Weddings

The Barns at Lang Farm Reviews

The Barns at Lang Farm

The Barns at Lang Farm

Essex Junction, VT
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 19 Reviews
View more information

19 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 19
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

1 User photo

Sort by:
  • Rebecca
    Rebecca Married on 09/06/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We couldn't have picked a better venue

    We had our wedding in the main barn, and it couldn't have been a better choice of venue. Some unexpected rain meant we had to move the ceremony inside, but that was the only small wrinkle -- and even that didn't put a damper on things, since the barn interior is beautiful, and the double doors onto the patio provided the perfect backdrop. The space was perfect for our party (roughly 100 guests), the bar staff was excellent, and Debbie and Jon were wonderful to work with throughout the process, from the very initial planning to the day-of, helping to make the day exactly as we envisioned. Picture-perfect venue with a great team of people -- highly recommend!
  • M
    Michelle Married on 06/04/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Beautiful venue and wonderful people to work with! Everything was perfect!
  • User2554943 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Make life easy and enjoy a wonderful fall wedding at the Lang Barn. They provided flowers from their fabulous gardens saving us time and money. The barn is so magnificent indwell decorated and lighted that you do not need to do anything for it to be breath taking. Our guest are still talking about!
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 09/05/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our Wedding was Perfect! The Barn at Lang Farm was just what we envisoned for our wedding. A warm, rustic, venue with lots of natural beauty around us. The barn was beautifully re done and the attention to detail was everywhere, from the lighting, to the bathrooms, and the hand painted doors. Just Beautiful! Our guest raved and raved about the barn and how exquisite it was. We will forever be grateful for the Lang Family and all the hard work and flexibility they put into making sure our day was so special. I would absolutely recommend this venue to others@
  • User2466247 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I found the Lang Barns through online searching as a possible location for our destination wedding (Aug 2015). When we visited, we knew it was the right venue - the large barn is beautifully restored with thick wood beams and large cast-iron light fixtures. It also has a built-in copper-front bar and modern restrooms in the barn (which many barns lack, as we found). We paid an extra fee to have our ceremony on-site, which was worth every penny. The paver-stone patio was gorgeous with the garden landscaping already there. There is also a giant, lovely tree at the end of the large patio, and a white birch arbor available to use. The grounds have wonderful photo locations, and there is a golf course if guests or wedding party members want to golf before the wedding. Jon and Debbie Lang (the owners) were so accommodating and let us bring our wedding decor (we had a lot!) the day before because there was no event booked that Friday. While we were planning our wedding, they finished a smaller barn with similar feel, and we were able to see that barn completed, which is also lovely and would be wonderful for more intimate events (I think it holds up to 100). The large barn holds a few hundred. The kitchen space in the barn is bare, so you need to rent all the equipment for the caterers, but they do allow you to use tables and chairs for up to 150 guests which they have at the barn (seat 8 per table). A note - there is no AC in the barn, so in the summer it can be hot. We debated renting industrial fans for the wedding because we were concerned about the noise they would make, but I HIGHLY recommend them, and am so so so glad we did use them. It was 84 degrees the day of our wedding, and it was hot in the barn without the fans. It was fine with them, and I don't remember noticing the fan noise at any point during the night. So many guests commented on how beautiful the venue was.
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 07/11/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Debbie & John were so sweet and so accommodating. The venue was exactly what we were looking for- a perfect combination of elegant and rustic. We barely needed to do any decorating at all to make the space look absolutely gorgeous- they truly take pride in making the barns and the grounds look beautiful. All of our guests had a blast playing lawn games outside, dancing in the barn, and walking around the grounds. I highly recommend this space!
  • M
    Meagan Married on 06/20/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Barn at Lang Farm was the perfect setting for our wedding in June! The landscaping was impecable and all of the little decor details that Jon and Debbie have brought into The Barn set the scene for a perfectly beautiful day! All of our guests asked us how we found The Barn and honestly it was just a random search online, but once we visited over a year before our wedding (when snow was still on the ground and we could only guess at the potential for the greenery and the landscape) we were absolutely sure that The Barn was where we needed to get married and host our guests for our big day!
  • H
    Heather J. Married on 10/10/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    On Friday 10/10 we celebrated the wedding our our daughter Kayleigh Trombly to Dustin Krall. Together they booked this venue 2 years prior only from photos and my visit. Three days before their big day they flew in from Oregon to visit the Barn and they fell in love with it. Photos don't do this venue justice. It is rustic and has so much ambience and charm. The dressing rooms were a nice addition.
