Skip to main content
Weddings

The Barnstone Reviews

The Barnstone View more information

55 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 55
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

54 User photos

  • T
    Taylor M. Married on 04/30/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A Perfect Day

    Doug was an awesome person to work with! He let us visit throughout our planning period to get refreshers and fall in love with the venue all over again. Having the entire day before our wedding to set up was so stress relieving!! He was even so helpful the day of :) We continuously get compliments of how beautiful everything was. We couldn’t recommend this place enough!
  • K
    Kristi C. Married on 10/16/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent.

    I really could not be more pleased with Doug and the Barnstone! Our day went wonderfully and Doug was amazing to work with. I’m more than pleased!! It was PERFECT.

    The Barnstone's reply:

    Thanks Kristi, it was great working you and Colton and I am glad it perfect and everything you dreamed it would be.
    Doug H
  • Kelsey
    Kelsey W. Married on 10/02/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic!

    I would recommend this vendor to anyone!! Doug was who I worked with before the big day and his family as it got closer. They are all very nice and reasonable - easiest people to work with! You can bring your own alcohol in, we had food trucks, and he let us stay until late and we had the whole venue the day before. The only downfall, it will get a little uncomfortable if there are more than 175 people (we know, we maxed this), but if you're less than that, you'll never regret booking this beautiful amd quaint venue.
  • Katie
    Katie P. Married on 09/11/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome!!!!

    Beautiful place to get married. It was everything I had envisioned it to be. Doug the owner was great to work with. Very kind and professional.

    The Barnstone's reply:

    Thanks Katie, we loved sharing our farm with you and your beautiful family and hope for nothing but great times ahead!!
    Doug H
  • Elizabeth
    Elizabeth K. Married on 08/14/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Book this venue

    The owner is completely accommodating and flexible. You can really transform this space on a budget as they have put a lot of thought into décor that is already present. Loved our experience.
  • Mikaela
    Mikaela Z. Married on 07/31/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The perfect wedding venue

    I’ve had so many compliments about my ceremony and reception because how beautiful the site was the owner of the Barnstone what’s the kindest man and he was so hopeful 10 out of 10 recommend.
  • J
    Jennifer Z. Married on 07/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Barnstone is a wonderful indoor/outdoor venue!

    We had our long awaited, post-COVID wedding reception at The Barnstone. Doug was extremely easy to work with and very flexible with rescheduling during the pandemic. Our guests loved the venue with the spacious barn (with plenty of room for the DJ and dancing), wonderful shaded yard and unique bar area. The buildings available for the bridal party were perfect for our sized wedding party. We had a food truck for our main catering and it worked out perfectly. Just a beautiful day at this lovely unique setting. I would recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing venue that can be casual or kicked up a notch!

    The Barnstone's reply:

    Thanks Jen, we appreciate the compliments and it was a pleasure working with you and all your family and friends.
    Best wishes, Doug H
  • Sydney
    Sydney S. Married on 06/12/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely wonderful experience with the Barnstone!

    The Barnstone could not have been a better wedding venue! Doug is so easy to work with and was always willing to take extra calls and answer additional questions that we had. Everything about the Barnstone we loved. To any future couples getting married near Wayne County, we HIGHLY recommend this venue!

    The Barnstone's reply:

    Thank you Sydney, it was a pleasure working with you guys and your family and friends!!
    Wish you all well,
    Doug H
  • N
    Nikki Married on 05/28/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Outstanding

    Doug was fantastic to work with. He was kind and responded quickly to questions. The weather was chilly but we made the best of it and moved everything inside. The venue is gorgeous and made for some fantastic pictures!
  • Allison
    Allison W. Married on 05/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Barn Venue

    My husband and I had an amazing time for our wedding at the beautiful Barnstone! The barn and carriage house bar area were already decorated with vintage things, so we didn’t have to decorate much otherwise! The owner, Doug, was very accommodating as he let us visit multiple times before our wedding day to plan things out. He also landscaped the property beautifully in time for our day, and helped with setup the day before and the day of. It’s rare to find a venue that lets you set up the whole day before and the day of, and my husband and I really appreciated that! Would recommend this one of a kind venue to anyone! It has a lot of charm.

