Skip to main content
Weddings

The Barn on New River Reviews

The Barn on New River

The Barn on New River

West Jefferson, NC
5.0 out of 5 rating, 30 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
5.0 out of 5 rating
30 Reviews
100% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

30
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
Weddingwire
5.0/5 30 reviews
Google
5/5 60 reviews
  • CoCo
    Coco G. Sent on 09/03/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Most Beautiful Venue

    The Barn at New River is spectacular; all of my guests came up to me and commented how beautiful the venue, setting, and the barn were! The barn is elegant with chandeliers and the original wood look! The mountains are a prefect ceremony background to the outside arbor and fountain!! Paula has also done an awesome job with the gardens, the flowers were blooming and she was very helpful!!
  • Saige
    Saige R. Sent on 08/01/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hidden Gem

    The Barn on New River is a hidden gem. You can almost drive past the driveway if you don't know it's there, however, if you take a chance and visit this place you will fall in love. The owner and her family built the barn with wood from their very own property and started making dreams happen at the barn. The Barn was the first and only venue my husband and I toured. It was truly love at first sight. Paula not only has her beautiful barn with picturesque bridal and groom suites, but also has a pond, and gorgeous flower garden. The weather is always perfect. Regardless of the summer heat in the Piedmont, the gem always has a mountain breeze blowing off the river. We were married in July and were more than comfortable. We toured in the fall and the weather was even better. When you have your wedding at the barn you get access to the top of the mountain for sunset pictures (do this, do this, do this!!) And you may think you can do your wedding planning on your own but I promise you, their wedding coordinator, Caroline, can do it even better and effortlessly. Caroline always has a vision and has plans A-Z to ensure that your day runs smoothly and that you get exactly what you want. From jump, we were given all resources and contact available at the Barn. Caroline is super flexible and helpful and the day of your wedding literally takes everything out of your hands and tells you if people ask you questions that your answer should be two words, "Ask Caroline.". I cannot say enough nice things about the Barn. They gave me and my husband the perfect wedding that we had dreamed about and I will treasure the memories we made there.

    The Barn on New River's reply:

    Thank you Saige for all of your kind words. Caroline and I absolutely loved helped making your dreams come true.
  • L
    Logan Sent on 07/22/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    My wedding day was AMAZING because of the barn on new river

    What an amaaziinnnggg venue! Paula is hands down the sweetest lady and will help you make your day SPECTACULAR
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • A
    Aspen K. Sent on 09/27/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Every Bride's Dream!

    It is difficult to describe just how beautiful this venue is. The Barn on New River is overflowing with natural beauty, elegance, and peacefulness. My husband and I live in Charlotte, and we were astonished to realize that just a short 2-hour drive will take you to such an untouched and private escape. The property has everything you could ever want for your wedding day, including the New River, endless mountain views, an incredible Dahlia garden, numerous ponds, and the most elegant and classic Barn that we had seen. Our wedding day was absolutely perfect thanks to everything the Barn on New River has to offer as well as the above-and-beyond support we received from the Venue owner Paula, and the Venue’s day-of-coordinator, Caroline. My husband and myself were both told by so many of our guests what an amazing and beautiful venue we chose. I could not imagine getting married in a more perfect and incredible location and we are so grateful for the memories that we have here!
  • E
    Edward K. Sent on 08/18/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing All Around!

    This venue is absolutely stunning. The property is perfectly maintained, and has amazing views every direction you look. It is the most beautiful place I have ever been. Paula and Caroline were extremely helpful in the coordination both prior to, and during our ceremony and reception. We could not have done it without them. I cannot say enough good things about this venue. I highly recommend it to any couple looking to have the perfect setting for their wedding day.
  • H
    Hannah S. Sent on 08/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Venue in Ashe County!

    This is hands down the best venue in the blue ridge mountains (coming from an Ashe County local couple)!! This venue is so stunning and needs minimal decoration to make it feel elegant and classy but still have a relaxed atmosphere. Paula is filled with so much wedding knowledge and provides a list of recommended vendors, which would be great for those who are not local. Paula is quick to respond to texts and calls and always eased my mind. The bridal suite, groomsman room, and honeymoon suite were so convenient to have right on site. The cabin on the farm was clean, spacious, and has everything your family/friends need. Mark, Paula’s husband, works so hard during the week prior to the wedding to maintain the landscaping and beautiful dahlia garden. I would also highly recommend using Caroline Orcutt as your wedding coordinator (add on service). She is beyond organized and makes sure everything runs smoothly the day of your wedding. She is quick to response to emails, texts, and calls. She also gave us tons of suggestions that would fit in our budget. We could not recommend this venue more and thank the Domske’s and Caroline for all they did for us to make our day so special!!

