Skip to main content
Weddings

Sunrise Specialty Catering Reviews

Sunrise Specialty Catering

Sunrise Specialty Catering

West Oneonta, NY
4.9 out of 5 rating, 17 Reviews
View more information

17 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 17

13 User photos

  • M
    Marina S. Married on 09/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Everything Was Great

    The food was absolutely delicious and I could not be more pleased. Janet came with her team to set up their tables and her set up is stunning. She is very flexible with her menu and answered my many questions I had about this process.
  • L
    Linda H. Married on 04/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Birthday Party for friend

    Went to a birthday party this afternoon and it was the best ever food and presentation!! Exceptional!! You outdid yourselves!! Wonderful.

    Sunrise Specialty Catering's reply:

    Thank you so much. We appreciate your kind words. We love making people happy! Again, thank you for taking time to send your review. It is appreciated!
  • Justin
    Justin E. Married on 06/09/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    OUTSTANDING, more than just a caterer

    Okay, so this company was OUTSTANDING. Janet spent so much time on the phone with my husband and I ironing out every detail possible to make sure we had exactly what we wanted. On our wedding day, Janet and her staff took such wonderful care of us and our guests. They went above and beyond with the set up and service and showered us with love. Much more than just a caterer, Sunrise was almost like a wedding planner when it came to running the party. An all in one package. We cannot thank Janet enough and we are so grateful that we found her. And I haven't even mentioned the food. Everything was so tasty and comfortably classy. This is no reception hall food. Excellent and fresh. We loved it.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • S
    Samantha L. Married on 06/06/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing time!

    Janet & her team at Sunrise Specialty Catering took care of us for our rehearsal dinner and farewell brunch. The food and service was way beyond our expectations. I had initially hired another caterer for our wedding who really sh*t the bed and I wish Janet was there because I know she would have made our wedding really special. If you're on the fence about who to hire for ANY catering needs, please look no further than Sunrise.
  • Cat
    Cat T. Married on 10/26/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Sunrise Catering Made our wedding!

    Sunrise Specialty Catering was the absolute best decision we made for our wedding. Living far from our venue made us a bit skeptical about how things might turn out, but Janet put all our concerns to rest and was truly AMAZING every step of the way. She was so accommodating within our budget and beyond exceeded our expectations in every area from start to finish. Not only did Janet make everything look gorgeous and taste delicious, but she also made a special point to make sure my husband and I ate enough before getting caught up with guests. If you want a delicious variety of food and drinks presented with style and top notch service, Janet and Sunrise Specialty Catering is the choice to make!
  • Kyrstin
    Kyrstin W. Married on 08/30/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing food and people!

    I was recommended Sunset Catering through my mother in law. The owner, Janet, was extremely sweet, kind, straight to the point and knew how to get the job done right! After I shared the wedding theme, she created a beautiful menu for us to review. We didnt have to change a thing! For a small local business, the food is extremely high end, including workers in tux's passing around filet mignon crostini's. We had a man from Italy as a wedding guest who said it was the best food he has ever had a wedding! Janet also has a hub of decor to make the food tables come to life! I came to her home and inside a garage is every brides dream! A room of decor to use at our wish... along with the food! it was extremely helpful that she had this much variety of decor that fit my theme perfectly. The day before the wedding their team came to the venue to set up. They are so polite and helpful, making the process stress free!! The day of the wedding, everything went seamlessly, the guest loved the food, and they were sure to make sure I, as the busy bride, had a moment to sit and eat myself. I highly recommend them!
  • Melissa
    Melissa Married on 08/24/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The perfect wedding food and so much more!

