Sweetieface Makeup & Hairdesign Reviews

19 | San Francisco, CA
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for Sweetieface Makeup & Hairdesign

Recommended by 97%

19
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.7
Sort by:
  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 07/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was married this summer and Raquel was my makeup artist for the day. My bridesmaids and I felt absolutely fabulous and fresh the entire evening. From start to finish, my experience with Raquel was wonderful. She was professional, welcoming, and a super talented stylist. I wear very little makeup daily, and know even less about doing makeup for special occasions, so I was looking for someone to help me find the balance between looking myself and still feeling extra beautiful for this special day. Raquel listened to my requests and those of my bridesmaids, and made everyone look like themselves, but turned up in the most amazing way. Everything not only looked flawless, but also stayed beautiful the entire evening. It was wonderful having Raquel as part of our prep for the wedding process, and I only wish I could have her do my makeup on the daily!

  • C

    Cynthia · Married on 07/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Raquel did a wonderful job on my friend for her wedding, I'd say 5.0 for my friend, so I chose her as my makeup artist for my wedding. She came on time and was very sweet and professional! Luckily she was available to do a trial the day of our engagement photo sessions and my husband really thought she brought out my natural beauty during the engagement photo session. I mentioned that I wanted a more dramatic look on my wedding, with purple eyeshadow, and she delivered! She also did a great job on my mom and sister's makeup! I received a lot of complements on my makeup on my wedding day and after my wedding!

    Tips for future brides-to-be or bridesmaids:
    1. Have your makeup done at makeup counters when you have to buy makeup to get an idea of what color eye shadows you like on your eyes.
    2. Really have an idea/pinterest photos of the look you are going for before seeing any makeup artist.
    3. Do a trial! If you can schedule it for a special occassion/engagement photo shoot.
    4. Also stick to what you feel comfortable in. I choose a purple smokey edge because it would last longer throughout the day (had outdoor (windy!!! that day), church and ceremony photos) and show up more in photos! I also had a more formal wedding. And plus I like purple eyeshadow on my skin tone! =)

  • A

    Alice · Married on 10/08/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Raquel recently did hair and makeup for my wedding on October 8th. She was professional, personable and spent the time making each person feel and look beautiful. I couldn't have been happier with her services. I highly recommend Raquel.

  • K

    Katherine · Married on 09/26/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is a long review, only because I just loved having Raquel make me look perfect on my wedding day! Please read...
    Raquel is a wonderfully sweet and talented artist! I was married on Sep. 26th 2010 and Raquel made my sister, my mom, and I feel like the most beautiful gals in the world. Lets start from the beginning: Raquel came all the way to my home in Berkeley for a consultation. I had one consultation with a different makeup artist and was less than pleased so this time I was really nervous. Right from the start, Raquel put my worries at ease and got began beautifying! I wanted airbrush makeup and flowing loose curls. These curls needed to look natural, withstand lots of dancing and hugs and be gorgious. I really didn't know what I wanted but Raquel did. She curled and teased to perfection and I had bouncy, shiny, flowing, and styled curls. My makeup was flawless, and looked great in pictures. I am the most picky about my makeup and it was a blessing to have all confidence in Raquel's skills. On the special day, Raquel arrived on time to the minute and was so kind to my crazy family. She completed our hair and makeup with just enough time to slip into my gown. She almost made me cry when she placed my veil in my hair. She stayed until I walked out the door. There's no doubt about it, Raquel is the best!!!!!!

    P.S. Thanks You Raquel!

  • M

    Maria · Married on 05/30/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Raquel is an amazing make up artist and a sweet person. She did an excellent job on my makeup and my Mom's for the wedding. She is flexible and will keep trying until you look exactly the way you've always dreamed on your wedding day. I would definitely recommend her!!

  • A

    Alex · Married on 11/14/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My make up was awesome and flawless on my wedding day thanks to Raquel. She is a fun person to work with and is VERY nice and flexible. Based on her expertise she gives you tips and recommendations that will make you look and feel like a movie star! If you want excellent make up Raquel is the person to go to -- she's the best!

