gourmet handled all of our planning as well as our catering. Everyone absolutely RAVED about the food. I would hire them again in a heartbeat. Having been to many weddings and events in the last year I was starting to wonder if it was just not really possible to make a really tasty meal for that many people all at the same time. Turns out they just didn't have the right caterers. Every bit of food was amazing - from the passed appetizers, to the sides, to the roast beef and entrees we were very please. They also made it simple to plan and the event was a huge success.

    The Better Half Gourmet's reply:

    Thank you so much for the exceptional review. We were honored to serve this event and we so pleased everything exceeded your expectations!
  • Andie
    Andie Married on 01/11/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfection!

    Lisa and Darrell are absolutely a perfect pair! Lisa did a STUNNING job for my husband and I’s wedding flowers, and Darrell made our guest rave all night about our dinner! Lisa and Darrell listened to us and made our taste buds and eyes light up with their absolutely perfect work! I can not thank you both of you enough for making our wedding a dream come true! To all brides out there, I promise you, Lisa and Darrell are Angels! You will not be disappointed! Lisa, Darrell, THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU! We love you both so much!

    The Better Half Gourmet's reply:

    Andie thank you so much for the beautiful review! We were honored to be a part of your day for catering and for flowers. We wish you many years of happiness!
  • Natasha
    Natasha W. Married on 11/16/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    I would highly recommend their services

    I was lucky enough to be introduced to the Better Half Gourmet and Oh So Elegant Events by my wedding planner. I’m so glad we went with their services. Not only are their prices fair (which is hard to find when you look for anything wedding related) but they are willing to work with you to create your dream menu and vision. My POC Lisa responded to all of my emails quickly, and every one of their staff day of was professional and organized. I would highly recommend them!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • K
    Kelsey B. Married on 07/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Boudreaux Wedding

    Our flowers for the day were absolutely beautiful! We could not have asked for a better florist!

    The Better Half Gourmet's reply:

    Hi Kelsey,

    It was great fun to help bring your vision to life.
    You and your mom were a joy to work with.
    Much happiness to you in your new married life.
    Thank you,
    Lisa
    Oh So Elegant Events
  • A
    Angie M. Married on 07/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Memorable. Professional and Fun!

    This group is amazing to work with! They listen to your ideas and help you determine the best way to make your special event come to life! Lisa is open and honest which is hard to come by these days. The entire group was professional and fun at the same time. The menu was exciting and not to mention every last bite was delicious. I would highly recommend Lisa and this group for all your flower needs as well as the who catering package experience!

    The Better Half Gourmet's reply:

    Angie, It was a pleasure to work with you for flowers and catering.
    The Better Half Gourmet and Oh So Elegant Events Staff!
  • L
    L.m. Married on 07/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing!!!!

    Best quality and tasting food by far! The staff is so friendly and accommodating, they treat you like family.

    The Better Half Gourmet's reply:

    Loni, it was our pleasure to take care of all of the catering for your sit down dinner.
    Thank you from The Better Half Gourmet Staff!
  • N
    Natallie Married on 06/28/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing job!

    I used Lisa for my florist, and I cannot rave about her enough! I gave her my vision and just showed her a few photos, and she NAILED it. She even brought a ton of extra flowers for us to decorate various other tables, easels, etc. with. She did everything I asked for, and for the lowest price anyone in the area was offering!

    The Better Half Gourmet's reply:

    Natalie,

    Thank you for your kind review.
    It makes my heart smile to know I brought your vision to life!.
    You were a joy to work with.
    Next time we need to get a picture to gather with no curlers in your hair! lol
    Happiness to you always!
    Lisa
    Oh So Elegant Events
  • C
    Caroline Married on 06/15/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Experience

    She made my sunflower dream even better than I could’ve ever asked for. She was very knowledgeable about what flowers would look best together and a joy to work with.

