Weddings

Sunshower Farms Reviews

Sunshower Farms View more information

27 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 94% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.7 out of 5

Awards

  • 27
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner

76 User photos

Sort by:
  • Astrid
    Astrid B. Married on 07/03/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Custom Wedding Without the Hassle!

    My sister's wedding was formal, 300 people, and so overwhelming that I spent most of it hiding in the bridal suite with my cousin. When my husband and I decided to get married, we knew we wanted to keep things simple with a small destination wedding. However, as soon as I started looking at what it would take to get married in Hawaii, I was quickly inundated with beach wedding after beach wedding, all impersonal "Wedding Package A which includes a lei and a conch shell" type offerings. That didn't feel like us AT ALL, and I was getting super discouraged.

    Then, through a stroke of Weddingwire magic, I found Sunshower Farms. I immediately loved the vibe of it being casual, but pretty and "pinworthy". My husband, our boys and I are diehard hikers / mountain lovers, so getting married up in the hills was perfect for us.

    What really made our wedding, however, was working with Kate. She is an expert on her venue (she lives there, afterall) as well as her vendors. My husband and I are both professional event planners for corporate companies, so it shocked our friends and family when we turned our wedding over to someone we'd never met in person, but it was 100% worth it. The wedding and reception was planned in just a few short phone calls with Kate. She had great ideas and helped coach us into making the right decisions. She booked our flowers, cake, catering, and music on our behalf so we didn't have to deal with those vendors. Because she lives onsite, there was no crazy load-in of place settings, chairs, ect as she already owns them which made the day so very smooth. We brought our own officiant, professional photographer, videographer, and hairstylist, as they were all friends of ours who were attending the wedding anyway. I also used Kate's recommended makeup artist who was just lovely.

    The day of our wedding was so beautiful and memorable. We absolutely loved just having a cozy party with our very dearest friends and family. As another reviewer has said, it's a bit like getting married at home, but only if your home is an absolutely gorgeous multi-acre farm in Hawaii with a farm table that would make Pinterest jealous. It wasn't blingy or over the top which suited us perfectly. Because Kate so expertly managed all the big details, I was able to truly enjoy the months leading up to the wedding. I had the time to focus on some small custom details only because I wanted to and enjoy, rather than stress, about these projects. I brought some custom cocktail napkins, leaf placecards, printed menus, individual thank you notes, and a cake topper in my suitcase. One of my bridesmaids did a Costco run for alcohol and cut fruit for water and cocktails. Other than picking out my wedding dress and the rest of the bridal party's clothes, those were literally the only decisions I had to make. We could not imagine a more wonderful planning process and execution day of! Our friends and family haven't stopped raving about how wonderful and beautiful our wedding was. The catering was to die for (especially the lamb), and the bonfire was a big hit. We loved being able to mix and mingle with our guests and have meaningful conversations in one long table where we could see everyone.

    My only regret with Sunshower Farms is that I can't use them again for more parties, since we live out of state. Sunshower was an incredible place to get married, but working with Kate put it over the top!
  • K
    Kat T. Married on 02/15/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Our Perfect Wedding

    My husband and I just had our perfect dreamy wedding at Sunshower Farms. Kate and her staff are AMAZING to work with! We had 31 guests and had our ceremony and reception at the farm.

    When looking for a venue, our first priority was finding a venue within our budget. We knew we wanted to get married in Hawai’i since that’s where we grew up and we didn’t want a “cookie cutter” wedding. Sunshower Farms met all of our criteria, not to mention we LOVE coffee and the goats ;)

    The booking/planning process was wonderful. Kate always responded to our emails promptly and answered ALL of our questions, which were a lot. She was very patient when we were indecisive about details and gave us suggestions based on previous events. As soon as we booked the date, Kate sent us a list of vendors she had worked with, which was a life saver since we were planning the wedding from the mainland. We were a little nervous about planning our wedding without seeing the venue or meeting any of the vendors ahead of time, but I will say that you can definitely trust Kate and her team! It was the best decision ever!!