  • E

    Evangeline · Married on 11/07/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I never wear makeup and when I first met Raquel I was already traumatized by a bad hair&makeup trial with another artist. During our trial she immediately put me at ease and took the time to understand my needs. I was really impressed that she spent over three hours, getting my look right, making sure I was sitting in natural light and explaining her process as she went along.

    Raquel was very responsive to all of my questions and she was very helpful in assisting me with figuring out my day of timeline. Both of her assistants showed up to the hotel on time and they were very pleasant and gracious in dealing with nervous mothers and bridesmaids.

    I was really happy with how I looked on my wedding day and Raquel really is a great value for the level of service she offers.

  • B

    Blair · Married on 08/08/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Raquel was sooooo great! I was really happy with how everything turned out! She did a great job on me (the bride) as well as a great job on my mother-in-law and the other bridesmaids! Raquel made the make-up portion of the day stress-free!

  • N

    nicole · Married on 08/23/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    raquel did my makeup along with eight others in my wedding. ALL of our makeup was fabulous! i received soo many complements. five months later i still have guests saying how wonderful my makeup was. it was definitly a was a pleasure to work with raquel. she is very flexable and her rates are low too!

  • J

    Jill · Married on 07/12/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sweetieface Makeup & Hairdesign exceeded our expectations... she was attentive and delivered exactly what I wanted for my face and hair. Also, she was very flexible even the last minute when a ton of my bridesmaids decided they wanted to have their's done as well. We highly recommend this vendor.

  • S

    Sabrina · Married on 06/14/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Raquel absolutely rocks when it comes to makeup!! She made me feel gorgeous on my wedding day and my pictures prove it!

  • B

    Blake · Married on 05/31/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Raquel not only drove 2 1/2 hours for the wedding, but did a great job on my airbrushed make-up and hair, as well as my sister's and mom's. She was so nice and creative, and knew exactly what we wanted. I'd recommend her anytime!

  • J

    joyce · Married on 05/25/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Raquel is the best! Raquel did my hair and makeup on my wedding day and I can't even describe what a great job she did. She's so wonderful to work with. She's flexible and extremely professional. I would recommend her to anyone! Thanks again Raquel for making the wedding day perfect!

  • M

    Meagan · Married on 04/24/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am from Fort Worth, Texas and chose Raquel to do my hair and makeup for my destination wedding in San Francisco based on her prior work which was showcased in her online portfolio. Not only did Raquel show up to our hotel THE DAY that we flew in to do my consultation, but she managed to do her work in the smallest working space ever. Literally, my hotel room was smaller than my walk-in closet! Haha. She has a great attitude and I felt immediately comfortable with her. She stayed until I was completely satisfied with how my hair and makeup was going to look the next day for my wedding. The next day she showed up on time, and my hair and makeup turned out better than it had the night before! My wedding was on the beach and I'm fair skinned so she used airbrush makeup on me so my skin would glow and stay fresh looking ALL DAY. Not only did my hair and makeup look killer throughout the windy ceremony, but it still looked perfect the NEXT morning when I woke up! Raquel is amazing at what she does and I am so happy that I chose her. I looked better than I ever thought possible, and my husband's jaw dropped the first time he saw me all done up. :) If you want a hair and makeup artisit that actually has a sense of humor and don't want to stress out about if you will look beautiful on your wedding day then go with Raquel! Her pricing is fair and very reasonable. I promise you, this girl knows what she's doing! I would reccommend her again and again and again!

  • Arleen Marie

    Arleen Marie · Married on 09/18/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my wedding this past Sunday, September 2011. I chose Raquel because of her services and price. She was one of three beauticians I had to decide on. I made my decision because she offered airbrush makeup, hair designs, will drive to any location near San Francisco, and her prices were reasonable. Raquel was amazing and the sweetest person. She knew how planning a wedding can be like and was absolutely flexible with changes in schedule times and when my bridesmaids were undecided on getting their hair and makeup done. I had sent her so many email messages, and not once did she have a lag in response.

    Raquel, I would 100% recommend you. From the sneak peeks I've gotten from our photographer, I can say that I am absolutely happy with the way I look. You listened to what I was looking for and you gave it to me 102%. Thank you for making "my day." Good luck in your future endeavors.

  • K

    Kristin · Married on 09/06/2009

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Raquel was awesome! I must say I looked beautiful on my wedding day! More beautiful then I ever thought. All of us looked like models, and we all felt great!

