Skip to main content
Weddings

Anya Hinkle & Tellico Reviews

Anya Hinkle & Tellico

Anya Hinkle & Tellico

Asheville, NC
5.0 out of 5 rating, 35 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
35 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
100% Recommended by couples

Awards

35
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

12 User photos

  • Cameron
    Cameron G. Sent on 10/28/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    AMAZING!! Best decision ever!

    Oh my gosh, if you have the opportunity and are thinking about booking Anya and her band, do it! They were one of our favorite parts of the whole entire wedding and our guests agreed! Anya even went out of her way and learned our first dance song, and this my truly be one of the best moments in my entire life! Anya, thank you, thank you, thank you!! 💜 -Cameron & Koreen
  • J
    Joshua Z. Sent on 01/03/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Couldn't have asked for a more perfect band!

    Anya and her band were absolutely incredible. From our very first booking consultation, Anya was both highly professional and personable. The music was exactly what we asked for: full of lively, danceable energy but without dominating or overwhelming the room. Anya's voice was sublime and the performers were all exceptionally fluent on their instruments. It was very impressive whenever any of them played a featured solo.

    There were no logistical issues at all and Anya was flexible and very cool about semi-unplanned aspects, particularly the speeches where family wanted to grab the mic for a minute or two.

    Their stage presence was warm and engaging, and their passion for what they were doing was very clear: authenticity was important to us. They did not feel like a random bunch of "hired gun" wedding musicians just doing another gig. They were the real deal, sharing their art with us.

    Our guests would not stop raving about the music afterwards: we received many requests for links to their streaming services so people could listen to them on the trip home.

    They were such a crucial part of a perfect day and we can't recommend them enough!

    Anya Hinkle & Tellico's reply:

    Thanks Josh and Darian for your kind words, we had a blast, you guys put on a great party!! Thank you so much for including us.
    All the best in 2022!
    Big hugs,
    Anya
  • Cheryl
    Cheryl Z. Sent on 12/02/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Sooooo Good (listen for yourself on youtube)

    We hired Tellico for our son's destination wedding weekend in Asheville, NC - couldn't have been happier with our selection. They were amazing! Anya is beyond talented and several guests (and the bride and groom) became familiar with their music before the wedding which made it more special (they also can cover any songs people already know). If you are looking for an authentic Asheville sound, you won't be disappointed. And to top it off, Anya is super super nice -- made the couple feel like she understands its the most important day of your life and she's right behind you cheering you on. 10/10.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • M
    Marsha F. Sent on 12/05/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Anya Hinkle - stellar wedding music

    Decided live music was needed for my daughter's small wedding at a mountain inn for the processional, cocktail hour, and a 2nd line parade to reception area. Found Anya on photographer's reference list - and how fortunate! She was so flexible working on unusual request ("When the Saints Go Marching in" so she could lead the 2nd line parade); expertly managed all the logistics with the inn; everyone loved her music!
  • Cantey
    Cantey B. Sent on 08/24/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful group!

    Anya/Tellico was absolutely fabulous. Anya was wonderful to work with - made everything so easy, and clearly wanted to set the vibe that we wanted to have. We used Tellico for our Friday night Welcome Party in Asheville. The talent in the band was incredible, and Anya's voice is beautiful. I only wish that I had had more time just to sit and appreciate it all that evening (or had a recording that I could revisit)! I would highly recommend them!!!
  • E
    Elizabeth S. Sent on 01/26/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Anya is awesome!

    Anya Hinkle & Tellico put on an incredible show and our guests danced all evening! They were so fun and perfect for our rehearsal dinner, they'd be great for a wedding too. In addition to her musical talent and awesome performance, Anya went above and beyond in helping us to plan our event and gave us stellar recommendations in Asheville. I couldn't recommend her more for any couple or relative planning their big day/weekend. Thanks so much Anya!
  • C
    Cameron H. Sent on 10/15/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly Reccomended

    Anya - thank you and Tellico for playing at our wedding! You all were incredible! The musicianship was amazing, everybody had a great time dancing, we couldn't have asked for a better performance. We've had so many compliments about you and the music. It was a great night we will never forget and we are so glad that you could be a part of it. Communication was super easy and quick through the whole process. You've been a joy to work with from start to finish. Thank you again for everything!
  • Paula
    Paula P. Sent on 09/10/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Band for a COVID Mountain Wedding

    Anya & Tellico was the perfect band for our COVID mountain wedding! They played the ceremony, cocktail hour, and then kicked it up a notch for our reception. We got so many compliments on the band! I would highly recommend!
  • Abby
    Abby S. Sent on 12/04/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Last minute decision to hire a band was the best wedding decision we made!