    The Barnstone's reply:

    Thanks Allison, it was an honor and pleasure to be able to host your wedding and reception last month at the Barnstone.
    Best Wishes,
    Doug House
  • C
    Courtney B. Married on 10/03/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Overall Amazing

    The Barnstone and Doug are amazing! He was so accommodating for both our rehearsal and our big day. He worked hard to ensure that everything was taken care of and our day could be beautiful. Leading up to our day he always responded and answered my questions in a timely manner. This is a great venue that is so beautiful and everything we wanted but it comes with great people too!
  • B
    Bethany H. Married on 10/03/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome and beautiful

    Beautiful venue with a great setup
  • Anna
    Anna M. Married on 09/19/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best barn venue!

    If you’re looking for the perfect barn venue, look no further. The barn itself is beautiful and needs very little additional decor. It also has more amenities than other barn venues we looked at (tables/chairs/arches for ceremony) that were able to be used with no extra charge. Doug was always quick to respond and was so helpful along the way, always letting us come check out the space while we were planning. We even had our rehearsal dinner at the venue the night before the wedding which was nice. Had so many guests comment on how beautiful the venue was and I agree, I would recommend The Barnstone to anyone!! Thanks!
  • Raquel
    Raquel Married on 09/05/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    My Perfect Wedding

    The owners were amazingly wonderful. No stress and just wonderful. I have received so many phone calls from friends and family telling us that this was the best wedding they had been too in years. THANK YOU BARNSTONE for making our dreams of a fun gorgeous wedding come true!
  • S
    Shelby Married on 06/20/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great Experience

    We were very blessed to be able to book this date with The Barnstone. This was not our original venue but we are so happy it became our venue. From the moment we booked this everything went so smoothly. The Owner is super helpful and easy going. He made it such an awesome experience for us from start to end. They have so many great features and decorations you barely have to decorate! We received SO many compliments of how beautiful this venue was. They have amazing places for you to get ready with your bridesmaids and groomsmen. Such a awesome feature! Our wedding was 10.10.20 and to say it went great was an understatement. It was amazing and we couldn’t have had such a great day without such a great venue. Definitely 10/10 and would highly recommend!
  • C
    Chelsea Married on 05/23/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing, very accommodating

    Due to COVID19 we had to cancel our wedding but Doug was amazing, understanding, and very kind during the entire process we worked with him for about a year leading up to having to cancel and it was the best experience! So sad we cant have our big day there now but its so beautiful and i tell every bride i know about it !

    The Barnstone's reply:

    Thanks again Chelsea, it was great working with you and your family and we were so looking forward to celebrating your big event at our venue. Doug H
  • M
    Molly Married on 10/26/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Our Wedding 10.26.19

    We cannot say enough great things about our experience with The Barnstone for our wedding day. When I first began my search for a venue, I was surprised at how difficult a lot of places were to communicate with which didn't give me confidence in working with them for such a big day of my life. Doug was so fantastic from the beginning. Setting up an appointment to view the venue was so easy and so was getting ahold of him for the remainder of working together. Once we saw The Barnstone we knew that it was the right choice for us. Doug was always there along the way to answer any questions we had. We were able to have our rehearsal dinner at the venue the day before which was a bonus. The barn itself is gorgeous and we barely had to decorate it because it speaks for itself. Our guests couldn't say enough good things about how beautiful everything looked. Doug also gives you a lists of vendors in the area you can work with which was so helpful. It did rain on our wedding day which meant we had to do our ceremony in the barn (not our original plan) but it was still just as amazing. We loved our wedding day and I would recommend this venue to anyone.
  • Wes
    Wes Married on 10/19/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect Venue for an Unforgettable Day

    This was by far the best venue we could have found. From value, to amenities, to Doug being the the best host, we couldn’t have imagined having our wedding anywhere else. We were able to set up appointments to visit the venue whenever we gave enough heads up which eased the stress of planning. Do yourself a favor and have your wedding at The Barnstone. You’ll be glad you did.
  • T
    Tiffany M. Married on 10/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Bride, Used Venue from Wedding & Reception

    Doug was very upfront with his rules and expectations of his customers. He was very easy to work with whether it be through text, call, or email with my dad or me. Had things set up the day before for us to decorate and have a rehearsal. Was ready to change things around for us if there was rain. Never bothered any of our guests or made his short attendances at the reception really stand out. Was very helpful through the whole process! The venue itself is beautiful, Doug keeps it well kept and has great flowers & barn decor around the venue. Overall, am recommending the barnstone to any of my friends looking for a barn wedding!! We had a wonderful day and this venue was perfect!
  • R
    Rachel M. Married on 09/29/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful venue

    Such a pleasure to work with Doug at the Barnstone! The venue was absolutely beautiful and he helped any way he could and made our day perfect! We had so many people tell us how amazing and smooth everything went. And my favorite part was the hay bails at the ceremony! My day was perfect!
  • Alyssa
    Alyssa Married on 09/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The PERFECT Rustic Barn Venue!!

    I had SO MANY people at my wedding compliment how beautiful and perfect this venue was! It really took our wedding to a whole other level. The beautiful ceremony area, the rustic reception barn, and even the restrooms (working plumbing!! You don’t usually get that with a barn venue!) took an already amazing day and made it picture-perfect. Thanks to Doug and his way of making you feel heard and important, I had the best wedding ever!! (Yes, I am biased, but it really was perfect!)
  • B
    Breana Married on 09/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Venue!

    Amazing Venue! Amazing people to work with! So helpful! He even drove my grandpa around in his golf cart because he can’t walk that well anymore. Made sure everything was going good throughout the night!
  • M
    Maddison Married on 06/22/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Barnstone

    Doug was amazing to work with! He allowed us to visit the barn whenever needed before the wedding and was so helpful during set up and the actual day! He allowed us to be creative with the venue, was EXTREMELY kind to our guests, and offered help in any way he could. The barn/restrooms/rooms where the bridal parties got ready were clean and amazing! I would recommend the Barnstone to anyone!
  • J
    Janine Married on 06/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Married 6/15/19

    This was the perfect place for our special day. Doug was so open to making our vision come to life, and even gave us extra time to decide if we needed to use the rain plan (which turned out GORGEOUS). The barn needs very little additional decor, & the overall atmosphere is so laid back and fun. I looked at 5 different barn venues in northeast Ohio before deciding on this one and the Barnstone is by far superior for value/flexibility/service!!

    The Barnstone's reply:

    Thank Janine, it was a pleasure working with both you and Nick.
    We pride ourselves at being flexible and making it the weekend you dreamed of!!
  • Danielle
    Danielle S. Married on 06/01/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Barnstone Helped Us Have a Perfect Day!

    Doug and his wife were amazing throughout the entire experience working with them! My husband and I were married at The Barnstone on June 1, 2019. Doug was always very responsive to any questions we had right from the booking of our viewing of the venue to sending back our deposit after the wedding and all of the details in between. They really helped make the day run smoothly and I did not have to worry about anything and was able to enjoy our day. They are also very flexible and are willing to work with you to make the day how you want it to be. Additionally, the venue itself is incredible. So many of our guests had wonderful things to say about how charming it was. I would recommend this venue to anyone wanting a charming and cozy wedding for themselves and their guests!

    The Barnstone's reply:

    Thanks for kind words, Danielle. We are working hard to make it a memorable day for couples and their families!!