The Artful Baker Reviews

14 | Naperville, IL
See photos, pricing and details

14 Reviews for The Artful Baker

Recommended by 100%

14

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • A

    Andy · Married on 02/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Artful Baker delivered our beautiful, three-tiered, three flavored cake (morning jacket, apple toddy, and curious george) to our venue, and styled it better than the image we had provided for her. Our guest raved about the cake, but were even more impressed by the flavors. I'm biased, but I would argue that The Artful Baker has the best tasting wedding cakes I've ever had.

    Sent on 03/12/2017
  • User5581906 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I love love love love her work! And OMG her cakes are amazing tasting!!! I have never had such great tasting wedding cake before! I had so many compliments on the taste of my cake! We had a chocolate toffee crunch and also a vanilla caramel crunch for our cake options. YUUUUUMMM!!!! I cannot wait for our 1 year anniversary to be able to dive into our cake again! The best part too is that she will make you your top tier fresh for your 1 year anniversary so you don't have to waste freezer space saving it from your wedding night! I would recommend the artful baker to anyone, and i hope to do more business with her in my future!!!

    Sent on 11/03/2015
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karina did an amazing job on our wedding cake! At our initial consultation, we talked about the little details and before you knew it she had drawn up a picture of our cake! Communication was great. On our wedding day, I almost didn't think that was our cake because it didn't look real! It was more like a work of art. It far exceeded our expectations. We had lemon and dark chocolate cakes, both with a raspberry filling. She has numerous other fun flavors as well! We received many compliments on our cake, and I would highly recommend her!

    Sent on 08/04/2015
  • S

    Heather · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karina is AMAZING! She took our ideas and executed them exactly how we wanted and her cake flavors are so delicious!!! She is the best baker I've ever worked with

    Sent on 10/29/2014
  • E

    Elisabeth · Married on 07/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The cake was amazing! Karina is super talented baker and for my super picky aunt to love it, that says a lot! Everything we tried was great, we ended up having two tastings and even requested certain flavors, which she made. In the end we could have picked them all but decided on one lighter/airier cake, champagne with strawberries, and a heavier cake, moist German chocolate cake minus the toasted pecans (which by the way was amazing for the tasting but nixed for the wedding due to a number of people with nut allergies). We had it topped with fondant, which I typically dislike but was very good, not too sugary nor very thick. It was easy to peal away and the cake still tasted amazing. We couldn't have been happier and we look forward to tasting our one year anniversary cake.

    Sent on 10/24/2014
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 06/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Most delicious wedding cake ever...and beautiful! True artistry! We chose the lemon butter cake with raspberry filling and vanilla buttercream, as well as champagne cake with fresh strawberries and vanilla buttercream (served 200). Melts in your mouth! Loved the beautiful ruffled-look icing, and especially loved supporting a local business owner! Great to work with.

    Sent on 06/15/2014
  • E

    Emma · Married on 05/24/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    She is a wonderful baker and we had a perfect day thanks to her amazing cake ideas and the delivery. I would recommend her anytime to everyone!

    Sent on 05/30/2014
  • User3400214 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hands down the best cake I've ever had! My wedding cake was gorgeous!

    Sent on 11/05/2013
  • User2760882 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karina has a talent that is unmatchable. I had emailed her with a brief description of what I had envisioned with 1-2 photos of examples and she came back with a sketch that took the image RIGHT out of my mind. It was PERFECT! Her responsiveness was so prompt and detailed, I never felt like I was wondering a thing.
    On my wedding day, we had a backyard wedding so we were nervous about the cake sitting outside- when she delivered it, IT WAS PERFECTION. This cake is the most BEAUTIFUL cake I had ever dreamed of having and it tasted as magnificent as it looked!! I'm pretty sure every sought me out at the reception JUST to rave about her cake! It was absolutely perfection and exceeded my expectations far better than I could have ever asked! She will be my baker for EVERY event from now on. THANK YOU!!!!

    Sent on 10/08/2013
  • User2768766 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Artful Baker provided the wedding cake at my daughter's wedding. OMG is all I can say about the flavors and taste of these heavenly creations. My daughter and I worked with Karina regarding the design of the cake. She listened to us and created the most beautiful cake incorporating both of our thoughts. We had a 3 tier, 3 flavor cake. The chocolate peanut butter cake was so moist and so delicious - the best chocolate cake I have tried. Karina also worked with my daughter to create 2 other fabulous layers an orange cake/ salted caramel/ chocolate ganache and an apple cake/ cinnamon rum buttercream. As my daughter did not want the same old flavors. The most impressive part of the Artful Baker is her affordability and her honest excitement in making your creation. She will make a small version of your wedding cake on your 1 year anniversary if you like. Anyone can tell she loves what she does, and she is so much of a professional. I will be recommending The Artful Baker to any and everyone I know. She is top notch, timely, and delivered more than we could have hoped for. If you want a no stess vendor - hire the Artful Baker. You and your Guests will not be disappointed. Believe me when I tell you, it takes alot for me to give someone an A+++++++. Let's say Karina takes the Cake!!!

    Sent on 11/13/2012
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 09/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karina is awesome! The cake was so beautiful and delicious! I highly recommend her!

    Sent on 10/18/2012
  • L

    Lidija · Married on 06/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was referred to Karina by a friend. Our consultation was most impressive, she had mini cakes for us to sample, pictures. She was sketching out ideas as we chatted and she was so creative! The flavors she had were incredible, her chocolate cake is fantastic! we had trouble picking a favorite. So she suggested a combination. Karina listened to my ideas and was full of unique suggestions perfect for us. Our cake was beautiful, perfectly me and delicious. Our guests raved! Thank you!

    Sent on 10/10/2012
  • V

    Victoria · Married on 06/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karina is a magician when it comes to cake! My husband went to the University of Texas and wanted his groomscake to be Bevo (the UT longhorn mascot). Most of his friends who got married had a 2-D outline of Bevo on their wedding cake, but Karina made us an actual 3-D longhorn. I can't tell you how many people were taking pictures of that cake and we were all amazed at the work she did. Numerous times we heard people say that it was the best groom's cake they had ever seen!

    It looked amazing, but it also tasted amazing. We went for a tasting and were completely sold! Her cakes look like something you would see on one of those amazing cake shows on TV and they taste great. She also prices her cakes very reasonably.

    I knew I wanted to work with her from day 1 so I booked her immediately for our wedding. Since she works from home and by herself, she has a limit to how many cakes she can do per weekend/weekday. So, if you like her work, make sure you book her well in advance - especially during the popular summer wedding months!

    Sent on 07/27/2011
  • M

    Maggie · Married on 05/27/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karina made us a custom designed cake for our wedding. She made us a beautiful cake according to our specifications and made elaborate cake toppers out of sugar including flowers, the bride and groom, and our pets. We gave her photos of our pets so the toppers would look like them and she made the bride and groom reminiscent of Tim Burton characters per our request. The other places we had gone to said the bride and groom topper would be too difficult for them to make, but she made them and they turned out great! A lot of the guests came up to us personally just to comment on how good the cake tasted. We got almond, red velvet, and lemon cake all in different tiers with fresh strawberry filling. Several of them especially liked how the fondant tasted, which if you've ever had fondant before is quite impressive (it usually is just for show but doesn't taste good) so if you order a cake from her, I definitely recommend getting it with fondant. On top of the cake looking and tasting great, it was actually cheaper than the other places we looked at too, which made it affordable for us even on our tight budget.

    Sent on 05/30/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review