    I want to give a special shoutout to Onolicious LLC and Lalamilo Flower Girl. We booked them through Kate, so we never got to meet them, but they were amazing! Onolicious LLC provided the cake, Lalamilo Flower Girl provided the floral decor, and Kate decorated the cake with the flowers! We got a lilikoi/vanilla cake with buttercream frosting and we LOVED it. We had some leftovers at the end of the night, but we finished it as a late night snack :) We sent Kate some inspo pics for floral decor and Lalamilo Flower Girl exceeded our expectations. My bouquet, leis, boutonnieres, arbor and reception decor were absolutely gorgeous!!

    We finally got to see the venue and meet Kate a couple days before our wedding. Her assistant Aly gave us a tour of the venue and Kate walked us through our rehearsal. Kate gave us pointers on how to walk and pose to get those awesome photos (SUPER helpful)!

    Our wedding day was perfect. My mom, sister, and I got ready at the farm and booked Grace Makeup Artistry, which was on Kate’s list of recommended vendors. Before guests started to arrive, my husband and I had our first look by the banana trees and took some photos out in the coffee field. Kate let us hold Shapeera for a bit (the cutest lamb ever) and gave her a bath before we held her. The weather was pretty perfect - it wasn’t too hot or cold. It was misty and foggy because we were in the clouds and it cleared up right when the sun was setting - you can’t beat the view from the farm, it was perfect for photos and super romantic! For the ceremony and cocktail hour music, we booked Ponchoman, who’s also on Kate’s list of recommended vendors, and played our own music using Kate’s bluetooth speakers during dinner. For catering, we went with another recommended vendor, Queen’s Table. We ended the night with a bonfire, which was super unique and perfect for a chilly night in the mountains.

    At the end of the day, you can totally trust Kate, her team, and her trusted vendors. You really can’t go wrong in my opinion. Based on Kate’s instagram stories and my own personal experience, Sunshower Farm is perfect if you want a unique wedding that’s equally relaxed and picturesque.

    P.S. Everyone LOVED the Sunshower Farm coffee! It’s the best Kona coffee we’ve ever had!

    Thank you so much Kate, we are so grateful.
    Kat & Yong
  • H
    Hayley E. Married on 02/02/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Book Sunshower Farms/Kate for the dream wedding, service and quality!

    We found Kate and Sunshower Farms through WeddingWire and then did our own research by reading her reviews, blog posts and social media. At the time she didn’t have as many reviews, so it felt like a bigger risk to go with a mom and pop shop. But it was the BEST DECISION EVER!! Our wedding exceeded everyone’s expectations (including ours).

    When reaching out to Kate she was friendly and organized. Besides being our location vendor, Kate was a jack of all trades and was also our wedding coordinator. From her previous weddings, she had an extensive menu of personal vendors that we could pick from. It was a fun and stress-free experience to select the vendors we wanted to work with. She also provided flexibility for our own creative concepts to book a “create your own lei” station. Due to the increase in bookings around the half-point mark of our wedding planning, she let us know we would have to book our own caterer. It was quite easy taking that role as she provided a list of recommended vendors who had worked with her before.

    Kate guided us through the dress rehearsal and wedding day in a way that we felt at ease and at home. When we took photos with our photographer, she helped us with pointers and allowed us to take photos all around her farm. In result, we will have a huge variety of wedding photos that most others don’t have the opportunity to have. The venue itself was Instagram-able and unique! Our floral arrangements accentuated our tropical farm-to-table wedding theme. Feeding the goats was hilarious and taking photos with baby lambs was the cherry on top! We were told afterwards from our guests that the lambs were a hit.

    Finally, what made it special, were the little above and beyond touches that Kate did for us (that you won’t get from a templated wedding venue). A few examples: At no extra charge, she provided our table with extra decorative dinner plates and colorful candles to create more color and pop. She also provided us with an album of high-quality photos and videos she had taken from her phone throughout the day—going above and beyond her role. It’s clear that she genuinely loves what she does and really cares about every one of her clients. She takes pride in her venue and work and is the idyllic model of what a wedding coordinator and venue host should be.

