Surfing Ventura Rabbi Reviews

22 | Oxnard, CA
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for Surfing Ventura Rabbi

Recommended by 100%

22
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

3 User photos

Surfing Ventura Rabbi 1
Surfing Ventura Rabbi 2
Surfing Ventura Rabbi 3
Sort by:
  • David

    David Garfinkel · Getting married on 03/04/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great rabbi for a wedding - highly recommend!

    When my wife and I were looking for a rabbi in a pinch, a friend recommended Rabbi Kunstadt. We were so glad he did. In the months leading up to the wedding, Rabbi Kunstadt was personable yet professional. He made an effort to get to know us, and to understand what was important to us in our marriage and in our wedding. And he led a ceremony that was simple yet meaningful. In fact, a lot of our guests later commented on how impressed they were with the rabbi's approach to the ceremony.

    Wouldn't hesitate to choose Rabbi Kunstadt again, and highly recommend him.

    Sent on 05/28/2019
  • K

    Kimberly Singer · Married on 05/18/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Kunstadt is the best!

    Rabbi Kunstadt married us this past May in a beautiful ceremony in Montecito. From the moment we connected with the Rabbi, he was friendly, responsive, and flexible. He met with us a few times, wanted to get to know us on a personal level, sent us helpful reading material, engaged in pre-marital counseling, and comprehensively answered all of our questions. He also agreed to co-officiate our wedding with a judge who I used to work for, and was amenable to creating a service that would fit our needs. He worked with the judge to finalize that service. I highly recommend the Rabbi for future weddings -- he has a lot of experience with weddings and is just all around great!

    Sent on 07/28/2019
    Surfing Ventura Rabbi 4
  • N

    Natalie · Married on 08/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Donald Kunstadt was a pleasure to work with from beginning to end. From the first introductory phone call, he made us feel comfortable and like we were in good hands. It was particularly important to us that we both felt comfortable because it was an interfaith wedding. It was also important to us that each Jewish tradition was explained so that it was accessible to the entire group - and he did this beautifully, even better than we expected. I had family come up to me afterwards and comment on this specifically.

    Rabbi Kunstadt was open and flexible to changes and additions we wanted to make to the ceremony and he even added his own thoughtful/personal touches to the ceremony including a few words about our story/journey as a couple.

    We couldn’t be happier with Rabbi Kunstadt and the beauty he added to our day! We highly recommend him without hesitation.

    Sent on 08/20/2018
  • C

    Claire · Married on 07/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A very pleasant experience

    Rabbi Kunstadt was very easy to work with. We first had an introductory call with him, then an in-person meeting, and finally an additional planning call. He also provided a helpful pre-marriage counseling session. He was quite sincere and made a strong effort to get to know as a couple. He was punctual and performed a great ceremony. We're very thankful for his officiating and highly recommend him.

    Sent on 10/28/2018
    Surfing Ventura Rabbi 5
  • G

    Greg · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Finding Donald was one of our favorite parts of our wedding. Donald is a special person and we feel very lucky to have have him officiate our ceremony. We met with Donald a couple of times before the wedding and immediately felt comfortable and knew his practicality and demeanor was perfect for us. Donald was kind, attentive and truly interested in getting to know my wife and I as people and the foundations our relationship was developed, which was key to his development of a beautiful and personal ceremony. Donald was adaptive to our religious preferences and found a perfect mix of religion and culture while adding personal touches along the way. We have nothing but 5 stars for Donald and if you have come across this review you are lucky to have found him and I can absolutely guarantee that you will have made the right choice in utilizing his services.

    Sent on 06/27/2018
  • J

    Jacob · Married on 05/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Donald took the time to personalize our ceremony to exactly what we wanted. We couldn’t have been happier with the ceremony and received multiple compliments from our guests on how perfect it was.

    Sent on 06/07/2018
  • A

    Aaron · Married on 03/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We didn’t leave ourselves much time to select a Rabbi. In fact, we booked our venue a bit over a month away with no-one to officiate. Fortunately for us, we came across Donald. He was prompt in responding and very detailed in helping us tie up loose ends. The ceremony was distinctly more personalized than we were expecting and, for lack of a better word, fun! We’d highly recommend Rabbi Kundstadt and thank him for helping make our wedding such a memorable experience.