    I cannot recommend Sunrise Specialty Catering and Event Planning enough! Janet went above and beyond to make my wedding day so special. We used Sunrise for both our rehearsal dinner and wedding day at Gilbertsville Farmhouse. With Sunrise, you don't just get fantastic food, you get so many extra thoughtful and decorative touches to make everything perfect. Throughout the planning process, Janet was very responsive and answered all my questions. She made a detailed proposal with associated costs of food and labor. My parents were paying for the wedding dinner and my in-laws for the rehearsal dinner, so she was able to make to separate proposals to deal with each event separately. I was able to use my own collection of vintage plates for the rehearsal dinner and dessert table and Janet arranged all other rentals including a tent, linens, dishware, silverware, and barware. When the week of the wedding arrived, I drove up early to start setting things up and Janet had a huge team of people! They helped unload my packed car to set up everything in the right places for me. I certainly would have been there many hours longer without their help! Janet even sat down and helped iron out some wedding day issues with me that were completely unrelated to her catering services. I was very stressed that day and she helped calm my nerves which I appreciated so very much at that time! When wedding weekend arrived, the proposal came to life and the food was so perfect. I was floored by how beautiful the rehearsal dinner was set up with all the extra decorative touches to make things beautiful. The Italian appetizers and dinner were delicious, and service was very professional. On wedding day, we had a pre-cocktail hour drinks, refreshments, and charcuterie table which was lavish on its own. The cocktail hour had tables and hand passed hors d'oeuvres that we had picked out. We had some classic items and also some fun, unique additions like grilled cheese and tomato soup shooters and delicious vegan noodles in to-go boxes. So fun for cocktail hour! Dinner was served, with a salad course and main course of steak, salmon, or vegetarian lasagna. Janet was also able to provide gluten-free and vegan options and cater to any allergies of my guests. The reception was set up perfectly the way I set up in my table layout. There was also a gigantic dessert table set up with everything you could want - cupcakes, mini pies, donuts, and tarts. Something for everyone and also a small cake for the official cutting. The entire table was decorated beautifully. Outside on the patio by the bonfire, Janet set up a extravagant smores bar with individually wrapped chocolates. And finally, for the late night after party we had delicious pizzas for anyone that still had room for more. Everyone loved the food and I got so many compliments during and after the wedding. Needless to say, no one left my wedding hungry. For your wedding day food you can't go wrong with Sunrise, and I cannot recommend them enough.
  • E
    Eileen Married on 06/28/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Sunrise Catering was amazing!

    Best decision of our wedding planning to go with Sunrise Catering! Janet’s expertise at handling all the details was amazing. She is one of the nicest people to work with in addition to a great wedding planner. She definitely works with you to make your vision of the day happen. In addition, her staff is professional and accommodating, the food is delicious, and her advice/suggestions in answer to your questions is right on target. We had a beautiful, fun wedding! Many thanks to Janet and her team!

  • C
    Cragan Married on 05/11/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream Team

