Skip to main content
Weddings

The Barnstone Reviews

The Barnstone View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
62 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
100% Recommended by couples

Awards

62
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

73 User photos

  • A
    Aleah B. Sent on 11/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Burgert wedding 2023

    Wonderful venue for a wedding!! Simply, rustic, and beautiful!
  • S
    Sierra M. Sent on 10/10/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Better than imagined!!

    Words will never express the happiness I felt on my wedding day. 9/30/2023 will be hard to beat. Not only was the venue perfect but the owner was beyond selfless. He was always around ready to assist in any way possible. The only thing I wish was available was a kitchen or at least a fridge but even when I needed a fridge last minute Doug stepped in to assure me it’ll be okay. My cake was delivered early and he offered to take it to his home and keep it chilled. The summer house and chicken house were perfect for the bridal parties. My guests couldn’t stop mentioning how beautiful and wholesome the atmosphere was. Thank you Doug! And a huge shout out to your sister for all the help you guys provided. Jake and I are so grateful for your attentiveness to create a perfect day for us. 10/10 would recommend to anyone and I truly wish I could do this day over and over again. It was a dream✨
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • A
    Ashley A. Sent on 09/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    My favorite location

    I loved everything about my wedding day and location played a HUGE part in that. The day before I spent my day setting up and everything went so smooth, it was great, which made me feel at ease on the big day. The outside landscape and barn just being there make the whole atmosphere making adding wedding décor easy and not stressful. I had an image in my mind of what I wanted my wedding to be and this place made it happen.

    The Barnstone's reply:

    Thanks Ashley, It was a pleasure to work with you and your family and happy we could make your dreams come true!!
  • T
    Taylor L. Sent on 09/20/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Barn Venue

    Perfect location with great sunsets and landscape for pictures. Loved the setup with the Carriage House for drinks/appetizers, spacious barn for the reception, and fun summer house & chicken coop for the bridal party to get ready. Our guests loved the location and setup. The owner was super great to work with and very helpful. We had no complaints through the process! We really enjoyed the cute lock wall that couples can secure a lock on. We would highly recommend The Barnstone if you are looking to have a memorable barn wedding!

    The Barnstone's reply:

    Thanks Taylor, it was great to work with you and your family through the whole process, we are so glad everyone is happy.
    Best wishes,
    Doug H
  • T
    Tia M. Sent on 08/30/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Above and Beyond

    This is a beautiful venue with lots of character and charm. I was blown away by the venue director’s (Doug) attentiveness. Leading up to the wedding, he was flexible in allowing me the visit the venue multiple times and was detailed in writing down everything I wanted. On the day of, mostly everything was set up the way we had discussed. While guests arrived, he attended parking and ensured those who needed extra assistance a ride on the golf cart. There were many things he did behind the scenes that I wasn’t fully aware of but made the day that much more special and run smoothly. I would recommend this venue to anyone looking to have a wedding!
  • T
    Taylor M. Sent on 06/23/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Perfect Day

    Doug was an awesome person to work with! He let us visit throughout our planning period to get refreshers and fall in love with the venue all over again. Having the entire day before our wedding to set up was so stress relieving!! He was even so helpful the day of :) We continuously get compliments of how beautiful everything was. We couldn’t recommend this place enough!
  • K
    Kristi C. Sent on 10/23/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent.

    I really could not be more pleased with Doug and the Barnstone! Our day went wonderfully and Doug was amazing to work with. I’m more than pleased!! It was PERFECT.

    The Barnstone's reply:

    Thanks Kristi, it was great working you and Colton and I am glad it perfect and everything you dreamed it would be.
    Doug H
  • Kelsey
    Kelsey W. Sent on 10/14/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic!

    I would recommend this vendor to anyone!! Doug was who I worked with before the big day and his family as it got closer. They are all very nice and reasonable - easiest people to work with! You can bring your own alcohol in, we had food trucks, and he let us stay until late and we had the whole venue the day before. The only downfall, it will get a little uncomfortable if there are more than 175 people (we know, we maxed this), but if you're less than that, you'll never regret booking this beautiful amd quaint venue.
  • Katie
    Katie P. Sent on 09/15/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome!!!!

    Beautiful place to get married. It was everything I had envisioned it to be. Doug the owner was great to work with. Very kind and professional.

    The Barnstone's reply:

    Thanks Katie, we loved sharing our farm with you and your beautiful family and hope for nothing but great times ahead!!
    Doug H
  • E
    Elizabeth K. Sent on 08/18/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Book this venue

    The owner is completely accommodating and flexible. You can really transform this space on a budget as they have put a lot of thought into décor that is already present. Loved our experience.
  • M
    Mikaela Z. Sent on 08/02/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The perfect wedding venue

    I’ve had so many compliments about my ceremony and reception because how beautiful the site was the owner of the Barnstone what’s the kindest man and he was so hopeful 10 out of 10 recommend.
  • J
    Jennifer Z. Sent on 07/21/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Barnstone is a wonderful indoor/outdoor venue!

    We had our long awaited, post-COVID wedding reception at The Barnstone. Doug was extremely easy to work with and very flexible with rescheduling during the pandemic. Our guests loved the venue with the spacious barn (with plenty of room for the DJ and dancing), wonderful shaded yard and unique bar area. The buildings available for the bridal party were perfect for our sized wedding party. We had a food truck for our main catering and it worked out perfectly. Just a beautiful day at this lovely unique setting. I would recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing venue that can be casual or kicked up a notch!

    The Barnstone's reply:

    Thanks Jen, we appreciate the compliments and it was a pleasure working with you and all your family and friends.
    Best wishes, Doug H
  • S
    Sydney S. Sent on 07/22/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely wonderful experience with the Barnstone!