    Sent on 05/04/2018
    Surfing Ventura Rabbi 6
  • E

    Elan · Married on 09/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Kunstadt was punctual, professional, funny, and very comforting. He tailored his service to who we are, and we're extremely satisfied with a fantastic ceremony!

    Sent on 09/23/2017
  • K

    Katie · Married on 07/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Kunstadt was wonderful! He was very helpful to me and my husband during our planning. He was amenable to our requests and tailored our ceremony to fit our needs. Many of guest commented on how lovely our ceremony was and we were beyond happy with the Rabbi!

    Sent on 07/13/2017
  • K

    Kate · Married on 06/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Kunstadt performed our wedding on June 11, 2017 at the Santa Barbara Courthouse, and it was such a wonderful experience. My husband and I live in Irvine, so we met with Donald a few times beforehand to get to know one another. My husband is Jewish and I come from a family that didn't really focus on anything and Rabbi was great about making the ceremony interfaith and comfortable for both sides of our guests. He helped us stay relaxed and answered all of our questions along the way. He clearly cares about what he is doing and made the ceremony personalized and easy going - he had all our guests laughing. I would highly recommend Rabbi Kunstadt to anyone that is looking for an interfaith marriage ceremony and wants someone to help make it a little more personalized and fun!

    Sent on 06/27/2017
  • M

    Matthew · Married on 05/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I couldn't be more pleased with Rabbi Kunstadt enough! In the months preceding our wedding, he scheduled meetings with us, and took excellent notes on everything we wanted and didn't want for our special day. Being an interfaith marriage couple, he sprinkled in traditions for both of our families and limited our ceremony to leaning too much into one faith. His responsiveness, professionalism, and flexibility did not go unnoticed. Our ceremony went off without any problems, and we couldn't have been more pleased!

    Sent on 05/24/2017
  • L

    Leah · Married on 03/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Surfing Ventura rabbi was absolutely amazing! Super cool and professional! Really got to know us as a couple before the ceremony and ceremony was short and very personal.

    Sent on 03/19/2017
  • A

    Alison · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Open-minded and kind, Rabbi Donald officiated a ceremony that was tailored to our preferences yet still true to Jewish tradition. He earned rave reviews from our whole crowd, both Jewish and not.

    Prior to the day-of, we enjoyed his counseling. The exercises were fruitful and Donald's advice was relevant.

    We highly recommend him.

    Sent on 10/27/2016
  • E

    Erika · Married on 07/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Donald was great, he fit right in with both our personalities, he added the right balance of humor and spirituality to our wedding. We very much enjoyed the way he performed our ceremony and will always have wonderful memories of it.

    We'll be forever grateful!

    Josh and Erika

    Sent on 08/29/2016
  • A

    Adam · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Donald Kunstadt, aka the Surfing Ventura Rabbi, married my wife and me back on October 10. The ceremony was beautiful and we could not have been happier with the Rabbi's words and direction.

    We do not belong to a synagogue and thus had a difficult time finding a Rabbi that was willing to perform the ceremony on a Saturday for a reasonable price. Unlike the other Rabbi's we met, Rabbi Kunstadt did not insist on weighing the ceremony down with religious or traditional doctrine. Instead he let us be as spiritual as we wanted.

    We met with the Rabbi twice, both in person and over the phone. We enjoyed speaking with him on both occasions. During the ceremony, I could tell that he had really listened to what we had told him during these meetings, about both our love and our faith, and he used all he had learned in crafting the ceremony. We also took his own advice to heart and enjoyed learning more about our impending marriage.

    Throughout the ceremony and the Ketubah signing, he was kind and professional, striking up conversations with the wedding party and generally providing a calmness on a hectic day. We could not recommend Rabbi Kunstadt highly enough.