    The Better Half Gourmet's reply:

    Caroline,

    Thank you for trusting Oh So Elegant Events with your wedding day flowers.
    It was our pleasure to make your vision a reality.
    Much happiness to you in your new married life.
    Lisa
  • R
    Ruby P. Married on 05/18/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    So happy with everything

    a Wonderful business! Lisa was my point of contact and she was nothing short of amazing! I most definitely will be referring people to them! Amazing food! Amazing flowers! Amazing linens, and everything else but most importantly amazing people to work with and have a part of our wedding!
  • Celeste
    Celeste R. Married on 05/17/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Gorgeous flowers & wonderful experience!

    Lisa was so so so helpful when it came to florals for our wedding! She was on top of communication, easily caught the vision of what I was wanting for florals, and was helpful in making my vision come to life while staying within my budget! She wasn't afraid to ask questions to ensure that she understood exactly the way we wanted our flowers, which was so helpful! She was so sweet and had an open line of communication throughout the whole process, which I so appreciated!

    The Better Half Gourmet's reply:

    Celeste,
    It was my honor to design the flowers for your wedding.
    I am so excited that I captured your vision.
    Many years of happiness to you and your husband.
    Thank you for allowing Oh So Elegant Events to be included in your big day!
    Lisa
  • A
    Amanda T. Married on 03/30/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Food

    We were so impressed by the food and service, and we have heard nothing but amazing things from our guests about the food as well. Thank you for being the one thing that went right for our special day.

    The Better Half Gourmet's reply:

    Amanda ,
    It was our pleasure to cater your wedding .
    Thank you for choosing The Better Half Gourmet. We appreciate you !
  • Gretchen
    Gretchen Married on 03/09/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Most Beautiful Flowers

    Lisa did all of my floral arrangements and bouquets for our March 9th wedding and she knocked our socks off! They were gorgeous!! Lisa was very easy to work with, respectful of our budget, hard working, and extremely creative. Not to mention patient....she took her time describing different flowers and arrangements and didn't flinch when I changed my mind a few times. Her response was always, "That's not a problem. I can do that." I am so grateful that we were lucky enough to have Lisa as our florist!!! She is amazing!!!

    The Better Half Gourmet's reply:

    Gretchen,

    It was a pleasure working with you. We are so glad that you had such a wonderful experience and appreciated our work. Thank you for the sweet words and a review!
  • R
    Rachel V. Married on 02/23/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing!!!

    Lisa was the best florist I could have asked for!!! She was responsive, went out of her way to help in all areas not just florals and was just such a lovely person and a joy to work with! She was able to get the most gorgeous peonies for me despite it being the end of the season and my bouquet looked straight out of a bridal magazine as did my bridal party bouquets! Her work is truly amazing and you cannot to wrong with having her a part of your day!

    The Better Half Gourmet's reply:

    Rachel,
    It was our pleasure to bring your floral dreams to life !
    Thank you for choosing Oh So Elegant Events! We appreciate you!
  • J
    Jenni C. Married on 12/30/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Flowers

    Lisa and her staff are very professional and have the most beautiful flowers. Her arrangements are unique and fresh looking. I would recommend her to anyone looking for a wedding flowers.

    The Better Half Gourmet's reply:

    Jenni,
    Thank you for choosing Oh So Elegant Events for your florals.
    We were honored to be a part of your big day! And now we are friends !
  • Cheyenne
    Cheyenne B. Married on 11/18/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Oh so elegant events

    Lisa and her entire team were amazing! They were responsive and so helpful. I never once felt like I was a bother. Lisa handled all my flowers, linens, and day of coordination. The Better half gourmet handled my food and it was mouth watering good!

    The Better Half Gourmet's reply:

    Cheyenne and Heath it was our honor to be such a large part of your big day .
    Thank you from The Better Half Gourmet and the Oh So Elegant staff.
  • Darnisha
    Darnisha H. Married on 10/27/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Best... Hands Down!

    Lisa was AMAZING! She was accommodating, friendly, and made me feel so at ease during the wedding planning process. The flowers were fresh and so beautiful! We received so many compliments on our centerpieces! You can't go wrong with Lisa as your florist!!!!

