The Barns at Lang Farm Reviews

19 | Essex Junction, VT
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for The Barns at Lang Farm

Recommended by 97% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

19

1 User photo

Order by:
  • Rebecca

    Rebecca · Married on 09/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't have picked a better venue

    We had our wedding in the main barn, and it couldn't have been a better choice of venue. Some unexpected rain meant we had to move the ceremony inside, but that was the only small wrinkle -- and even that didn't put a damper on things, since the barn interior is beautiful, and the double doors onto the patio provided the perfect backdrop. The space was perfect for our party (roughly 100 guests), the bar staff was excellent, and Debbie and Jon were wonderful to work with throughout the process, from the very initial planning to the day-of, helping to make the day exactly as we envisioned. Picture-perfect venue with a great team of people -- highly recommend!

    Sent on 10/05/2019
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 06/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue and wonderful people to work with! Everything was perfect!

    Sent on 06/11/2017
  • User6490282 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Make life easy and enjoy a wonderful fall wedding at the Lang Barn. They provided flowers from their fabulous gardens saving us time and money. The barn is so magnificent indwell decorated and lighted that you do not need to do anything for it to be breath taking. Our guest are still talking about!

    Sent on 03/16/2016
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 09/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our Wedding was Perfect! The Barn at Lang Farm was just what we envisoned for our wedding. A warm, rustic, venue with lots of natural beauty around us. The barn was beautifully re done and the attention to detail was everywhere, from the lighting, to the bathrooms, and the hand painted doors. Just Beautiful! Our guest raved and raved about the barn and how exquisite it was. We will forever be grateful for the Lang Family and all the hard work and flexibility they put into making sure our day was so special. I would absolutely recommend this venue to others@

    Sent on 03/10/2016
  • User4947587 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I found the Lang Barns through online searching as a possible location for our destination wedding (Aug 2015). When we visited, we knew it was the right venue - the large barn is beautifully restored with thick wood beams and large cast-iron light fixtures. It also has a built-in copper-front bar and modern restrooms in the barn (which many barns lack, as we found). We paid an extra fee to have our ceremony on-site, which was worth every penny. The paver-stone patio was gorgeous with the garden landscaping already there. There is also a giant, lovely tree at the end of the large patio, and a white birch arbor available to use. The grounds have wonderful photo locations, and there is a golf course if guests or wedding party members want to golf before the wedding. Jon and Debbie Lang (the owners) were so accommodating and let us bring our wedding decor (we had a lot!) the day before because there was no event booked that Friday. While we were planning our wedding, they finished a smaller barn with similar feel, and we were able to see that barn completed, which is also lovely and would be wonderful for more intimate events (I think it holds up to 100). The large barn holds a few hundred. The kitchen space in the barn is bare, so you need to rent all the equipment for the caterers, but they do allow you to use tables and chairs for up to 150 guests which they have at the barn (seat 8 per table). A note - there is no AC in the barn, so in the summer it can be hot. We debated renting industrial fans for the wedding because we were concerned about the noise they would make, but I HIGHLY recommend them, and am so so so glad we did use them. It was 84 degrees the day of our wedding, and it was hot in the barn without the fans. It was fine with them, and I don't remember noticing the fan noise at any point during the night. So many guests commented on how beautiful the venue was.

    Sent on 12/13/2015
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 07/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Debbie & John were so sweet and so accommodating. The venue was exactly what we were looking for- a perfect combination of elegant and rustic. We barely needed to do any decorating at all to make the space look absolutely gorgeous- they truly take pride in making the barns and the grounds look beautiful. All of our guests had a blast playing lawn games outside, dancing in the barn, and walking around the grounds. I highly recommend this space!

    Sent on 03/15/2016
  • M

    Meagan · Married on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Barn at Lang Farm was the perfect setting for our wedding in June! The landscaping was impecable and all of the little decor details that Jon and Debbie have brought into The Barn set the scene for a perfectly beautiful day! All of our guests asked us how we found The Barn and honestly it was just a random search online, but once we visited over a year before our wedding (when snow was still on the ground and we could only guess at the potential for the greenery and the landscape) we were absolutely sure that The Barn was where we needed to get married and host our guests for our big day!

