25 Reviews for The Barn at Valhalla

4.9
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Uncovered Outdoor (11)
Bridal Suite (11)
Chairs (11)
Tables (11)
Accommodations (10)
Parking (9)
Indoor (6)
Dance Floor (6)
Scenic Views (4)
Clean Up (4)
Wireless Internet (4)
Furniture (4)
Wheelchair Access (4)
Covered Outdoor (3)
Lighting/Sound (3)
Event Rentals (1)
Audio Equipment (1)
25 The Barn at Valhalla Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

Our experience with the Barn at Valhalla was nothing short of exceptional. Carly and Dillon were wonderful hosts, owners, and were more hands on than one could have ever imagined! Carly and I may have even developed a small friendship due to the amount we communicated! :) No question was too large or small (or too late at night), they were willing to go above and beyond to accommodate us and ease or stress levels, and of course - provided an AMAZING venue. I HIGHLY recommend renting the venue for the entire weekend like we did so you can fully enjoy the gorgeousness of the venue! You're basically walking into a Pottery Barn catalog. No expense has been spared in the decor and details, they have not forgotten a single thing you may need, you have an large and lavish inventory available to use for your big day (which is a huge stress reliever), and you have an expansive amount of property and space to use which you do not find anywhere else! Being able to rent the Venue for Friday-Sunday REALLY allowed us to be able to enjoy time with our family and friends, enjoy the setup and decor process, and not feel rushed or pressed with timelines. Carly and Dillon were ALWAYS available if we needed anything never hesitated to respond via e-mail or text if we needed anything. As with my other vendors, I truly feel that we made a friend with them, we would highly recommend this venue to anyone, and we knew at first sight that this was it for us! We encourage you all to venture out for yourselves. Everyone deserve the wedding experience we had! Thank you so much guys!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Sarah, 3/17/18, 9 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Parking, Wheelchair Access, Accommodations, Bridal Suite, Wireless Internet, Chairs, Dance Floor, Furniture, Tables, Covered Outdoor, Indoor, Scenic Views, Uncovered Outdoor
5.0

I cannot recommend this place enough! The owners are amazing and so accommodating and responsive. Any question or need I had was immediately met with zero hassle. The place itself is just gorgeous and was the perfect location for a weekend wedding. We did the rehearsal dinner in the lodge on Friday night, and the ceremony in the lodge, and reception in the barn on Saturday night. Guests loved the big hearth too! It definitely made our wedding so much more special to have that extra time with family staying on the property the entire weekend. This place was great!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Courtney, 2/24/18, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!! Choosing the Barn at Valhalla was one of the smartest decisions we made in planning our wedding! Carly and Dillon made sure that the venue was immaculate and ready for our special weekend. We were very lucky to have perfect weather for our fall wedding, and the fun and stockpile of amenities helped with that. It was very helpful to have coolers, tables, chairs, etc. at our disposal for us and our guests. Everyone also enjoyed the pool table, ping pong, darts, and more!!! The venue provided plenty of room for many, and the master suite was FANTASTIC! We highly recommend choosing the Barn at Valhalla for your wedding. You won't be disappointed!!!

Profile Picture Samantha, 11/18/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Dual-hatted as a business owner and the father-of-the-bride, I was a bit skeptical when my daughter and her fiancée said they had found the perfect venue for their nuptials. The price seemed reasonable and their description of The Barn seemed over-exaggerated. Suffice it to say that I rarely feel that I got more than my money's worth, but what Dillon and Carly have created is a rare gem of a venue which offers intimacy and beauty at a tremendous value. Their attention to detail, professionalism, dependability, responsiveness and flexibility made this an ease to coordinate, financially manageable and -- most importantly -- a wonderful and memorable milestone for us and all our guests. The location and amenities are absolutely incredible and we are already hoping our next daughter will consider holding her wedding at the Barn.

You. Will. Love. It.

Profile Picture Matthew, 11/4/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Our wedding at The Barn was absolutely phenomenal! The outdoor fireplace, the gazebo, the Lodge and the Barn were all the best venues ever. Our guests are still talking about our beautiful wedding setting and it was a month ago!