    The Barn on New River's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words! We were honored to have you and Tyler's wedding here, and we had the best time at your wedding.
    Lots of Love,
    Paula and Mark
  • C
    Carol Sent on 07/16/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing experience working with Paula

    We are so glad we selected The Barn on the New River! It was an amazing experience! Paula and Carolyn were amazing to work with! Very responsive and helpful! I could not imagine a better experience!
  • Samantha
    Samantha J. Sent on 12/13/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Venue Nestled In The Blue Ridge Mountains

    I knew before I was engaged that I wanted to have my wedding at The Barn on New River and I wanted it to be in the fall. If you've never seen the foliage in the Blue Ridge Mountains then you're missing out. The barn has everything you need, his and her dressing room, a kitchen on-site for your caterer, a honeymoon suite, and cabin rentals close by for out of town family members. Not to mention, the owners, Mark & Paula Domske are a pleasure to work with, very accommodating to your needs, and Paula was always available to answer my questions, big or small. Day of, they are both there making sure your day runs smoothly. This place is a hidden gem nestled in the small town of West Jefferson, NC and no matter what season this place is breathtaking for a wedding!
  • Bryan
    Bryan R. Sent on 10/24/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hands Down the Best Barn Venue!!!

    I would highly recommend hosting your wedding or special event at The Barn on New River!

    The venue is set back in the mountains and is private with tons of parking and incredible landscape. The venue contact, Paula was a delight to work with! Her response time was most times in a matter of minutes and she was overly accommodating to help us connect with vendors when we weren't able to get a response on our own. Words can't express how well designed her Barn is for weddings! First its crystal chandeliers and lighting soften up the rustic barn feel, The 2nd floor that overlooks the first floor is breathtaking and finally the large barn doors and windows that can be open provide the perfect environment to bring take in the beautiful landscape while having your event in doors. She has a bar built in as well as a kitchen area for caters to work in private. Lastly I have to say that the Sonos Sound System that throughout the barn, ceremony area and outdoors led us to save a ton. I can not think of one thing that this venue doesn't offer!

    If I can give you any advise, it would be to START your search by visiting this location first. I can assure you that you won't find anything more beautiful or anyone who is more personal and really cares about taking care of her client!
  • Lauren
    Lauren L. Sent on 10/11/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    This venue is beyond anything I could have ever imagined!

    From the moment we arrived, I was already at ease. Paula and her husband go WAY out of their way to make sure everything is completely
    Perfect for you. The cabin on the property is beautiful and stocked with everything you need. We stayed here Thursday-Sunday and rented
    A golf cart to get to and from the barn. Rehearsal dinner was amazing and we all ate inside
    of the barn since it was a little chilly.

    The Barn itself leaves people speechless when they walk in. So many people said it seemed like a fairytale.
    From the beautiful views from the barn for your ceremony, to her flower garden we used for a lot of pictures, the short ride to the top of the mountain for breathtaking photos during cocktail hour- this place far exceeds any wedding venues I have been to.
    Paula lets you decorate and do things your way, they are always on standby just in case you need anything during your time there and were just the sweetest people I could have asked for to help us with our day. Her communication during the entire wedding planning was also a huge plus. I was planning during covid and she kept reassuring me that everything would be perfect no matter what and boy was she right!

    I hate to use the word regret, but I really think you would regret not using this venue. 10/10 for all parts!♥️ We can’t thank them enough for allowing us to be there!
  • E
    Emily M. Sent on 11/05/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Could not have asked for a better wedding venue!

    The Barn on New River was an absolute dream wedding venue! From the first time we pulled up for a tour, I was completely in love with the scenery and walking into the Barn for the first time sealed the deal. It was 100 times more breathtaking and impressive than any of the other venues we looked at. Working with Paula was super easy as she is extremely responsive and flexible, and she talked through alternate plans with me multiple times on the phone as we were navigating the state/local orders about mass gathering limits. I was a ball of stress but every phone call with Paula alleviated my anxiety and reaffirmed my confidence that my wedding was still going to happen. She really cared about our needs and did everything she could to make sure we could still have our dream wedding day despite COVID. This venue is 100% worth the money when you consider how easy it is to work with them, the views/photo opportunities, the large open space itself, the on-property cabin and honeymoon suite, and the fact that you have the property to yourselves for the entire wedding weekend. It truly felt like a blissful getaway and guests were commenting all weekend about how awesome the venue was. Plus, the open air concept of the Barn and all of the outdoor spaces (ceremony space, patio, dahlia garden, river bank, fire pit area, etc) were ideal for a wedding during COVID. We could not have asked for a more perfect day/weekend.
  • R
    Rachel H. Sent on 09/29/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Magic in the Mountains

    Planning a wedding during Covid was extremely stressful and, let’s be honest, kind of a bummer. However, The Barn on the New River was able to make it one of the very best days Of our life. To say that the owners, Paula and Mark, exceeded our expectations would be a complete understatement. They are an absolute dream to work with and take so much of the stress out of the planning process. The venue is absolutely perfect full of the most picture perfect backdrops and wonderful, thoughtful touches. The barn alone is a dream along with the bride and groom suite which provide the perfect, comfortable place to get ready on day of. The honeymoon suite is perfect and such a nice quiet escape after saying I do. The cabin on the property comfortably accommodated 10 of our family members and they absolutely loved it. Our wedding weekend was nothing short of magical, it served as the perfect escape for our closest family and friends from all the craziness of 2020 and we can’t thank Paula and Mark enough for all they did to make it that way!
  • L
    Lauren M. Sent on 08/25/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely incredible!!!