    We were able to have the ceremony and reception in one location which was a benefit for guests .
    Many commented that it was the "Nicest Wedding" they had attended and that they felt at home.
    I thank Jon and Debbie Lang and their staff for the beautiful barn, fresh fall decorations, and attending to all our needs.
    To Fluid Bar Service you were outstanding and nothing but professional.
    Our caterer and baker Scott & Jozef from Chef's Corner Cafe and Bakery in Williston; your appetizers and the wedding carrot cake were amazing.
    Mr. Rajan Chawla our photographer we can't wait to see the photos. Thank you for capturing all the moments we will forever cherish.
    Our entertainment service Mr. Aaron Topfer thank you for keeping the event on schedule and the dance floor rocking all night long.
    To our florist Laura Shambo from Chazy ,New York @ North Country Floral and Gift ; the centerpieces and flowers were amazing.
    Roberta from Vermont Tent Company you worked with me throughout this journey with rentals of linens, glassware, silverware and the beautiful cake stand. Renting the heater was a great suggestion.
    Lastly, Thomas and Linda LaPierre from Up North BBQ; the meal was a delicious.
    The day was just perfect. Thanks for all for their great services.
  • A
    Ann Married on 06/14/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Barn at Lang Farm was a gorgeous venue and Jon was very helpful and willing to work with us on making the day perfect. This is a perfect spot for a wedding and allows you have the caterer and band, etc. that you want.
  • F
    Faith Married on 06/26/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Langs were so professional and went out of their way to help us create the day of our dreams! The Barn is tastefully crafted and well cared for...our family and friends are still talking about its beauty!
  • A
    Ariana Married on 08/08/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    John & Debbie are fantastic to work with an the Barn is just gorgeous! I was the third wedding held at the Barn and they have done so much to the grounds since! Making your day as beautiful as it can be is their top priority! Highly recommend.
  • L
    Liz Married on 08/22/2015
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This venue made our August wedding just breathtaking. Jon is super laid back and helpful and all of our guests were just blown away by the beautiful setting. My husband and I live in Vermont and we were still impressed by the views and the beautiful barn. They have a lovely ceremony site right on the patio off of their barn, a very cool balcony with amazing views, and beautiful lighting and creative antique-feeling touches through the barn. This place definitely made our wedding and I'd recommend it to anyone.
  • User2550362 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    This location was perfect for our wedding. It was so beautiful, especially with all of the lights and hanging lanterns! I could not be happier with the Lang Barn. I would recommend this wonderful location in a heartbeat.
  • User2550308 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    There is no air conditioning in the Main Barn, so take the advice of John/Debbie and/or wedding coordinators who are familiar with the facility and layout to promote good air flow for summer events. Even if it's a hot one, there's a way to help make the day perfect if properly set up for your event.
  • K
    Katherine Married on 09/27/2014
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The barn itself is amazing and being able to pull flowers and other décor from the nursery and antique shop helps offset the price, overall well worth the money for this beautiful space! Communication with the owners was great, from having the caterer from the previous night’s wedding leave up table and chairs to helping with a last minute correction on décor, John and his team made it happen. Yes, you either have to do setup yourself or hire a wedding planner but that’s the trade off to get this amazing space that does not look like a conference room. Our reception far exceeded our expectations. If you want an elegant barn space with amazing views this is the place for your wedding!
  • User1857081 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Working with them was great. They were super easy going and had great suggestions. The only thing I would nitpick is the delayed response via email. For me, because I work a full time job, it was easier to correspond via email but sometimes it would take days to get responses. It was also easier for me to remember all my questions via email rather than calling, so to delay getting side tracked.
  • User1964009 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    I loved having my wedding at The Lang Barn. John is wonderful to work with and clearly cares about his business and his clients. The barn is beautiful - it's the perfect VT venue! The Barn is a bit pricey, but comparable to other similar VT venues. All the guests raved about the Barn. It's a beautiful spot. An added bonus is the working nursery - we borrowed a few plants and flowers to decorate the ceremony site!
  • D
    Dustin Married on 08/30/2014
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    The barn is beautiful, and well worth the money. Communication between us and the owners could have been better as far as expectations after the wedding, and did not care for some of the vendors that are contracted for the barn.
  • M
    Megan Married on 10/17/2015
    Rating 4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Jon was a pleasure to interact with. He let us take our time with decisions and was easily accessible. The barn has so much love in it, they have really created such a beautiful and warm place to say "I do".