Profile Picture Alice, 9/23/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

WOW! The Barn at valhalla in chapel hill N.C. What a beautiful way to complement our wonderful state! My wife and I, Jessica and Jonathan Kalanarhos got married at this venue 9-9-17. The options at this venue are endless! You are not restricted by any means for creativity as every inch of this venue was extraordinary! The Barn comes with all the bells and whistles classy dish wear and silverware to the decrative library and out of this world man cave and hot-tub. They have all the tables and chairs for your ceremony and reception. Style of round rectangle or square to fit any dream exactly how you dreamed it. They have really nice folding ( white chairs) to complement an elegant wedding as well. Everything was so easy to get to without any issues. An extremely spacious venue but not over whelming. There is a great staff that will assist you with any of your needs or concerns. They are dedicated to making sure your special day is all you ever wanted. They went above and beyond for my wife and I. Great Americans! Extremely friendly and sincere.
This venue sits right beside a beautiful lake. And softest grass you will ever put your feet on. Eligant! I cannot say it enough. The joy and expierence you will have is litterally breath taking. Its worth every penny!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Jonathan, 9/9/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Goodness, where even to start! Having our wedding at The Barn at Valhalla was absolutely lovely. From our first visit until the Sunday after the wedding, Barbara, Dillon and Carly were the best to work with. They were so flexible in helping us find the PERFECT ceremony spot (those woods are magical!), they made sure we had everything we needed, and were truly invested in Joel, myself, and our families as people, as opposed to just clients. Having the barn and the lodge for the whole weekend was such a treat - Friday night was a relaxed rehearsal dinner, and all the bridal party stayed at the site for the weekend. It made things so special to have dear family and friends all in one place. We can't recommend this place too much - it's absolutely stunning, it's the perfect place to foster togetherness, it and made our celebration so sweet. Thank you, Barbara, Carly and Dillon, for taking care of us so well! We couldn't have wanted things any other way.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Louise, 8/19/17, 3 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

I know a lot of people just throw 5 stars up and move on, but I can't tell you how sincerely I mean it when I give the Barn at Valhalla 5 stars. Barb, Carly, and Dillon are the kindest people and they really care about your experience at the Barn and the memories you make there! And just think about the benefits-- a place for you and your guests to sleep, its really like 4 venues in one and you can use it however you like! The more creative the better.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Heidi, 8/5/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Accommodations, Bridal Suite, Lighting/Sound, Uncovered Outdoor, Audio Equipment, Chairs, Dance Floor, Tables, Parking
5.0

Awesome venue with exceptional value. Renting both the barn and the residence gave us space and flexibility to entertain our guests for the rehearsal dinner, ceremony and reception. There is plenty of room for our guests and wedding party to stay on-site.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Jacky, 5/20/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Accommodations, Bridal Suite, Parking, Indoor, Chairs, Dance Floor, Tables
5.0

We recently got married at the Barn at Valhalla and could not have been more happy with choosing this venue for our wedding. We booked the Barn and Lodge Thursday through Sunday for our Saturday wedding and hosted our international and out-of-town guests on site for the weekend. Having the space to keep our family and friends close to us throughout the weekend was amazing. We definitely used the venue to its fullest - we had our rehearsal dinner in the lodge (~30 people), the wedding outside on the grounds (~90 people), the cocktail on the barn deck (~90 people), dinner inside the barn (~55 people), and a brunch the day after the wedding on the hearth deck (~30 people). Barbara, Dillon, and Carly were all extremely kind and helpful in the months and days leading up to the wedding, and willing to work with us to make all of our wedding dreams a reality. We really believe that second to its charm and beauty, the best part about booking the Barn at Valhalla is the ability to turn your wedding day into a wedding weekend and extend the time you have to enjoy every moment of this special time. We were able to set up the day before and clean up the day after, eliminating the need to worry about stopping the party to pack up and leave before midnight. We 100% would recommend hosting your wedding at the Barn at Valhalla.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture User6768652, 1+ year ago, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor, Chairs, Tables, Parking, Wheelchair Access, Accommodations, Bridal Suite
5.0

For our wedding, this was the perfect venue. Dillon and Carly (the owners) are very nice, very helpful, were insistent on being there when we arrived and help setup things as much as they could. I feel like anything we wanted they would have done happily. They really wanted us to have the best weekend possible.
We loved the autonomy we were given. Basically, here is a beautiful venue with a lot space, gazebo, tables, etc - do whatever you want them, just try not break anything.
We had a lot of Indian ceremonies, so having the venue for the whole weekend was perfect for all the events.
Being able to stay on site with a lot of family also helped with organizing and setting up all these events.
The suite for the bride and groom is ridiculously cool. I just wish we had more hot tub and relaxing time.

Misc: for events over a certain size they need you to have a portapotty as backup as they’re on septic, that was ~$150ish. They also require wedding insurance through their provider at BB&T which was ~$400, apparently it’s tailored for the wedding but also to cover the people staying on site over the weekend.
They have some preferred vendors, but allow you to use whoever which is great because some other venues we were looking at required you to use their specific vendor which is also owned by them and was always much more expensive.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Alex, 4/29/17, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

My daughter's Winter Wedding at the Barn was perfect! Barb was fabulous to work with and made the planning process a breeze. Carly and Dillon, the owners, truly want to make your EXACT wedding vision a reality! They even helped us unload and setup when we arrived. The entire property was like "our home" for the weekend. We wouldn't have changed a thing! The Barn is a true gem for any special day!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture carol, 1/21/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Chairs, Tables, Covered Outdoor, Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor, Accommodations, Bridal Suite, Parking
5.0

The Barn at Valhalla was the most amazing and special venue for our wedding. The location is breathtaking, from the fields to the pond to the buildings themselves. When we learned that there were sleeping quarters included, we knew it was a perfect fit. We were able to host our entire wedding party at the venue, so that it truly felt like an experience, from getting ready to dancing to morning coffee. The staff and owners made us feel so welcome and taken care of. They've truly created a unique venue and experience that I would recommend to anyone.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Hannah, 12/17/16, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The Barn at Valhalla was the absolute perfect venue for our late summer evening wedding! Carly and Dillon, the owners, along with the venue manager were incredibly accommodating and made our wedding weekend an absolute pleasure! The grounds at the Barn are gorgeous (hello awesome pictures!) and incredibly well kept and having the option to also rent the Lodge (which we did) was amazing! The bridal party, along with the parents of the bride, were able to spend the entire weekend on the property which made for a hassle free and relaxing wedding weekend! I highly highly recommend this venue for your wedding celebration! I could not be happier with our choice and will cherish every minute we spent at the Barn at Valhalla! Thanks for making the best day of our lives truly magical!

Profile Picture Bridger, 9/3/16, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We haven't had our event yet, but we just signed out contract and Barbara (the property manager) couldn't have been more helpful. The property is beautiful and well-maintained and they are super laid-back and will work to make your visions come true. Highly recommended.

Profile Picture Max, 7/16/16, 11 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The Barn at Valhalla was such an amazing place to have my wedding! The barn is so naturally beautiful that it really doesn't require much more décor, but at the same time it is easily customizable with whatever theme or look you desire for your wedding. It is also a lovely bonus that it has air conditioning, which was much appreciated for our hot June wedding. We also used the lodge for our wedding weekend, which made it like a destination wedding without the stress of actually planning from really far away. It really made the whole weekend that much better (and less stressful) that we could stay the night with our wedding party from Friday to Sunday. With the boys getting ready in the man cave in the lodge and the girls having the entire upstairs to the barn for ourselves, it was really just the perfect setup. Everyone at the barn is so easy to work with and they really do everything they can to make your day exactly how you dream it!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Hunter, 6/11/16, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Uncovered Outdoor, Parking, Chairs, Dance Floor, Tables, Accommodations, Bridal Suite, Lighting/Sound
5.0