    Thank you Kate for truly making our wedding!
    Lots of love, Hayley & Anna
  • Sarah
    Sarah Y. Married on 12/17/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Sarah & Justin

    It's hard to pick my favorite part about our wedding at Sunshower Farms. Kate was wonderful to work with. Her list of recommended vendors helped us to easily find people to work with, which was important for a destination wedding. And Kate herself always had a quick answer to any question we had. She listened to what we wanted out of our wedding and made sure every little detail was perfect. Kate was able to ask a few questions about what kind of food we wanted and she connected us to a caterer that matched our food style perfectly.

    Her flower vendor blew me away. I asked for "tropical and bright" and was thrilled with the colorful and unique flowers that she used. I had a variety of orchids and beehive ginger and birds of paradise. I was so sad that I wasn't able to take them home with me to the mainland.

    The venue was great for our small 18 person wedding. There were spaces for us to mingle and get to spend quality time with our guests. And the views!!! The pictures will never do it justice. The view out onto the ocean is stunning. Being among the coffee tree, tropical plants, and farm animals was absolutely perfect. I can't recommend Sunshower Farms enough!

  • J
    Jennifer N. Married on 12/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Better than we could have imagined!

    We chose Sunshower because of the location and more importantly, customization. You tell Kate what you are envisioning and she works her magic and makes it happen. Literally, we were in awe of how everything came together on our wedding day and how beautiful it turned out.
    It can be difficult planning a destination wedding, but Kate is a pro. She is very responsive to email - and if I needed an immediate answer, I could just text her. Trust Kate and her group of vendors to come up with your dream wedding - literally, our wedding turned out better than we could have imagined. I wish we could have an event there every year (our guests were telling us to get our vows renewed there yearly :)).
  • A
    Andrea Married on 11/16/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Coordinator & Venue

    My husband and I were married at Sunshower Farms in November of 2019. Kate and her team were amazing and made our wedding everything we dreamed of and more! I can't speak highly enough of Kate's diligent coordination, extensive list of trusted local vendors and how much she made us feel at ease. I highly recommend using Kate as your coordinator and Sunshower as your wedding venue.
  • KVencer
    Florale Married on 10/26/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Our Big [Island] Day

    I've been to so many weddings, but ours was by far my favorite!

    It all started with my husband finding Sunshower Farms on Wedding Wire. Once we committed to a Hawaiian wedding, everything fell into place.

    I can't stress enough how vital it was to have Kate in our corner. The one piece of advice I would give to every couple, no matter their budget, is to have day-of coordination. Her guidance and expert knowledge are spot on, especially since we were planning our wedding from NYC. Whenever we needed help with an aspect of the wedding, she weighed in or gave us an even better idea. We even found our amazing photographers through Sunshower Farms (they had their own wedding reception there!). Through our video chats, phone calls and emails, Kate took our ideas and did the impossible job of taking the stress out of planning a wedding. Meeting her for our rehearsal cemented the fact that Kate had our back. She was so sweet to our wedding party and even let my mom forage some of the fruit on her gorgeous farm.

    The funny thing is that even though I technically knew everything we had planned from the pizza apps and the fresh coconuts to the live floral ceiling and the bonfire, it all felt brand new. There was no tension, no rushing, just magic.

    Kate and her staff were amazing with our guests. They were super patient when things got mixed up on our end and had every detail down. Seamless and professional with the warmth you expect from Hawaii. To this day, Kate is still thought of fondly by so many of my family and friends, some of whom still order coffee from the farm!

    Thinking back, I can picture the dreamy fog rolling up the mountain, my husband on his second coconut pulling me close as we survey the twinkle lights and foliage hanging over the people we love most in the world.

    Thank you so much Kate and Sunshower Farms for giving us these perfect memories to look back on. Chris and I hope to celebrate with you again soon.

  • Andie
    Andie S. Married on 08/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best day ever

    I would STRONGLY recommend Sunshower Farms and Kate Hickey for all of your wedding needs. We had the best day and we didn't have to worry about a single thing because Kate took care of EVERYTHING. She was so good at keeping things on schedule and making sure we got to do everything we wanted to do.