    We can not speak highly enough of Sunrise Specialty Catering! Janet is a total rockstar! She knows exactly what she is doing and it shows! Starting with our initial conversation, Janet listened to our thoughts and ideas, she was full of insight, and truly aimed to make us as happy as possible! She went above and beyond to make sure we, along with all of our guests, had a phenomenal celebration! The food was absolutely delicious. The entire staff was kind and courteous. Our friends and family haven’t stopped raving about it all! Everything was utter perfection from start to finish. We are abundantly thankful to have worked with Sunrise Specialty Catering. If you’re searching for a dream team, you will not be disappointed!
  • E
    Erin Married on 06/09/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    People are still raving about the food at my wedding! Janet made everything I wanted come to life, and I literally could (and did) call, text, email at any time and she would respond and update my chart. Day of, everything ran so smoothly. Janet made sure we were eating and that our guests were well taken care of. We had a cocktail style reception, and Sunrise made it fun and interesting. Janet also brought so many extra details with her to decorate for the big day. I didn’t have a formal decorator, and cannot imagine doing it without her. If you want everything taken care of, attention to detail and amazing food (which why would you not) then go with Sunrise!
  • C
    Claudia Married on 06/24/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Janet and the team at Sunrise Specialty Catering made my dream wedding come true! Wedding planning is so insanely stressful...so please do yourself a favor and hire Sunrise Specialty Catering so you have one less thing to worry about. It will honestly make a huge difference in the months leading up to your big day and on your big day! There are no words to express how accessible, reliable, professional, caring, detailed oriented and overall amazing they are! First, let me start with how personable and involved Janet was with our wedding throughout the entire year and a half process. As soon as we booked them, I never felt uncomfortable e-mailing or calling her about anything! She was always so eager to respond and alleviate any concerns I had. Secondly, I'm a big foodie, so when it comes to "wedding food" and catered dishes I usually expect mediocre results, but their menu is absolutely fabulous and diverse! Janet's husband is the chief, and you can tell he cooks with care and detail as if he were preparing a meal for an intimate dinner party. Their food doesn't taste or look like a mass production. I wanted rustic/New American and they delivered! When I took a bite of my BBQ chicken and mac and cheese on our wedding day I was so shocked at how good it was and that I would actually eat it outside of a wedding or catering scenario! And the h'orderves were just as good, if not better! I could also go on and on about how gorgeous everything was displayed! It was a true replica of my ambitious Pinterst page! My guests are still raving about how good the food and service was at my wedding. I've been to several sit-down dinners at weddings and they weren't nearly as elegant and organized as my "buffet" style was. Each server was well dressed in a classy black tie uniform and took great care of each of our guests. Nobody needed anything! You have to also know that when you hire Sunrise Catering, you're not just getting a food and beverage service, you are getting a grou
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 07/16/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I seriously could not have been any more happy with Sunrise, they helped complete our day and make it absolutely perfect with their services. The food was absolutely amazing! We also had to have vegan and gluten free options and sunrise was so accommodating in helping us make this happen!! Their staff is excellent, so nice and always making sure things are just how you want them to be!! Brittany came two days early to the location we had our wedding and saw how things were going to work out! Because of this everything went so smoothly!! I would recommend them over and over and over again!
  • R
    Rachel Married on 07/12/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We used Sunrise Catering for our wedding recently and were amazed with the results. We have received multiple compliments on the food, and many who said it was the best wedding meal they have had. They were very responsive to all of our e-mails and very attentive on the day of the wedding as well. We could not have been happier! Definitely recommend them!
  • AMMLeMay
    Anne M. Married on 05/01/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I can't say enough good things about these guys!! They catered my Foothills wedding. They were so professional and gracious. I didn't worry about a thing. The food was delicious and they weren't that bad in price. I highly recommend them!!
  • K
    Kelly Married on 10/18/2014
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We recently worked with Brittany to plan our cocktail hour and wedding dinner. We were blown away with the quality of food and the presentation. All of our guests were raving about the beef speedies and how good everything tasted. Not only did they work within our budget they went above and beyond with the service. Brittany even was there for me helping arrange my train before walking down the aisle! If you are planning an event in the Oneonta area I highly recommend using Sunrise for your event.
  • A
    Amy Married on 09/10/2011
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    All weddings I've attended (inclusive, certainly of my own) who have Sunrise cater their events, the food is consistently good. The service of both the staff at our event as well as Brittany, who assisted in coordinating my event with me, was outstanding and very professional. They were appropriate, responsive, and worked in good collaboration with the other venders used at my wedding in a 'team approach.'

    In terms of the price, Sunrise is one of the more expensive caterers in the area, however you are certainly paying for the quality and professionalism and I felt that based on my own experience, ensuring that my guests were well fed was well worth it. This company did well in working within my budget and were very accomodating in this regard.

    With regard to the food itself, although the fennel slaw was, although not bad, a bit disappointing in flavor, the rest of the food was outstanding (with raves for both the roast pork and macaroni and cheese). Temperatures were consistent and quality of food, again, well worth the cost. Although you cannot 'taste test' the menu choices for yourself prior to committing, which is a bummer, going with this vender is a safe bet and one which will not disappoint.
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 09/10/2016
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    Sunrise Catering was a great company to work with and all of our guests LOVED the food. It was fairly priced and they have so many options to choose from that you can customize the food however you would like it. They even had another event that weekend, and they gave us a couple extra appetizers at no cost as they had extra made from that event!!! They helped us to get what we wanted and in our price range. At the wedding, everything was flawless - they did an amazing job! From setup to clean up, they took great care of our guests. Janet made sure that the groom and I got to taste some of the great food and was there for anything that we needed. I would highly recommend them to others.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message