    Sent on 11/13/2015
  • S

    Sam · Married on 05/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Kunstadt performs the most amazing weddings! He was known on the Gulf Coast for weddings that were personal, touching, and beautiful. He explains the concepts of a Jewish wedding to both the Jews and non-Jews that are present at the service. It is obvious that he is emotionally engaged in the process---it is obvious how much he cares. This makes what he says warm and sincere. My wife and I have been married for 11 years. Rabbi Kunstadt customized our ceremony to include the aspects that were important to us---including a formal signing of the Ketubbah. We are sad to lose Rabbi Kunstadt from Mobile, Alabama----but our loss is California's gain. Put your wedding ceremony and your trust in Rabbi Kunstadt's able and capable hands. You will have no worries and special and fantastic memories! ---Sam D. Small

    Sent on 05/17/2015
  • C

    Chrissie · Married on 10/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Kunstadt was the Rabbi of my childhood congregation and agreed to officiate my inter-faith wedding in Gulf Shores, AL. Rabbi Kunstadt is easy to talk to, understanding, and knowledgeable in conducting various types of ceremonies. He allowed us to customize our ceremony to represent the two of us and our beliefs and traditions we felt were important, all while keeping the ceremony sweet and lighthearted. Our ceremony was beautiful and exactly what we wanted.
    Chrissie Belock , Houston, Texas

    Sent on 04/30/2015
  • M

    Michael · Married on 05/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Aimee and I were fortunate indeed to have Rabbi Kunstadt officiate at our wedding on May 10, 2014. He made the day highly meaningful and special for us. I have known Rabbi Kunstadt for almost 30 years and was honored that he not only took the time to prepare and preside over a ceremony made beautiful by his words and participation, but he added many complimentary details about our families. He also explained the ritual for the non-Jews attending, as we had an interfaith wedding. As a past President of his former congregation here in Mobile, he has an outstanding reputation as our spiritual leader, is a friend to all, and beloved by all. He does exceedingly well in small or large settings, regardless of the life-cycle event. We highly recommend him to anyone interested in engaging him to conduct their wedding. Michael R. Holberg, Mobile, AL

    Sent on 05/04/2015
  • S

    Stan · Married on 11/03/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Silvia and I were very fortunate to have Rabbi Kunstadt officiate at our November 3rd 2013 wedding. Our wedding was interfaith and my wife’s family came from Brazil and her mother did not speak English. My family and my wife’s both felt included and everyone in attendance was moved and appreciated the service.

    I have known Rabbi Kunstadt for 30 plus years, he officiated at my son’s bar mitzvah and I highly recommend him for any special ceremonies. We consider Rabbi Kunstadt an inspiring religious leader.

    Silva and Stan Zimmerman

    Sent on 05/13/2015
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 08/04/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Kunstadt went above and beyond to officiate our interfaith wedding in 2012 alongside an Episcopal officiant. They created a meaningful ceremony that combined the traditions of our families' faiths beautifully. I recommend Rabbi Kunstadt without reservation - you will not be disappointed! We also appreciated his counsel and perspective on marriage in advance of the wedding; we still call each other "adventure partners." Wishing him many memorable adventures in his new California community.

    Sent on 05/20/2015
  • K

    Ken · Married on 05/12/2002

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Judi and I were honored to have Rabbi Kunstadt officiate our Beach Wedding on the shores of Ocean Springs, Mississippi in 2001. Rabbi Kunstadt was terrific. For the Jew and non-jew alike, he mad the ceremony understandable, special and uniquely ours. We also know Rabbi Kunstadt as the Rabbi of our congregation where he officiated our son's bar mitzvah and led the congregation with a loving arm. We respect him so greatly that we travel 45 miles each way to attend temple with him. He is the best choice to officiate your wedding or religious event bar none.

    Sent on 05/07/2015
  • M

    maure · Married on 07/06/1996

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Kunstadt officiated our wedding in Mobile, Al in 1996. He spent time with us and made the ceremony personal. Rabbi Kunstadt briefly explained the rituals and customs to those attending who were not Jewish. It was a beautiful ceremony.

    Sent on 06/26/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review