We had our wedding at The Barn at Valhalla two weeks ago and everything about our day was perfect! One of my favorite things about the barn is that we were able to see the amazing upgrades and work that the owners put into the barn. We booked the barn over a year before our wedding, so every time we looked at pictures/visited the site new things were updated (like the speakeasy and the Gazebo). Each time we saw the venue it got better and better!! Something that sets the barn apart from other venues is that we had access to the venue for the whole weekend (Friday-Sunday) which was wonderful for setting up. We used the house at the barn for our rehearsal dinner and the space was perfect for a family dinner (of about 60 people) . Our families could not stop commenting on how beautiful the venue and the surrounding grounds were. Another major advantage is that our entire bridal party was able to sleep at the house and above the barn the night before and the night of the wedding which saved everyone from having to book a separate hotel! We had our ceremony by a tree on the grounds and the property manager had no problem cutting the grass to fit our ceremony site perfectly. We rented a tent which attached nicely to the barn and had our tables for the reception under the tent. We had our dancing and other details in the barn, which was a perfect set up. During cocktail hour we utilized the hearth which was perfect because our guests were able to explore the grounds and not be too confined to one space. So much was included at the barn that booking it as our venue was a must! We could not be happier about our wedding location and would recommend The Barn at Valhalla to friends and anyone looking for an awesome venue!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture User6651650, 2+ years ago, 6 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Parking, Chairs, Dance Floor, Tables, Bridal Suite, Lighting/Sound, Uncovered Outdoor
5.0

My sister got married at the Barn at Valhalla last month. It was such a beautiful and wonderful experience. We were able to be on the property from Friday-Sunday. It was so nice to be able to stay at the venue the night before and the night of the wedding. The barn was beautifully furnished and the bridesmaids had more than enough space to get ready for the day of the wedding! The main house was a great event space for the rehearsal dinner and a cool place for the groomsmen to hang out and get ready before the ceremony. The property as a whole made this weekend so special for my sister and our entire family. The lawn was the perfect backdrop for the wedding ceremony and wedding photos. Having dinner in the tent was a great addition to the party space in the barn. Again, I cannot say enough about how awesome it was to not have to travel for any part of the wedding weekend. The owners were extremely helpful and definitely added to everyone's positive experience!! I did not want the weekend to end because I did not want to leave this beautiful property!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Caitlin, 4/16/16, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Uncovered Outdoor
5.0

This place is a hidden gem in Chapel Hill! The barn has a beautiful view of a small lake, and the whole area looks lovely at night when it's lit up with white lights. Though it's a barn, it's far from what you might picture with hay bales and fork lifts-- the main area is a great finished space with plenty of room for dancing, and there's the option of seating outside or inside-- we held cocktail hour outside and all of the youngsters enjoyed playing outside during the reception. Upstairs, the barn has a bunch of guest rooms that have been beautifully decorated, and the bathrooms are impressive-- no detail is overlooked. And the staff was very helpful and personable-- Dillon was great in making sure we had everything we needed. Thanks for helping us have such a wonderful wedding!!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Lindsay, 8/15/15, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8

We had our wedding weekend at the Barn at Valhalla and could not have been more happy with our decision! Our favorite thing about this venue is that we were there from Friday morning through Sunday afternoon so our wedding day was really more of a wedding weekend! We loved that all of our friends and family from out of town were able to stay on-site which offered more of an intimate and cozy experience. Carly and Dillon were absolutely amazing to work with. Although our interaction with them was limited, they went above and beyond to ensure we had everything we needed for our weekend. The only downfall was the cops were called (based on a noise complaint) at 7 P.M. and arrived in the middle of the Father of the Bride speech at dinner which was pretty distracting. Otherwise, the venue itself is gorgeous and we are very fortunate to have spent our wedding weekend at The Barn at Valhalla! -Katie and Brandon

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Kathryn, 5/27/17, 7 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6

