The Barn at Drewia Hill Reviews

18 | Sale Creek, TN
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for The Barn at Drewia Hill

Recommended by 95%

18
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.7

4 User photos

The Barn at Drewia Hill 1
The Barn at Drewia Hill 2
The Barn at Drewia Hill 3
The Barn at Drewia Hill 4
Sort by:
  • A

    ASHLEY · Married on 10/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    October Wedding - 2018

    Kris was amazing! We had a Thursday wedding and flew in from California.
    Despite her busy life she makes you feel like you are the only person she is working with. She responds quickly, but just like with most venue owners I would not expect a quick response on a Saturday or early Sunday during peak wedding season. Just like you would want on your big day, she is focused on whoever the lucky couple might be for that weekend.
    She has a catering company called Kris’s Kitchen (SOOOO worth it), helped us with a bartender, and if you can the DJ she recommends (Keenan Daniels) made our wedding.
    The barn itself… well just take a look at the pictures. She doesn’t have to use fancy tricks to make the area look better. You’ll get a beautiful rustic barn that Kris spent time planning out and building from scratch. From the angle of the barn to allow sunlight into the windows, the photo opportunities in front of a beautiful sunset, down to the little details inside. There are certain rules that some may not be okay with, like no pets, only real flower petals, and only canned beer, but it makes sense to keep the barn prepared for the next couple.
    Long story to kind of show you the wonderful personality of the venue owner:
    On the day of our rehearsal, we showed up early and in full force (think 10 people) to set up. I told her that I had a hard time telling people they couldn't come since everyone wanted to help out. See, our family and friends traveled so far I wanted to make sure everyone was happy. She understood this and though there were a lot of people standing around, like I knew there would be, she let it be. The day prior to the rehearsal it down-poured and she wanted to make sure an outside ceremony was still an option before setting the inside up. When I told her the outside wedding is still what I wanted she went to work.
    That evening at the actual rehearsal we were practicing and realized that the sun at 3pm would be directly in the faces of everyone in front of the arbor. So we decided to switch the ceremony indoors. I called to talk this change over with her, knowing that I had made the call earlier to stick with the outside ceremony she wanted to make sure I personally wanted to make the switch and that I wasn’t just doing it to please my family. Basically, she was ready to back me up if I wanted the ceremony to be done outside still. That alone makes her worth it. Sometimes in the middle you may get caught up trying to please everyone and she reminds us that it is still OUR day. She rolled with the change that caused a complete re-organization of the inside set-up less than 24 hours before the ceremony.
    We appreciate everything Kris did to make our wedding one to remember!

    Sent on 10/22/2018
  • sarah

    sarah · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently had our wedding here and everything was so perfect! Throughout the process from booking to day-of, Kris was very attentive, easy to get ahold of, and made time for us! I live in Knoxville so I had limited times I could come down, and Kris was always accommodating and found a way to fit me into her schedule. She takes pride in this barn and what she does here, and it is well worth every penny! We paid the additional fee for the clean up service, and I advice every couple to do so! We went back the next morning to get the rest of our stuff, and you couldn't even tell we had been there! Everything was clean and all of our stuff was gathered up. All we had to do was load it up! I couldn't imagine cleaning up the place at the end of the night when everyone's exhausted, so it was money well spent!

    The morning of, Kris was such a huge help. We had some stubborn doors we were trying to set up for the ceremony, and she did everything possible to get those things working. She decorated the food table with some of my misc. decorations and it looked beautiful! She goes above and beyond simply being a "venue owner" and really does what it takes to make sure your night goes smooth and perfect! We still have guests telling us how beautiful the venue was and how perfect it was for the wedding. We also loved it because it came with about 90% of the decorations! This place really is a gem, and I wouldn't have chosen differently.

    Sent on 09/27/2018
    The Barn at Drewia Hill 5
    The Barn at Drewia Hill 6
    The Barn at Drewia Hill 7
    The Barn at Drewia Hill 8
  • R

    REbekah · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Many of our guests reported that ours was the best wedding food they ever had. This is from people who have attended weddings that cost 10 times what ours did. The venue is gorgeous and Kris makes it easy having everything you need. We highly recommend Kris and her barn

    Sent on 07/08/2018
  • L

    Laura · Married on 11/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kris and Jamie are nothing short of AMAZING! We came all the way from Florida to get married at the barn. We spoke a whole lot on the phone and i made a few trips...and just like that they took my vision and brought it to life! I am beyond pleased with the way my wedding turned out! I would recommend these ladies to anyone...they are 2 of the most kind hearted women and take time to listen and go over, above, and beyond to make sure your day is flawless and beautiful! Thanks again ladies! You're the best!

    Sent on 11/13/2017
  • S

    Savannah · Married on 12/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kris is amazing she helped with everything including choosing vendors, advise about what she thought was best as she has done many so she knew what she was talking about. The barn is absolutely beautiful she helped set everything up! She goes above and beyond to make sure your day is the best! Definitely get what you pay for

    Sent on 12/11/2016
  • Hannah

    Hannah · Married on 05/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place is absolutely magical! Everything I was looking for was here, Kris is sooooo helpful and willing to help! Out of all the places we looked at to get married this was by FAR the best option!