    The farm is absolutely breathtaking. You can have a sunset dinner overlooking the ocean up in the mountains! How much better could you get? Kate had great photo opportunities picked out to hold baby goats or chicks, or take a picture in the coffee fields :) We feel absolutely blessed that we found this location and that we had the privilege to work with Kate! We had about 50 guests up there and it felt perfect :)
  • Marlene
    Marlene Married on 07/26/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    If you want something different, look no further

    I am so very happy that I chose Kate and her venue to be apart of my special day. First of all, if you decide to get married at Sunshower Farms, you can choose Kate (the owner) to coordinate your wedding as well. Let me start off by saying Kate, the event coordinator is AMAZING. She truly goes above and beyond for her clients, she treats your special day like it's hers. I feel that she put in way more hours and time than what I compensated her for. She organizes everything, from caterers, music, florals, etc. She has a list of recommendations that you can choose from, which makes it much easier being such a small island, and especially if you’re having a destination wedding and don’t know any vendors.

    As for the venue, it was absolutely breathtaking. My kids were able to pet and feed the goats during our reception, as well as the baby chicks. The venue takes you way into the country since it is on a coffee farm and it was an awesome experience seeing the island and driving up to the farm. The views that you can get from the farm were beautiful, you could see the ocean and the coast line from the house. We had about 65 guests which was on the larger side, but the way Kate set everything up there was more than enough room for 100 guests. We had a cocktail style reception, which I enjoyed because everyone got to walk around, socialize, eat and take in the beautiful surroundings. Kate takes GREAT detail in setting up the decor, florals, furniture and any extra things you send over to her (for example, we had yard games, a guest book area with pictures). As a Native Hawaiian, my vision was to perpetuate my culture in my wedding and Kate helped me do this. We had a Native Hawaiian wedding officiant that oli (chanted) while I was walking down the aisle, I danced hula for my new husband with our daughters and we were able to have a state champion fire knife dancer to wrap up the night.

    When I show people pictures or videos of my wedding that tell me it looks like a DREAM. And it truly did look and feel like a dream. It was such a beautiful experience that I know my guests and my husband and I will remember forever. If you’re looking for something different look no further. Although, I live on Oahu (an island over from the Big Island) I could not have possibly got a wedding like this. From the traditional Hawaiian ceremony, to seeing my kids feed the goats, floral decor, the bonfire pit, the smores bar, the fire knife dancing, the views, the remote drive up, It was anything short from DIFFERENT. If you’re looking for something different that will WOW you and your guests and be in their memory forever, that you can totally customize to your liking while having an awesome friend (Kate) there to support you and make sure you get EVERYTHING you want on your special day LOOK NO FURTHER. When I booked Kate, I wanted something different, not a traditional banquet style wedding, but a wedding that no one has ever experienced before (including myself) and I got just that. Mahalo nui loa to Kate and her awesome wedding team!
  • Darryl
    Darryl Married on 04/15/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect Wedding on the Big Island of Hawaii

    We had our wedding in April 2019 with the ceremony held in Kona and the reception held on the farm. This review will be regarding both Kate's coordination and arrangement and also the reception venue (Sunshower Farms). We are not physically located in Hawaii so we had to do all of this from overseas.

    Firstly, we knew we wanted the reception at the farm due to its intimacy and dedication to using local ingredients, having a personalized menu, and a simple, rustic arrangement. We booked a call with Kate through email in October 2018 and she was quick to respond and go through all the details with us on how to go about hosting the reception on-site. From start to finish, Kate was professional and organized on the reception front.

    For the ceremony, we actually tried reaching out to another partial coordinator but with no response - so we turned to Kate asking her if she had any suggestions! Luckily, she also does off-site coordination for ceremonies and I can't stress enough that she made our lives easier by finding literally every vendor for us (except photographer as we had a specific one in mind) - including our officiant, refreshments, hair and make-up, flowers and decor, musician, and more. She even went down to the ceremony venue on our behalf and took photos and videos for us as we were unable to see the venue ourselves. There was absolutely no fuss with any of the vendors, everything was planned properly and according to the budget we've discussed - it all came together on the day of the wedding with no delays, setbacks, or vendor issues in any way.