    The only draw back was, that I had to be ready to take pictures at 1:30 and she didn't get finished up until 2:30. She arrived at 8:30am and she had 5 people's makeup to do with my hair only. We missed pictures beforehand. I even asked her if she was okay, and she said "oh yeah, we're fine". I was bummed and it added a tad bit stress on the day that I didn't need any. I will say I would use her again, but maybe make her bring another person with her to help with makeup?

  • V

    Victoria · Married on 05/14/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hired Raquel to do both my makeup and hairstyle for my wedding, and we did one hair/makeup trial before my wedding. I did airbrush makeup because I have very oily skin and did not want my makeup to "cake" or "slide" on my wedding day.

    Raquel was very accommodating and agreed to meet me where ever I wanted to in the East Bay both for the trial and the day of the wedding. She was always on time if not a few minutes early. She has a very pleasant and friendly manner as well as being very down to earth and professional. Her rates are FANTASTIC and if it wasn't for her affordable rates I would not have been able to hire anyone to do my hair or makeup.

    Raquel's makeup was top notch. I love how my makeup looked on my wedding day both in person to my guests and also in the photographs. My fiancée loved the way I looked, not overdone but definitely a special makeup look for a special day. Very well done, flawless, 5 +++ stars for makeup.

    My hair was another matter altogether. I think I expected too much of Raquel, wanting something that wasn't quite standard. So my hair I would only give 3 stars, but again that may be my fault for wanting something a bit different - I wanted a sleek polished updo of pincurls all over the back of my head. I emailed Raquel pictures of what exactly I wanted before the trail. At the trial Raquel couldn't quite seem to understand what I wanted and instead tried 2 "standard" updo's first which were very nice and perfect for what they were, but clearly not what I had shown her in the pictures. But to her credit, Raquel was patient and was willing to try a third time and this time it was exactly what I had shown her in the pictures. After the trial I sent Raquel more pictures of the same hairstyle so she could see more exactly what I wanted.

    On the day of the wedding Raquel told me she had never opened the document with the additional pictures I had sent her, so I had to bring it up on my phone to show her.
    When she said she was done with my hair I was surprised because the front looked hideous to me with three separate sections in my hair pulled back like stylists do while while styling hair. She explained that in order to make the back look the way I wanted then the front had to look that way, but there was no way I was going to look like that on my wedding day (or any day). So she took it all down and because there was very little time left to get ready she just pulled it all back together and tried to put some of the pincurls in the back. I was not happy with the final look but there was no time to do anything else. My hair did not look bad or horrible, and no one else at the wedding knew that it wasn't what I wanted, it was just a large loose bun with some loops here and there. My sister showed up at the hotel room after having her hair done at a salon and my comment was "wow, your hair looks better than the bride's!" Meaning that it was a much more styled and polished updo. If there had been time I would have asked Raquel to go back to one of those "standard" updo's she had done at the trial because at least it would have looked more polished.

    Then when I got to the venue the bobby pins started coming out with the curls hanging down even before the ceremony. A friend put them back but then later more of the curls came down and because the bobby pins were not placed securely enough.

    So my review is mixed for Sweetie Face Makeup. She is a very talented makeup artist, top notch. And if you want a standard updo or hairstyle for your wedding day I would say no problem, Raquel will do great and it will look very nice. But if you want any non-standard hairstyle then have more than one hair trial with Raquel to be sure that it is perfect before your wedding day.

  • T

    Tey · Married on 06/01/2008

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Raquel was absolutely fabulous. She made me feel beautiful all the way through.

  • C

    Cathy · Married on 11/18/2010

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Raquel is very sweet, friendly and sociable, and she definately knows her trade. She was helpful enough to tell the bride that the hairstyle she wanted was "not going to work without a haircut" and that the hairstyle the bride had chosen for me was not going to look good with my face shape. Unfortunately, she is also a litle unprofessional. She was more than 30 minutes late to the trial session and did not answer her phone;she was also 30 minutes late to the wedding day session, and we had requested her to come by 6 a.m. When she arrived, she had no idea that she was going to do hair and makeup for both the bride and me. If you can be flexible, then do it.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review