    The Barnstone could not have been a better wedding venue! Doug is so easy to work with and was always willing to take extra calls and answer additional questions that we had. Everything about the Barnstone we loved. To any future couples getting married near Wayne County, we HIGHLY recommend this venue!

    The Barnstone's reply:

    Thank you Sydney, it was a pleasure working with you guys and your family and friends!!
    Wish you all well,
    Doug H
  • N
    Nikki Sent on 06/09/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Outstanding

    Doug was fantastic to work with. He was kind and responded quickly to questions. The weather was chilly but we made the best of it and moved everything inside. The venue is gorgeous and made for some fantastic pictures!
  • Allison
    Allison W. Sent on 06/07/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Barn Venue

    My husband and I had an amazing time for our wedding at the beautiful Barnstone! The barn and carriage house bar area were already decorated with vintage things, so we didn’t have to decorate much otherwise! The owner, Doug, was very accommodating as he let us visit multiple times before our wedding day to plan things out. He also landscaped the property beautifully in time for our day, and helped with setup the day before and the day of. It’s rare to find a venue that lets you set up the whole day before and the day of, and my husband and I really appreciated that! Would recommend this one of a kind venue to anyone! It has a lot of charm.

    The Barnstone's reply:

    Thanks Allison, it was an honor and pleasure to be able to host your wedding and reception last month at the Barnstone.
    Best Wishes,
    Doug House
  • C
    Courtney B. Sent on 06/17/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Overall Amazing

    The Barnstone and Doug are amazing! He was so accommodating for both our rehearsal and our big day. He worked hard to ensure that everything was taken care of and our day could be beautiful. Leading up to our day he always responded and answered my questions in a timely manner. This is a great venue that is so beautiful and everything we wanted but it comes with great people too!
  • B
    Bethany H. Sent on 10/07/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome and beautiful

    Beautiful venue with a great setup
  • A
    Anna M. Sent on 09/24/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best barn venue!

    If you’re looking for the perfect barn venue, look no further. The barn itself is beautiful and needs very little additional decor. It also has more amenities than other barn venues we looked at (tables/chairs/arches for ceremony) that were able to be used with no extra charge. Doug was always quick to respond and was so helpful along the way, always letting us come check out the space while we were planning. We even had our rehearsal dinner at the venue the night before the wedding which was nice. Had so many guests comment on how beautiful the venue was and I agree, I would recommend The Barnstone to anyone!! Thanks!
  • Raquel
    Raquel Sent on 09/14/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    My Perfect Wedding

    The owners were amazingly wonderful. No stress and just wonderful. I have received so many phone calls from friends and family telling us that this was the best wedding they had been too in years. THANK YOU BARNSTONE for making our dreams of a fun gorgeous wedding come true!
  • S
    Shelby Sent on 10/12/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Experience

    We were very blessed to be able to book this date with The Barnstone. This was not our original venue but we are so happy it became our venue. From the moment we booked this everything went so smoothly. The Owner is super helpful and easy going. He made it such an awesome experience for us from start to end. They have so many great features and decorations you barely have to decorate! We received SO many compliments of how beautiful this venue was. They have amazing places for you to get ready with your bridesmaids and groomsmen. Such a awesome feature! Our wedding was 10.10.20 and to say it went great was an understatement. It was amazing and we couldn’t have had such a great day without such a great venue. Definitely 10/10 and would highly recommend!
  • C
    Chelsea Sent on 04/22/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing, very accommodating

    Due to COVID19 we had to cancel our wedding but Doug was amazing, understanding, and very kind during the entire process we worked with him for about a year leading up to having to cancel and it was the best experience! So sad we cant have our big day there now but its so beautiful and i tell every bride i know about it !

    The Barnstone's reply:

    Thanks again Chelsea, it was great working with you and your family and we were so looking forward to celebrating your big event at our venue. Doug H
  • M
    Molly Sent on 12/01/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our Wedding 10.26.19

    We cannot say enough great things about our experience with The Barnstone for our wedding day. When I first began my search for a venue, I was surprised at how difficult a lot of places were to communicate with which didn't give me confidence in working with them for such a big day of my life. Doug was so fantastic from the beginning. Setting up an appointment to view the venue was so easy and so was getting ahold of him for the remainder of working together. Once we saw The Barnstone we knew that it was the right choice for us. Doug was always there along the way to answer any questions we had. We were able to have our rehearsal dinner at the venue the day before which was a bonus. The barn itself is gorgeous and we barely had to decorate it because it speaks for itself. Our guests couldn't say enough good things about how beautiful everything looked. Doug also gives you a lists of vendors in the area you can work with which was so helpful. It did rain on our wedding day which meant we had to do our ceremony in the barn (not our original plan) but it was still just as amazing. We loved our wedding day and I would recommend this venue to anyone.
  • Wes
    Wes Sent on 11/13/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Venue for an Unforgettable Day

    This was by far the best venue we could have found. From value, to amenities, to Doug being the the best host, we couldn’t have imagined having our wedding anywhere else. We were able to set up appointments to visit the venue whenever we gave enough heads up which eased the stress of planning. Do yourself a favor and have your wedding at The Barnstone. You’ll be glad you did.
  • T
    Tiffany M. Sent on 11/13/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Bride, Used Venue from Wedding & Reception

    Doug was very upfront with his rules and expectations of his customers. He was very easy to work with whether it be through text, call, or email with my dad or me. Had things set up the day before for us to decorate and have a rehearsal. Was ready to change things around for us if there was rain. Never bothered any of our guests or made his short attendances at the reception really stand out. Was very helpful through the whole process! The venue itself is beautiful, Doug keeps it well kept and has great flowers & barn decor around the venue. Overall, am recommending the barnstone to any of my friends looking for a barn wedding!! We had a wonderful day and this venue was perfect!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours