The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel Reviews

72 | Asbury Park, NJ
See photos, pricing and details

72 Reviews for The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Recommended by 90%

72
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.4
  • Average response time 4.5
72 The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel Reviews
Sort by:
  • E

    Ellyn · Married on 12/31/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the perfect NYE wedding at The Berkeley! From the very beginning, planner Berkeley was able to connect with us and make us feel completely comfortable choosing The Berkeley for our special day. She helped to bring our wedding dreams to life; guests loved the charm, history and cleanliness of the hotel. Our photographs are beautiful; simple and elegant with the backdrop of this hotel's charm.

  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 11/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Berkeley Hotel is beautiful with decorative details in each banquet room. It was a pleasure working with Berkeley from the banquet department. She was professional, friendly, and very responsive. It is always a pleasure to see Leo the warmest hard working bellhop you will ever meet. All of the staff from front desk to friendly bartenders were a pleasure from beginning to end. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Jennifer

    Jennifer · Married on 11/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married on November 10th at the Berkeley and we have no complaints. We arrived on Thursday night and the heat was too high, they sent maintenance right up and it was fixed. The room was spacious and beautiful for our wedding weekend. The views were amazing too! We got very lucky and worked with Berkely Neis! She helped us with everything and was very responsive to emails. She checked on me in the bridal ready room and wanted to make sure everything went smoothly. We had a little trouble booking a breakfast, but it all worked out because of Berkeleys commitment to us. The wedding itself was beautiful and magical. Each room is unique in its own way and the vendors we chose all knew each other and that made the day even smoother. My husband and I would recommend this venue to anyone! It was the best day that is unforgettable. Thank you to all of the staff and especially Berkeley Neis!!!!

  • C

    cali · Married on 10/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding October 20, 2017 on the roof! Berkeley and te staff at The Berkeley were amazing! From the rooftop ceremony to the after party/brunch/rooms we had an overall blast. Everyone was very accomidating and understanding with what we wanted and the venders we used. Would absolutely recommend to future brides/grooms!

    The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel 1
    The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel 2
    The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel 3
    The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel 4
    The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel 5
    The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel 6
    The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel 7
  • A

    Aubrey · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our Berkeley Oceanfront wedding was beautiful! We have to thank our sales coordinator Berkeley. She was so wonderful and we really just love her. She truly went above and beyond for us! And she worked with our caterer Falcos, who is just simply the best. Thank you Berkeley! You're incredible!

  • M

    Melissa · Married on 06/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When my fiancé and I started the venue process for our wedding, there was something about the Berkeley that stood out. It has that old, classic feel with a modern twist and is located across from the beach. We were in love just walking through the doors. Then we met with the team. Amy, Berkeley, and Sofia were AMAZING. They showed us the various rooms that could hold our event, they explained the catering options, and were able to suggest photographers. We left feeling certain this was the place for our big day! Fast forward a year later... The week leading up to our wedding, I had so many questions! The line of communication between myself, Amy and Sofia was so very clear.They were also able to assist my guests! Their response time was immediate and always positive. They were able to ease my worries. A day before the wedding I was able to drop ALL of my stuff off at the Berkeley and the girls along with Buona Sera Catering put it all together for us the day of the wedding! There are really are no words to describe how they were able to coordinate the day for us. The day of the wedding, Amy and Sofia were present. They weren't just there, they were genuinely there to help us in anyway we needed. The bridal ready room is to die for! It was spacious, with two bathrooms, a refrigerator, a Keurig, large mirrors, and natural sunlight. The day of, the girls from the Berkeley brought in fruit and champagne to make the day extra special. I cannot say enough good things about the venue and the sales staff there. If I had to do it all over again, I'd choose the Berkeley. They offer the whole package: a beautiful venue AND a staff that is experienced, passionate, and dedicated!