    We did have a bit of a rain scare on the wedding day, our ceremony was at 11:30 but it was still pouring at 9:00! Unsure if we could continue with the outdoor ceremony, Kate was quick to come up with alternative plans and communicated all our options to us clearly and effectively despite the stress that both of us were feeling. Fortunately the rain stopped by 10:00, and Kate and her team were able to set up for the ceremony to start at 11:30 on the dot!

    Personally, I (the groom) am an extremely organized and methodical person - think Monica from Friends, or Amy from Brooklyn Nine Nine. I was impressed with Kate's abilities to stay on top of everything and continued to remind us of everything we had to do days or weeks before the deadlines. Even though I felt overwhelmed with all the details that had to be covered, she managed to stay on top of everything. This is in addition to the other weddings and events she was coordinating in parallel.

    Overall, we found Kate's coordination services and reception venue at Sunshower Farms to be outstanding. We've been married for a month now and our friends and family are still talking about everything from the venues to the cake! We would be very keen on hosting another dinner party/private event there if we could ever gather family and friends all in Hawaii again.
  • Samantha
    Samantha L. Married on 04/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Samantha and Jeremy

    We chose to have an intimate wedding at Sunshower Farms, and it was the best decision we could have ever made. Kate made the process from start to finish so stress free, fun and wonderful. It was a beautiful and memorable day for us and our families. I loved all of the animals on the farm too!

    I searched for so many venues on the Big Island and Sunshower Farms was our #1 choice. Everything about the venue was breathtaking. We got to enjoy dinner with an amazing view looking out towards the ocean, and the sunset after a light rain made for perfect wedding photos.

    I was really happy with how Kate made the entire planning process so easy. It was obvious to see that she has organized and coordinated a lot of weddings. She was also very quick to respond to our questions and set up calls to make sure everything was figured out for our destination wedding. We are so glad we got married here and highly recommend you choose Sunshower Farms too!
  • Sharene
    Sharene B. Married on 02/15/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Chance and Sharene Wedding

    Kate and the crew helped us out so much during our wedding. They handled EVERYTHING and it all went smoothly! Kate told me that I was one of the calmest brides she’s ever met and honestly, I stayed calm because of her. She helped me plan out everything in less than 2 months before the wedding date. I originally had it somewhere on Oahu but I always kept coming back to this place on Wedding Wire because how beautiful it was. Plans had to change due to a family emergency so I was so happy to have it on the big island! I knew exactly where I wanted to have our wedding, which was Sunshower Farms! Everyone enjoyed their time here! The kids loved the games and animals, my son had a blast meeting the animals, everyone felt so comfortable, everything was set up so beautifully and to end the night, we had a bonfire with s’mores! Our family complimented our wedding so much and we couldn’t thank Kate and the crew enough! Everyone enjoyed their time here and this place made it very special for me and my husband! Thank you again for everything you guys done for us! We appreciate and love you all! I’m not only saying this cause it was our wedding but THIS WAS THE BEST WEDDING EVER!
  • G
    Grace C. Married on 12/18/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We love bragging about our wedding at Sunshower Farms! Everything was perfect!

    Sunshower Farms was great for our wedding. Everything went off without a hitch and we couldn't have dreamt of a better venue for our wedding! Kate was so helpful. She crafted the perfect decorations, coordinated all of our vendors, and planned a seamless event for our friends and family. All of our guests had a great time and talk up our wedding all the time. Our recently engaged friends have said they want to have a destination wedding after seeing the photos from our wedding.

    Kate was also transparent about the pricing and our friends were amazed when we told them how much our wedding cost. No one believes us when we tell then we had a wedding for less money than a random hotel ballroom in the suburbs.

    I can't speak enough positive praise for Kate and Sunshower Farms. We even got to take some coffee home and a great way to relive that day and all of those memories. Thank you Kate!
  • S
    Samantha C. Married on 10/19/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Couldn't have pulled it off without Kate!