    Tellico performed at our wedding on 10/26/19! We had originally planned on using a DJ or even just having a playlist that someone plugged into a speaker. We attended a wedding one-month prior to ours that had a great band and having live music truly amplified the entire experience. With a little room left in our budget, we decided we would look around to see if there was anyone open on our date. We found Tellico through google searches. All of their stellar reviews plus their recording samples made us decide to book them for the entire wedding. It was the best decision we made! Anya was so sweet and helpful (not to mention talented) in helping us put everything together in just a few weeks. She had such a warm persona that I asked her to have some champagne in our getting ready room! The most important part though is the music and they were truly amazing! I was worried we didn't really have a dancing crowd but it turns out everyone REALLY danced. It definitely would not have been the same without Tellico. Our guests are still raving about them! I really don't think our wedding would have been as special without them!

    Anya Hinkle & Tellico's reply:

    Your wedding was such a blast! Thank you for sharing your day with us! Y'all burned the barn down with your dancing! Thank you for welcoming us into your circle.
  • K
    Kristin Sent on 11/13/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Tellico is a true gem

    What a treat it was to have Tellico during our cocktail hour. Tellico’s bluegrass/folk vibes complimented the mountain views at our venue just perfectly. They are absolutely unique and will add a special experience to any event. I absolutely loved them, and so did our guests! Anya was delightful and quick to respond to emails. You won’t regret the decision to hire Tellico.

    Anya Hinkle & Tellico's reply:

    You guys put on a first class event and we were honored to be a part of it! So great making contact with you and thank you for keeping in touch, all best with your music!
  • Jeremy
    Jeremy K. Sent on 07/28/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The perfect soundtrack to a wedding in the mountains

    Anya and her band honestly had a huge part in making our perfect wedding visions a reality. I found Tellico online and liked their music, and one conversation on the phone with Anya put me at ease immediately, and we hired her to perform at our ceremony and cocktail hour. Anya had worked at our venue near Asheville before and it was evident that the staff there REALLY enjoyed working with her, which is always a good sign. Our conversations leading up to the event were great, especially since we weren't always super clear about we wanted - she gave us lots of options and samples to hear. Most impressively, we asked Anya and her band to learn a traditional Jewish piece for our wedding, which she was game to tackle and carried out with great fidelity. We had a very impressive, very theatrical, very good wedding band play our reception, but I thought (and everybody else's comments confirmed to me) that Anya and Tellico were superb artists who set the mood perfectly for the ceremony and the evening. They understood what we needed and made it happen with a minimum of fuss. They played a number of pieces acoustically for our procession (Townes Van Zandt's "If I Needed You" being a notable highlight, which we had never heard before it was suggested by Anya) before moving and plugging in for the happy hour. In a process that is unavoidably hectic and stressful, working with Anya and Tellico just felt like something that was "taken care of" from the start - I never once felt worried they wouldn't deliver exactly what we were hoping for. If you want something folksy (but elevated), sincere and fun, and especially if you want to capture some of the spirit of the mountains, definitely call Anya and Tellico. We ended up including copies of their most recent album in thank-you gifts and have been really, really trying to see them play again in the area but it just hasn't worked out yet. We listen to their music when we want to relive our wedding, and we think you will, too!

    Anya Hinkle & Tellico's reply:

    I’ll never forget the special day at the Farm, you both created a special feeling on that beautiful day. Hope things have been good for you both since then and you’re growing a great garden!
  • Emily
    Emily Sent on 10/21/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful sound, super nice people!