  • N

    Nicole · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel was the first venue we looked at for our wedding and I fell in love with it from the moment I walked in. The lobby has an old school southern/modern charm about it that I knew guests would love. You walk up a large staircase to the mezzanine with checkered marble floors and huge windows. My photos here are incredible! You can have an rooftop ceremony, beach ceremony or indoor ceremony! The rooftop has an incredible view of the city of Asbury Park as well as the beach/ocean. This was my top pick but unfortunately it rained!! My Plan B room, the Oval room, was just as incredible! Huge doors that look out onto a balcony set the perfect backdrop for the ceremony! The reception rooms are equally as gorgeous with some of the most incredible chandeliers! Some are the originals! The bridal sweet has a large mirror with chairs and lighting that are perfect for getting hair/makeup done and look fabulous in pictures! The feel of this venue is elegant, classic and timeless!

    The service and staff at the Berkeley are equally as amazing! We worked with Berkeley who was so friendly and helpful from day one. She showed us around the Berkeley and was able to answer all of our questions. During the entire wedding planning process she quickly responded to my 8 million e-mails and always had a pleasant as well as professional attitude! I don't know what I would have done without her!! The days leading up to the wedding and the day of the wedding went so smoothly due to the service of the hotel staff, Berkeley of course and my go to bellman, Theo Brown! The wedding itself was beautiful and perfectly laid out. We had the premium liquor with two bars during the reception!! We had zero complaints!

  • R

    Robyn · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect venue, my daughter was married there on may 27, 2017. The staff were very accommodating, especially Amy! From the rooftop ceremony through the reception, perfect!

  • C

    Chrissy · Married on 04/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    INCREDIBLE. There aren't words to express our experience with having our reception at The Berkeley. I wish we could give 6 stars.

    We had gotten engaged right across the street on the boardwalk and joked how funny it would be if we ended up getting married at The Berkeley not realizing it would actually be the venue of our dreams.

    Venue: The location makes the reception like a mini vacation for all guests. With it being the in the beautiful and buzzing Asbury Park, there is plenty of places for guests to visit and explore on top of being right next to the beach. The Berkeley beautifully keeps their old charm with gorgeous touches like the chandeliers. By having three rooms for the event, we were able to comfortably fit 240 guests. The ceilings and windows in the ballroom are just spectacular and it was the perfect place for charm and character with elegance.

    Service: Top notch. The staff at The Berkeley truly are in their positions because of the love for hosting events and weddings, not just for a job. They put in the extra time, effort, and flexibility to make our event absolutely perfect. From Amy and Berkeley in management to Lisa as the maitre die, we were in the best hands from beginning to end. They were over accommodating, calm and always ahead of the situation. They allowed for me to come in with all my crazy ideas and made them reality. Both professional and friendly, it felt like we were working with family throughout and we couldn't be more thankful.

    Value: Amazing. Going in to planning our wedding, we really wanted to have stations for the event rather than sit down to keep the party going and allow people to eat the whole night, not at all, or on and off whenever they'd like and that was hard to find. Having the Berkeley venue semi-separate from the caterer allowed us the flexibility to keep to our budget with what we could have available. Over accommodating and affordable for the what we received and the location it was in.

  • A

    Alice · Married on 12/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely a great place to have a wedding! The room itself is gorgeous with the chandeliers and then add decorations and it is amazing! Berkley, who was our coordinator helped us plan a fabulous night. The hotels accomedations were clean and comfortable, the rooftop was spectacular place for pictures as was the center staircase,. Berkley arranged for us to be able to get in and do some decorating ourselves the night befor that saved money and stress! Thanks to all, everyone from the valet, bartenders, and hotel staff you were fantastic!

  • H

    Hayley · Married on 11/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The most beautiful venue I ever could have hoped for. The oval room was amazing for my ceremony and the main ballroom is fabulous. I worked mainly with Berkeley Neis and she is wonderful. My emails were always answered so quickly and thoroughly. She was extremely helpful. THANK YOU TO BERKELY AND THE BERKELEY!!!

  • K

    Kelly · Married on 10/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When Phil and I were planning our October 2016 wedding in the summer of 2015, we knew we wanted to find some place classic and beautiful for our ceremony and reception. The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel was our first, only, and perfect choice. From the planning to the execution, everything went smoothly and easily for us and for our guests. Amy was a pleasure to work with and was available at any time to answer our questions. The photos are absolutely stunning and we keep hearing from our guests on how our wedding was just so glamourous and classic. We had our ceremony in the Oval room and for the reception we moved across the hall to the Continental Ballroom as we were a smaller group of 100. Thank you, Amy and the Berkeley, for a wonderful experience!