    We held our ceremony and reception at Sunshower, after our previous venue fell through due to the volcano eruption that occurred earlier this year (It's calmed down now though!). As you can imagine, losing our venue only a couple of months before our family/friends and ourselves were due to fly out there was super stressful! Kate was able to squeeze us in, and found or recommended all of our vendors! On the day of, we apparently did math wrong and had a few extra people over their max that they figured out how to accommodate and feed! The views on the property are gorgeous, the animals were so cute, and Kate had everything figured out throughout the entire event! We definitely recommend having their coffee service after dinner, as it was amazing! The only regret we had was that we didn't have time to get an official tour and bring home some of that amazing coffee! Thank you Kate for an unforgettable day!
  • V
    Vanessa Married on 09/21/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sunshower Farms was amazing. Despite Kate being on holidays on the day of the wedding, her next in charge (Danielle) had everything set up beautifully and the evening flowed smoothly. The staff were wonderful, friendly and accommodating. They were happy to help and made the evening an absolute dream.

    The venue is gorgeous, although a little challenging to get to if you're not familiar with the area. Our guests constantly commented on how beautiful the surroundings were and how we managed to find the perfect venue.

    Additionally, the pizza was delicious. When my husband and I told people we were having a pizza party for dinner, many questioned our decision however after tasting the pizza the reviews were nothing but positive.

    If we lived closer to Hawaii, we would make Sunshower Farms the venue for all our memorable events as we had no complaints about this venue.
  • Theresa
    Theresa Married on 05/22/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Intimate Hawaiian Experience

    Sunshower Farms was amazing! Kate did an outstanding job planning and organizing our wedding to match our wants and needs as a non-traditional same-sex couple. Kate smoothly managed all the details through email, phone and video calls, and her relaxed attitude is incredibly accommodating and fun. Though we were more than welcome to find our own preferred caterer, we had Kate locate a caterer based on the type of food and the budget per-plate we’d chosen. The food was fantastic and Kates knowledge and personal relationships with local vendors is invaluable! Often, bad catered food can be the only thing people remember from a wedding but that was certainly NOT the case here – the food was so good it was almost forgetful, but only in the best of ways! Our guests focused on talking, laughing and celebrating while being finely wined and dined. Oh, and Kate used bananas from her own farm in our fruit plater and I honest haven’t stopped thinking about them since – SO DELICIOUS.

    The location and hillside farmhouse were also unbelievable perfect! We choose to get married at sunset, and on the day the farm was covered in beautiful blue mist. When booking Sunshower we loved the huge ocean views and hoped for a clear day. However, on our special Mother Nature decided otherwise – and it was the best decision she’s ever made for us. IT WAS SO BEAUTIFUL! And intimate, and cozy, and cool (compared to HOT Kona), and relaxing, and tropical, and and and! We had a small wedding and for our less than 20 guests, the house and grounds were plenty big enough for mingling and dancing.
  • B
    Benita Married on 05/10/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our experience was fantastic. Kate had such great taste and made the wedding absolutely beautiful. Her communication is clear and she made sure that everything was what I wanted despite the fact that at times I was indecisive. Me and my family were all impressed. Definitely recommend!
  • Tyler
    Tyler H. Married on 03/09/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Wedding of our Dreams

    My wife Suzie and I were married at Sunshower Farms last fall and had the wedding of our dreams! Our friends and family that attended still tell us all the time how great of a wedding it was, how beautiful the venue was and how great of a job the staff did to make it a great evening for all of us.

    Kate was amazing to work with through the entire process of planning our wedding. We planned the wedding from Alaska just working with Kate over phone calls and emails to make the plans. She customized the wedding to our preferences, let us choose everything we wanted to and then took care of everything for us. It turned out amazing! Working with Kate made planning a wedding easier than I ever imagined. Planning a wedding is normally time consuming and stressful, but not when you work with Kate.

    Our wedding was a perfect blend of inside areas, outside areas and cool places for people to hang out everywhere you look. Kate arranged our photography, catering and music with people she had previously worked with and all of them were excellent as well. We had an amazing meal featuring fresh foods and coffee from the farm. We had a bon fire. We watched the stars at night. There is nothing we could have added to make it a better day. It was perfect. Kate made sure of that so we could enjoy the day with our closest friends and family and that's exactly what we did.