    Tellico was so wonderful! They played a great mix of songs, and all my guests raved about how great the bluegrass was. They let us use their set-up to play our own music during dinner, and we used their microphone for speeches as well. They were very communicative during the process, and worked with me to choose a first dance song.
  • M
    Mike Sent on 04/30/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This band is amazing! They made our wedding day so special and we’re so thankful to have had their incredible musical talents on display. Anya is wonderful to work with and they make everything easy. Book them if you can!
  • K
    Katie Sent on 02/25/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Tellico did a superb job with both our cocktail hour and reception. They were great at reading the room and matching the tone of their music to our crowd, whether they wanted to get up and dance or sit and take everything in. Tellico learned and performed a cover of a song that was meaningful to my family for our first dance, and it sounded great. I got compliments from several guests saying their music was a highlight of the wedding. Anya and her crew were great to work with and super accommodating of all our requests. I hope to hear them play again someday!
  • A
    Amanda Sent on 11/13/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Anya an the Tellico team were so easy to work with through out the planning process. They provided music suggestions, samples and were incredibly responsive when we emailed about anything. Our guests raved about the acoustic music they played during our ceremony and reception. They were the perfect balance of "breathe and take it all in" and "get up and dance." Even my planner brought up how wonderful it was to work with the Tellico crew. They were the second vendor I booked in my wedding planning process and I could not be happier with that choice!
  • S
    Sara Sent on 11/09/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had Tellico come and play at our Gala at the Biltmore. The day they played, they had been in the recording studio, so it meant so much to us that they went out of their way to come to our event. It really made the cocktail hour enjoyable! I would gladly hire them again, and recommend them to anyone!
  • J
    Julia Sent on 10/11/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Tellico is AMAZING! From the beginning to the end, Tellico has been absolutely wonderful to work with. Anya responded quickly to my initial request (even though she was all the way in Japan!) and we have continued to communicate easily throughout these past many months leading up to my wedding. On the day of, they played a beautiful cover of our favorite bluegrass song, and were a huge hit with all of the guests. Everyone commented to me how much they loved them, and even my friends who are themselves in bluegrass bands commented on how great they were. They provided the perfect backdrop to my farm wedding; it wouldn't have been the same without them. I highly, highly recommend them - you won't regret it. Thank you, Anya and Tellico!
  • M
    Michael Sent on 07/13/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We used Tellico for the outdoor wedding of our daughter at a farm in Marshall NC, about 30 minutes from Asheville. Arranging the contract very straight-forward and we thought good value. They performed for wedding itself and then for the outdoor reception afterwards. The NC style was perfect for the venue and the vocals and instrumentals high quality. Good website to see their portfolio but also flexible in adapting our favorites. The music was a high point of the wedding.
  • J
    Jesse Sent on 07/05/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Wowwy wow wow!

    Tellico was terrific and fairly price. All of our guests commented on the wonderful live music at the ceremony and cocktail hour. We were very glad they were available. They perfectly matched the Asheville vibe!
  • A
    Andrew Sent on 11/03/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Tellico did an amazing job playing our wedding! Their folksy sound was the perfect complement to our mountain venue; they did a great job of mixing bluegrass classics with original music, varying the pace to fit the current mood, and they even allowed the occasional guest to take over the microphone for short cameos. The organic nature of their performance highlighted their talent as musicians and gave the event a unique and genuine atmosphere. Anya worked with us throughout the process of planning the wedding, suggested songs for various moments, and learned a few special requests. The entire band was friendly and mingled with guests during breaks, and we got many complements regarding the band and music at the wedding. I would highly recommend Tellico for bringing a fun and authentic folk/bluegrass sound to any event!
  • H
    Heather Sent on 10/07/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We LOVED Tellico!! Anya was so responsive and accommodating with her responses. Her suggestions were great, and the professionalism of the band as a whole was just terrific. The music is amazing, and they were worth EVERY penny. It was so great to offer our guests something special and it really fit so well with the mountain setting. The acoustics for the ceremony were perfect; we really can't say enough good things.
  • S
    Sarah Sent on 08/11/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Tellico was the prefect choice for us! Anya was always quick to respond, and the band learned our first dance song on short notice (like 10 days). They took care of set up and break down, and just made it easy for us. The music was fantastic, and they kept it up-tempo and fun. People were constantly dancing! They perfectly complimented our wedding day, and we could not have been happier with them!
  • M
    Megan Sent on 08/05/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Tellico is fantastic! I can not recommend them highly enough. Their music is absolutely gorgeous and they go out of their way to tailor their services to your needs. They will provide you with an extensive list of music to choose from that includes both Tellico originals and classics from some of your favorite musicians. If you are looking for a soulful group of unbelievably talented, professional musicians to play your event -- look no further. They were without doubt the highlight of our wedding.
  • A
    Anne Sent on 07/31/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    They were fabulous! The music was great and they were all delightful! Great band!
  • A
    Annie Sent on 10/05/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We used Tellico for a conference, not a wedding, and they were wonderful. They played for our last night party after a full week of hard work. Participants said we had the best final night party ever, and this conference has been happening for 35 years. They showed up, played their hearts out. paid attention to who was dancing to different songs and adjusted for the crowd. We loved them. The 35th international calligraphy conferences was held at Warren Wilson College in Swannanoa, NC in June 2016
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message