    Sent on 10/23/2015

    The Barn at Drewia Hill's reply:

    Thank you so much Hannah! You & your families were absolutely wonderful to work with!! God bless you both for all your years to come!
  • K

    Kathleen · Married on 05/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue. Kris is great to work with. Very flexible. And honestly wants to have the best day possible. Loved that she gives recommendations but demand that you use any particular vendors.

    Sent on 05/21/2016
  • K

    Kim · Married on 04/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Barn at Drewia Hill is a gorgeous family owned and operated venue that is by far better than any I have seen or experienced. The Barn is perfect for the bride that wants to walk in and put some flowers on a table OR the bride who wants to create their own vision with a beautiful backdrop of the Tennessee hills and a sunset that is always to die for! This venue has every single thing already in place for the perfect day...the best thing YOU can do (whether choosing this venue or another) is to communicate with your venue, your coordinator, your mother and even the bridesmaids that will stab you in the back the minute you bat those eyes in the wrong direction. If you put a deposit down for a vendor and decide NOT to use them, let them know. If you want a barn to become a "hay free" ballroom then be sure your groom has picked his groomsmen with the idea that they may actually have to lift a finger to help move a table or a couch that you insisted on having AFTER your coordinator lines up 4 others. If you say you are going to provide a detailed list of every single thing that you want done, then provide it to the people who you assume are your decorators...even when you paid them to "get you down the aisle" and nothing more. If you take an entire barn full of people to "help" with your setup and then hate every single thing they do and take it apart, then don't expect your coordinator to sit and wait on you ALL night with the instruction to "not touch anything". Lastly, be thankful and appreciative and DON'T be that bride that every vendor in the surrounding area is dreading having to deal with! I, as a coordinator named Kim, can honestly say that you should plan your day with the idea that a review will someday be written about YOU! Good luck in your search...and for getting on the calendar at The Barn at Drewia Hill!!!!

    Sent on 05/12/2015
  • User5022168 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Had the wedding I have always dreamed of. Met with the owner Kris, and went over contract very straight forward, no unexpected things popped up. Discussed with Kris options on catering and also asked about a coordinator. Decided against having an official coordinator, and listened to suggestions she made. And, all went as planned! Too easy! My day was perfect and my husband was happy as well.
    Our pictures turned out perfect and the weather ended up being perfect as well. Kris and her helpful staff went above and beyond to make our day beyond perfect!!! I highly recommend checking this place out.

    Sent on 04/28/2015
  • User5154060 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't begin to explain the level of detail and the honest feed back from the owner Kris. From beginning to that special moment, any and all steps were taken by Kris and her team. The decor and southern hospitality was top notch. Kris made suggestions for wedding flowers, djs/ musicians, cake decorators, photographers and even had an in-house catering option. From the beginning of my planning of my wedding, I knew I was in the right hands for my perfect day.

    Sent on 06/08/2015
  • User5036558 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing place! Married there in March 2015. Highly recommend this venue to anyone wanting a true barn style wedding!! Nothing at all was complicated except for trying to figure out an available date for us to book due to the fact that there were very few openings left. Very reasonably priced!

    Sent on 05/02/2015
  • User5021902 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is by far the best experience I could have ever asked for!! Kris the owner met with us on several occasions and made every dream come true!!

    Sent on 04/28/2015
  • User5031133 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    **GREAT GREAT PLACE!!!!** The scenery is BREATHTAKING, and the most peaceful place I have ever seen. The trees on every side seemed to hug us and our friends

    Sent on 04/30/2015
  • B

    Brooke · Married on 11/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So great to work with!! Kris, the owner, is very helpful and creative. She puts her all into making the barn the best it can be and making sure your big day goes perfectly! I definitely will use the barn again in the future!

    Sent on 05/15/2015
  • User5021850 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I got married here last summer. The owner was nothing but accommodating and upfront with us about what was allowed and not allowed. (We didn't have to deal w a Kim so I can't speak to my experience with her) Id definitely recommend kris and her crew for making your special day perfect! Also-the venue is BREATHTAKING!

    Sent on 04/28/2015
  • K

    KALI · Married on 11/11/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue! Reception in the barn and outdoor night ceremony. Wish we could have had more lights at the ceremony site but it still was gorgeous! Decorated for rustic theme and includes many rentals you normally would have to provide. Outside catering allowed.

    Sent on 12/08/2016
  • User4077805 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Beautiful place! I had a beautiful wedding there. The owner was nice most of the time but there was one small misunderstanding where she wasn't. Overall a great place for any kind of event.

    Sent on 05/03/2014
  • User5018794 · 2+ years ago

    0.6
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    Unprofessional and drama-filled to say the least. Extremely nice until deposit is put down and you share your own wedding vision. Owner & coordinator do not coincide AT ALL and will try to put you in the middle of their unresolved family issues. Luckily you can choose your own vendors(responsible ones at that)that make things a lot easier and less stressful. Expect a lot of last minute things to pop up, look over guidelines/rules & regulations very carefully or else you'll be picking your own flower petals an hour before your ceremony bc you "are not allowed". The atmosphere is beautiful and when you are surrounded by your loved ones the day of, it really doesn't matter.

    Sent on 04/27/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review