    I would recommend Kate and Sunshower farms to anyone looking for a beautiful Hawaiian venue for a wedding or any type of event. Thank you again for everything Kate!
  • M
    Michael Married on 11/11/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The wedding that almost wasn't!
    We were having our wedding on a property next door to Sunshower Farms, and were using Kate for coordination, flowers, and cake. Disaster struck the afternoon of our wedding, as a torrential downpour turned our outdoor venue into a lake. Kate offered her own home to us and with only a 2 hour delay converted her own living room into a dance floor, and her patio into a stunning ceremony site. She did such a great job that our guests had no idea that it was not the original site for our wedding. It was truly an amazing experience working with her and we could not recommend Sunshower Farms any more!
  • J
    Jeanette Event on: 03/05/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I booked Sunshower Farms for a birthday party for my sister. It was her 40th birthday and a lot of people came in from out of town so I wanted it to be a very special, private and fancy event. Kate, the farm owner, hired a chef for the event who did a 10 course tasting menu specifically catered to my sister's preferences and the food was EXCELLENT. So much of it came from the farm and I even saw the staff harvesting some of the items when we were setting up - that is seriously farm-to-table! This venue is a WORKING farm, so if you are like one of the other reviewers and do not want goats nearby or the sounds of chickens, do not book this venue. Also, as a local, I can explain that Holualoa is what we call "upcountry" because of its high elevation. Sometimes this puts it above/in the clouds but that adds to its charm, privacy and cool (60s-70s) weather.

    One of the benefits of working with Sunshower is that all of their prices are incredibly transparent- they are all right on the website - and there were no added fees that I wasn't expecting. The owners also let you bring in your own food, drinks, flowers etc. so it is easy to save money. For our event we brought cheese and crackers for the beginning and were able to save on the appetizers while people were arriving. My mom also made all of our flowers which was great. We booked the deck and interior rental only, which is fine because ours was just an evening event.

    My advice to future clients who are considering Sunshower for their wedding or another event is to do a tour (or a video tour). If your expectations are in line with a working Hawaii farm, you will LOVE this venue. But if you want a hotel, book that. It makes me sad to read the negative reviewer who dinged Sunshower because it is "someone's house." For me, the home-y vibe is what attracted me to this venue and it is priced accordingly. An event venue as nice as this and not at a home would be considerably more expensive.
  • J
    J Married on 12/17/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We booked Sunshower Farms sight unseen after an extensive search for a venue that would fulfill our core priorities: 1) BYOB (good wine is very important to both our families; my cousin is an ex-sommelier), 2) excellent food produced from sustainable agriculture, and 3) something that would be as home-like as possible. Sunshower delivered on all three counts. Kate was very responsive and took us on a virtual tour of the Farms through Skype, allowing us to get a sense of the property and the view from the back, which is lovely. I do a fair bit of event planning for my job and Sunshower is a rarity among event venues in its flexibility. Whatever you want, Kate and her team will do their best to make it happen. Kate sourced an outstanding private chef who made some of the best homemade pasta I've had, with a bolognese using a boar actually caught on the Farm. In fact, the entire dinner was as farm-to-table as one could get: we had flatbreads and bread made directly in Sunshower's brick oven, and Kate made our fantastic wedding cake. We received abundant compliments on the food and service, even from my excruciatingly particular and traditional relatives who almost always complain about food. Also, the commitment to green events is admirable -- food is either given away or composted as to minimize waste. The farm itself is pleasant, with roosters, some very cute goats and friendly cats; our younger guests loved meeting them. Kate was also super helpful with advice, ranging from suggesting places to stay to making sure we got some last-minute leis to use for a traditional ceremony. I can't imagine a venue that is better value for money -- none of the usual BS markups for decor, alcohol, that is all too typical of most venues. If you are looking for a super formal large wedding this place is not for you, but if you are looking for an intimate, relaxed and warm venue that will feel like you're getting married at home, I give Sunshower my highest recommendation.
  • P
    Pua Married on 11/30/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I used the venue for my Best Friends Bridal Shower and it was the PERFECT LOCATION! Only advice I would give to anyone else interested is to make sure your directions to the venue is accurate and on point. You may need to put balloons or a sign of your own since it is pretty far up the mountain. Also BRING WARM CLOTHES. It does tend to get pretty chilly. Overall this was a beautiful venue and I'm so happy we had the party here. Kate was so helpful from start to finish. I will definitely host another party here.
  • J
    Jasmine Married on 07/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We chose Sunshower Farms for its rustic, county feel. The event site is set atop a hill in Holualoa, a small town we adore. Since we live in Kona we wanted to have our wedding in an area that was cooler and surrounded by lush greenery with a beautiful ocean view. We had our ceremony and reception at the farm. The ceremony was on the lawn and the reception was on the deck of the property. The owners of the event space are very accommodating and helpful throughout the planning process. They take care of all of the day of coordinating, set up, take down and cleaning. They also provided beautiful vintage/rustic decor to create a lovely table setting. I also brought in a few of my own decorations just to add my personal touch. We had a cater come to the farm to cook, who was equipped with his own cooking set up. We found that their service staff was helpful and professional. Kate made my cake to my specification which tasted delicious and was decorated beautifully with lilikoi flowers from their property. My sister said that Kate's cake was the best cake she had ever had!! Our photographer found two beautiful areas on the farm to take our couples photos. Overall everything exceeded my expectations! I would recommend this site to any one having a rustic/vintage weeding set on a farm.
  • C
    Cathy Married on 06/05/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best wedding ever!