  • B

    Brittney · Married on 10/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I planned our wedding in 4 months. We looked into a few venues- The Berkeley actually be the first venue! I couldn't get the venue out of my head. We loved everyone that came with the Berkeley. They were are a family here and we knew it would be easy planning with them. Amy was absolutely amazing throughout the process. I feel as though she became part of the family while planning. The day of she went above and beyond for me and I am SO thankful for her- she did more than she needed for me and made me feel extremely comfortable and at ease the day of. She is also so responsive and helpful with the 21 question you have a day. She really made me feel like I was not alone. If you are considering this venue BOOK IT! You can't go wrong. From Amy to Bueno Sera Catering they make for an awesome team and a SMOOOOOTH wedding day! You're in the best of hands here. Thank you- B&B Zeller

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Experience was truly excellent. Amy was fantastic and available for any of our needs.

  • M

    Malissa · Married on 09/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wish we could do it all over again! Amy, hands down is top notch to work with. Always letting me know, she was there for me. If I had an issue no matter how small, she was responsive, attentive and wanting to solve it with a smile and her calm demeanor at hand. The rooms we used for our wedding are gorgeous! You will not find anything else like it up and down the Jersey Shore. The detailed crown moldings, large windows over looking the ocean, high ceilings, beautiful lighting and chandeliers... I could go on and on but its really something you need to see for yourself to truly appreciate the exquisite detail. If you are looking for a classic and elegant venue, you need to put The Berkeley on your list. And when you call, ask for Amy. You will thank me!

  • A

    Alexis · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I couldn't have been happier with The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel and their staff! Although Asbury Park is slightly limited when it comes to wedding venues, we knew we wanted to get married there and the Berkeley had everything we needed. They make it easy to choose vendors, all of whom were wonderful and they were very organized and accommodating. Berkeley (the sales manager) and Katrina, our maitre d' from Falco's were truly amazing. Our wedding day was perfect and we didn't have to worry about anything because it was all taken care of. Since we weren't getting married in a church and didn't want our ceremony on the beach, we were able to work with the hotel in order to have our ceremony in the reception room before the cocktail hour, which saved us a lot of stress and money. Peter James (the florist) is so incredibly talented. Our flowers were beautiful and beyond our expectations. Falco's food was delicious and our cake from The Chocolate Carousel was also beautiful and delicious. Everything was well worth the money.

  • K

    Kathryn · Married on 06/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My family, husband and I fell in love with Amy the moment she introduced herself! She has such a wonderful personality and always has a smile on her face! Amy was such an unbelievable pleasure to work with while planning our wedding! We planned our wedding from Georgia and she ALWAYS made it a point to pencil us in for a walk through while we were visiting the area for the holidays. She was quick to respond to any questions or concerns and was up to make anything happen for our Harry Potter themed wedding!
    The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel was our dream wedding venue! Asbury Park is where my husband and I fell in love and we knew we HAD to get married there! Our wedding package included the Oval Room, Versailles Room, and Crystal Ballroom. Our guests have not stopped talking about how breathtakingly beautiful the venue is!
    On the day of our June 12th wedding, Amy was there bright and early to get us up on the roof for our first look! This option became available only a few days prior and it turned out absolutely perfect! Our night went amazing as well! Chris took over in the evening and kept the night running seamlessly! Overall, Amy and all of the staff at the Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel went above and beyond our expectations!