    Sent on 07/14/2015
  • H

    Heather & John · Married on 10/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    On Friday 10/10 we celebrated the wedding our our daughter Kayleigh Trombly to Dustin Krall. Together they booked this venue 2 years prior only from photos and my visit. Three days before their big day they flew in from Oregon to visit the Barn and they fell in love with it. Photos don't do this venue justice. It is rustic and has so much ambience and charm. The dressing rooms were a nice addition.
    We were able to have the ceremony and reception in one location which was a benefit for guests .
    Many commented that it was the "Nicest Wedding" they had attended and that they felt at home.
    I thank Jon and Debbie Lang and their staff for the beautiful barn, fresh fall decorations, and attending to all our needs.
    To Fluid Bar Service you were outstanding and nothing but professional.
    Our caterer and baker Scott & Jozef from Chef's Corner Cafe and Bakery in Williston; your appetizers and the wedding carrot cake were amazing.
    Mr. Rajan Chawla our photographer we can't wait to see the photos. Thank you for capturing all the moments we will forever cherish.
    Our entertainment service Mr. Aaron Topfer thank you for keeping the event on schedule and the dance floor rocking all night long.
    To our florist Laura Shambo from Chazy ,New York @ North Country Floral and Gift ; the centerpieces and flowers were amazing.
    Roberta from Vermont Tent Company you worked with me throughout this journey with rentals of linens, glassware, silverware and the beautiful cake stand. Renting the heater was a great suggestion.
    Lastly, Thomas and Linda LaPierre from Up North BBQ; the meal was a delicious.
    The day was just perfect. Thanks for all for their great services.

    Sent on 10/12/2014
  • A

    Ann · Married on 06/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Barn at Lang Farm was a gorgeous venue and Jon was very helpful and willing to work with us on making the day perfect. This is a perfect spot for a wedding and allows you have the caterer and band, etc. that you want.

    Sent on 10/10/2014
  • F

    Faith · Married on 06/26/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Langs were so professional and went out of their way to help us create the day of our dreams! The Barn is tastefully crafted and well cared for...our family and friends are still talking about its beauty!

    Sent on 10/10/2014
  • A

    Ariana · Married on 08/08/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John & Debbie are fantastic to work with an the Barn is just gorgeous! I was the third wedding held at the Barn and they have done so much to the grounds since! Making your day as beautiful as it can be is their top priority! Highly recommend.

    Sent on 10/10/2014
  • L

    Liz · Married on 08/22/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue made our August wedding just breathtaking. Jon is super laid back and helpful and all of our guests were just blown away by the beautiful setting. My husband and I live in Vermont and we were still impressed by the views and the beautiful barn. They have a lovely ceremony site right on the patio off of their barn, a very cool balcony with amazing views, and beautiful lighting and creative antique-feeling touches through the barn. This place definitely made our wedding and I'd recommend it to anyone.

    Sent on 09/13/2015
  • User6466521 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This location was perfect for our wedding. It was so beautiful, especially with all of the lights and hanging lanterns! I could not be happier with the Lang Barn. I would recommend this wonderful location in a heartbeat.

    Sent on 03/09/2016
  • User6466318 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There is no air conditioning in the Main Barn, so take the advice of John/Debbie and/or wedding coordinators who are familiar with the facility and layout to promote good air flow for summer events. Even if it's a hot one, there's a way to help make the day perfect if properly set up for your event.

    Sent on 03/09/2016
  • K

    Katherine · Married on 09/27/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The barn itself is amazing and being able to pull flowers and other décor from the nursery and antique shop helps offset the price, overall well worth the money for this beautiful space! Communication with the owners was great, from having the caterer from the previous night’s wedding leave up table and chairs to helping with a last minute correction on décor, John and his team made it happen. Yes, you either have to do setup yourself or hire a wedding planner but that’s the trade off to get this amazing space that does not look like a conference room. Our reception far exceeded our expectations. If you want an elegant barn space with amazing views this is the place for your wedding!

    Sent on 10/01/2014
  • User4464762 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with them was great. They were super easy going and had great suggestions. The only thing I would nitpick is the delayed response via email. For me, because I work a full time job, it was easier to correspond via email but sometimes it would take days to get responses. It was also easier for me to remember all my questions via email rather than calling, so to delay getting side tracked.

    Sent on 10/10/2014
  • User3406028 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved having my wedding at The Lang Barn. John is wonderful to work with and clearly cares about his business and his clients. The barn is beautiful - it's the perfect VT venue! The Barn is a bit pricey, but comparable to other similar VT venues. All the guests raved about the Barn. It's a beautiful spot. An added bonus is the working nursery - we borrowed a few plants and flowers to decorate the ceremony site!

    Sent on 12/11/2014
  • D

    Dustin · Married on 08/30/2014

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The barn is beautiful, and well worth the money. Communication between us and the owners could have been better as far as expectations after the wedding, and did not care for some of the vendors that are contracted for the barn.

    Sent on 09/10/2014
  • M

    megan · Married on 10/17/2015

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Jon was a pleasure to interact with. He let us take our time with decisions and was easily accessible. The barn has so much love in it, they have really created such a beautiful and warm place to say "I do".

    Sent on 03/22/2016