    Kate is the best wedding coordinator ever and her farm is absolutely gorgeous! We had an intimate wedding with 22 guests and all of my guests said it was the best wedding they've been to.

    1. The ceremony went off without a hitch. The seating arrangement was well done and the arbor was beautifully decorated.

    2. The food catered by Umekes was excellent, not generic wedding food. We had appetizers, a whole fish poke station, a whole roasted pig, and sides. The vegetarians were happy since everything besides the poke and pig was vegetarian.

    3. Kate's staff were all so amazing. They provided the best service that we could ever dream of. Shout out to the awesome bartender, Aranda!

    4. There was an incident with my husband's mom falling. Kate took immediate action and was able to coordinate her medical needs and help calm us/everyone down. Her fall was somewhat serious but the wedding went on due to Kate's quick thinking and calm demeanor.

    If you want a small and intimate destination wedding, do not think twice about booking with Kate. This experience is so much more meaningful and cost effective than booking at a resort. We will remember it for the rest of our lives. Thank you, Kate.
  • User2718853 2+ years ago
    Rating 3.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    We choose Sunshower Farms (SSF) because we wanted an upcountry wedding. They worked with us to accommodate our larger than 30 party. We originally planned to have both ceremony and reception at the farm but ceremony site was moved to neighboring property just a walk away, which worked out perfectly! SSF did all the day of coordination set up and break down for both our ceremony and reception. Our main course was catered through a different vendor that delivered to the farm, but SSF did all our happy hour appetizers. In all our wedding turned out how we have pictured it and we had lots of compliments about the food, decorations and site.

    Just a few of my thoughts that could help the venue and future guests.
    - Maintaining a well manicured property enables you to always be ready for site visits and places a good impression on potential clients.
    - Always be kind, courteous and welcoming to all your clients guests, they are your biggest critics.
    - Not all folks are animal people. Be sure to clean up any evidence that they have been there (i.e. smells, poop) before guest arrive.
    - Good staff is hard to find, speak to them are you hope they speak to you. Your guest are only an ear shot away.
    - Most clients want to feed the staff that has worked hard all day, but be sure you check with clients before your staff partake in the buffet line.
    - Scheduling a site visits on the day you are having an event should be communicated with your current event clients. Make sure they are aware of the visit and are okay with it.

    Being professional, presentable and approachable is important when managing a venue. Planning an event is a lot of work and can be stressful for all involved. Be open to suggestions and make your clients and guests feel welcome to ask questions. Paying close attention to details and adding the extra bits and pieces helps make an event a success and is what can make a good vendor a great one!