    The Barn on New River is hands down the best venue around! Paula and her husband did everything they could to ensure our day is everything we dreamed of and more. Highly recommend this venue!
  • L
    Laura B. Sent on 06/17/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Getting married during a Pandemic

    Planning a wedding is stressful enough, not to mention replanning a wedding to adapt to government mandates issued during a pandemic. AND this was a destination wedding! Through all the changes and stress, Paula supported us every step of the way. She works her butt off to make not only your wedding day, but the entire weekend about the couple! From phone calls, to text, to email- she was awesome at communicating with us. The Barn on New River is truly gorgeous- photos do not do it justice! From the barn in the valley to views at the scenic overlook, it’s perfect. We also stayed at the rental cabin on the property for the weekend, which made the days leading up to the wedding feel like a relaxing vacation. Unlike many venues, The Barn on New River is not just a business, it’s an extension of Mark and Paula’s home- and they will make you feel like family.
  • J
    Julia B. Sent on 06/19/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely Beautiful!

    I cannot say enough about The Barn On New River! This was the first and last venue my daughter looked at. It is absolutely beautiful and the owners are fantastic to work with! Paula could not have been more supportive and helpful throughout the planning and actual event.
  • Jayna
    Jayna Sent on 11/16/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    There's nothing better!

    This venue is incredible, but not just the location also the people that run it! I felt like family the whole event, even back when we signed the contracts. They made everything so easy, and not to mention the place is ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL. Look no further for a mountain barn venue, they really did it ALL. It's perfect
  • T
    Tori Sent on 09/02/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Venue

    The Barn on New River is such a beautiful place. I couldn’t have imagined a more perfect place to get married. The owners are so kind and care deeply about the couple and work hard to make the experience great. Would highly recommend them to anyone looking to get married at an effortlessly beautiful venue in the mountains.
  • H
    Hannah M. Sent on 08/16/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The most perfect venue for my wedding!!

    The Barn on New River was the most perfect venue for our wedding! We loved every detail about this place! I was obsessed with the barn the second I walked in it. It was exactly what I dreamed of for my big day. Another reason I chose this venue was because the owners are so awesome. Paula was simply amazing with how helpful she was and how quick she responded to any of my questions. I would recommend this venue to anyone, especially my family and friends so I can have an excuse to be back there! :)
  • C
    Camera F. Sent on 07/30/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Splendid People!

    Paula is such a joy to work with! The Barn is a beautiful venue with the perfect setting. Paula has definitely thought of everything and is a true professional! We could not have found a more perfect place for our son’s wedding. Everything was perfect!
  • Noah
    Noah G. Sent on 10/01/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Decision By Far

    Paula is absolutely fantastic. Not only is the barn and surrounding land kept beautiful but she made sure that everything was taken care of and helped with absolutely anything we needed! We asked her to step in and make sure we were on schedule with everything and she did an amazing job! The suites were perfect for getting ready the day of and she made sure there was no added stress on us. The atmosphere is so welcoming and fun but also emphasizes the beautiful scenery of the mountains and New River. We couldn't have found a more perfect place to celebrate our marriage!
  • Tim
    Tim G. Sent on 06/11/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Casual but Elegant

    We celebrated the 19th annual Gamekeeper Auction to support the Blue Ridge Conservancy and Middle Fork Greenway at The Barn. The venue was spectacular and we graciously accommodated over 200 guests. Thank you!
  • Lucy
    Lucy H. Sent on 11/09/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The dreamiest High Country Venue

    This was the only venue I visited. I fell in love instantly upon walking in the barn. The high ceilings, chandeliers and rustic flare make it a truly magical place. Paula was so great to work with- kind, flexible & very responsive. Our guests had amazing feedback on how the venue was set up and all of our vendors said it was incredibly well designed. Yes, yes, YES to this gorgeous place!
  • E
    Erin Sent on 08/29/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Barn on New River is something very special. It is beautiful, fun, and has an easy elegance. Along with our guests, we loved the indoor/outdoor aspect of the barn. The pictures are absolutely beautiful from our big day. The bridal suite and the honey moon suite were beautiful and very comfy! The cabin on the property is adorable and spacious. Paula the owner is kind, hard working, responsive, open to ideas, and has amazing taste. It says a lot about her that no one knew it was only the 2nd wedding ever to be on the property. I can't wait to see what else she comes up with. So many thanks to her and her family for making the day so special.
  • T
    Tina Sent on 08/14/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This is the most amazing venue in Ashe County. The venue showcases beautiful views of the Blue Ridge Mountains while only steps away from the New River. The facilities are top notch with plenty of room for a large wedding party and reception. The icing on the cake is the owners. They go above and beyond any expectations to accommodate.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message