    The Better Half Gourmet's reply:

    Darnisha,

    I had so much fun helping you pick the right shade of hot pinks for your wedding. You were a beautiful bride and your video made me cry.
    Thank you for putting your trust in me to make your vision a reality!
    Much happiness to you always.
    Lisa
  • Ashley
    Ashley A. Married on 08/05/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great and very Happy

    When I say my company was happy about the food and service. Everyone on the teams was great and friendly.
  • Megan
    Megan Married on 04/06/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    They love their job and it shows!

    We hired Lisa and Darrell for our son’s wedding. Flowers were gorgeous and food was fabulous! They go above and beyond to please their customers. Presentation of food was great and there were tons of compliments. Attention to detail is very important to them. Highly recommend them!
  • E
    Erika Married on 06/10/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome Wedding Vendors

    We were really pleased with the service. The food served to every guest was delicious & warm. Lisa was very easy to work with. She helped with decorations ideas & worked with our budget. I definitely recommend this company to everyone I know.
  • Kandis
    Kandis S. Married on 01/28/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely Amazing and Wonderful

    You can't go wrong with choosing Oh so Elegant Events. Lisa was the first florist I met with and ended up being the only! From our first meeting I knew I wanted to use her. Lisa and her staff went above and beyond for my wedding!!!!!!!!!! They were always professional and worked with my budget. We got married in Montgomery and the only issue we had that night was running out of food (which I didn't go though them and now totally regret that decision!) Once Lisa started to notice food was running low, she jumped into action and drove to the nearest BBQ place to get more. She even used her personal card to purchase!(Of course we reimbursed her) During set up Lisa even helped setting up other things than just the items she needed too. She truly cares for each of her brides and made sure our special day went as planned! i cannot thank her enough for everything she did to make our wedding day go PERFECT! She has a loyal customer for life. I will always refer her to family and friends.

    The Better Half Gourmet's reply:

    Kandis,
    It was our pleasure not only to design your flowers, also to be one of the first weddings at The Farmhouse.
    You and your family were a joy to work with and I would never let a wedding fail even though we did not cater it. That is just how we roll.
    I am so glad we are still friends and keep in touch.
    Much happiness to you always!
    Lisa
  • V
    Vickie B. Married on 10/15/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Mrs. Brown

    This company is outstanding. Very easy to work with and communication skills are the best! They provided us with exceptional food for our wedding reception. Still after three years guest still talk about how good the blacked chicken with crawfish cream sauce was. Lisa’s flowers are amazing as well as the arranging of the reception hall. I have all the confidence that this company can provide your perfect wedding experience at a very reasonable price.

    The Better Half Gourmet's reply:

    Vickie and John,

    It was our pleasure to be such a big part of your wedding day.
    John kept me on my toes with moving all the plants and questions lol.
    I am so glad we remain friends to this day.!
    Thank you,
    Lisa
  • Kayla
    Kayla Married on 09/17/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazingly caring vendor with great prices!

    Lisa is so amazing to work with. I had intentions of going with a different vendor for my floral but I wanted to see what else was out there. She completely blew me away. We met at a little coffee shop to go over ideas and get a quote, I had my kids with me and she kindly bought them a milkshake, it was so sweet of her. Her ideas were stunning, and her prices were amazing. You could tell she thoroughly loved her job. We picked her, no questions asked. The day of our wedding she was prompt and everything was fresh and beautiful. The pieces were more than I could have imagined. She went above and beyond. She was even so incredibly kind when my little nephew broke one of her glass vases. I was so nervous to tell her but she was so amazing about it. I would recommend her over and over again!
  • Alexandra
    Alexandra Married on 05/21/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beyond grateful for Lisa and her team!

    I can not say enough good things about Lisa and her team. She provided the most beautiful floral arrangements, bouquets, and centerpieces for our wedding! She listened to every detail that we wanted and brought our vision to real life! The food was phenomenal and the staff was very hardworking. Lisa even came to deliver our meals as husband and wife and offered to get us something to drink. She went above and beyond and made our wedding a huge success!

    The Better Half Gourmet's reply:

    Thank you Alexandra and Danny for having The Better Half Gourmet and Oh So Elegant Events. We had a blast.
    Lisa
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message