    Sent on 07/26/2016

    The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel's reply:

    It was such a pleasure working with you and Jose (and the whole family!) on your beautiful wedding! Thank you so much for the kind words, and please be sure to come visit us next time you are in town! All the best to the newlyweds!
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 04/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My April 10th wedding at the Berkeley was a dream come true. Amy Dimes (Events Manager) was a ray of sunshine from the moment we met; it was always "anything, just tell me what you want and how you want it". She was a joy to work with and the hotel staff were always cheery and pleasant when I dropped in for meetings or walk thrus.
    Our wedding was originally Sunday Jan 24th but a blizzard came in the day prior. Amy called me from home that day to gently explain that we should consider changing our plans (understatement). She made it clear that the decision was ours and the Berkeley would accommodate either way. We had guests expected from out of town, so we made the difficult decision to postpone rather then have them travel in dangerous weather. The hotel was amazing; we didn't lose a penny and they gave us first choice of any available dates moving forward. They honored the room block rate for our guests who had managed to make it to NJ before the blizzard and got snowed in.
    Our actually wedding was dreamy..... The Hotel and surrounding neighborhood is an INSANE venue and backdrop for photos!! The Ballroom we chose to accommodate our small crowd (50) was gorgeous: Pillars, a fireplace, magnificent chandeliers - charm charm charm! The Berekely worked seamlessly with my vendors (Couture Events of NJ; specifically PeterJames for flowers, Ephemera Photo for pics and Gitty Berger for Make-up) - i had ZERO stress hanging out in the bridal ready room (huge two room suite w 2 lavs, hair and make up stations, etc) getting slammed up, listening to music and sipping coffee and champagne.
    I could go on and on, but heres a word: PERFECTION!

  • L

    lauren · Married on 12/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the time of our lives! The Berkeley was the perfect place for our December wedding! Stephanie & Chris were so attentive, professional and fun! We had our ceremony on-site and the flow of the rooms made it so easy for our guests.

  • User4783636 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There was always a constant smile & love for us, during the evening & the people working with The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, even with 310+ people. What a great team, The Berkeley brought even more love to the night!! Could not have be more friendly & professional.
    We highly recommend The Berkeley to host your event. You would be doing yourself a disservice by not hiring the best team in the tristate area!!

  • B

    Brianna · Married on 04/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so happy with our wedding day Jenna and the rest of the Berkeley staff were absolutely amazing. Top notch!

  • R

    Rachel · Married on 04/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was absolutely blown away by the professionalism, customer service, attentiveness, and everything was just perfect! We couldn't have been happier with everything!! Jenna, Chris and the rest of the staff were absolutely a pleasure to work with!

  • User4174007 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Berkeley Ocean Front Hotel was incredible to work with and created a magical wedding experience. I cannot thank the staff enough for being so wonderful! The guests at my wedding are still talking about the impeccable service they provided. Leading up to the wedding was also stress free due to their attentiveness. Not to mention, the beauty of the place! The Berkeley made all of my wedding day dreams come true. Thank you!

  • K

    Kelly · Married on 03/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our weddings at the Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel on March 21, 2015. I can honestly say it was the best day of my life. Everything ran so smoothly. Jenna was so helpful and easy to get in touch with prior to the big day. She made planning our wedding less stressful. We had a lot of out of town guests that stayed in the hotel, all of whom found it very accommodating. The day of the wedding my girls and I got ready in the bridal ready suite. What a great feature of the hotel. A wall of mirrors, bright lights, studio chairs, couches, refrigerators, a place to hang all the dresses for photos. It was a great space to get ready in. As soon as we entered cocktail hour, Jenna and Chris made sure we had everything we needed and let us know Chris would be there for the rest of night. The oval and Versailles rooms were beautiful for cocktail hour and my guest really enjoyed going out on the balcony. The Crystal Ballroom looked stunning. Chris was constantly making sure everything was great for us. I believe Falcos is the exclusive caterier of the hotel now. We had options when we booked our wedding and we chose Falcos. The food and service were amazing. I worked with Alissa when planning the wedding and Lisa was our Maître D' on the big day. Alissa was very helpful in selecting the menu. Our Maître D' Lisa was absolutely fantastic, she made sure we always had a drink in our hand, ran the timing of the whole night with the dj, and was just a lovely person to work with. After the reception the hotel kept the hotel bar open for all the guests until 2am, which was awesome because most people were staying over. I could not have asked for a better wedding day. The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel team especially Jenna and Chris were great to work with and I would recommend them to everyone. Falcos did an amazing job with absolutely delicious food and amazing service. They work very well together and it was evident on our wedding day!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review