My husband and I are incredibly pleased with our experience at the Barn at Valhalla!!Right off the bat we were thrilled that friends and family could stay on-site with us the whole weekend. The lodging is so beautiful and comfortable (incredible bridal suite and enormous shower!) and the grounds are gorgeous! There are multiple ceremony spots to choose from (we chose in the woods next to the pond), so many great places for photos, as well as for guests to enjoy. Our guests loved sitting and chatting by the big fireplace and spending the cocktail hour on the huge porch overlooking the pond. The getting ready rooms above the barn are decorated beautifully-- perfect for spending time the day-of with bridesmaids -- and of course for photos. We were really glad that we could have our rehearsal dinner on-site on Friday night, just following the rehearsal, but that it was in a different area than the wedding reception (we had it in the atrium of the Lodge). This meant we could have the rehearsal dinner catered by a restaurant, bring our own wine and beer, so that it was more of a close party with family and friends (and save a lot of money!). Since the venue is so customize-able, we were also able to save tons of money by DIYing our decor, bringing in our own flowers and drinks (from a grocery store!), and finding the caterer who was right for us. The one downside to this though was that we ended up bringing a lot of stuff in and out of the venue, setting it up, etc; but for us it was totally worth it. From beginning to end, the owners of the Barn at Valhalla were so responsive, kind, and helpful. They went above and beyond to make sure all our questions were answered- even texting with us day of when we couldn't find something we needed. Overall, the Barn at Valhalla was exactly what we were looking for the biggest day of our lives, and we are so pleased with our experience!

Profile Picture Carrie, 10/28/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Chairs, Dance Floor, Furniture, Tables, Uncovered Outdoor, Accommodations, Clean Up, Bridal Suite, Wireless Internet, Parking, Wheelchair Access
4.5

The barn provides an unparalleled setting to host- the variety of locations, the quietness of the venue and the space is worth the money if you plan on having multiple events. They recently expanded the hearth deck and there are so many great places to hold a ceremony. The beds are comfortable and the venue is great to stay at.

Like previous reviewer mentioned, while the venue comes with chairs, tables etc, the amount of space means that you have to put a lot into decorating and space management. Unless your wedding is smaller than 200, you'll end up using the outdoor space to host a lot, and probably needing a tent. Worth thinking about in overall expenses.

The owners are kind and helpful! Super receptive to feedback and were available for any issue that arose over the weekend.

Profile Picture Ramya, 4/27/18, 6 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Covered Outdoor, Indoor, Scenic Views, Uncovered Outdoor, Chairs, Furniture, Tables, Accommodations, Clean Up, Bridal Suite, Wireless Internet
4.5

The Barn at Valhalla is an absolutely gorgeous place to get married! All our guests raved about how amazing the whole property was. There are so many cool and beautiful aspects to The Barn.

They provide a lot in the way of tables, chairs and lodging, but there is a lot of responsibility that falls on you with planning when you get married at a venue like this. I think it’s important to know that going in. I’m so glad we had our wedding here! It was so worth it! And the owners are the nicest people to work with!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Sarah, 3/30/18, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Scenic Views, Uncovered Outdoor, Accommodations, Clean Up, Event Rentals, Bridal Suite, Wireless Internet, Chairs, Furniture, Tables
4.5

I loved the Barn at Valhalla! I got so many compliments on how beautiful it was, and I enjoyed having a secluded place. It was great to book the location for Friday-Sunday, for about the same price you would pay for 8 hours at a banquet hall! I did hear, however, that the price went up about $1000 since we booked it last year. I'm not certain we would have felt it was as good of a value if it were a higher price. We did have an issue where we were confirmed to stay at the Barn until 3pm on Sunday because we had scheduled brunch, and the manager booked the next party to arrive at noon. She said she would push it to later and be there for the transition, but they arrived at noon and did not know we would be there until 3, and she was nowhere to be seen. Additionally, there is a good inventory of major items like tables, chairs, etc, but other items like pots and pans for the kitchen, enough blankets for the pull out beds, and other smaller items were difficult to find or not available at all. We had to overpack for a lot of things because we just didn't know if it would be available. Lastly, and this wasn't an issue for me, but may be for other brides, if you use the stone hearth for the ceremony, there is no back entrance, so you cannot walk down an aisle. You enter from the front, so the bridge is your aisle.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Sarah, 5/23/15, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue